Compact Prosecution
Examiner would like to propose a telephone interview to discuss possible amendments from the specifications to further prosecution.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 7, 19 and 20 specifically the independent claims such as 1, 19 and 20 have been moot because of the new grounds of rejection does not rely on the newly applied references (Nishiguchi-20050068566 in view of Mathieson -20030226464) in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the cited prior art ((Nishiguchi-20050068566 in view of Mathieson -20030226464)) fails to disclose in response to the printing of the print data is determined as having been ended at a predetermined timing, delete the print data from the storage unit" because such function for Nishiguchi is not performed by the server 2 but is performed by the printer 1.
In response, Examiner’s position is that Nishiguchi discloses (Section 0045, “At the “print data deletion conditions” are designated conditions for clearing print data stored in the file server 2)
Thus the print data is deleted from the server by the server based on the inquiry from the printer that the print data has been printed- See Section 0085.
Also, see Mathieson Section 0015, lines 9-11 thus which acknowledges completion of a print job to the network server only after a print job has been completely printed.
See the screenshot below showing that the completed print job is deleted from the storage in the server and the deletion is implemented by the server.
Clearly the screenshot shows the Delete job 1 happens in the network server after acknowledgement that the print job has been completed printing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi (20050068566) in view Mathieson (20030226464).
Claim 1, Nishiguchi discloses An information processing apparatus ((Element 100 shown in Fig. 3) comprising:
a communication unit; (Print data transmission portion 203)
a storage unit configured to store at least print data; (Print data memory portion 202) and a processor configured to receive, (Section 0033, control circuit 1c controls all parts of the printer) from a user via the communication unit, a printing instruction to perform printing of an image on an image forming device; (print data reception portion 201 in File server 2 shown in Fig. 3)
in response to receiving the printing instruction, transmit the print data via the communication unit to a server device which causes the image forming device to perform the printing of the print data; (Section 0040 the user enters a predetermined command which is the print instruction and in Section 0041, lines 7-9- thus a material is printed based on the print instruction)
and in response to the printing of the print data is determined as having been ended at a predetermined timing, (Section 0045, “print data deletion time” elapsed) delete the print data from the storage unit, wherein the printing of the print data is determined as having been ended is where a response result received via the communication unit indicates that the printing of the print data has ended, (Section 0045, “At the “print data deletion conditions” are designated conditions for clearing print data stored in the file server 2)
Thus the print data is deleted from the server by the server based on the inquiry from the printer that the print data has been printed- See Section 0085.
and the predetermined timing is a timing within each predetermined period as the print data is deleted from the storage when the timing of the predetermined period has ended. (Section 0045, lines 8-10 thus “the print data deletion time elapsed” this means the deletion of the print data take place when the print data deletion time has elapsed)
See the screenshot below regarding the print data deletion time elapsed.
Nishiguchi does not clearly disclose that there is an inquiry to the server.
Mathieson discloses deleting a print job from a memory of a server based on an inquiry to a server. (Section 0015, lines 9-11 thus which acknowledges completion of a print job to the network server only after a print job has been completed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of deleting the completed printed job after there is an acknowledgement that the print job has been completed. The motivation is that print jobs that are not needed doesn’t occupy space in the memory.
Claims 2-6 (Cancelled)
Claim 7, Nishiguchi in view Mathieson discloses The information processing apparatus according to The information processing apparatus according to wherein information indicating the response result is at least one of information indicating a printing status of individual print data or information indicating all pieces of print data that have not been printed among pieces of print data received by the server device.
(Nishiguchi: Based on section 0056, lines 4-8 the status information 73 of printer 1 is performing a printing process based on another print job which means the status of the printer is based on whether the print job is completed or in progress or in error. The status of the printer based on the print job shows the print job’s status).
Claim 19, Nishiguchi discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium storing an information processing program causing a computer comprising a communication unit, (Print data transmission portion 203)
a storage unit configured to store at least print data, (Print data memory portion 202)
and a processor to execute a process performed by the processor (Section 0033, control circuit 1c controls all parts of the printer) comprising:
receiving, from a user via the communication unit, a printing instruction to perform printing of an image on an image forming device (print data reception portion 201 in File server 2 shown in Fig. 3)
in response to receiving the printing instruction, transmitting print data via the communication unit to a server device which causes the image forming device to perform the printing of the print data; (Section 0040 the user enters a predetermined command which is the print instruction and in Section 0041, lines 7-9- thus a material is printed based on the print instruction)
and in response to the printing of the print data is determined as having been ended at a predetermined timing, (Section 0045, “print data deletion time” elapsed) deleting the print data from the storage unit, wherein the printing of the print data is determined as having been ended is where a response result received via the communication unit to an inquiry to the server device indicates that the printing of the print data has ended, (Section 0045, “At the “print data deletion conditions” are designated conditions for clearing print data stored in the file server 2)
Thus the print data is deleted from the server by the server based on the inquiry from the printer that the print data has been printed- See Section 0085.
and the predetermined timing is a timing within each predetermined period as the print data is deleted from the storage when the timing of the predetermined period has ended. (Section 0045, lines 8-10 thus “the print data deletion time elapsed” this means the deletion of the print data take place when the print data deletion time has elapsed)
See the screenshot below regarding the print data deletion time elapsed.
Nishiguchi does not clearly disclose that there is an inquiry to the server.
Mathieson discloses deleting a print job from a memory of a server based on an inquiry to a server. (Section 0015, lines 9-11 thus which acknowledges completion of a print job to the network server only after a print job has been completed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of deleting the completed printed job after there is an acknowledgement that the print job has been completed. The motivation is that print jobs that are not needed doesn’t occupy space in the memory.
Claim 20, Nishiguchi discloses An information processing method executed by an information processing apparatus comprising a communication unit, (Print data transmission portion 203)
a storage unit configured to store at least print data, and a processor, the method (Print data memory portion 202) comprising:
receiving, from a user via the communication unit, a printing instruction to perform printing of an image on an image forming device; (print data reception portion 201 in File server 2 shown in Fig. 3)
in response to receiving the printing instruction, transmitting print data via the communication unit to a server device which causes the image forming device to perform the printing of the print data; (Section 0040 the user enters a predetermined command which is the print instruction and in Section 0041, lines 7-9- thus a material is printed based on the print instruction)
and in response to the printing of the print data is determined as having been ended at a predetermined timing, (Section 0045, “print data deletion time” elapsed)
deleting the print data from the storage unit, wherein the printing of the print data is determined as having been ended is where a response result received via the communication unit to an inquiry to the server device indicates that the printing of the print data has ended, (Section 0045, “At the “print data deletion conditions” are designated conditions for clearing print data stored in the file server 2)
Thus the print data is deleted from the server by the server based on the inquiry from the printer that the print data has been printed- See Section 0085.
and the predetermined timing is a timing within each predetermined period as the print data is deleted from the storage when the timing of the predetermined period has ended. (Section 0045, lines 8-10 thus “the print data deletion time elapsed” this means the deletion of the print data take place when the print data deletion time has elapsed)
Nishiguchi does not clearly disclose that there is an inquiry to the server.
Mathieson discloses deleting a print job from a memory of a server based on an inquiry to a server. (Section 0015, lines 9-11 thus which acknowledges completion of a print job to the network server only after a print job has been completed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of deleting the completed printed job after there is an acknowledgement that the print job has been completed. The motivation is that print jobs that are not needed doesn’t occupy space in the memory.
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Motoyama (US-2008/0098038) discloses The approach for managing print data on printing devices also includes deleting print data from printing devices when the print data has been processed at the printing device at least a specified number of times.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 5/20/2026