DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments (Applicant’s Remarks pages 6-9) asserted that the limitations “a light emitting element disposed in the display panel and including an emission layer and a cathode disposed in the display area and the camera area, wherein the light blocking member is in contact with the emission layer and the cathode in the camera area, wherein the emission layer is disconnected between the display area and the camera area, the cathode is disconnected between the display area and the camera area” added to claim 1 in the amendment were not taught by the prior art. The Examiner respectfully disagrees: while the prior art which was used to reject the claims in the Office action mailed 9/5/2025 (e.g. US 20220006045 A1 (Wang et al), US 20220039267 A1 (Kim), US 20220310979 A1 (Li et al)), prior art was also found which teaches the new limitations (e.g. US 20230329070 A1 (Long et al) FIGS. 6-10, which was cited as relevant but not used in rejections in the Office action mailed 9/5/2025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent publications US 20220006045 A1 (Wang et al hereinafter Wang) in view of US 20230329070 A1 (Long et al hereinafter Long).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a display device (the device of FIGS. 1 and 9 ¶ [0024, 0032, 0055]), comprising: a display panel (FIGS. 1 and 9, display substrate 20 is a display panel ¶ [0045, 0041]) including a display area (FIGS. 1 and 9, display region DR of display substrate 20 ¶ [0041, 0045]) in which a plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (subpixels are disposed in the display region ¶ [0041]) and a camera area (FIGS. 1 and 9, window region WR, which is adjacent to display region DR ¶ [0037]) which is adjacent to the display area and in which a first hole is disposed (FIG. 9, a hole in display substrate 20 and front side functional region 30); a first plate (FIG. 9, back side functional layer 10 ¶ [0045]) disposed on a rear surface of the display panel (FIG. 9, back side functional layer 10 is on rear side of display substrate 20) and including a second hole (FIG. 9, a hole in back side functional layer 10 overlaps the hole in display substrate 20 and front side functional region 30) overlapping with the first hole; a front member (FIG. 9, cover glass 40 which is on upper surface of display substrate 20 ¶ [0045]) disposed on an upper surface of the display panel; and a light blocking member (FIG. 9, light shielding coating 90 ¶ [0055]) covering a rear surface of the front member which is exposed through the first hole, an inner surface of the first hole, and an inner surface of the second hole (FIG. 9, light shielding coating 90 covers a rear surface of cover glass 40, an inner surface of the first hole at layers 20 and 30, and in inner surface of the second hole at layer 10), and a light emitting element disposed in the display panel (Wang FIG. 9, display substrate 20 includes a light emitting element ¶ [0045]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the light emitting element includes an emission layer and a cathode disposed in the display area and the camera area, wherein the light blocking member is in contact with the emission layer and the cathode in the camera area, wherein the emission layer is disconnected between the display area and the camera area, the cathode is disconnected between the display area and the camera area; such details pertaining to the configuration of display substrate not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention.
However, Long discloses a display device (the device of FIGS. 6-10 ¶ [0039-0043]) wherein a light emitting element includes an emission layer (FIGS. 8 and 10, organic functional layer 157 includes a light-emitting layer ¶ [0095]) and a cathode (FIGS. 8 and 10, organic functional layer 157 includes a cathode ¶ [0096]) disposed in a display area and a camera area (FIGS. 6-8, a camera area is defined as a region including through hole 15c which may accommodate a camera module 13, and a portion non-display area 15b between packaging groove 157a and through hole 15c, and a display area is defined as a region including display area 15a ¶ [0067, 0079]), wherein the emission layer is disconnected between the display area and the camera area (FIGS. 8 and 10, packaging groove 157a disconnects the light emitting layer of organic functional layer 157’s display area and camera area portions ¶ [0100-0104]), the cathode is disconnected between the display area and the camera area (FIGS. 8 and 10, packaging groove 157a disconnects the cathode of organic functional layer 157’s display area and camera area portions ¶ [0100-0104]). Long also teaches that the packaging groove isolating the organic functional layer portions from each other can block contaminants from reaching the organic layers in the display area, and that the process for forming the groove is simple and with low manufacturing cost (¶ [0110]).
While Long did not show that a light blocking member is in contact with the emission layer and the cathode in the camera area, when the emission layer and cathode structure of Long is applied to display substrate 20 of Wang FIG. 9, the emission layer and cathode as configured by Long will be in contact with light blocking layer 90 of Wang since the emission layer and cathode structure of Long extends to the camera opening of Long FIGS. 6-8, which in the context of Wang FIG. 9 has light blocking layer 90 connected at its end.
Wang and Long both pertain to the field of display devices having camera holes, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Long such that the light emitting element includes an emission layer and a cathode disposed in the display area and the camera area, wherein the light blocking member is in contact with the emission layer and the cathode in the camera area, wherein the emission layer is disconnected between the display area and the camera area, the cathode is disconnected between the display area and the camera area, in order to provide a display substrate structure for Wang which includes the packaging groove of Long in order to isolate the organic functional layer portions from each other, block contaminants from reaching the organic layers in the display area, and do so with a process that is simple and with low manufacturing cost as taught by Long.
