DETAILED ACTION
This is office action on the merits in response to the application filed on 10/30/2025.
Claims 1-28 have been filed by the applicant.
Claims 13-20 were previously canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 23, 26 are currently amended.
Claims 1-12, 21-28 are currently pending and have been examined.
Examiner note
The claims recites various “modules” and “signing service”. Although some of the “modules” are not interpreted under 112(f), all of the “modules” and “signing service” are interpreted as software. Therefore, any prior art that disclosing a single or combination of multiple hardware capable of doing the recited functions teaches these “modules” and “signing service” without having to discloses the exact same “modules” and “signing service”.
Response to Argument
112(f):
The applicant argues that claims 1, 3, 4 and 11 do not recite means plus function limitations because the claims do not recite “means for” or “step for”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
112(b):
The examiner agrees that the amendment overcomes previous 112(b) rejection.
Rejection under 103:
The applicant argues that the cited prior arts do not teach the amendment. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The amendment recites “signing service having a hardware security module that signing transaction”. McCauley teaches signing transaction using key [0022-0023].
Cignetti further discloses tearing down isolated environment and deleting, wiping or removing the bastion system, virtual network or HSM [Col 4:62-Col 5:14]. Therefore, Cignetti further teaches deprovisioning the signing service. Cignetti further discloses terminating connection the bastion system and HSM after completing request [Col15: 34-43]. Therefore, Cignetti teaches the amended feature of “creating and discarding second connection between offline output bridge module and online module”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: converting, using the disconnected vault module.
Claim 1: signing, using the signing service
Claims 3 and 10: confirmation module that operates…to verify.
Claims 4 and 11: online module is a final review module, where the final review module operates…to verify.
Claim 8: sign, using the signing service
Claim 26: online confirmation module that operates … to verify.
Claim 27: online confirmation module that operates … to verify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26 recites “discarding the output bridge module”. As stated above, “modules” are interpreted as software, and in light of the first “discarding” step, it is not clear whether:
the output bridge module (software) is discarded, or
a connection to the output bridge module is discarded.
In addition, on situation a), it is not clear how the software is discarded.
On situation b), it is not clear when the connection is discarded and which connection is discarded (i.e., to offline output bridge module OR online module).
For the purpose of examination, the examiner interpreted the limitation as discarding connection between output bridge module and offline output bridge module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 21-22 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cignetti et al. (US 10693638 B1), and further in view of Patil et al. (US 20200226332 A1) and McCauley et al. (US 20190266576 A1) and Cheng al. (US 20180367316 A1).
With respect to claim 1 and 8:
Cignetti teaches (in italic):
receiving, at an input bridge module, a [transaction] order and a corresponding cryptogram via a […] connection; […] transferring, from the […] input bridge module to a disconnected vault module, the [transaction] order and the cryptogram. (the computing resource service provider creates an isolated network environment that includes a bastion computer system connected to an HSM. At block 804, the bastion computer system receives the request to perform a cryptographic operation, and identifies the cryptographic key associated with the request. [Col2: 20-25, Col 13:50-52])
transferring the unsigned [transaction] and cryptogram to an offline signing service having a hardware security module. (At block 808, the bastion computer system provides the protected version of the cryptographic key along with the request to the HSM. the HSM performs the requested cryptographic operation. [Col13:57-59, Col14:25-29])
unwrapping, using the hardware security module, a [seed] from the cryptogram. (The HSM decrypts the protected version of the cryptographic key using the administrator key to remove a layer of decryption from the protected version of the cryptographic key [Col14:2-5])
generating, using the hardware security module and the [seed], a key for signing the [transaction]. (The HSM receives the request to create a new sensitive cryptographic key, and receives 705 the service provider key from a service controlled by the computing service provider. The HSM generates 706 a new sensitive cryptographic key in accordance with any parameters provided with the request. [Col12:5-11])
transferring the signed [transaction] to an offline output bridge module. (the HSM performs the requested cryptographic operation. The results of the cryptographic operation are returned to the key administrator via the bastion computer system over a protected communication channel [Col14:25-29])
