DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 10-11, 13-14, 17, and 19 have been amended; Claims 15 have been canceled; No Claim(s) have been added. Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-20 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner interprets the limitation of claim 1: “determining, based on an indication of a signal change moment in the indication information, a moment when a signal changes” as: the UE receiving information containing an indication that a signal has changed at some moment. The use of the word “an indication of a signal change moment” makes it unclear if the indication information is explicitly signaling the moment in terms of time units (as described in specifications filed 09/07/2022 para 60-62) or implicitly signaling the moment had happened already. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret “an indication of a signal change moment” as an implicit signal.
In claims 1, 11, and 19 recite the term “a first association relationship between a first signal set and a second signal set” is unclear as to how these sets relate to the change in available beams. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the first signal set as a set of reference signals or synchronization signals after the change of available beams in the target cell, and the second signal set as a set of reference signals or synchronization signals before the change of available beams in the target cell. Furthermore, the term “a first association relationship” is vague. The examiner recommends including language in specifications filed 09/07/2022 para 44, 53, and 55.
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites the limitations involving ““the first signal set is a set of reference signals…and the second signal set is a set of reference signals”. It is not clear whether these “the first signal set” and “the second signal set” is in reference to the “a first signal set and a second signal set that are of the neighboring cell” of claim 17 or the “a first signal set and a second signal set that are of the target cell” of claim 11, which are interpreted to mean two different set of signals. The examiner recommends the applicant to amend the limitation to: “the first signal set that is of the neighboring cell is a set of reference signals or synchronization signals after a change in the neighboring cell, and the second signal set that is of the neighboring cell is a set of reference signals or synchronization signals before the change in the neighboring cell”. Similarly, claim 18 recites the limitation “the first signal set” and “the second signal set” without clarifying if it is referencing the “a first signal set and a second signal set that are of the neighboring cell” of claim 17 or the “a first signal set and a second signal set that are of the target cell” of claim 11, which are interpreted to mean two different set of signals.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 19 recite the limitation “a moment when a signal changes”. It is not clear whether the “a signal” in this limitation is the same or different from the signal in the prior limitations “wherein the indication information is used to indicate a signal that changes in the target cell”. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation to mean: “ a moment with the signal changes”, wherein the two signals are the same. Claims 2-10 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1. Claims 12-14, 16-18, and 20 are rejected as being dependent on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-12, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FUJIMURA et al. (US 12063521 B2), hereby referred to as FUJI.
Claim 1:
FUJI teaches A measurement configuration method, performed by a terminal, comprising: receiving indication information transmitted by a first network side device upon a change of available beams in a target cell, wherein the indication information is used to indicate a signal that changes in the target cell (FUJI: col 7 line 49 - col 8 line 10 (“The base station 10 that receives the beam quality report at step S204 determines a new transmit beam at step S205. Subsequently, in order to communication with the user equipment 20 using the new transmit beam, the base station 10 transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the user equipment 20 at step S206.”) wherein the change is the change in best beam); performing measurement or synchronization based on the signal that changes, wherein the target cell comprises a serving cell, and the signal that changes comprises at least one of a reference signal or a synchronization signal (FUJI: col 7 line 49 - col 8 line 10 (“…at S207, the user equipment 20 performs beam quality measurement (e.g., L1-RSRP measurement)…”) wherein measurement is done on an RS or a SS in L1-RSRP measurements based on new transmit beam change); and determining, based on an indication of a signal change moment in the indication information, a moment when a signal changes (FUJI: FIG. 5 item 203 the UE determining that a signal had changed in some moment, performs beam quality measurement and col 7 line 49 - col 8 line 10 (“The base station 10 that receives the beam quality report at step S204 determines a new transmit beam at step S205. Subsequently, in order to communication with the user equipment 20 using the new transmit beam, the base station 10 transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the user equipment 20 at step S206.”) wherein RRC reconfiguration message indicates to a user equipment that there was a moment in which the signal/best beam was changed) (see Examiner’s note for interpretation), wherein the indication information comprises a first association relationship between a first signal set and a second signal set that are of the target cell (FUJI: col 7 line 49 - col 8 line 10 (“The base station 10 that receives the beam quality report at step S204 determines a new transmit beam at step S205. Subsequently, in order to communication with the user equipment 20 using the new transmit beam, the base station 10 transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the user equipment 20 at step S206.”) and col 14 lin 47-50 (“The information indicating the update of the configuration may be a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message.”) wherein the association relationship is that the first set/the changed beam is better/more optimal than the second set/previous beams; or that the first set is a subset of the second set).
Claim 2:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 1, wherein the first signal set is a set of reference signals or synchronization signals after the change of available beams in the target cell, and the second signal set is a set of reference signals or synchronization signals before the change of available beams in the target cell (FUJI: col 7 line 49 - col 8 line 10 (“The base station 10 that receives the beam quality report at step S204 determines a new transmit beam at step S205. Subsequently, in order to communication with the user equipment 20 using the new transmit beam, the base station 10 transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the user equipment 20 at step S206.”) wherein the first set/the changed beam is better/more optimal than the second set/previous beams; or that the first set is a subset of the second set).
