DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed on 08/12/2025 have been received, to which the Applicant is thanked. The claim objection of record has been overcome, and has been withdrawn. The Applicant has provided amendments and convincing arguments and therefore, the 112(b) rejections of record have been overcome and withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The arguments have been fully considered, but have not been found to be persuasive.
In response to Applicants argument on pages 11-16 regarding newly amended claim language,
The examiner respectfully responds the Applicants arguments are directed to new amendments to the claim language, which have been addressed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 & 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura
(JPH09289912), in view of Goto et al (CA3114226), hereinafter referred to as Goto (US 2022/0176293 will be used as a suitable translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshimura (JPH09289912) shows a microbial ventilation device comprising:
a cone-shaped (see Annotated Figure 1 – a cone Is defined as “a solid or hollow object which tapers from a circular or roughly circular base to a point; the air director, or umbrella shroud, is cone-shaped) air director (see Annotated Figure 2 – the air director comprises of the structure of the umbrella shroud, which can be seen in Fig. 2 as the top part of the umbrella generally where element 1 is being pointed at) having a top surface and a bottom surface (Fig. 2 – the air director comprises of a top surface and a bottom surface under the air director);
an air blower assembly (2a, Fig. 2) comprising a housing (Fig. 1) having a first end, a second end, a sidewall extending between the first and second ends (Fig. 2 - an air flow passage for moving air exists within the air blower assembly between a first end of the sidewall 8 of the housing, and a second end of the sidewall 8 of the housing, with the sidewall 8 in between), and an air flow passage (¶0016 – air can be blown out from above or below the air blower assembly 2a, meaning, the direction of airflow can be reversable from a first end, and a second end) extending between the first and second ends (Fig. 2);
the air blower assembly further comprising an electric fan (3, Fig. 1) configured to draw air into the air flow passage through the first end and discharged the air from the air flow passage through the second end (¶0016 – air can be blown out from above or below the air blower assembly 2a, meaning, the electric fan is configured to draw air into the air flow passage through the first end and have air discharged from the air flow passage through the second end); and
wherein the housing is disposed in relation to the bottom surface of the air director such that the second end is spaced a distance from the bottom surface (Fig. 2 – the housing is disposed in relation to the bottom of the cone-shaped air director such that the second end is spaced a distance from the bottom surface of the air director) so that air discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface (Fig. 2 – as the air rises upwards, the airflow impinges upon the bottom surface of the cone-shaped air director) and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director creating an air dome of radially out flowing air creating a protected breathing zone for person when that person is disposed in the air dome (Fig. 2 – MPEP 2112.01 - It should be noted that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In this instance, the claimed air being discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface, and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director creating an air dome of radially out flowing air, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus, as the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of the device to occur, as the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of the device to occur, that being that air discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface (inside of the air director), and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction (Fig. 2) and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director (Fig. 2) creating an air dome of a protected breathing zone for a person when holding the device with the air blower assembly 2a, which has radially out flowing air in the air space approximate the air director), and wherein when the person is disposed in the air dome, the first end of the housing is in an elevated position (Fig. 1/2 – when the person is holding the air blower assembly in their hand, the person is disposed in the air dome and the first end of the housing of the air blower assembly is in an elevated position from the ground).
However, Yoshimura lacks showing the first end of the housing is in an elevated position relative to the person.
Goto (CA3114226), an overhead air dispersion unit, is in the same field of endeavor as Yoshimura which is an overhead air dispersion unit.