deprovisioning the offline signing service in response to the transaction being signed. (After the cryptographic operations using the sensitive key 114 are complete, the computing resource service provider tears down the isolated environment. the HSM 110 is removed from the isolated environment 102. The bastion computer system 108 is wiped, and if the bastion computer system 108 is implemented as a virtual computer system, the virtual computer system is deleted. After the bastion computer system 108 is wiped, the isolated environment 102 is deconstructed. If the isolated environment 102 is a virtual network, the virtual network is deleted. [Col 4:62-Col 5:14])
creating a second connection between the offline output bridge module and an online module. (Connections between the administrator and the bastion computer system or HSM are terminated 912. In some implementations, the ceremony environment manager terminates the connections between the administrator and the bastion computer system, and provides a confirmation that the information contained in the isolated network environment has been destroyed. At block 914, the isolated network environment is deconstructed. In some implementations, the isolated network environment is a virtual network which is deleted [Col15: 34-43])
transferring the signed [transaction] from the output bridge module to the online module using the second connection. (At block 824, the bastion computer system relays the results of the cryptographic operation to the key administrator, and the key administrator receives 826 the results of the cryptographic operation on an administrative console [Col14:29-33])
discarding the second connection in response to the transfer of the signed [transaction] and the cryptogram from the output bridge module. (Connections between the administrator and the bastion computer system or HSM are terminated 912. In some implementations, the ceremony environment manager terminates the connections between the administrator and the bastion computer system, and provides a confirmation that the information contained in the isolated network environment has been destroyed. At block 914, the isolated network environment is deconstructed. In some implementations, the isolated network environment is a virtual network which is deleted [Col15: 34-43])
Cignetti does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However,
Patil teaches:
transaction; converting, using the disconnected vault module, the transaction order to an unsigned transaction. (In a step 1020, the integration server forwards this transaction to a control center. Next in a step 1030, the control center validates the transaction by ensuring that it is authorized by the owner. In a step 1040, a command containing instructions to be executed on the HSMs is sent back to the integration server. [0037])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti to convert transaction order to unsigned transaction with the technique as disclosed by Patil to provide command for HSM to execute transaction as Patil suggested.
Cignetti in view of Patil does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However,
McCauley teaches (in italic):
a temporary connection; discarding the temporary connection to the input bridge module in response to receipt of the transaction order […] at the input bridge module for causing the input bridge module to be offline. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
after the temporary connection is discarded, transferring […]. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. Once initiated, the request for a blockchain deposit address is then sent to the online server 2, which receives the request (step 201) and forwards it (step 202) via the relay server 3 to the HSM 5 (which as noted above is isolated from the Internet by the relay server 3). [0019 0022])
signing, […], the unsigned transaction using the key thereby creating a signed transaction. (The HSM 5 then signs (step 205) the blockchain address with the Organization's private key and returns the signed blockchain address to the online server 2. [0022-0023])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley does not explicitly teach a seed. However,
Cheng teaches a seed. (PCI-e HSM may unwrap (e.g., decrypt) the wrapped seed share two with the unwrapping key RSAPriv back to its original byte materials. Proper attribute settings for the unwrapped seed share two may be set. At 107, a method such as Shamir's Secret Sharing may be utilized (e.g., via a SFTS module) to recover the master private key (e.g., from seed share one and seed share two) for BIP-32 hierarchical deterministic key derivation (e.g., via the SFTS module). At 108, the transaction may be signed using the BIP-32 derived private key (e.g., via the SFTS module). [0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley to utilizing a seed for key generation with the technique as disclosed by Cheng to improves security as Cheng suggested [0072].
Claim 8, a computer product with the same scope as claim 1, is rejected.
