DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument (Applicant’s Remarks pages 6-10) emphasized the limitations “an emission layer and a cathode that are disposed in the display area and the camera area, the emission layer and the cathode extending to an edge of the first hole in the camera area, wherein the light blocking member is in contact with an exposed side surface of the emission layer and an exposed side surface of the cathode at the edge of the first hole in the camera area” as not being taught by prior art documents of record US 20220006045 A1 (Wang et al) and US 20230329070 A1 (Long et al), particularly since Long ¶ [0095-0097] mention that their functional layer 157 does not include the light-emitting sub-layer in the non-emission regions. However, after further consideration prior art document US 20210005836 A1 (Yee) (cited in form 892 Notice of References Cited dated 9/5/2025) was found to teach and render obvious the newly claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent publications US 20220006045 A1 (Wang et al hereinafter Wang) in view of US 20210005836 A1 (Yee) and US 20230329070 A1 (Long et al hereinafter Long).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a display device (the device of FIGS. 1 and 9 ¶ [0024, 0032, 0055]), comprising: a display panel (FIGS. 1 and 9, display substrate 20 is a display panel ¶ [0045, 0041]) including a display area (FIGS. 1 and 9, display region DR of display substrate 20 ¶ [0041, 0045]) in which a plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (subpixels are disposed in the display region ¶ [0041]) and a camera area (FIGS. 1 and 9, window region WR, which is adjacent to display region DR ¶ [0037]) which is adjacent to the display area and in which a first hole is disposed (FIG. 9, a hole in display substrate 20 and front side functional region 30); a first plate (FIG. 9, back side functional layer 10 ¶ [0045]) disposed on a rear surface of the display panel (FIG. 9, back side functional layer 10 is on rear side of display substrate 20) and including a second hole (FIG. 9, a hole in back side functional layer 10 overlaps the hole in display substrate 20 and front side functional region 30) overlapping with the first hole; a front member (FIG. 9, cover glass 40 which is on upper surface of display substrate 20 ¶ [0045]) disposed on an upper surface of the display panel; and a light blocking member (FIG. 9, light shielding coating 90 ¶ [0055]) covering a rear surface of the front member which is exposed through the first hole, an inner surface of the first hole, and an inner surface of the second hole (FIG. 9, light shielding coating 90 covers a rear surface of cover glass 40, an inner surface of the first hole at layers 20 and 30, and in inner surface of the second hole at layer 10), and a light emitting element disposed in the display panel (Wang FIG. 9, display substrate 20 includes a light emitting element ¶ [0045]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the light emitting element includes an emission layer and a cathode that are disposed in the display area and the camera area, the emission layer and the cathode extending to an edge of the first hole in the camera area, wherein the light blocking member is in contact with an exposed side surface of the emission layer and an exposed side surface of the cathode at the edge of the first hole in the camera area, wherein the emission layer is disconnected between the display area and the camera area, the cathode is disconnected between the display area and the camera area; such details pertaining to the configuration of display substrate not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention.
However, Yee discloses a display device (display module 200 of FIG. 4, also seen in FIGS. 1B-3B as it includes display panel 210 and sensing sensor 220 ¶ [0085]) wherein a light emitting element (FIG. 4, light emitting element EE ¶ [0105]) includes an emission layer (FIG. 4, organic layer EL ¶ [0148-0151]) and an upper electrode(FIG. 4, second electrode E2 ¶ [0148-0151]) that are disposed in the display area (FIG. 4, display area DA ¶ [0058]) and the camera area (FIG. 4, hole line area HL ¶ [0070]), the emission layer and the upper electrode extending to an edge of the first hole (FIG. 4, module hole MH, which has organic layer inner surface EL-C and electrode layer E2-C portions extending to the edge of hole MH ¶ [0076, 0176]) in the camera area, wherein the light blocking member (FIG. 4, cover pattern BL blocks light ¶ [0082]) is in contact with an exposed side surface of the emission layer and an exposed side surface of the upper electrode at the edge of the first hole in the camera area (FIG. 4, cover pattern BL contacts organic layer inner surface EL-C and electrode layer E2-C portions at the edge of module hole MH), wherein the emission layer is disconnected between the display area and the camera area (FIG. 4, organic layer inner surface EL-C portions at the edge of module hole MH are disconnected from portions of organic layer EL and electrode layer E2 in the display area DA ¶ [0164-0166]), the upper electrode is disconnected between the display area and the camera area (FIG. 4, electrode layer E2-C portions at the edge of module hole MH are disconnected from portions of organic layer EL and electrode layer E2 in the display area DA ¶ [0164-0166]). Yee also teaches that the disconnections caused by their deposition pattern can prevent the permeation of external moisture or oxygen from damaging the light emitting elements EE (¶ [0164-0166]).