Goto teaches the first end of the housing (Fig. 4 - ) is in an elevated position relative to the person (Fig. 1/4, ¶0067, Lines 1-2 – the first end of the housing is in an elevated position relative to the persons sitting at the table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first end of the housing to incorporate the teachings of the first end of the housing of Goto, which would provide a localized air filtration system for individuals at a table (¶0002).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Yoshimura shows further comprising an air filter media (15b, Fig. 1) disposed in the housing (Fig. 1) and positioned to filter air flowing through the air flow passage (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshimura shows wherein the air director is constructed of a thin sheet of material that is shaped into a cone (Fig. 2 – the air director, which can be seen in Fig. 2 as the top part of the umbrella generally where element 1 is being pointed at, that which one of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised is constructed of a thin sheet of material known to be used in umbrellas that is shaped into a cone).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshimura shows wherein the air blower assembly further includes an air collector (see Annotated Figure 2) disposed at the first end (see Annotated Figure 2), the air collector comprising a broad surface that extends around and beyond a peripheral edge of the first end in a direction that is perpendicular from the sidewall that extends between the first and second ends of the housing (Fig. 1 /Annotated Figure 2 – the air collector 15 comprises of a wider, broader surface that extends around and beyond a peripheral edge of the first end of the sidewalls of the device, in a direction that is perpendicular from the sidewall, which said sidewall extending between the first and second ends of the housing).
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 6, Yoshimura shows wherein the air blower assembly (2a, Fig. 1/2) is coupled to the air director (Fig. 1/2).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JPH09289912), in view of Goto et al (CA3114226), hereinafter referred to as Goto (US 2022/0176293 will be used as a suitable translation), in further view of Reynoso et al (US 63/166,405), hereinafter referred to as Reynoso.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshimura shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 2 including the housing and the air filter media.
However, Yoshimura lacks showing further comprising a UV-light disposed in the housing and positioned to sterilize the air filter media.
Reynoso (63/166,405), an air filtering system, is in the same field of endeavor as Yoshimura, which is an air filtering system.
Reynoso teaches further comprising a UV-light (210, Fig. 2) disposed in the housing (Fig. 2) and positioned to sterilize the air filter media (¶0019, Lines 5-7 – a filter can either be arranged before or after the UV light 210, of which air filter media can be positioned before the UV light, which would position it to sterilize the air passed from the air filter media).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectvive filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Yoshimura to incorporate the teachings of the UV light in the housing of Reynoso, which would provide a new and useful way of combating the poor air conditions in such environments as personal spaces, an airplane, bus , or train (¶002).
Claims 7-8 & 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura
(JPH09289912), in view of Goto et al (CA3114226), hereinafter referred to as Goto (US 2022/0176293 will be used as a suitable translation).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshimura (JPH09289912) shows a microbial ventilation device comprising:
a cone-shaped (see Annotated Figure 1 – a cone Is defined as “a solid or hollow object which tapers from a circular or roughly circular base to a point; the air director, or umbrella shroud, is cone-shaped) air director (see Annotated Figure 2 - the air director comprises of the structure of the umbrella shroud, which can be seen in Fig. 2 as the top part of the umbrella generally where element 1 is being pointed at) having a top surface and a bottom surface (Fig. 2 – the air director comprises of a top surface and a bottom surface under the air director), the air director configured to be disposed in an elevated position in an air space of environment having a ceiling and a floor with the bottom surface facing in a direction toward the floor (Fig. 2 – the air director is configured to be disposed in an elevated position, as the device comprises of a handle to function holding in a hand, which is an elevated position to the ground or floor, an is configured to be disposed in an air space environment having a ceiling and a floor, with the bottom surface of the air director facing in a direction towards the floor, as the deice is an umbrella configured to be mobile and configured to be in an air space environment with a ceiling and a floor);
an air blower assembly (2a, Fig. 2) comprising a housing (Fig. 1) having a first end, a second end, a sidewall extending between the first and second ends (Fig. 2 - an air flow passage for moving air exists within the air blower assembly between a first end of the sidewall 8 of the housing, and a second end of the sidewall 8 of the housing, with the sidewall 8 in between), and an air flow passage (¶0016 – air can be blown out from above or below the air blower assembly 2a, meaning, the direction of airflow can be reversable from a first end, and a second end) extending between the first and second ends (Fig. 2);
