DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 75/23/25 have been fully considered. Regarding the indication of allowable subject matter, upon further consideration new art is applied to reject the claims.
Regarding the rejection of Claim 4-5, 14-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejection is withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments of the claim.
Foreign Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0154216, filed on 11/10/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/7/2022 and 7/21/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means”, but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: in Claim 1, “a battery state manager” and “a battery diagnostic device”, are interpreted to have the structure in a processor of a diagnostic device, see instant application [0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 20200110136), hereinafter ‘Ryu’ in view of Huang et al. (US 20090027056), hereinafter ‘Huang’ and further in view of Duan et al. (20200055405), hereinafter ‘Duan’.
Regarding Claim 1, Ryu discloses a storage configured to include battery state history data including periodic battery charge state information (e.g., The battery sensor may be configured to store state history data (i.e., storage configured to include battery state history data) of the battery in a memory unit. To store all data of the battery for a predetermined period, the battery state history data having a structure of periodically stored data may be stored in the memory unit. Accordingly, the battery sensor may be configured to store data based on state of charge (SOC) ranges (i.e., including periodic battery charge state information) of the battery [0034]),
a battery state manager configured to store the battery state history data in the storage, and to retrieve the stored battery state history data therefrom (e.g., The battery sensor may be configured to provide or transmit the battery state history data to the ICU (i.e., a battery state manager configured to store the battery state history data in the storage). The ICU may then be configured to provide or transmit battery SOCs and the battery state history data (i.e., to retrieve the stored battery state history data therefrom) [0035]),
and predict a remaining life of a battery based on the battery state history data and the usage pattern (e.g., the controller may be configured to analyze a residual lifespan of the battery (i.e., predict a remaining life of a battery) by analyzing battery usage data (i.e., and the usage pattern) for a long term, based on properties that a distribution of SOCs of the battery (i.e., based on the battery state history data) is gradually reduced as wear of the battery proceeds. The controller may be configured to receive the battery state history data and determine the state of the battery [0036]),
and a battery diagnostic device (e.g., A vehicle battery diagnosis method and apparatus are provided [Abstract]).
Ryu does not explicitly disclose determine a sum of distribution ratios for each section of a state of charge based on the battery state history data, determine state of charge sections in which the sum of the distribution ratios is equal to or greater than a threshold ratio as usage patterns, and determine a usage pattern depth of discharge in the state of charge based on the usage patterns.
Huang discloses depth of discharge, determine a usage pattern depth of discharge in the state of charge based on the usage patterns (e.g., The battery's average depth of discharge (i.e., depth of discharge) can also be determined (i.e., determine a usage pattern depth of discharge), which is relevant in control of key-off loads; the number of discharge cycles can readily be tracked (i.e., based on the usage patterns) [0115]; A target maximum depth of discharge level Cdod can be set, based on Cm, and used to control recharging as necessary. For example, in the start/stop vehicle context, SOC can be tracked (i.e., determine a usage pattern depth of discharge in the state of charge based on the usage patterns) and used to start the engine to recharge the battery [0171]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu with Huang for depth of discharge, and to determine a usage pattern depth of discharge in the state of charge based on the usage patterns as this would give the advantage of being relevant in control of key-off loads; the number of discharge cycles can readily be tracked, and various alarms can be given, (see Huang, [0115]).
Ryu and Huang do not explicitly disclose determine a sum of distribution ratios for each section of a state of charge based on the battery state history data, and determine state of charge sections in which the sum of the distribution ratios is equal to or greater than a threshold ratio as usage patterns.
