DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dike (US 20090323024) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an optical system, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); comprising: a light-emitting source (108); a light conversion unit (112); and a first reflection unit (128), wherein the light conversion unit (112) is on a light exit side of the light-emitting source (108), and a first surface of the light conversion unit (112) faces a light exit surface of the light-emitting source (108), and the first reflection unit (128) is on a side of the light conversion unit (112) away from the light-emitting source (108), and a first angle ([0042]) is provided between a second surface of the first reflection unit (128) and the first surface, and wherein a first light (104) emitted by the light-emitting source (108) is converted by the light conversion unit (112) into a second light (light waves between 120 and 132), and the second light (light waves between 120 and 132) is reflected by the first reflection unit (128).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the light conversion unit (112) comprises an absorptive polarizer ([0024]) and a first phase retarder (120), and wherein the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) comprises the first surface, and the first phase retarder (120) is on a side of the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) away from the light-emitting source (108).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein a second angle ([0042]) is provided between a transmission axis of the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) and an optical axis of the first phase retarder (120).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 2, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the first reflection unit (128) comprises a reflective polarizer and a second phase retarder (142) ([0030]), the second phase retarder (142) comprises the second surface, the second surface faces the light conversion unit (112), the reflective polarizer is on a side of the second phase retarder (142) away from the light conversion unit (112), and a vibration direction of the reflective polarizer is orthogonal ([0044]) to a vibration direction of the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) , and wherein the second light (light waves between 120 and 132) is converted by the second phase retarder (142) into a third light (looped light leaving 128), the third light (looped light leaving 128) is reflected by the reflective polarizer to the second phase retarder (142) and converted by the second phase retarder (142) into a fourth light (straight light leaving 132) to be transmitted to the first phase retarder (120), then the fourth light (straight light leaving 132) is converted by the first phase retarder (120) into a fifth light, and the fifth light is absorbed by the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) .
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 4, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the first light (104) is natural light, the second light (light waves between 120 and 132) is circularly polarized light ([0013]), the third light (looped light leaving 128) is a linearly polarized light ([0029]), the fourth light (straight light leaving 132) is a circularly polarized light ([0013]), and the fifth light is a linearly polarized light ([0029]), and wherein a vibration direction of the third light (looped light leaving 128) is orthogonal ([0044]) to a vibration direction of the fifth light.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 4, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the first phase retarder (120) and the second phase retarder (142) are quarter-wave plates.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 4, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein a third angle ([0042]) is provided between an optical axis of the second phase retarder (142) and a transmission axis of the reflective polarizer.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the optical system further comprises a second reflection unit, the second reflection unit is on the side of the light conversion unit (112) away from the light-emitting source (108), and a reflecting surface of the second reflection unit faces the second surface of the first reflection unit (128), and wherein a sixth light emitted by the light-emitting source (108) is converted by the light conversion unit (112) into a seventh light, the seventh light is transmitted to the first reflection unit (128) and converted by the first reflection unit (128) into an eighth light to be reflected to the second reflection unit, and the eighth light is then reflected by the second reflection unit to the first reflection unit (128) and converted by the first reflection unit (128) into a ninth light to pass through the first reflection unit (128).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the second reflection unit comprises a curved lens, a surface of the curved lens facing the first reflection unit (128) is a plane, and a surface of the curved lens away from the first reflection unit (128) is a curved surface ([0046]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the first angle ([0042]) is not less than 30 degrees and not greater than 60 degrees ([0042]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the optical system further comprises a lens, and the lens is arranged between the light-emitting source (108) and the light conversion unit (112).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches a near-eye display device, comprising an optical system, wherein the optical system comprises: a light-emitting source (108); a light conversion unit (112); and a first reflection unit (128), wherein the light conversion unit (112) is on a light exit side of the light-emitting source (108), and a first surface of the light conversion unit (112) faces a light exit surface of the light-emitting source (108), and the first reflection unit (128) is on a side of the light conversion unit (112) away from the light-emitting source (108), and a first angle ([0042]) is provided between a second surface of the first reflection unit (128) and the first surface, and wherein a first light (104) emitted by the light-emitting source (108) is converted by the light conversion unit (112) into a second light (light waves between 120 and 132), and the second light (light waves between 120 and 132) is reflected by the first reflection unit (128).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the light conversion unit (112) comprises an absorptive polarizer ([0024]) and a first phase retarder (120), and wherein the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) comprises the first surface, and the first phase retarder (120) is on a side of the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) away from the light-emitting source (108).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein a second angle ([0042]) ([0042]) is provided between a transmission axis of the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) and an optical axis of the first phase retarder (120).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the first reflection unit (128) comprises a reflective polarizer and a second phase retarder (142), the second phase retarder (142) comprises the second surface, the second surface faces the light conversion unit (112), the reflective polarizer is on a side of the second phase retarder (142) away from the light conversion unit (112), and a vibration direction of the reflective polarizer is orthogonal ([0044]) to a vibration direction of the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) , and wherein the second light (light waves between 120 and 132) is converted by the second phase retarder (142) into a third light (looped light leaving 128) , the third light (looped light leaving 128) is reflected by the reflective polarizer to the second phase retarder (142) and converted by the second phase retarder (142) into a fourth light (straight light leaving 132) to be transmitted to the first phase retarder (120), then the fourth light (straight light leaving 132) is converted by the first phase retarder (120) into a fifth light, and the fifth light is absorbed by the absorptive polarizer ([0024]) .
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the first light (104) is natural light, the second light (light waves between 120 and 132) is circularly polarized light ([0013]), the third light (looped light leaving 128) is a linearly polarized light ([0029]), the fourth light (straight light leaving 132) is a circularly polarized light ([0013]), and the fifth light is a linearly polarized light ([0029]), and wherein a vibration direction of the third light (looped light leaving 128) is orthogonal ([0044]) to a vibration direction of the fifth light.
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the first phase retarder (120) and the second phase retarder (142) are quarter-wave plates.
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein a third angle ([0042]) is provided between an optical axis of the second phase retarder (142) and a transmission axis of the reflective polarizer (128).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 12, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the optical system further comprises a second reflection unit, the second reflection unit is on the side of the light conversion unit (112) away from the light-emitting source (108), and a reflecting surface of the second reflection unit faces the second surface of the first reflection unit (128), and wherein a sixth light emitted by the light-emitting source (108) is converted by the light conversion unit (112) into a seventh light, the seventh light is transmitted to the first reflection unit (128) and converted by the first reflection unit (128) into an eighth light to be reflected to the second reflection unit, and the eighth light is then reflected by the second reflection unit to the first reflection unit (128) and converted by the first reflection unit (128) into a ninth light to pass through the first reflection unit (128).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 19, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system and near-eye display, in at least (fig. 2; [0024], and [0029]-[0030]); wherein the second reflection unit comprises a curved lens, a surface of the curved lens facing the first reflection unit (128) is a plane, and a surface of the curved lens away from the first reflection unit (128) is a curved surface ([0046]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872