the air blower assembly further comprising an electric fan (3, Fig. 1) configured to draw air into the air flow passage through the first end and discharged the air from the air flow passage through the second end (¶0016 – air can be blown out from above or below the air blower assembly 2a, meaning, the electric fan is configured to draw air into the air flow passage through the first end and have air discharged from the air flow passage through the second end); and
wherein the housing is disposed in relation to the bottom surface of the air director such that the second end is spaced a distance from the bottom surface (Fig. 2 – the housing is disposed in relation to the bottom of the cone-shaped air director such that the second end is spaced a distance from the bottom surface of the air director) so that air discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface (Fig. 2 – as the air rises upwards, the airflow impinges upon the bottom surface of the cone-shaped air director) and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director creating an air dome of radially out flowing air creating a protected breathing zone for a person in the air space below the air director (Fig. 2 – MPEP 2112.01 - It should be noted that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In this instance, the claimed air being discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface, and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director creating an air dome of radially out flowing air, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus, as the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of the device to occur, that being that air discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface (inside of the air director), and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction (Fig. 2) and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director (Fig. 2) creating an air dome of radially out flowing air creating a protected breathing zone for a person holding the device in the air space below the air director),
and wherein when the person is disposed in the air dome, the first end of the housing is in an elevated position (Fig. 1/2 – when the person is holding the air blower assembly in their hand, the person is disposed in the air dome and the first end of the housing of the air blower assembly is in an elevated position from the ground).
However, Yoshimura lacks showing the first end of the housing is in an elevated position relative to the person.
Goto (CA3114226), an overhead air dispersion unit, is in the same field of endeavor as Yoshimura which is an overhead air dispersion unit.
Goto teaches the first end of the housing (Fig. 4 - ) is in an elevated position relative to the person (Fig. 1/4, ¶0067, Lines 1-2 – the first end of the housing is in an elevated position relative to the persons sitting at the table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first end of the housing to incorporate the teachings of the first end of the housing of Goto, which would provide a localized air filtration system for individuals at a table (¶0002).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshimura shows further comprising an air filter media (15b, Fig. 1) disposed in the housing (Fig. 1) and positioned to filter air flowing through the air flow passage (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshimura shows wherein the air director is constructed of a thin sheet of material that is shaped into a cone (Fig. 2 – the air director, which can be seen in Fig. 2 as the top part of the umbrella generally where element 1 is being pointed at, that which one of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised is constructed of a thin sheet of material known to be used in umbrellas that is shaped into a cone).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshimura shows wherein the air blower assembly further includes an air collector (see Annotated Figure 2) disposed at the first end (see Annotated Figure 2), the air collector comprising a broad surface that extends around and beyond a peripheral edge of the first end in a direction that is perpendicular from the sidewall that extends between the first and second ends of the housing (Fig. 1 /Annotated Figure 2 – the air collector 15 comprises of a wider, broader surface that extends around and beyond a peripheral edge of the first end of the sidewalls of the device, in a direction that is perpendicular from the sidewall, which said sidewall extending between the first and second ends of the housing).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshimura shows wherein the air blower assembly (2a, Fig. 1/2) is coupled to the air director (Fig. 1/2).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JPH09289912), in view of Goto et al (CA3114226), hereinafter referred to as Goto (US 2022/0176293 will be used as a suitable translation), in further view of Reynoso et al (US 63/166,405), hereinafter referred to as Reynoso.
Regarding claim 9, Yoshimura shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 7 including the housing and the air filter media.
However, Yoshimura lacks showing further comprising a UV-light disposed in the housing and positioned to sterilize the air filter media.
Reynoso (63/166,405), an air filtering system, is in the same field of endeavor as Yoshimura, which is an air filtering system.
Reynoso teaches further comprising a UV-light (210, Fig. 2) disposed in the housing (Fig. 2) and positioned to sterilize the air filter media (¶0019, Lines 5-7 – a filter can either be arranged before or after the UV light 210, of which air filter media can be positioned before the UV light, which would position it to sterilize the air passed from the air filter media).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectvive filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Yoshimura to incorporate the teachings of the UV light in the housing of Reynoso, which would provide a new and useful way of combating the poor air conditions in such environments as personal spaces, an airplane, bus , or train (¶002).