Claim 10:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 1. Further limitations involving “neighboring cell” are considered optional.
Claim 11:
FUJI teaches a measurement configuration method, performed by a first network side device, comprising: transmitting indication information to a terminal upon a change of available beams in a target cell (FUJI: col 7 line 49 - col 8 line 10 (“The base station 10 that receives the beam quality report at step S204 determines a new transmit beam at step S205. Subsequently, in order to communication with the user equipment 20 using the new transmit beam, the base station 10 transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the user equipment 20 at step S206.”) wherein the change is the change in best beam). For further limitations, see rejection to claim 1 above.
Claim 12:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 11. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 2 above.
Claim 17:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 11. Further limitations involving “neighboring cell” are considered optional.
Claim 18:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 17. Further limitations involving “neighboring cell” are considered optional.
Claim 19:
FUJI teaches a terminal, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform a measurement configuration method (FUJI: FIG. 11).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1 above.
Claim 20:
FUJI teaches a network side device, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform the method of claim 11 (FUJI: FIG. 11).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 11 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJI in view of SHI et al. (WO 2019028765 A1) (See IDS 09/07/2022), hereby referred to as SHI.
Claim 3:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first association relationship further comprises at least one of the following: first indication information of the target cell, wherein the first indication information comprises code division multiplexing (CDM) of a first signal in the first signal set and indicates the first signal, and the first signal is a signal that is generated in the target cell upon the change of available beams but does not exist in the target cell before the change of available beams; second indication information of the target cell, wherein the second indication information indicates a second signal in the second signal set, and the second signal is a signal that exists in the target cell before a change but does not exist in the target cell after the change; or third indication information of the target cell, wherein the third indication information indicates a third signal in the first signal set and a fourth signal in the second signal set, and the third signal and the fourth signal are signals that exist in the target cell before and after the change of available beams.
SHI, in the same field of endeavor, wherein the first association relationship comprises at least one of the following: third indication information of the target cell, wherein the third indication information indicates a third signal in the first signal set and a fourth signal in the second signal set, and the third signal and the fourth signal are signals that exist in the target cell before and after a change (SHI: para 61 (“Upon receiving this report the network analyzes the information regarding SS resource 3…network determines that SS resource 3 is or is becoming the best SS resource and finds that CSI-RS resource setting N…is QCLed with SS resource 3…network issues…beam management commands to the UE to activate CSI-RS resource setting N…also tell the UE to deactivate CSI-RS resource setting M.”), para 69 (“…beam management configuration includes the information of the CSI-RS resources the receiver should activate for beam management and/or the information of the CSI-RS resources the receivers should deactivate for beam management.”), para 80 (“The information of the CSI-RS resources can be one of the following: CSI-RS resource identity…”) wherein the third indication information is the beam management information indicating a third signal of the first signal set (any of the CSI-RS within CSI-RS resource setting N) and a fourth signal in the second signal set (any of the CSI-RS with CSI-RS resource setting M) which both can exist before and after the change).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified FUJI with SHI, the combination hereby referred to as FUJI-SHI, for the benefit of mitigating link failure (SHI: para 4).
Claim 4:
FUJI-SHI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 3. Further limitations involving “the first indication information” are considered optional limitations.
Claim 6:
FUJI-SHI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 3, wherein a signal used by the terminal for channel measurement is a signal in the second signal set (SHI: para 60 (“…UE is to perform L1 measurement or beam management…on the CSI-RS resource specified by CSI-RS resource setting M.”) wherein the signal used for measurement is within the second signal set/CSI-RS resource setting M), and the first association relationship comprises the third indication information (SHI: para 61 (“Upon receiving this report the network analyzes the information regarding SS resource 3…network determines that SS resource 3 is or is becoming the best SS resource and finds that CSI-RS resource setting N…is QCLed with SS resource 3…network issues…beam management commands to the UE to activate CSI-RS resource setting N…also tell the UE to deactivate CSI-RS resource setting M.”) wherein first association relationship comprises the indication of the relationship that that SS resource 3 associated with CSI-RS resource setting N is or is becoming the best/better SS resource than SS resource 2 associated with CSI-RS resource setting M) after the receiving indication information transmitted by a first network side device, the method further comprises: determining, based on the third indication information, whether the signal used by the terminal for channel measurement is in the first signal set (SHI: para 61 (“…network issues…beam management commands to the UE to activate CSI-RS resource setting N…also tell the UE to deactivate CSI-RS resource setting M.”) wherein it is determined that the signal used by the terminal is in the first signal set/CSI-RS resource setting N); and adjusting a signal measurement configuration based on a determining result (SHI: para 61 (“…UE to perform L1 measurement or beam management using the CSI-RS resource specified by CSI-RS resource setting N….cease measurement…using the CSI-RS resource specified in CSI-RS resource setting M.”) wherein the signal measurement configuration is adjusted based on the determination to use the signals of the first signal set/CSI-RS resource setting N).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified FUJI with SHI, the combination hereby referred to as FUJI-SHI, for the benefit of mitigating link failure (SHI: para 4).