Wang and Yee both pertain to the field of display devices having camera holes, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Long such that the light emitting element includes an emission layer and an upper electrode that are disposed in the display area and the camera area, the emission layer and the upper electrode extending to an edge of the first hole in the camera area, wherein the light blocking member is in contact with an exposed side surface of the emission layer and an exposed side surface of the upper electrode at the edge of the first hole in the camera area, wherein the emission layer is disconnected between the display area and the camera area, the upper electrode is disconnected between the display area and the camera area, in order to configure the light emitting layer and cathode such that the disconnections caused by their deposition pattern can prevent the permeation of external moisture or oxygen from damaging the light emitting elements as taught by Yee.
Wang in view of Yee did not explicitly state that the upper electrode was a cathode, such detail not being a point of particular emphasis in the disclosure of Yee. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have understood that the upper electrode would either be an anode or a cathode, and Long teaches that cathodes are a known and effective option for an upper electrode of a light emitting element (Long FIG. 10, cathode is included as the upper electrode in functional layer 157 ¶ [0096]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have the upper electrode disclosed by Yee to be a cathode, as Long taught such a configuration to be known and effective in the art, in order to configure the light emitting elements to emit light.
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Yee and Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above and Wang further discloses that the light blocking member has an end portion (Wang FIG. 9, a lower portion of light shielding coating 90) which is disposed on a side surface of the first plate exposed through the second hole (FIG. 9, the lower portion of light shielding coating 90 covers side surfaces of back side functional layer 10).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Yee and Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above and Wang further discloses that the camera area is disposed between the plurality of sub-pixels of the display area (Wang FIGS. 1 and 9, window region WR being the camera area is located within the display region DR, between the plurality of subpixels ¶ [0037, 0041]), and wherein light which travels toward the first hole among light emitted from the plurality of sub-pixels is blocked by the light blocking member (light shielding coating 90 prevents light leakage into the camera area ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Yee and Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above and Wang further discloses that the light blocking member overlaps with a portion of the first plate (Wang FIG. 9, light shielding coating 90 overlaps back side functional layer 10 along a horizontal direction).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yee and Long as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20190272407 A1 (Park et al hereinafter Park).
Wang in view of Yee and Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above and Wang further discloses an adhesive layer (Wang FIG. 9, third adhesive layer 53 is between display substrate 20 and cover glass 40 ¶ [0045]) disposed between the display panel and the front member; a polarizing plate (FIG. 9, front side functional layer 30 is between adhesive layer 53 and display substrate 20, and may be a polarizer ¶ [0045-0046]) disposed between the adhesive layer and the display panel; and, wherein the first hole is disposed along the adhesive layer, the polarizing plate, and the display panel (FIG. 9, the first hole is located along adhesive 53, polarizer 30, and display substrate 20).
Wang in view of Yee and Long does not disclose a second plate between the display panel and the first plate, and that the first hole is disposed along the second plate.
However, Park discloses a display device (display device 10, illustrated in FIGS. 1-2 and 10 ¶ [0035, 0045]) comprising a first hole disposed along a second plate (FIG. 10, cushion layer 370 is a second plate surrounding a first hole ¶ [0052]) and a second hole disposed along a first plate (FIG. 10, heat dissipating layer 380 is a first plate surrounding a second hole ¶ [0052]), the holes being arranged to accommodate a sensor device (FIG. 10, fingerprint sensor 200 ¶ [0052]). Park also teaches that the inclusion of the second plate cushions the display panel, absorbing or alleviating impacts to it (¶ [0069]).