With respect to claim 2 and 9:
Patil further teaches wherein the transaction order is verified prior to moving the transaction order to the input bridge module, wherein the input bridge module receives the verified transaction order from a verification module […]. (Next in a step 1030, the control center validates the transaction by ensuring that it is authorized by the owner. In a step 1040, a command containing instructions to be executed on the HSMs is sent back to the integration server. [0037])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to convert transaction order to unsigned transaction with the technique as disclosed by Patil to ensure data authentication as Patil suggested [0037].
McCauley further teaches the temporary connection. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
Claim 9, a computer product with the same scope as claim 2, is rejected.
With respect to claim 5 and 12:
Cignetti further teaches wherein the disconnected vault module is a stateless single use offline module with a temporary trusted execution environment. (After the cryptographic operations using the sensitive key 114 are complete, the computing resource service provider tears down the isolated environment. the HSM 110 is removed from the isolated environment 102. The bastion computer system 108 is wiped, and if the bastion computer system 108 is implemented as a virtual computer system, the virtual computer system is deleted. After the bastion computer system 108 is wiped, the isolated environment 102 is deconstructed. If the isolated environment 102 is a virtual network, the virtual network is deleted. [Col 4:62-Col 5:14])
McCauley further teaches wherein the temporary connection is a single use, unidirectional temporary connection that is discarded in response to the transaction order and the cryptogram being transferred to the input bridge module and prior to the transferring of the unsigned transaction and cryptogram to the offline hardware security module; and wherein the signed transaction is transferred from the output bridge module to the online module via a single use, unidirectional temporary connection that is discarded in response to the transaction being transferred to the online module. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
Claim 12, a computer product with the same scope as claim 5, is rejected.
With respect to claim 7:
Cignetti further teaches a system, comprising: a processor; and logic integrated with the processor, executable by the processor, or integrated with and executable by the processor, the logic being configured to perform the method of claim 1. (the computing resource service provider creates an isolated network environment that includes a bastion computer system connected to an HSM [Col 2:18-44, Fig. 4])
With respect to claim 21:
Cheng further teaches wherein the seed is a blockchain seed. (In one additional embodiment, the SFTSP includes Deterministic Derivation of Cryptocurrency Signing Keys with Split Master Seed and Enforcement of M-of-N Authentication Policy. This supports the SFTSP with innovations in Bitcoin and Blockchain, new service and product offerings in cryptocurrency. [0070])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system a to utilizing a blockchain seed for key generation with the technique as disclosed by Cheng to improves security as Cheng suggested [0072].
With respect to claim 22:
McCauley further teaches wherein the temporary connection is a single use, unidirectional communications link that is destroyed immediately after the transfer of the transaction order and the cryptogram to the input bridge module. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
With respect to claim 24:
McCauley further teaches
wherein the input bridge module receives the transaction order and the cryptogram from an online confirmation module, and comprising discarding the confirmation module after transfer of the transaction order to the input bridge module. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
wherein the transaction request and the cryptogram are only present in one or more of the modules that are offline after discarding the confirmation module and discarding the temporary connection. (The private key for that cryptoasset is stored only in the HSM, which does not permit the key to be read by any entity outside the HSM. [0017])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
With respect to claim 25:
McCauley further teaches comprising discarding the input bridge module in response to the transfer of the transaction order and the cryptogram therefrom. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Cignetti”, “Patil”, “McCauley” and “Cheng” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Buchheim et al. (US 20160019512 A1).
