DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 20 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suen (US 2019/0099854) in view of Shiro (3,535,159).
Regarding Claim 1, Suen teaches A chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Ref. 100, Fig. 1, [0018]), comprising:
a platen (Ref. 105, Fig. 1, [0018]) having a polishing pad (Ref. 115, Fig. 1, [0020]) attached to an upper surface (Fig. 1) thereof, and rotatably installed in one direction by a driving means (Fig. 2, Ref. 215, [0027]);
a slurry supplier (Ref. 140, Fig. 1, [0021]) configured to supply a slurry (Ref. 150, Fig. 1, [0021]) including an abrasive ([0021] describes the slurry comprising an abrasive) and an additive ([0021] describes additives) having a zeta potential of a first polarity to the polishing pad (Fig. 9, [0044]);
an electrode (Ref. 110, Fig. 1, [0031]) disposed below the polishing pad (Fig. 1);
a power supply ([0047] describes a voltage controller and production) configured to apply a voltage ([Abstract&0047]) including a direct current (DC) pulse (Fig. 12 shows a pulsed voltage of direct current, examiner notes based upon old and well known scientific principles the figure shows a direct current pulse due to the consistent of the voltage over time), of a second polarity ([Abstract & 0047]), opposite to the first polarity, to the electrode ([Abstract] describes using a second polarity to assist polishing); and
a polishing head (Ref. 120, Fig. 1, [0020]) installed on the polishing pad (Fig. 1), and configured to rotate a semiconductor substrate (Ref. 300, Fig. 3, [0028]) in contact with the polishing pad (Fig. 1),
wherein the DC pulse of the second polarity applied by the power supply comprises a sequence of voltage pulses having a magnitude and frequency (Fig. 12 shows a sequence of voltage pulses that would be repeated over an extended time period).
Suen fails to explicitly teach wherein the DC pulse of the second polarity applied by the power supply comprises a sequence of voltage pulses having the same magnitude and the same frequency. Shiro teaches a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus with a power supply to apply a voltage and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Shiro further teaches a power supply (Ref. 10, Fig. 1) to apply a voltage (Ref. E, Fig. 2) of a DC pulse wherein the DC pulse ([Col. 2, line 16-17] describes a DC voltage pulse) applied by the power supply comprises a sequence of voltage pulses having the same magnitude and the same frequency (Fig. 2 show the voltage (E) pulses having the same magnitude and frequency (T)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the DC pulse of the second polarity, as taught by Suen, to be the same magnitude and the same frequency, as taught by Shiro, to achieve the predictable results of agitating an abrasive slurry using an electric field to abrade a surface.
Regarding Claim 2, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein a magnitude of the DC pulse is 1000V or less (Fig. 12, [0047] describes a voltage under 1000V), and a frequency of the DC pulse is 10Hz to 1000Hz (Fig. 12, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 3, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the voltage further comprises a DC pulse of the first polarity (Ref. 1240, Fig. 12, [0047] describes the voltage biasing the electrode to create different polarities depending on the type of polishing process).
Regarding Claim 4, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3, as described above, and further teaches wherein the DC pulse of the first polarity alternates with the DC pulse of the second polarity (Ref. 1270, Fig. 12, [0047] describes the voltage biasing the electrode to create different polarities over time depending on the type of polishing process), wherein the DC pulse of the first polarity has a first magnitude (Fig. 12, Ref. 1223), wherein the DC pulse of the second polarity has a second magnitude (Fig. 12, Ref. 1227).
Regarding Claim 5, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and further teaches wherein the magnitude of the DC pulse of the first polarity is lower than the magnitude of the DC pulse of the second polarity (Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 6, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and further teaches wherein the magnitude of the DC pulse of the first polarity is at least 50V lower than the magnitude of the DC pulse of the second polarity (Fig. 12, [0047] show the magnitude of the pulse between the first and second is 80V lower).
Regarding Claim 7, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3, as described above, and further teaches wherein the voltage comprises a first time period (Ref. 1240, Fig. 12) during which the DC pulse of the first polarity is applied (Fig. 12) and a second time period (Ref. 1270, Fig. 12) during which the DC pulse of the second polarity is applied (Fig. 12, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 8, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the abrasive is a composition including at least one of silica, alumina, and ceria ([0022] describes the slurry as silica).
Regarding Claim 9, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the additive is a composition including any one of potassium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, ammonium hydroxide, and an amine-based compound ([0021] describes using potassium hydroxide (KOH)).