Duan discloses determine a sum of distribution ratios for each section of a state of charge based on the battery state history data (e.g., a section for determining a distribution ratio for each respective battery unit according to the overall reference state of the battery pack and the individual states of the battery units such that the distribution ratio for each battery unit will decrease divergence of the individual states from the overall reference state (i.e., based on the battery state history data). Central control module 46 also has a section 49 using the total target current and the distribution ratios (i.e., determine a sum of distribution ratios for each section of a state of charge) to calculate the corresponding individual current commands which are then transmitted over a communication bus 50 to local controllers [0038]; the current distribution ratios may be a function of the state of charge [0051]),
and determine state of charge sections in which the sum of the distribution ratios is equal to or greater than a threshold ratio as usage patterns Duan (e.g., distribution ratios for converters providing a positive current flow are assigned according to weighting factors (i.e., the sum of the distribution ratios) taking into account a plurality of predetermined ranges of SOC values (or other states) (i.e., determine state of charge sections) of each respective battery unit. For example, FIG. 13 shows a scale from 0 to 100% SOC, wherein a first threshold T1 defines a low region for SOC values less than T1. A second threshold T2 defines a high region for SOC values greater than T2 (i.e., greater than a threshold ratio). The thresholds define a mid-region for SOC values between T1 and T2 (i.e., equal to a threshold ratio) [0052]; a reference (i.e., as usage patterns) state of charge is determined as a median SOC, arithmetic average SOC, or a maximum or a minimum SOC of the cells in the battery pack [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Huang with Duan to determine a sum of distribution ratios for each section of a state of charge based on the battery state history data, and determine state of charge sections in which the sum of the distribution ratios is equal to or greater than a threshold ratio as usage patterns as this would give the advantage of considering the regions as shown, a more effective balancing of the states of charge for the battery units can be achieved, (see Duan, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ryu, Huang, and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Ryu further discloses wherein the battery state manager is configured to manage the battery state history data to include information on the distribution for each section of the state of charge (e.g., The battery sensor 110 may be configured to provide or transmit the battery state history data (i.e., battery state manager is configured to manage the battery state history data) [0035]; determining maximum distributions of the SOCs of the battery based on the battery state history data [0008]; a section having the maximum SOC distribution for a corresponding period by comparing the different sections (i.e., to include information on the distribution for each section of the state of charge) [0054]).
Ryu and Huang do not explicitly disclose information on the distribution ratios.
Duan discloses information on the distribution ratios (e.g., determining a distribution ratio (i.e., information on the distribution ratios) for each respective battery unit according to the overall reference state of the battery pack and the individual states of the battery units such that the distribution ratio for each battery unit will decrease divergence of the individual states from the overall reference state [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Huang with Duan for information on the distribution ratios as this would give the advantage of a more effective balancing of the states of charge for the battery units can be achieved by increasing the allocated current burden of the most highly charged battery units, (see Duan, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 3, Ryu, Huang, and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 2.
Ryu further discloses wherein the battery diagnostic device is configured to select a largest state of charge among the usage patterns as a maximum state of charge (e.g., The diagnosing of the state of the battery (i.e., the battery diagnostic device is configured) through the second logic may include selecting maximum distribution ranges of the SOCs of the battery based on the periodically stored data (i.e., is configured to select a largest state of charge among the usage patterns), calculating a maximum distribution range change rate of the SOCs of the battery SOCs corresponding to a third period based on the selected maximum distribution ranges of the SOCs (i.e., as a maximum state of charge) of the battery [0011]),
Ryu does not explicitly disclose to select a smallest state of charge among the usage patterns as a minimum state of charge, and to determine a difference between the maximum state of charge and the minimum state of charge to obtain the usage pattern depth of discharge.
Huang discloses to obtain the depth of discharge (e.g., Other attributes that could be stored are the number of battery charge/discharge cycles and the average depth of discharge (i.e., to obtain the depth of discharge) as well as any other battery attribute that might be determined from one or a combination of the measured parameters [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu with Huang to obtain the depth of discharge as this would give the advantage to establish very precise "time to empty" and "time to full charge" information, (see Huang, [0140]).
Ryu and Huang do not explicitly disclose to select a smallest state of charge among the usage patterns as a minimum state of charge, and to determine a difference between the maximum state of charge and the minimum state of charge to obtain the usage pattern.
Duan discloses to select a smallest state of charge among the usage patterns as a minimum state of charge (e.g., the reference state of the battery pack and the individual state of a battery unit) can be any desirable performance characteristic (i.e., among the usage patterns) of a battery such as a state of charge (SOC). The value used to characterize a state may be an average value, a mean value, or maximum or minimum values (i.e., to select a smallest state of charge as a minimum state of charge) within a battery unit [0039]),
and to determine a difference between the maximum state of charge and the minimum state of charge to obtain the usage pattern (e.g., a reference state of charge (SOCreference) is determined (i.e., to obtain the usage pattern) as a median SOC, arithmetic average SOC, or a maximum or a minimum SOC of the cells in the battery pack. The difference between the SOC of each battery unit (i.e., to determine a difference between the maximum state of charge and the minimum state of charge) and the reference SOC is calculated [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu and Huang with Duan for to select a smallest state of charge among the usage patterns as a minimum state of charge, and to determine a difference between the maximum state of charge and the minimum state of charge to obtain the usage pattern as this would give the advantage to determine the discharge capability of a battery pack that is limited by the battery unit (cell) having the lowest SOC, and when the SOC of the single unbalanced battery unit falls below the threshold, the battery pack can no longer support the electric-only drive cycle even though there is significant charge remaining in the other battery units, (see Duan, [0045]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ryu, Huang and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 3.