With respect to claims 3 and 10:
Cignetti further teaches wherein the output bridge module is a single use module that is deprovisioned in response to the transfer of the signed transaction therefrom. (After the cryptographic operations using the sensitive key 114 are complete, the computing resource service provider tears down the isolated environment. the HSM 110 is removed from the isolated environment 102. The bastion computer system 108 is wiped, and if the bastion computer system 108 is implemented as a virtual computer system, the virtual computer system is deleted. After the bastion computer system 108 is wiped, the isolated environment 102 is deconstructed. If the isolated environment 102 is a virtual network, the virtual network is deleted. [Col 4:62-Col 5:14])
Cheng further teaches further comprising discarding the confirmation module and connecting the disconnected vault module to the input bridge module in response to receipt of the transaction order and the cryptogram at the input bridge module. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng does not teach wherein the input bridge module receives the transaction order and the cryptogram from an online confirmation module that operates in conjunction with at least one human verifier to verify the transaction order. However,
Buchheim teaches wherein the input bridge module receives the transaction order and the cryptogram from an online confirmation module that operates in conjunction with at least one human verifier to verify the transaction order. (Further optionally, the cashier may be instructed to enter some type of validation code into the cash register 52 in order to provide final authorization to complete the transaction. [0059])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng verify transaction data by a person with the technique as disclosed by Buchheim to improve security by providing final authorization as Buchheim suggested.
Claim 10, a computer product with the same scope as claim 3, is rejected.
With respect to claims 4 and 11:
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng does not teach wherein the online module is a final review module, wherein the final review module operates in conjunction with at least one human verifier to verify the signed transaction. However,
Buchheim teaches wherein the online module is a final review module, wherein the final review module operates in conjunction with at least one human verifier to verify the signed transaction. (Further optionally, the cashier may be instructed to enter some type of validation code into the cash register 52 in order to provide final authorization to complete the transaction. [0059])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng verify transaction data by a person with the technique as disclosed by Buchheim to improve security by providing final authorization as Buchheim suggested.
Claim 11, a computer product with the same scope as claim 4, is rejected.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Cignetti”, “Patil”, “McCauley” and “Cheng” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 11468435 B1).
With respect to claim 6:
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng does not teach wherein the hardware security module is located in a cloud. However,
Cheng teaches wherein the hardware security module is located in a cloud. (In different embodiments, the required quorum private keys for one account are stored in different areas and with a hybrid cloud of HSM service providers, in addition to the on-premises HSM deployment described above. In this way, keys required for one quorum are never in one area or available to one HSM service provider/vendor [Col3:38-44])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng verify transaction data by a person with the technique as disclosed by Cheng to improve system flexibility as Cheng suggested.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Cignetti”, “Patil”, “McCauley” and “Cheng” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fitzpatrick et al. (US 20030133449 A1) and Cheng et al. (US 11468435 B1).
With respect to claim 23:
Cignetti further teaches wherein the output bridge module is a single use module that is deprovisioned in response to the transfer of the signed transaction therefrom. (After the cryptographic operations using the sensitive key 114 are complete, the computing resource service provider tears down the isolated environment. the HSM 110 is removed from the isolated environment 102. The bastion computer system 108 is wiped, and if the bastion computer system 108 is implemented as a virtual computer system, the virtual computer system is deleted. After the bastion computer system 108 is wiped, the isolated environment 102 is deconstructed. If the isolated environment 102 is a virtual network, the virtual network is deleted. [Col 4:62-Col 5:14])
McCauley further teaches wherein the hardware security module is located in a cloud, wherein the temporary connection is a single use, unidirectional communications link that is destroyed immediately after the transfer of the transaction order and the cryptogram to the input bridge module. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng does not teach wherein the hardware security module is located in a cloud. However,
Cheng teaches wherein the hardware security module is located in a cloud. (In different embodiments, the required quorum private keys for one account are stored in different areas and with a hybrid cloud of HSM service providers, in addition to the on-premises HSM deployment described above. In this way, keys required for one quorum are never in one area or available to one HSM service provider/vendor [Col3:38-44])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng verify transaction data by a person with the technique as disclosed by Cheng to improve system flexibility as Cheng suggested.
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng does not teach wherein the temporary connection is a single use, unidirectional internal Queued Direct I/O point-to- point in-memory communications connection. However,
Fitzpatrick teaches wherein the temporary connection is a single use, unidirectional internal Queued Direct I/O point-to- point in-memory communications connection. (The HiperSockets feature enables TCP/IP messages to be exchanged between images using memory-to-memory transfers for packet transmission, effectively putting a virtual internal network within the z900 system. [0032])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng verify transaction data by a person with the technique as disclosed by Fitzpatrick to improve transmission effectiveness as Fitzpatrick suggested.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Cignetti”, “Patil”, “McCauley” and “Cheng” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manamohan et al. (US 20210233192 A1).