Regarding Claim 10, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a polishing target film (Ref. 305, Fig. 3) having a zeta potential of the second polarity (examiner notes, all objects have some zeta potential of both types of polarities), and wherein the polishing target film is disposed toward the polishing pad (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and further teaches wherein the semiconductor substrate (300) is a silicon oxide film ([0028] describes a substrate made of a dielectric material such as silicon).
Regarding Claim 12, Suen teaches A chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Ref. 100, Fig. 1, [0018]), comprising:
a platen (Ref. 105, Fig. 1, [0018]) having a polishing pad (Ref. 115, Fig. 1, [0020])attached to an upper surface (Fig. 1) thereof;
a slurry supplier (Ref. 140, Fig. 1, [0021]) configured to supply a slurry (Ref. 150, Fig. 1, [0021]) including an abrasive ([0021] describes the slurry comprising an abrasive) and an additive ([0021] describes additives) having a zeta potential of a first polarity to the polishing pad (Fig. 9, [0044]);
an electrode (Ref. 110, Fig. 1, [0031]) disposed below the polishing pad (Fig. 1);
a voltage supply ([0047] describes a voltage controller and production) configured to apply a voltage ([Abstract&0047]) of a second polarity ([Abstract & 0047]), opposite to the first polarity, to the electrode ([Abstract] describes using a second polarity to assist polishing), the voltage supply configured to adjust the voltage to adjust intensity of an electrical field applied to the abrasive and the additive at the electrode (Fig. 12, [0047]); and
a polishing head (Ref. 120, Fig. 1, [0020]) installed on the polishing pad (Fig. 1), and configured to rotate a semiconductor substrate (Ref. 300, Fig. 3, [0028]) in contact with the polishing pad (Fig. 1), wherein the abrasive and the additive have different vertical distributions between the polishing pad and the semiconductor substrate in response to the electrical field ([Abstract & 0035-0038], Fig. 4-8)
wherein the voltage of the second polarity is a direct current (DC) pulse voltage (Fig. 12 shows a pulsed voltage of direct current, examiner notes the voltages and polarity of the voltages represents a DC pulse voltage based upon due to the change in voltage over time going from one consistent voltage value to another without any curves or bending), and
wherein the DC pulse of the second polarity applied by the power supply comprises a sequence of voltage pulses having a magnitude and frequency (Fig. 12 shows a sequence of voltage pulses).
Suen fails to explicitly teach wherein the DC pulse of the second polarity applied by the power supply comprises a sequence of voltage pulses having the same magnitude and the same frequency. Shiro teaches a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus with a power supply to apply a voltage and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Shiro further teaches a power supply (Ref. 10, Fig. 1) to apply a voltage (Ref. E, Fig. 2) of a DC pulse wherein the DC pulse ([Col. 2, line 16-17] describes a DC voltage pulse) applied by the power supply comprises a sequence of voltage pulses having the same magnitude and the same frequency (Fig. 2 show the voltage (E) pulses having the same magnitude and frequency (T)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the DC pulse of the second polarity, as taught by Suen, to be the same magnitude and the same frequency, as taught by Shiro, to achieve the predictable results of agitating an abrasive slurry using an electric field.
Regarding Claim 13, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further teaches wherein the semiconductor substrate comprises a polishing target film (Ref. 305, Fig. 3) having a zeta potential of the second polarity (examiner notes, all objects have some zeta potential of both types of polarities), and wherein the polishing target film is disposed toward the polishing pad (Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and further teaches wherein a charge density of the abrasive is greater than a charge density of the additive ([0021-0022]).
Regarding Claim 15, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14, as described above, and further teaches wherein the additive is adsorbed to a surface of the polishing target film by the zeta potential of the second polarity of the polishing target film (Fig. 9, [0044]).
Regarding Claim 16, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further teaches wherein the abrasive is adsorbed to a surface of the polishing pad ([0024-0025]).