Ryu further discloses wherein the battery diagnostic device is configured to predict the remaining life of the battery to be longer depending on a size of the usage pattern (e.g., the controller may be configured to analyze a residual lifespan of the battery (i.e., the battery diagnostic device is configured to predict the remaining life of the battery) by analyzing battery usage data for a long term, based on properties that a distribution of SOCs of the battery is gradually reduced as wear of the battery proceeds (i.e., to be longer depending on a size of the usage pattern) [0036]).
Ryu does not explicitly disclose depending on a size of the usage pattern depth of discharge.
Huang discloses depending on a size of the usage pattern depth of discharge (e.g., FIG. 3 provides a schematic showing of an exemplary algorithm for such analysis, specifically for determining Ca on a regular basis, comparing it to Ce, determining Cm, and using these to provide an indication of anticipated battery life. A value x for an end of life factor feol, and a value y for a depth of discharge factor dd are assigned (i.e., depending on a size of the usage pattern depth of discharge) [0117]; this Cm value allows SOH to be determined for any battery, in substantially any condition, and thereafter allows its useful remaining life to be predicted accurately [0167]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu with Huang and Duan for predict the remaining life of the battery to be longer depending on a size of the usage pattern depth of discharge as this would give the advantage that these values control respectively the point at which the battery is deemed to be at the end of its useful life and the maximum depth to which it can be discharged without permanent damage, (see Huang, [0117]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ryu, Huang, and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Ryu, Huang, and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 11 and the limitations as discussed in above in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13, Ryu, Huang, and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 12 and the limitations as discussed above in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 14, Ryu, Huang, and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 13 and the limitations as discussed above in Claim 3.
Claims 5 and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Huang, Duan in view of Basu et al. (20160259013), hereinafter ‘Basu’.
Regarding Claim 5, Ryu, Huang, and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 4.
Ryu discloses wherein the battery diagnostic device is configured to predict the remaining life of the battery to be longer depending on a size of the state of charge (e.g., the controller may be configured to analyze a residual lifespan of the battery (i.e., the battery diagnostic device is configured to predict the remaining life of the battery) by analyzing battery usage data for a long term, based on properties that a distribution of SOCs of the battery is gradually reduced as wear of the battery proceeds (i.e., to be longer depending on a size of the state of charge) [0036]).
Ryu, Huang, and Duan do not explicitly disclose depending on a size of the minimum state of charge.
Basu discloses depending on a size of the minimum state of charge (e.g., predicting a remaining useful life (RUL), the method including measuring an operating current during a charging cycle and a discharging cycle of a battery, calculating a capacity fade for a plurality of cycles of the battery based on degradation parameters [0008]; The plurality of degradation parameters may include at least one of an operating temperature, a minimum state of charge (SOC) (i.e., depending on a size of the minimum state of charge) [0009]; The method may further include displaying the predicted RUL to indicate a time remaining until the battery reaches end-of-life (EOL) state [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Huang, and Duan with Basu for predict the remaining life of the battery to be longer depending on a size of the state of charge as this would give the advantage of calculating a capacity fade for a plurality of cycles of the battery based on degradation parameters and the measured operating currents, and predicting an RUL of the battery based on the calculated capacity fade, (see Basu. [0008]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ryu, Huang, Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 14, and Ryu, Huang, Duan and Basu disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 5.
Claim 7, 9-10, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Huang, Duan in view of Kinjo et al. (US 20120223670), hereinafter ‘Kinjo’.
Regarding Claim 7, Ryu, Huang, and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 1.
Ryu, Huang, and Duan do not explicitly disclose wherein the battery diagnostic device is configured to discharge the battery by driving an electric component receiving a voltage from the battery, to determine a discharge time for which the voltage of the battery reaches a threshold voltage due to the discharge of the battery, and to determine that as the discharge time is shorter, a possibility of battery failure is higher.
