DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/8/25.
Applicant's election with traverse of the election of Invention I in the reply filed on 12/8/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Independent Claim 1 “does not recite features relating to temperature, temperature control, or temperature controlled airflow” as mentioned in Applicant’s Remarks received 12/8/25. This is not found persuasive because of the following reasons.
First, this case is being examined under US election practice instead of international practice. Therefore, “unity of invention” does not apply.
Applicant proposes combining Invention I, directed towards Claims 1-8 and Invention II, directed towards Claims 9-18. This is considered incorrect for the reasons as follows.
Essentially, the invention of Independent Claim 9, which represents Invention II, does not require the details of Invention I as represented by Independent Claim 1. For example, Independent Claim 1 has details of the first cannister such as
“a first canister configured to selectively couple with the first power supply module and controllably dispense the first food product using power from the first power supply module, wherein the first canister comprises a first receptacle, a first base coupled to the first receptacle, and a first dispenser, the first base having a first outlet aligned with the first opening in the first positioning bracket”.
The subcombination of Invention II does not require such details for patentability. The subcombination of Invention II also has separate utility such as for use in another food dispensing apparatus with different features than found in the invention of Invention I and Independent Claim 1.
Therefore, the withdrawal of Claims 9-20 is accepted and examination of Claims 1-8 of Invention I are examined as found below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mohammed et al (US 2019/0272699 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mohammed discloses
a food service system, i.e., vending machine (600), as illustrated in figure 1, for example, for controllably dispensing a first food product, i.e., “different flavors of ice cream, custard, frozen yogurt, sherbets, sorbets or other similar products” and/or “distinct flavors of a frozen food product (e.g., vanilla, chocolate, strawberry, etc.)”, as mentioned at paragraphs 47 and 48, for example,
the food service system (600) comprising:
a housing (880), as illustrated in figures 1 and 2 and as mentioned at paragraph 58, for example, having a first bay, i.e., user access station (630, 1104) as illustrated in figures 1, 2 and 25, for example, defined by one or more walls, i.e., noting figures 25-28 show various walls surrounding user access station (630, 1104);
a first positioning bracket, i.e., arm (835) and guide chute (823) as illustrated in figures 13-15, mounted in the first bay (630, 1104) and having a first opening, noting the hole in arm (835) as seen in figure 15, for example;
a first power supply module, i.e., noting the wire harnesses, for example, as illustrated in figure 9 and as mentioned at paragraph 46, noting motor (825), as mentioned at paragraph 52 and as illustrated in figures 13-15, must be powered by electricity, for example, having a first mounting interface, noting the spindle that interfaces with auger (820) can be construed as a mounting interface;
a first canister, i.e., container (810), configured to selectively couple with the first power supply module, as illustrated in figures 9 and 13-15,
and controllably dispense the first food product, i.e., different flavors of ice cream product, using power from the first power supply module, as illustrated in figure 9, wherein the first canister (810) comprises a first receptacle, i.e., construed as the wall of the canister (810), noting Applicant’s definition of both cannister (126) and receptacle (502) as mentioned at paragraphs 80 and 81 and as illustrated at figure 11 of Applicant’s disclosure, a first base, i.e., construed as the bottom of cannister (810) with opening (815) through which auger (820) passes, as well as guide chute (823), all of which operate as a nozzle similar to Applicant’s disclosed base, coupled to the first receptacle (810), and a first dispenser, i.e., auger (820) as illustrated in figure 15, for example, the first base having a first outlet, i.e., dispense opening (815), aligned with the first opening in the first positioning bracket (835); and
a first drive motor module, i.e., motor (825), removably mounted to the first base and operatively coupled to the first dispenser (820) as illustrated in figure 15, for example; wherein the first canister (810) is removably mounted in the first bay (630, 1104) by at least an engagement between the first drive motor module (825) and the first mounting interface, i.e., construed as the superstructure of the frame, brackets and housing, of the first power supply module; and
wherein the first drive motor module (825) actuates the first dispenser (820) in response to an electrical signal, i.e., via processing electronics (632) as mentioned at paragraph 62 and as illustrated in figure 9, for example, and the first dispenser (820) controllably dispenses the first food product from the first receptacle (810) to the first outlet (815).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohammed et al (US 2019/0272699 A1) in view of Milan et al (US 2009/0179042 A1).
Regarding Claims 2-8, Mohammed teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 2, Mohamed further teaches mention of a refrigerated enclosure as mentioned at paragraphs 51 and 53, which states as follows.
[0051] Referring to FIGS. 13-15, topping dispensing station 625 is configured to automatically dispense at least one topping. Toppings may be solid or liquid and may require refrigeration or not. For example, toppings can include various types of candy, sprinkles, fruit, syrups and other toppings appropriate for serving with a frozen food product.
[0053] In some embodiments, topping dispensing station 625 is configured to dispense one or more liquid toppings (e.g., chocolate sauce, hot fudge, caramel, butterscotch, etc.) in place of or in addition to solid toppings. Topping dispensers for liquid toppings are known in the art and typically include a vertically movable pump lever that is depressed to dispense the liquid topping. A linear actuator, stepper motor or other appropriate automatic actuator may be used to depress the pump lever or actuate a pump to automate the operation of a liquid topping dispenser. Processing electronics may be configured to determine the amount of liquid topping dispenses based on an input from a flow sensor, an input from a weight sensor (e.g., similar to weight sensor 840), the duration of time the pump is activated, the number of steps of a stepper motor used to activate a pump, etc. In embodiments including one or more toppings that need to be refrigerated, a refrigeration enclosure and a related refrigeration system are included in order to maintain the toppings at the appropriate refrigerated temperature.