With respect to claim 27:
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng does not teach wherein the input bridge module receives the transaction order and the cryptogram from an online confirmation module that operates in conjunction with at least three human verifiers to verify the transaction order based on a quorum of the verifiers. However,
Manamohan teaches wherein the input bridge module receives the transaction order and the cryptogram from an online confirmation module that operates in conjunction with at least three human verifiers to verify the transaction order based on a quorum of the verifiers. (In the verification phase, a group of peer nodes or participants can challenge another peer's/participant's reward claim. In some embodiments, a quorum or some minimum number of peer nodes or participants perform the challenge, and it should be understood that the more challengers/verifiers, the stronger the evidence that a reward claim is valid/invalid [0090])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng to verify transaction data by a group of people with the technique as disclosed by Manamohan to have strong validation as Manamohan suggested.
Claim(s) 26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cignetti et al. (US 10693638 B1), and further in view of Patil et al. (US 20200226332 A1) and McCauley et al. (US 20190266576 A1) and Cheng al. (US 20180367316 A1) and Manamohan et al. (US 20210233192 A1).
With respect to claim 26:
Cignetti teaches (in italic):
receiving, at an input bridge module, a [transaction] order and a corresponding cryptogram via a […] connection; […] transferring, from the […] input bridge module to a disconnected vault module, the [transaction] order and the cryptogram. (the computing resource service provider creates an isolated network environment that includes a bastion computer system connected to an HSM. At block 804, the bastion computer system receives the request to perform a cryptographic operation, and identifies the cryptographic key associated with the request. [Col2: 20-25, Col 13:50-52])
transferring the unsigned [transaction] and cryptogram to an offline hardware security module. (At block 808, the bastion computer system provides the protected version of the cryptographic key along with the request to the HSM [Col13:57-59])
unwrapping, using the hardware security module, a [seed] from the cryptogram. (The HSM decrypts the protected version of the cryptographic key using the administrator key to remove a layer of decryption from the protected version of the cryptographic key [Col14:2-5])
generating, using the hardware security module and the [seed], a key for signing the [transaction]. (The HSM receives the request to create a new sensitive cryptographic key, and receives 705 the service provider key from a service controlled by the computing service provider. The HSM generates 706 a new sensitive cryptographic key in accordance with any parameters provided with the request. [Col12:5-11])
transferring the signed [transaction] to an offline output bridge module. (the HSM performs the requested cryptographic operation. The results of the cryptographic operation are returned to the key administrator via the bastion computer system over a protected communication channel [Col14:25-29])
transferring the signed [transaction] from the output bridge module to an online module. (At block 824, the bastion computer system relays the results of the cryptographic operation to the key administrator, and the key administrator receives 826 the results of the cryptographic operation on an administrative console [Col14:29-33])
discarding the output bridge module in response to the transfer of the signed [transaction] and the cryptogram therefrom. (Connections between the administrator and the bastion computer system or HSM are terminated 912. In some implementations, the ceremony environment manager terminates the connections between the administrator and the bastion computer system, and provides a confirmation that the information contained in the isolated network environment has been destroyed. At block 914, the isolated network environment is deconstructed. In some implementations, the isolated network environment is a virtual network which is deleted [Col15: 34-43])
Cignetti does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However,
Patil teaches:
transaction; converting, using the disconnected vault module, the transaction order to an unsigned transaction. (In a step 1020, the integration server forwards this transaction to a control center. Next in a step 1030, the control center validates the transaction by ensuring that it is authorized by the owner. In a step 1040, a command containing instructions to be executed on the HSMs is sent back to the integration server. [0037])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti to convert transaction order to unsigned transaction with the technique as disclosed by Patil to provide command for HSM to execute transaction as Patil suggested.
