DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are allowed. Claim 21 is rejected. Claim 12 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
The previous claim objection of claim 13 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous 112(d) rejection of claim 13 has been withdrawn in view of canceled claim 12 which claim 13 used to depend from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/1/25, with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejection of claims 1-11 and 13-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment of new claim 21 and remarks filed 12/1/25 merit new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20170118439 filed on 4/15/16 as cited in the IDS and a copy relied upon is being furnished with this Office Action) in view of Eagon (US 20140275845 filed on 3/14/14 as cited in the IDS).
Applicant’s Remarks on pages 9-10 are directed solely to whether Choi and Shi teach the new claim. However, this is unpersuasive as the rejection is made in view of new reference Eagon. Eagon teaches transferring heat from the first electrode to a second electrode (¶44-contacting spaced-apart palmar surfaces of the single finger with respective first and second raised electrodes of the sensor, shown as 102 in FIG. 6. Such contact with the thermally and electrically conductive electrodes allows for the one or more different physiological signals to be captured; ¶37-the expression "thermally coupled" refers to the conductive heat transfer link formed between the palmar surface of the finger 60 and the temperature sensing device 34) and being based on the transferred heat received by the second electrode from the first electrode by a temperature sensor (¶7-the temperature sensing device being disposed beneath the second electrode and thermally coupled therewith for sensing temperature of the skin abutted against the skin-abutting electrode surface of the second electrode; ¶47). See the rejection below for additional details and reasoning.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
display module in claim 13.
For “display module” in claim 13, the specification recites ”the display module160 may include, for example, a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry to control a corresponding one of the display, hologram device, and projector” (page 7). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting a display module to be a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry to control a corresponding one of the display, hologram device, and projector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20170118439 filed on 4/15/16 as cited in the IDS and a copy relied upon is being furnished with this Office Action) in view of Eagon (US 20140275845 filed on 3/14/14 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 21, Choi teaches a method comprising: contacting a user's body with a first electrode disposed on a first surface of a cover (¶8-a second electrode located on the other surface of the housing and contacting the user's body when the electronic device is worn); a second electrode disposed on a second surface of the cover (¶8-a first electrode located on one side of the housing, a sensor module electrically coupled to the first electrode and the second electrode), wherein the second electrode is electrically coupled directly to the first electrode (¶8-a first electrode located on one side of the housing, a sensor module electrically coupled to the first electrode and the second electrode); generate biometric information based on an electrical signal received via the first electrode and the second electrode (¶10-provide a plurality of biometric information with a single touch as a plurality of electrodes and sensors are positioned adjacent to each other); and detect a temperature of a user's body (¶18-the user's health state analyzed on the basis of the user's biometric signal collected through the plurality of sensors and the plurality of electrodes, body temperature). However, Choi does not teach transferring heat from the first electrode to a second electrode and being based on the transferred heat received by the second electrode from the first electrode by a temperature sensor.
Eagon relates generally to biofeedback sensors and, more particularly, to a sensor and a method for capturing different physiological signals from a single finger (¶2). Eagon further teaches the invention using the following steps:
transferring heat from the first electrode to a second electrode (¶44-contacting spaced-apart palmar surfaces of the single finger with respective first and second raised electrodes of the sensor, shown as 102 in FIG. 6. Such contact with the thermally and electrically conductive electrodes allows for the one or more different physiological signals to be captured; ¶37-the expression "thermally coupled" refers to the conductive heat transfer link formed between the palmar surface of the finger 60 and the temperature sensing device 34) and being based on the transferred heat received by the second electrode from the first electrode by a temperature sensor (¶7-the temperature sensing device being disposed beneath the second electrode and thermally coupled therewith for sensing temperature of the skin abutted against the skin-abutting electrode surface of the second electrode; ¶47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Choi to include transferring heat from the first electrode to a second electrode and being based on the transferred heat received by the second electrode from the first electrode by a temperature sensor of Eagon in order to allow for stable and consistent measurements of the temperature while minimizing or preventing interference (Eagon, ¶37).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the scope of wherein the first electrode is thermally connected to the second electrode by a conductive material disposed in a passage penetrating the first surface and the second surface of the cover; a contact configured to electrically connect the printed circuit board and the second electrode; wherein the temperature sensor is thermally connected to the second electrode; and detect a temperature of the user's body, which is thermally conducted from the first electrode to the second electrode, via the temperature sensor were not found in the prior art alone or in combination with one another to be obvious over the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is KR 20170118439; however it fails to recite wherein the first electrode is thermally connected to the second electrode by a conductive material disposed in a passage penetrating the first surface and the second surface of the cover; wherein the temperature sensor is thermally connected to the second electrode; and being thermally conducted from the first electrode to the second electrode, via the temperature sensor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792