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above and Wang further discloses that the light blocking member has an end portion (Wang FIG. 9, a lower portion of light shielding coating 90) which is disposed on a side surface of the first plate exposed through the second hole (FIG. 9, the lower portion of light shielding coating 90 covers side surfaces of back side functional layer 10).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above and Wang further discloses that the camera area is disposed between the plurality of sub-pixels of the display area (Wang FIGS. 1 and 9, window region WR being the camera area is located within the display region DR, between the plurality of subpixels ¶ [0037, 0041]), and wherein light which travels toward the first hole among light emitted from the plurality of sub-pixels is blocked by the light blocking member (light shielding coating 90 prevents light leakage into the camera area ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above and Wang further discloses that the light blocking member overlaps with a portion of the first plate (Wang FIG. 9, light shielding coating 90 overlaps back side functional layer 10 along a horizontal direction).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Long as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20190272407 A1 (Park et al hereinafter Park).
Wang in view of Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above and Wang further discloses an adhesive layer (Wang FIG. 9, third adhesive layer 53 is between display substrate 20 and cover glass 40 ¶ [0045]) disposed between the display panel and the front member; a polarizing plate (FIG. 9, front side functional layer 30 is between adhesive layer 53 and display substrate 20, and may be a polarizer ¶ [0045-0046]) disposed between the adhesive layer and the display panel; and, wherein the first hole is disposed along the adhesive layer, the polarizing plate, and the display panel (FIG. 9, the first hole is located along adhesive 53, polarizer 30, and display substrate 20).
Wang in view of Long does not disclose a second plate between the display panel and the first plate, and that the first hole is disposed along the second plate.
However, Park discloses a display device (display device 10, illustrated in FIGS. 1-2 and 10 ¶ [0035, 0045]) comprising a first hole disposed along a second plate (FIG. 10, cushion layer 370 is a second plate surrounding a first hole ¶ [0052]) and a second hole disposed along a first plate (FIG. 10, heat dissipating layer 380 is a first plate surrounding a second hole ¶ [0052]), the holes being arranged to accommodate a sensor device (FIG. 10, fingerprint sensor 200 ¶ [0052]). Park also teaches that the inclusion of the second plate cushions the display panel, absorbing or alleviating impacts to it (¶ [0069]).
Wang, Long, and Park all pertain to the field of display devices including holes to accommodate sensor devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Long further in view of Park to include a second plate between the display panel and the first plate, wherein the first hole is disposed along the second plate, in order to protect the display panel from potential impact-damage, improving its durability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Long and Park as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20220039267 A1 (Kim).
Wang in view of Long and Park discloses the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above, and they further disclose that the first hole has a diameter smaller than a diameter of the second hole (Wang FIG. 9, the first hole at display substrate 20 has a smaller diameter than the second hole at back side functional layer 10), and wherein the light blocking member covers a side surface of the adhesive layer, a side surface of the polarizing plate, a side surface of the display panel (Wang FIG. 9, light shielding coating 90 covers side surfaces of adhesive 53, polarizer 30, and display substrate 20) and a side surface of the second plate (Wang in view of Park includes the cushion layer 370 of Park FIG. 10 above the back side functional layer 10 of Wang FIG. 9, and light shielding coating 90 covers the side surface of the cushion layer as well to maintain its light shielding property in the camera opening area) which are exposed through the first hole (Wang FIG. 9 in view of Park FIG. 10, the opening of the first hole exposes the side surfaces of each of those features), and wherein the light blocking member covers a rear surface of the second plate and a side surface of the first plate (Wang in view of Park includes the sloped surface of light shielding coating 90 covering part of the rear surface of the cushion layer 370 of Park FIG. 10 as it extends downward to cover the side surface of back side functional layer 10).
Wang in view of Long and Park as currently considered does not explicitly disclose that both the rear surface of the second plate and the side surface of the first plate are exposed through the second hole. Wang does teach that the side surface of the first plate is exposed through the second hole (Wang FIG. 9, the side surface of back side functional layer 10 is exposed by the opening), but the sloped structure of Wang’s layers does not include a step where a rear surface of the second plate is exposed through the second hole. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try having such a configuration (MPEP 2143 I. (E)) in view of the disclosure of Park and Kim.
Park discloses that a rear surface of the second plate is exposed through the second hole (FIG. 10, the second hole opens in heat dissipating layer 380 and exposes a rear surface of cushion 370). Further, Kim discloses a display device (the device illustrated in Kim FIG. 6) comprising a second plate having a first hole (FIG. 6, cushion layer 12 having a first hole accommodating optical element OPS ¶ [0042, 0054]) and a first plate having a second hole (FIG. 6, heat dissipation member 11 having a second hole narrower than the first), wherein an upper surface of the first plate is exposed through the first hole (FIG. 6, an upper surface of heat dissipation member 11 is exposed by the first hole). Since the prior art has demonstrated each of the three potential practical solutions (a step exposing an upper/front surface of the first plate in Kim, a step exposing a rear surface of the second plate in Park, or no step in Wang) to a problem of determining the configuration of the cushion layer at the camera hole, influencing the shock-absorbing property of the device, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try having a rear surface of the second plate is exposed through the second hole, to arrive at a configuration of the cushion layer that protects the device from impact-damage and improve its durability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Long as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publications US 20200227504 A1 (Luo et al hereinafter Luo) and US 20220310979 A1 (Li et al hereinafter Li).