Regarding Claim 17, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 12, as described above, and further teaches wherein the first polarity is a + polarity (Ref. 1240, Fig. 12, [0047]), and the second polarity is a - polarity (Ref. 1270, Fig. 12, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 18 , Suen teaches A chemical mechanical polishing apparatus (Ref. 100, Fig. 1, [0018]), comprising:
a platen (Ref. 105, Fig. 1, [0018]) having a polishing pad (Ref. 115, Fig. 1, [0020]) attached to an upper surface (Fig. 1) thereof;
a slurry supplier (Ref. 140, Fig. 1, [0021]) configured to supply a slurry (Ref. 150, Fig. 1, [0021]) including an abrasive ([0021] describes the slurry comprising an abrasive) and an additive ([0021] describes additives) having a zeta potential of a first polarity to the polishing pad (Fig. 9, [0044]);
an electrode (Ref. 110, Fig. 1, [0031]) disposed below the polishing pad (Fig. 1);
a power supply ([0047] describes a voltage controller and production) configured to apply a voltage ([Abstract&0047]) of the first polarity and a voltage of a second polarity, opposite to the first polarity, to the electrode ([Abstract & 0047] describe applying first and second polarity); and
a polishing head (Ref. 120, Fig. 1, [0020]) installed on the polishing pad (Fig. 1), and configured to rotate a semiconductor substrate (Ref. 300, Fig. 3, [0028]) including a polishing target film (Ref. 305, Fig. 3) having a zeta potential of the second polarity in contact with the polishing pad (examiner notes, all objects have some zeta potential of both types of polarities),
wherein the power supply unit is configured to alternately apply the voltage of the first polarity and the voltage of the second polarity (Fig. 12, [0047]),
wherein the voltage of the first polarity and the voltage of the second polarity are DC pulse voltages, respectively (Fig. 12 shows a pulsed voltage of direct current, examiner notes the voltages and polarity of the voltages represents a DC pulse voltage based upon due to the change in voltage over time going from one consistent voltage value to another without any curves or bending), and
wherein the DC pulse voltage of the first polarity (Ref. 1240, Fig. 12, [0047] describes the voltage biasing the electrode to create different polarities depending on the type of polishing process) comprises a voltage pulse (Fig. 12, [0047]) that are applied at the first magnitude and the first frequency (Fig. 12), and the DC pulse voltage of the second polarity (Ref. 1270, Fig. 12, [0047] describes the voltage biasing the electrode to create different polarities over time depending on the type of polishing process) comprises a voltage pulses (Fig. 12, [0047]) that are applied at the second magnitude and the second frequency (Fig. 12).
Suen fails to explicitly teach the DC pulse voltage of the first polarity comprises a plurality of voltage pulses that are applied at the same first magnitude and the same first frequency, and the DC pulse voltage of the second polarity comprises a plurality of voltage pulses that are applied at the same second magnitude and the same second frequency.
Shiro teaches a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus with a power supply to apply a voltage and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Shiro further teaches a power supply (Ref. 10, Fig. 1) to apply a voltage (Ref. E, Fig. 2) of a DC pulse wherein the DC pulse ([Col. 2, line 16-17] describes a DC voltage pulse) applied by the power supply comprises a plurality of voltage pulses (Fig. 2) having the same magnitude and the same frequency (Fig. 2 show the voltage (E) pulses having the same magnitude and frequency (T)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the DC pulse of the first and second polarity, as taught by Suen, to have a plurality of voltage pulses be the same magnitude and the same frequency, as taught by Shiro, to achieve the predictable results of agitating an abrasive slurry using an electric field to abrade a surface.
Regarding Claim 20, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 18, as described above, and further teaches wherein a magnitude of the voltage of the first polarity is at least 50V lower than a magnitude of the voltage of the second polarity (Fig. 12, [0047] show the magnitude of the pulse between the first and second is 80V lower).
Regarding Claim 25, Suen as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein a charge density of the abrasive is greater than a charge density of the additive ([0021-0022]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06 January, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1, 12, and 18, Applicant’s arguments that the prior art fails to teach the DC pulse of the second polarity applied by the power supply comprises a sequence of voltage pulses having the same magnitude” have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Examiner has applied Suen in view of Shiro to the 35 USC 103 rejection above. Suen teaches Fig. 12 shows a pulsed voltage of direct current. Examiner notes it is old and well known in the art that the figure shows a direct current pulse due to the consistent voltage of the voltage over time with curve. DC voltage moves between one value to another without any variation (Fig. 12 of Suen further shows at shows rectangular pulse at ref. 1260,1270,&1280 (pulses that have a voltage value than go back to a zero outside of that pulse). Examiner notes these pulses are capable of having the same magnitude and same frequency over an extended period of time by repeating this pattern.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Shiro teaches a chemical mechanical polishing apparatus with a power supply to apply a voltage and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Further, given both Shiro and Suen teach moving/agitating an abrasive slurry using DC pulsed voltages such a limitation would achieve the predictable results.
In response to applicant's argument that modifying Suen with Shiro would destroy the operation of Suen, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Suen already teaches a DC pulse of a first and second polarity that have a same magnitude and frequency over time and given the teachings of Shiro, Shiro would further teach that repeating a DC pulse sequence over time would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723