Emphasis provided
Regarding Claim 2, Mohammed does not expressly teach
further comprising a temperature control system and a temperature controlled compartment, wherein the temperature control system is configured to provide a temperature controlled airflow to the temperature controlled compartment.
Regarding Claim 2, Mohammed does not expressly teach, but Milan teaches
further comprising a temperature control system, i.e., controller (40) with temperature sensor (272) and a temperature controlled compartment, i.e,. noting chiller section (26, 26a, 26b) with smoothie receptacle storage section (24, 24n) as illustrated in figures 1, 15, 28, 31, 32 and 38 and as mentioned at paragraphs 90 and 95, for example, wherein the temperature control system (40) is configured to provide a temperature controlled airflow to the temperature controlled compartment (24, 24n).
Regarding Claim 2, before the effective filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided further comprising a temperature control system and a temperature controlled compartment, wherein the temperature control system is configured to provide a temperature controlled airflow to the temperature controlled compartment, as taught by Milan, in Mohammed’s food service system, for the purpose of cooling the frozen items/products such as ice cream.
Regarding Claim 3, Mohammed does not expressly teach wherein the temperature control system is a cooling system and the temperature controlled airflow is a chilled airflow, and wherein the housing comprises a first fan configured to direct at least a portion of the chilled airflow in a first direction along the first canister to cool the first canister.
Regarding Claim 3, Mohammed does not expressly teach, but Milan teaches wherein the temperature control system (40, 272) is a cooling system, as mentioned at paragraph 110, first sentence, stating “controller 40 is configured to initiate and terminate a chill cycle of operation wherein the contents of the selected smoothie receptacle are lowered to the second temperature for crystallizing the contents of the selected smoothie receptacle” and noting refrigeration unit (32) as illustrated in figures 37, and the temperature controlled airflow is a chilled airflow, as mentioned in paragraph 136, mentioning “a source of airflow”, and wherein the housing, i.e., frame (22), as illustrated in figure 1, comprises a first fan (252) configured to direct at least a portion of the chilled airflow in a first direction along the first canister, i.e., bin (302) to cool the first canister (302), for example.
Regarding Claim 4, Mohammed does not expressly teach further comprising a cooling system providing a chilled airflow, wherein the first positioning bracket comprises an aperture configured to direct at least a portion of the chilled airflow to isolate the first canister from ambient air outside the housing.
Regarding Claim 4, Mohammed does not expressly teach, but Milan teaches further comprising a cooling system (40, 272) providing a chilled airflow, i.e., via fan (252), wherein the first positioning bracket, i.e., chiller mounting plate (80, 80s, 80c, 170), comprises an aperture, i.e., the spacing between the fins of finned heat exchanger (92) as mentioned in paragraph 107 and as illustrated in figures 8-10, for example, configured to direct at least a portion of the chilled airflow to isolate the first canister, i.e., smoothie receptacles (30), from ambient air outside the housing (22) as mentioned at paragraphs 96, 124 and as illustrated in figures 2-4, 10, 15.
Regarding Claim 5, Mohammed does not expressly teach, wherein the aperture is a slot having an elongated dimension approximate the first opening in the first positioning bracket.
Regarding Claim 5, Mohammed does not expressly teach, but Milan teaches wherein the aperture, i.e., the spacing between the fins of finned heat exchanger (92) as mentioned in paragraph 107 and as illustrated in figures 8-10, for example, is a slot having an elongated dimension approximate the first opening, i.e, the ends of the chiller guide funnel (56) in which smoothie receptacle (30) slides, in the first positioning bracket, i.e., chiller guide funnel (56), as illustrated in figures 3, 4, 10.
Regarding Claim 6, Mohammed teaches wherein the first outlet of the first canister (810) is disposed above the aperture in the first positioning bracket (835), as illustrated in figures 14 and 15, noting that the bracket (835) and the aperture (815) are located below cannister (810).
Note that it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding Claim 7, see the rejection of Claim 1, noting that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have duplicated the canister and its positioning brackets, as well as other pertinent details as needed to meet the demand for higher volumes of frozen product as well as to vary the flavors offered.
Regarding Claim 8, see the rejection of Claim 1, noting that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have duplicated the canister and its positioning brackets, as well as other pertinent details as needed to meet the demand for higher volumes of frozen product as well as to vary the flavors offered.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zito ‘559 is cited as teaching another food dispensing apparatus including a bay (270) including a plurality of bins with drum (274) that controls the output of ingredients through an exit outlet as mentioned at paragraph 61, for example. See also figures 1, 3 and 4.
Beavis ‘407 is cited as teaching a food dispensing apparatus with controller system (16, 20) as illustrated in figures 1-4.
Rusch ‘453 is cited as teaching a set of dispensing paddles (82) as illustrated in figure 3, for example.
Jones ‘893 is cited as teaching bracket/aperture assembly at figures 2 and 5, for example.
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
January 2, 2026