Wang, Yee, Long, and Park all pertain to the field of display devices including holes to accommodate sensor devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Yee and Long further in view of Park to include a second plate between the display panel and the first plate, wherein the first hole is disposed along the second plate, in order to protect the display panel from potential impact-damage, improving its durability.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yee, Long, and Park as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20220039267 A1 (Kim).
Wang in view of Yee, Long, and Park discloses the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above, and they further disclose that the first hole has a diameter smaller than a diameter of the second hole (Wang FIG. 9, the first hole at display substrate 20 has a smaller diameter than the second hole at back side functional layer 10), and wherein the light blocking member covers a side surface of the adhesive layer, a side surface of the polarizing plate, a side surface of the display panel (Wang FIG. 9, light shielding coating 90 covers side surfaces of adhesive 53, polarizer 30, and display substrate 20) and a side surface of the second plate (Wang in view of Park includes the cushion layer 370 of Park FIG. 10 above the back side functional layer 10 of Wang FIG. 9, and light shielding coating 90 covers the side surface of the cushion layer as well to maintain its light shielding property in the camera opening area) which are exposed through the first hole (Wang FIG. 9 in view of Park FIG. 10, the opening of the first hole exposes the side surfaces of each of those features), and wherein the light blocking member covers a rear surface of the second plate and a side surface of the first plate (Wang in view of Park includes the sloped surface of light shielding coating 90 covering part of the rear surface of the cushion layer 370 of Park FIG. 10 as it extends downward to cover the side surface of back side functional layer 10).
Wang in view of Yee, Long, and Park as currently considered does not explicitly disclose that both the rear surface of the second plate and the side surface of the first plate are exposed through the second hole. Wang does teach that the side surface of the first plate is exposed through the second hole (Wang FIG. 9, the side surface of back side functional layer 10 is exposed by the opening), but the sloped structure of Wang’s layers does not include a step where a rear surface of the second plate is exposed through the second hole. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try having such a configuration (MPEP 2143 I. (E)) in view of the disclosure of Park and Kim.
Park discloses that a rear surface of the second plate is exposed through the second hole (FIG. 10, the second hole opens in heat dissipating layer 380 and exposes a rear surface of cushion 370). Further, Kim discloses a display device (the device illustrated in Kim FIG. 6) comprising a second plate having a first hole (FIG. 6, cushion layer 12 having a first hole accommodating optical element OPS ¶ [0042, 0054]) and a first plate having a second hole (FIG. 6, heat dissipation member 11 having a second hole narrower than the first), wherein an upper surface of the first plate is exposed through the first hole (FIG. 6, an upper surface of heat dissipation member 11 is exposed by the first hole). Since the prior art has demonstrated each of the three potential practical solutions (a step exposing an upper/front surface of the first plate in Kim, a step exposing a rear surface of the second plate in Park, or no step in Wang) to a problem of determining the configuration of the cushion layer at the camera hole, influencing the shock-absorbing property of the device, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try having a rear surface of the second plate is exposed through the second hole, to arrive at a configuration of the cushion layer that protects the device from impact-damage and improve its durability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Yee, and Long as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publications US 20200227504 A1 (Luo et al hereinafter Luo) and US 20220310979 A1 (Li et al hereinafter Li).
Wang in view of Yee and Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose that static electricity of the front member is discharged to the first plate through the light blocking member. Materials to use to form the light blocking member are not listed in the disclosure of Wang, that feature not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention. If the light blocking member is formed of a conductive material, a path for static electricity to be routed from the front member to the first plate would be present.
Regarding a material for the light blocking member, Luo discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 6 ¶ [0063]) comprising a light blocking member which is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste (conductive layer 20’’ may be a dark or black conductive ink ¶ [0063]), further teaching that forming the conductive member of a conductive ink achieves a good light shielding effect (¶ [0063]).
Wang, Yee, Long, and Luo all pertain to the field of display devices including light blocking members, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Yee and Long further in view of Luo such that the light blocking member is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste, in order to select a material for the light blocking member which achieves a good light shielding effect as taught by Luo.