Claims 13 & 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JPH09289912), in view of Goto et al (CA3114226), hereinafter referred to as Goto (US 2022/0176293 will be used as a suitable translation).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshimura (JPH09289912) shows a system comprising: one or more ventilation devices (1, Fig. 1) disposed in an environment (Fig. 1) comprising of a floor and an airspace (Fig. 2 – the one or more ventilation device can be disposed in an environment with a floor, as the device is an umbrella, which is used while standing on type of floor or ground), each ventilation device comprising: a cone-shaped (see Annotated Figure 1 – a cone Is defined as “a solid or hollow object which tapers from a circular or roughly circular base to a point; the air director, or umbrella shroud, is cone-shaped) air director (see Annotated Figure 2 – the air director comprises of the structure of the umbrella shroud, which can be seen in Fig. 2 as the top part of the umbrella generally where element 1 is being pointed at) having a top surface and a bottom surface (Fig. 2 – the air director comprises of a top surface and a bottom surface under the air director), the air director disposed in an elevated position above the floor in the air space with the bottom surface facing in a direction toward the floor (Fig. 2 – when in use, the air director is disposed in an elevated position above the floor or ground in the air space with the bottom surface of the inside of the air director facing in a direction toward the floor); an air blower assembly (2a, Fig. 1/2) comprising a housing (Fig. 1) having a first end, a second end, a sidewall extending between the first and second ends (Fig. 2 - an air flow passage for moving air exists within the air blower assembly between a first end of the sidewall 8 of the housing, and a second end of the sidewall 8 of the housing, with the sidewall 8 in between), and an air flow passage (¶0016 – air can be blown out from above or below the air blower assembly 2a, meaning, the direction of airflow can be reversable from a first end, and a second end) extending between the first and second ends (Fig. 1/2); the air blower assembly further comprising an electric fan (3, Fig. 1) configured to draw air into the air flow passage through the first end and discharged the air from the air flow passage through the second end (¶0016 – air can be blown out from above or below the air blower assembly 2a, meaning, the electric fan is configured to draw air into the air flow passage through the first end and have air discharged from the air flow passage through the second end); and wherein the housing is disposed in relation to the bottom surface of the air director such that the second end is spaced a distance from the bottom surface (Fig. 2 – the housing is disposed in relation to the bottom of the cone-shaped air director such that the second end is spaced a distance from the bottom surface of the air director) so that air discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface (Fig. 2 – as the air rises upwards, the airflow impinges upon the bottom surface of the cone-shaped air director) and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director creating an air dome of radially out flowing air creating a protected breathing zone for a person in the air space below the air director (Fig. 2 – MPEP 2112.01 - It should be noted that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In this instance, the claimed air being discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface, and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director creating an air dome of radially out flowing air, does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus, as the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim for the intended use of the device to occur, that being that air discharged from the air flow passage impinges upon the bottom surface (inside of the air director), and is caused to flow along the bottom surface in a radial outward direction (Fig. 2) and then beyond a peripheral edge of the air director (Fig. 2) creating an air dome of radially out flowing air creating a protected breathing zone for a person holding the device in the air space below the air director), and wherein when the person is disposed in the air dome, the first end of the housing is in an elevated position (Fig. 1/2 – when the person is holding the air blower assembly in their hand, the person is disposed in the air dome and the first end of the housing of the air blower assembly is in an elevated position from the ground).
However, Yoshimura lacks showing an indoor environment having a ceiling and a floor and an air space extending therebetween, and one or more microbial ventilation devices disposed in the environment, and the first end of the housing is in an elevated position relative to the person.
Goto (CA3114226), an overhead air dispersion unit, is in the same field of endeavor as Yoshimura which is an overhead air dispersion unit.