Wang in view of Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose that static electricity of the front member is discharged to the first plate through the light blocking member. Materials to use to form the light blocking member are not listed in the disclosure of Wang, that feature not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention. If the light blocking member is formed of a conductive material, a path for static electricity to be routed from the front member to the first plate would be present.
Regarding a material for the light blocking member, Luo discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 6 ¶ [0063]) comprising a light blocking member which is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste (conductive layer 20’’ may be a dark or black conductive ink ¶ [0063]), further teaching that forming the conductive member of a conductive ink achieves a good light shielding effect (¶ [0063]).
Wang, Long, and Luo all pertain to the field of display devices including light blocking members, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Long further in view of Luo such that the light blocking member is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste, in order to select a material for the light blocking member which achieves a good light shielding effect as taught by Luo.
Regarding discharging static electricity to the first plate, Wang in view of Long and Luo have demonstrated that forming the light blocking member of a conductive material would achieve a good light shielding effect, and at the same time would provide a path for static electricity to be discharged from the front member to the first plate. This can provide the additional benefit of reducing the effect of static electricity on the display panel if the first plate includes a conductive shielding layer which the static electricity would be routed to, as demonstrated by Li (FIGS. 1-2, conductive shielding layer 12 receives static through conductive film 13, ¶ [0041-0044]).
Wang, Long, Luo, and Li all pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Long and Luo further in view of Li to ensure that static electricity of the front member is discharged to the first plate through the light blocking member, in order to reduce the effect of static electricity on the display panel and improve the reliability of the display, as taught by Li.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Long as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20220302422 A1 (Tian et al hereinafter Tian).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose that the front member includes a pattern which is disposed to correspond to a circumference of the first hole in the rear surface of the front member, and wherein the light blocking member disposed on the rear surface of the front member overlaps the pattern.
However, Tian discloses a display device (the display device illustrated in FIG. 4 ¶ [0023]) wherein a front member (FIG. 4, cover plate 500 ¶ [0020]) includes a pattern (FIG. 4, first light shielding layer 3001 ¶ [0022]) which is disposed to correspond to a circumference of a first hole (FIGS. 2 and 4, layer 3001 is located in the NAA2 non-display region, forming a circumference around a first hole around display panel 100 ¶ [0019, 0022]) in a rear surface of the front member (FIG. 4, layer 3001 is located in a rear surface of cover plate 500), and wherein a light blocking member (FIG. 4, third light shielding layer 3002 ¶ [0023]) disposed on the rear surface of the front member overlaps the pattern (FIG. 4, shielding layer 3002 overlaps shielding layer 3001). Tian also discloses that the inclusion of the pattern of shielding layer 3001 further shields hole region NAA1 (FIG. 4) from light leakage by increasing the light shielding area while maintaining the device’s ability to collect normal optical information (¶ [0030]).
Wang, Long, and Tian all pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Long further in view of Tian to further comprise that the front member includes a pattern which is disposed to correspond to a circumference of the first hole in the rear surface of the front member, and wherein the light blocking member disposed on the rear surface of the front member overlaps the pattern, in order to further shield the camera area from light leakage by increasing the light shielding area while maintaining the device’s ability to collect normal optical information as taught by Tian.
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Long and Tian discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above, and they further disclose that at least one of the first hole and the second hole overlaps the pattern (Tian FIG. 4, the first hole at display panel 100 overlaps a portion of first light shielding layer 3001 along the “X” direction).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Long as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Luo.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose that the light blocking member includes a conductive member, suggesting materials for the light blocking member not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention.
However, Luo discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 6 ¶ [0063]) comprising a light blocking member which includes a conductive member (conductive layer 20’’ may be a dark or black conductive ink ¶ [0063]), further teaching that forming the conductive member of a conductive ink achieves a good light shielding effect (¶ [0063]).
Wang, Long, and Luo all pertain to the field of display devices including light blocking members, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Luo such that the light blocking member includes a conductive member, in order to select a material for the light blocking member which achieves a good light shielding effect as taught by Luo.
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose that the light blocking member is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste, suggesting materials for the light blocking member not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention.
However, Luo discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 6 ¶ [0063]) comprising a light blocking member which is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste (conductive layer 20’’ may be a dark or black conductive ink ¶ [0063]), further teaching that forming the conductive member of a conductive ink achieves a good light shielding effect (¶ [0063]).
Wang, Long, and Luo all pertain to the field of display devices including light blocking members, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Luo such that the light blocking member is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste, in order to select a material for the light blocking member which achieves a good light shielding effect as taught by Luo.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US patent US 12401734 B2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813