Regarding discharging static electricity to the first plate, Wang in view of Yee, Long, and Luo have demonstrated that forming the light blocking member of a conductive material would achieve a good light shielding effect, and at the same time would provide a path for static electricity to be discharged from the front member to the first plate. This can provide the additional benefit of reducing the effect of static electricity on the display panel if the first plate includes a conductive shielding layer which the static electricity would be routed to, as demonstrated by Li (FIGS. 1-2, conductive shielding layer 12 receives static through conductive film 13, ¶ [0041-0044]).
Wang, Yee, Long, Luo, and Li all pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Yee, Long, and Luo further in view of Li to ensure that static electricity of the front member is discharged to the first plate through the light blocking member, in order to reduce the effect of static electricity on the display panel and improve the reliability of the display, as taught by Li.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yee and Long as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US patent publication US 20220302422 A1 (Tian et al hereinafter Tian).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Yee and Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose that the front member includes a pattern which is disposed to correspond to a circumference of the first hole in the rear surface of the front member, and wherein the light blocking member disposed on the rear surface of the front member overlaps the pattern.
However, Tian discloses a display device (the display device illustrated in FIG. 4 ¶ [0023]) wherein a front member (FIG. 4, cover plate 500 ¶ [0020]) includes a pattern (FIG. 4, first light shielding layer 3001 ¶ [0022]) which is disposed to correspond to a circumference of a first hole (FIGS. 2 and 4, layer 3001 is located in the NAA2 non-display region, forming a circumference around a first hole around display panel 100 ¶ [0019, 0022]) in a rear surface of the front member (FIG. 4, layer 3001 is located in a rear surface of cover plate 500), and wherein a light blocking member (FIG. 4, third light shielding layer 3002 ¶ [0023]) disposed on the rear surface of the front member overlaps the pattern (FIG. 4, shielding layer 3002 overlaps shielding layer 3001). Tian also discloses that the inclusion of the pattern of shielding layer 3001 further shields hole region NAA1 (FIG. 4) from light leakage by increasing the light shielding area while maintaining the device’s ability to collect normal optical information (¶ [0030]).
Wang, Yee, Long, and Tian all pertain to the field of display devices, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Yee and Long further in view of Tian to further comprise that the front member includes a pattern which is disposed to correspond to a circumference of the first hole in the rear surface of the front member, and wherein the light blocking member disposed on the rear surface of the front member overlaps the pattern, in order to further shield the camera area from light leakage by increasing the light shielding area while maintaining the device’s ability to collect normal optical information as taught by Tian.
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Yee, Long, and Tian discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above, and they further disclose that at least one of the first hole and the second hole overlaps the pattern (Tian FIG. 4, the first hole at display panel 100 overlaps a portion of first light shielding layer 3001 along the “X” direction).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yee and Long as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Luo.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Yee and Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose that the light blocking member includes a conductive member, suggesting materials for the light blocking member not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention.
However, Luo discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 6 ¶ [0063]) comprising a light blocking member which includes a conductive member (conductive layer 20’’ may be a dark or black conductive ink ¶ [0063]), further teaching that forming the conductive member of a conductive ink achieves a good light shielding effect (¶ [0063]).
Wang, Yee, Long, and Luo all pertain to the field of display devices including light blocking members, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Yee and Long further in view of Luo such that the light blocking member includes a conductive member, in order to select a material for the light blocking member which achieves a good light shielding effect as taught by Luo.
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Yee and Long discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above, but does not further disclose that the light blocking member is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste, suggesting materials for the light blocking member not being of particular importance to the disclosure of their invention.
However, Luo discloses a display device (the device of FIG. 6 ¶ [0063]) comprising a light blocking member which is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste (conductive layer 20’’ may be a dark or black conductive ink ¶ [0063]), further teaching that forming the conductive member of a conductive ink achieves a good light shielding effect (¶ [0063]).
Wang, Yee, Long, and Luo all pertain to the field of display devices including light blocking members, placing them in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Wang in view of Yee and Long further in view of Luo such that the light blocking member is formed of a conductive ink or a conductive paste, in order to select a material for the light blocking member which achieves a good light shielding effect as taught by Luo.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US patent US 12150337 B2.
Conclusion
/E.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813