Cignetti in view of Patil does not explicitly teach the following limitations. However,
McCauley teaches (in italic):
a temporary connection; discarding the temporary connection to the input bridge module in response to receipt of the transaction order […] at the input bridge module for causing the input bridge module to be offline. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. [0019])
after the temporary connection is discarded, transferring […]. (The relay server 3 functions as a virtual air gap to isolate the HSM 5 from the public computer network 9. The relay server 3 disconnects itself from the secure network while communicating with the online server 1, and disconnects itself from all external networks while communicating with the HSM 5, such that no interactive sessions with those devices can be established from the outside. This provides virtual “air gap” security to critical infrastructure. Once initiated, the request for a blockchain deposit address is then sent to the online server 2, which receives the request (step 201) and forwards it (step 202) via the relay server 3 to the HSM 5 (which as noted above is isolated from the Internet by the relay server 3). [0019 0022])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil to establish temporary connection and discard afterward with the technique as disclosed by McCauley to provide air-gaped security as McCauley suggested.
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley does not explicitly teach a seed. However,
Cheng teaches a seed. (PCI-e HSM may unwrap (e.g., decrypt) the wrapped seed share two with the unwrapping key RSAPriv back to its original byte materials. Proper attribute settings for the unwrapped seed share two may be set. At 107, a method such as Shamir's Secret Sharing may be utilized (e.g., via a SFTS module) to recover the master private key (e.g., from seed share one and seed share two) for BIP-32 hierarchical deterministic key derivation (e.g., via the SFTS module). At 108, the transaction may be signed using the BIP-32 derived private key (e.g., via the SFTS module). [0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley to utilizing a seed for key generation with the technique as disclosed by Cheng to improves security as Cheng suggested [0072].
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng does not teach wherein […] receives the transaction order […] from an online confirmation module that operates in conjunction with at least two human verifiers to verify the transaction order. However,
Manamohan teaches wherein the input bridge module receives the transaction order and the cryptogram from an online confirmation module that operates in conjunction with at least two human verifiers to verify the transaction order. (In the verification phase, a group of peer nodes or participants can challenge another peer's/participant's reward claim. In some embodiments, a quorum or some minimum number of peer nodes or participants perform the challenge, and it should be understood that the more challengers/verifiers, the stronger the evidence that a reward claim is valid/invalid [0090])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng to verify transaction data by a group of people with the technique as disclosed by Manamohan to have strong validation as Manamohan suggested.
With respect to claim 28:
Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng does not teach wherein the input bridge module receives the transaction order and the cryptogram from an online confirmation module that operates in conjunction with at least two human verifiers to verify the transaction order. However,
Manamohan teaches wherein the input bridge module receives the transaction order and the cryptogram from an online confirmation module that operates in conjunction with at least two human verifiers to verify the transaction order. ((In the verification phase, a group of peer nodes or participants can challenge another peer's/participant's reward claim. In some embodiments, a quorum or some minimum number of peer nodes or participants perform the challenge, and it should be understood that the more challengers/verifiers, the stronger the evidence that a reward claim is valid/invalid [0090])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Cignetti in view of Patil and McCauley and Cheng to verify transaction data by a group of people with the technique as disclosed by Manamohan to have strong validation as Manamohan suggested.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180330369 A1: A system includes a computing device and a first external signing device wirelessly communicatively coupled to the computing device. The computing device is configured to: receive a request to initiate payment from a mobile wallet; and wirelessly transmit unsigned transaction details to the first external signing device. The first external signing device is configured to: determine whether the unsigned transaction details meet restrictions set by any removable permission module inserted into the first external signing device; and when the unsigned transaction details meet the restrictions set by any removable permission module inserted into the first external signing device: wirelessly transmit a first signature to the computing device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.X./Examiner, Art Unit 3685
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698