Claim 13:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 11. For further limitations, see rejection for claim 3 above.
Claim 14:
FUJI-SHI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 13. Further limitations involving “the first indication information” are considered optional limitations.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJI in view of CHANG et al. (US 20230276325 A1).
Claim 5:
FUJI teaches The measurement configuration method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein after the receiving indication information transmitted by a first network side device, the method further comprises one of the following: determining, based on a first preset parameter, that the moment when a signal changes is after a first preset quantity of radio frames, subframes, or slots after the indication information is received; or determining, based on a second preset parameter, that the moment when a signal changes to be a moment after a second preset quantity of periods of a synchronization signal block.
CHANG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein after the receiving indication information transmitted by a first network side device, the method further comprises one of the following: determining, based on a first preset parameter, that the moment when a signal changes is after a first preset quantity of radio frames, subframes, or slots after the indication information is received (CHANG: para 50 (“…an eNB cells witching may be indicated by DCI…a subframe offset…may be configured in a DCI, and may indicate to a UE to switch a beam corresponding to a a target eNB at a later subframe…”)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified FUJI with CHANG for the benefit of compensating for pathloss and suppressing interference (CHANG: para 17).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJI in view of SHI, the combination hereby referred to as FUJI-SHI, and in further view of NAM et al. (US 20180262313 A1) (see 892 11/20/2024), hereby referred to as NAM.
Claim 7:
FUJI-SHI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 6, wherein the adjusting a signal measurement configuration based on a determining result comprises one of the following: when the signal used by the terminal for channel measurement is in the first signal set, determining that the signal used by the terminal for channel measurement is a signal in the first signal set (SHI: para 61 (“…UE to perform L1 measurement or beam management using the CSI-RS resource specified by CSI-RS resource setting N….cease measurement…using the CSI-RS resource specified in CSI-RS resource setting M.”) wherein the signal measurement configuration is adjusted based on the determination to use the signals of the first signal set/CSI-RS resource setting N).
However, FUJI-SHI does not explicitly disclose a signal measurement configuration parameter associated with the signal in the first signal set is the same as a signal measurement configuration parameter associated with the signal in the second signal set.
NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a signal measurement configuration parameter associated with the signal in the first signal set is the same as a signal measurement configuration parameter associated with the signal in the second signal set (NAM: para 253 (“A QCL resource for each CSI-RS resource of the second set in a set of QCL parameters can be a CSI-RS resource…of the first set…suppose that the UE is configured with two sets of CSI-RS: the first set: resources 0-99; and the second set: resources 0-2.”) where while, configuration is updated for a different CSI-RS resource set, some parameters are QCLed/the same for both sets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified FUJI-SHI with NAM for the benefit of flexibility to meet different requirements (NAM: para 3).
Claim(s) 8-9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUJI in view of NAM.
Claim 8:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein after the receiving indication information transmitted by a first network side device, the method further comprises: configuring, based on the first association relationship, a configuration parameter for signal measurement and status information that are associated with a first target signal to a second target signal, wherein the first target signal is a signal in the second signal set, and the second signal set is a signal in the first signal set.
NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein after the receiving indication information transmitted by a first network side device (NAM: para 259 (“The update command may include…”) wherein the indication is the update command), the method further comprises: configuring, based on the first association relationship, a configuration parameter for signal measurement and status information that are associated with a first target signal to a second target signal, wherein the first target signal is a signal in the second signal set, and the second signal set is a signal in the first signal set (NAM: para 253 (“A QCL resource for each CSI-RS resource of the second set in a set of QCL parameters can be a CSI-RS resource…of the first set…suppose that the UE is configured with two sets of CSI-RS: the first set: resources 0-99; and the second set: resources 0-2.”) and para 259 (“The update command may include the following information: a resource index…in the second set to update…”) where while, configuration is updated for CSI-RS in each of the different CSI-RS resource set, some parameters are QCLed/the same for the signals in the first set and the second set).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified FUJI with NAM for the benefit of flexibility to meet different requirements (NAM: para 3).
Claim 9:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication information is transmitted by using system information or a paging message.
NAM, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication information is transmitted by using system information or a paging message (NAM: para 180 (“…configure the cell-wide CSI-RS cell specifically via broadcast signaling…RMSI…SIB…”) wherein indication/configuration of CSI-RS is transmitted via system information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified FUJI with NAM for the benefit of reducing latency (NAM: para 249).
Claim 16:
FUJI teaches the measurement configuration method according to claim 11. For further limitations, see rejection to claim 9 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416