Goto teaches an indoor environment having a ceiling and a floor and an air space extending therebetween (Fig. 1 - Col. 4, Lines 64-66 – the indoor environment shown in Fig. 1 can be a restaurant, an office, or a meeting room; all of which comprise of indoor environments having a ceiling and a floor and an air space extending therebetween); and one or more microbial ventilation devices (2, Col. 4, Lines 39-44, Fig. 1 – the device 2 is a microbial ventilation device, as it sucks in and filters out viruses, for instance at an occupied table 3) disposed in the environment (Fig. 1), and the first end of the housing (Fig. 4 - ) is in an elevated position relative to the person (Fig. 1/4, ¶0067, Lines 1-2 – the first end of the housing is in an elevated position relative to the persons sitting at the table).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first end of the housing to incorporate the teachings of the first end of the housing of Goto, which would provide a localized air filtration system for individuals at a table (¶0002).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshimura shows wherein the air director is constructed of a thin sheet of material that is shaped into a cone (Fig. 2 – the air director, which can be seen in Fig. 2 as the top part of the umbrella generally where element 1 is being pointed at, that which one of ordinary skill in the art would be apprised is constructed of a thin sheet of material known to be used in umbrellas that is shaped into a cone).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshimura shows wherein the air blower assembly further includes an air collector (see Annotated Figure 2) disposed at the first end (see Annotated Figure 2), the air collector comprising a broad surface that extends around and beyond a peripheral edge of the first end in a direction that is perpendicular from the sidewall that extends between the first and second ends of the housing (Fig. 1 /Annotated Figure 2 – the air collector 15 comprises of a wider, broader surface that extends around and beyond a peripheral edge of the first end of the sidewalls of the device, in a direction that is perpendicular from the sidewall, which said sidewall extending between the first and second ends of the housing).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshimura shows wherein the air blower assembly (2a, Fig. 1/2) is coupled to the air director (Fig. 1/2).
Regarding claim 18, Yoshimura shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 13 including wherein the air director is disposed in an elevated position (Fig. 2).
However, Yoshimura lacks showing wherein the air director is disposed in an elevated position above a seating area, a desk, a workspace, or a table.
Goto teaches wherein the ventilation device is disposed in an elevated position above a seating area, a desk, a workspace, or a table (3, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimura to incorporate the teachings of the device and environment of Goto, which would provide a device which is arranged to filter air that is delivered to people around the table (Col. 1, Lines 63-66).
Regarding claim 19, Yoshimura shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 13 including the environment (Fig. 1).
However, Yoshimura lacks showing wherein the environment is a school, a business, or a restaurant.
Goto teaches wherein the environment is a school, a business, or a restaurant (Fig. 1 - Col. 4, Lines 64-66 – the indoor environment shown in Fig. 1 can be a restaurant, an office, or a meeting room; all of which comprise of indoor environments having a ceiling and a floor and an air space extending therebetween).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Yoshimura to incorporate the teachings of the device and environment of Goto, which would provide a device which is arranged to filter air that is delivered to people around the table (Col. 1, Lines 63-66).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimura (JPH09289912), in view of Goto et al (CA3114226), hereinafter referred to as Goto (US 2022/0176293 will be used as a suitable translation), in further view of Reynoso et al (US 63/166,405), hereinafter referred to as Reynoso.
Regarding claim 14, Yoshimura shows further comprising: an air filter media (15b, Fig. 1) disposed in the housing (Fig. 1) and positioned to filter air flowing through the air flow passage (Fig. 1).
However, Yoshimura lacks showing further comprising a UV-light disposed in the housing and positioned to sterilize the air filter media.
Reynoso (63/166,405), an air filtering system, is in the same field of endeavor as Yoshimura, which is an air filtering system.
Reynoso teaches further comprising a UV-light (210, Fig. 2) disposed in the housing (Fig. 2) and positioned to sterilize the air filter media (¶0019, Lines 5-7 – a filter can either be arranged before or after the UV light 210, of which air filter media can be positioned before the UV light, which would position it to sterilize the air passed from the air filter media).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectvive filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Yoshimura to incorporate the teachings of the UV light in the housing of Reynoso, which would provide a new and useful way of combating the poor air conditions in such environments as personal spaces, an airplane, bus , or train (¶002).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN L FAULKNER/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762