Kinjo disclose the battery diagnostic device is configured to discharge the battery by driving an electric component receiving a voltage from the battery (e.g., device that performs charge control or discharge control of the power storage device (i.e., the battery diagnostic device is configured to discharge the battery), the voltage information indicating information of a voltage applied to a capacitor provided between the power generation unit and the load (i.e., by driving an electric component receiving a voltage from the battery) via a first power supply line and a second power supply line, the deterioration information indicating a state of deterioration of a storage battery included in the power storage device [0052]),
to determine a discharge time for which the voltage of the battery reaches a threshold voltage due to the discharge of the battery (e.g., by using the voltage characteristic data obtained in this manner (i.e., due to the discharge of the battery), the determination unit calculates a discharge time (i.e., determine a discharge time) as a relative rate which is taken until the terminal voltage decreases to a certain voltage (i.e., for which the voltage of the battery reaches a threshold voltage) [0110]),
and to determine that as the discharge time is shorter, a possibility of battery failure is higher (e.g., Consequently, the discharge time until the terminal voltage initially in a full charge state falls below a certain voltage level is shortened (i.e., determine that as the discharge time is shorter) as the deterioration of the storage battery 304 proceeds (i.e., a possibility of battery failure is higher) [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Huang, and Duan with Kinjo for the battery diagnostic device is configured to discharge the battery by driving an electric component receiving a voltage from the battery, to determine a discharge time for which the voltage of the battery reaches a threshold voltage due to the discharge of the battery, and to determine that as the discharge time is shorter, a possibility of battery failure is higher as this would give the advantage of acquiring voltage information and deterioration information, the voltage information indicating information of a voltage being applied, the deterioration information indicating a state of deterioration of a storage battery connected, (see Kinjo, [0053]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ryu, Huang, Duan and Kinjo disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 7.
Ryu further discloses wherein the battery diagnostic device is configured to allow the battery to be discharged based on the state of charge of the battery of 50% or more than 50% (e.g., the vehicle battery diagnosis apparatus may be configured to analyze a residual lifespan of the battery by analyzing the data stored in the battery sensor for a long term, based on properties that a distribution of SOCs (i.e., the battery diagnostic device is configured to allow the battery to be discharged) of the battery is gradually reduced as wear of the battery proceeds [0049]; The item factor may have a storage index item, a SOC item of about 30% or less, a SOC item of about 30%-40%, a SOC item of about 40%-50% (i.e., based on the state of charge of the battery of 50% or more than 50%) [0050]).
Ryu does not explicitly disclose to allow the battery to be discharged by driving the electric component based on the state of charge of the battery of 50% or more.
Huang discloses to allow the battery to be discharged by driving the electric component based on the state of charge of the battery of 50% or more than 50% (e.g., Information provided can also be used to identify difficulty with ancillary equipment, e.g., an inoperative charging system, or the presence of a load (i.e., by driving the electric component) at an inappropriate point in the vehicle's operating cycle [0100]; the battery is relatively discharged (i.e., to allow the battery to be discharged), the left segment of the fuel gauge shows that SOC is on the order of 50% (i.e., based on the state of charge of the battery of 50% or more than 50%) [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu with Huang, Duan and Kinjo for to allow the battery to be discharged by driving the electric component based on the state of charge of the battery of 50% or more than 50% as this would give the advantage to evaluate the state of charge and state of health of storage batteries used in environments where the batteries are subjected to varying loads and recharging sequences, (see Huang, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 10, Ryu, Huang, Duan and Kinjo disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 9.
Ryu further discloses wherein the battery diagnostic device is configured to notify a user of a recommendation to replace the battery (e.g., The controller may be configured to diagnose (i.e., the battery diagnostic device is configured) that exchange of the battery is necessary (i.e., to notify a user of a recommendation to replace the battery), when the average of SOCs of the battery within the last 30 days is less than the third SOC [0041]).
Ryu does not explicitly disclose of a recommendation to replace the battery based on a fact that the discharge time is less than a threshold time.
Huang discloses to notify a user of a recommendation to replace the battery based on a fact that the discharge time is less than a threshold time (e.g., FIG. 1(A) also shows that a "discharge warning threshold" value may be predetermined as a fraction of Cm, somewhat above a Target Max(imum) Depth of Discharge (DoD) value (below which the battery may be damaged) to which Ca is compared; this comparison can be used to provide the user with a warning that the battery is becoming significantly discharged, such that corrective action is called for (i.e., to notify a user of a recommendation to replace the battery) [106]; The test circuitry determines a remaining useful life value as a function of the rate of change of the key performance parameters and one or more stored threshold values. The remaining useful life value is calculated as a number of starts remaining or as an amount of time remaining (i.e., based on a fact that the discharge time is less than a threshold time) [0085]; the invention can also store the largest capability value associated with a full charge of the battery as its capability varies over time. This value is called the effective capability of the battery. When the battery is new, the effective capability value is similar to the maximum capability value. However, over many charge/discharge cycles, and with the passage of time, the effective capability value will decrease (i.e., based on a fact that the discharge time is less than a threshold time) [0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu with Huang, Duan and Kinjo for to notify a user of a recommendation to replace the battery based on a fact that the discharge time is less than a threshold time as this would give the advantage to compare the effective capability value determined after a recent charge cycle to the stored maximum capability value. This comparison can be used to determine the amount of capability the battery has lost since it was new. This comparison can be expressed as a percentage and indicates where the battery is in its life cycle. This comparison is related to battery life or state of health. The rate of change of the battery life cycle value can be used to understand how long it will take for the battery to reach end of life, and how much useful life remains, (see Huang, [0108]).
Regarding Claim 17, Ryu, Huang and Duan disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 11, and Ryu, Huang, Duan, and Kinjo disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 7
Regarding Claim 19, Ryu, Huang, Duan and Kinjo disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 17 and the limitations as discussed above in Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20, Ryu, Huang, Duan and Kinjo disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 19, and the limitations as discussed above in Claim 10.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, Huang, Duan, and Kinjo in view of Ishibashi et al. (US 20130113437), hereinafter ‘Ishibashi’.
Regarding Claim 8, Ryu, Huang, Duan and Kinjo disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 7.
Ryu further discloses the battery diagnostic device (e.g., the vehicle battery diagnosis apparatus may be configured to analyze (i.e., the battery diagnostic device) a residual lifespan of the battery by analyzing the data stored in the battery sensor for a long term, based on properties that a distribution of SOCs of the battery is gradually reduced as wear of the battery proceeds [0049]).
Ryu, Huang, Duan and Kinjo do not explicitly disclose to discharge the battery by driving the electric component in a state in which an operation of a low voltage DC-DC converter reducing a high voltage and providing a voltage to the battery is stopped.
Ishibashi discloses to discharge the battery by driving the electric component in a state in which an operation of a low voltage DC-DC converter reducing a high voltage and providing a voltage to the battery is stopped (e.g., Referring to FIG. 2, a DC-DC converter (i.e., an operation of a low voltage DC-DC converter) for stepping down the voltage to a DC voltage [0043]; the CPU 13 switches on/off (i.e., providing a voltage to the battery is stopped) the electronic switches of the high voltage (i.e., reducing a high voltage) input power supply circuit 11 and the low voltage input power supply circuit 12 (i.e., by driving the electric component in a state). Further, the CPU 13 supplies control signals to the battery units BU. The CPU 13 supplies to the battery units BU a control signal for turning on the power supply to the battery units BU or a control signal for instructing the battery units BU to charge or discharge (i.e., to discharge the battery) [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ryu, Huang, Duan and Kinjo with Ishibashi to discharge the battery by driving the electric component in a state in which an operation of a low voltage DC-DC converter reducing a high voltage and providing a voltage to the battery is stopped as this would give the advantage to carry out discharge control for the battery units in response to a situation of each of batteries which the battery units individually have, (see Ishibashi, [0007]).
Regarding Claim 18, Ryu, Huang, Duan, and Kinjo disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 17, and Ryu, Huang, Duan, Kinjo, and Ishibashi disclose the limitations as discussed above in Claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art either singularly or in combination fail to anticipate or render obvious wherein the battery diagnostic device is configured to determine the remaining life of the battery based on Equation 1 below,
Remaining life of batter (%) =
x 100
in combination with the rest of the claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Hagimoto (US 20190319315) – discloses determine a sum of distribution ratios for each section of a state of charge based on the battery state history data (e.g., The ratio of remaining capacity α indicates the remaining capacity A1 of the first battery B1 to the sum of the remaining capacity A1 of the first battery B1 and the remaining capacity A2 of the second battery B2 (i.e., determine a sum of distribution ratios for each section of a state of charge). Then, the ECU 40 adjusts electric energy by using the ratio of remaining capacity α and a distribution ratio β (i.e., distribution ratios) [0028]; an ECU may learn a history of a change in the remaining capacity A1 of the first battery B1 and a history of a change in the remaining capacity A2 of the second battery B2 (i.e., based on the battery state history) and perform distribution control on which a tendency according to the histories is reflected. The ECU includes a history learning unit to learn the history of remaining capacity [0047]),
determine state of charge sections in which the sum of the distribution ratios is equal to or greater than a threshold ratio as usage patterns (e.g., The ratio of remaining capacity α becomes a predetermined value within a range of 0 to 1 (0≤α≤1) [0028]).
examiner should be directed to Agustin R Campozano whose telephone number is (571)- 272-0256. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5 EST.
supervisor, Catherine T. Rastovski can be reached on (571) 270-0349. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Agustin R Campozano/Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863