DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 13, the language “additional programmable power electronics” lacks antecedent basis since it implies that programmable power electronics were present in the independent claim. However, claim 9, from which claim 13 depends, recites “power electronics”, and not “programmable power electronics”. It is unclear if the programmable power electronics are distinct from the power electronics.
Claims 14-15 are rejected by way of their dependency from claim 13.
Claim 16 requires the power electronics to comprise the buck-boost converter. This is inconsistent with claim 9, from which claim 1 depends, and which recites the power electronics and buck-boost converter as separate, distinct elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 16, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Huh et al. (US 2017/0057363), herein after Huh.
Regarding claim 1, Huh discloses a system (fig. 4), comprising:
a multi-directional buck-boost converter (108, fig. 2), a load (118, fig. 4), and multiple voltage sources, wherein the multiple voltage sources comprise two voltage sources(110, 112, fig. 4), and
wherein the multi-directional buck-boost converter comprises a multi-directional DC-DC buck-boost converter (converter 108 is bi-directional buck-boost converter, paragraph [0034]) connected to the load and the two voltage sources (108 is connected to 110, 112 and to the load 118, fig. 4);
a bypass circuit connected to the converter, the load, and the two voltage sources (The energy system also includes a bi-directional DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the DC link and to the energy storage system, with the bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the first energy storage device to the DC link such that power to and from the first energy storage device is selectively routed through the bi-directional DC-DC converter and with the bi-directional DC-DC converter positioned such that power to and from the second energy storage device bypasses the DC-DC converter, paragraph [0056] forming a bypass circuit); and
a controller (125, fig. 4) configured to: monitor voltages in the system and control use of the multiple voltage sources according to the voltages monitored by the controller (The controller 125 operates to control operation of components of the energy system 102 based on power requirements of the electric drive 118 and based on voltage levels of the battery 110 and ultracapacitor 112, paragraph [0034]); and
control the bypass circuit to connect a first voltage source of the two voltage sources to the load when the load and the first voltage experience a similar voltage to avoid use of the converter by the first voltage source and the load(the controller 125 controls the switch 122 to be closed. The power source 112 discharges and provides power to the load, since the power is directly applied to the load without passing through the converter. Thus, it experiences the same voltage as the load, paragraph [0037], figs. 4,5) and allow for a second voltage source of the two voltage sources to charge or discharge through the converter simultaneous to the avoidance of the use of the converter by the load and the first voltage source (As the ultracapacitor 112 is connected to the DC link 114, a large transient load imposed by the electric drive 118 during a period 140 can be handled by a combination of the battery 110 and ultracapacitor 112—with the ultracapacitor 112 discharging power to supplement power provided by the battery 110 in order to collectively provide increased power to meet this load, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 3, Huh further discloses the system further comprising a supercapacitor (ultra capacitor 112, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Huh further discloses wherein the voltage sources comprises a battery (battery 110, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Huh discloses a system (fig. 4), comprising: a multi-directional buck-boost converter(converter 108 is bi-directional buck-boost converter, paragraph [0034]); multiple voltage sources, wherein the multiple voltage sources comprise at least three voltage sources (110, 112, 116+118, fig. 4) and the at least three voltage sources comprise at least one load (116+118, fig. 4) and at least one power source comprising a hybrid battery bank (battery bank 110, fig. 4); a bypass circuit (The energy system also includes a bi-directional DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the DC link and to the energy storage system, with the bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the first energy storage device to the DC link such that power to and from the first energy storage device is selectively routed through the bi-directional DC-DC converter and with the bi-directional DC-DC converter positioned such that power to and from the second energy storage device bypasses the DC-DC converter, paragraph [0056] forming a bypass circuit); and a controller (125, fig. 4) configured to:
monitor voltages in the system and control use of the multiple voltage sources according to the voltages monitored by the controller(The controller 125 operates to control operation of components of the energy system 102 based on power requirements of the electric drive 118 and based on voltage levels of the battery 110 and ultracapacitor 112, paragraph [0034]); and control the bypass circuit to connect a first voltage source of the at least three voltage sources to the at least one load when the at least one load and the first voltage source experience a similar voltage to avoid use of the converter by the first voltage source (the controller 125 controls the switch 122 to be closed. The power source 112 discharges and provides power to the load, since the power is directly applied to the load without passing through the converter. Thus, it experiences the same voltage as the load, paragraph [0037], figs. 4,5) and the load and allow for a second voltage source of the at least three voltage sources to charge or discharge through the converter simultaneous to the avoidance of the use of the converter by the load and the first voltage source(As the ultracapacitor 112 is connected to the DC link 114, a large transient load imposed by the electric drive 118 during a period 140 can be handled by a combination of the battery 110 and ultracapacitor 112—with the ultracapacitor 112 discharging power to supplement power provided by the battery 110 in order to collectively provide increased power to meet this load, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Huh further discloses wherein the hybrid battery bank comprises programmable power electronics, a supercapacitor, a battery, and optional power sources (122+108, 112, 110, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Huh discloses a system (fig. 4), comprising:
a load(116+118, fig. 4);
a hybrid battery bank, comprising power electronics (108+122, fig. 4), a supercapacitor (112, fig. 4), and a battery (battery 110, fig. 4);
a bypass circuit(The energy system also includes a bi-directional DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the DC link and to the energy storage system, with the bi-directional DC-DC converter connecting the first energy storage device to the DC link such that power to and from the first energy storage device is selectively routed through the bi-directional DC-DC converter and with the bi-directional DC-DC converter positioned such that power to and from the second energy storage device bypasses the DC-DC converter, paragraph [0056] forming a bypass circuit);
a multi-directional buck-boost converter(converter 108 is bi-directional buck-boost converter, paragraph [0034]); and
a controller (125, fig. 4) configured to:
monitor voltages in the system and control use of the hybrid battery bank according to the voltages monitored by the controller (The controller 125 operates to control operation of components of the energy system 102 based on power requirements of the electric drive 118 and based on voltage levels of the battery 110 and ultracapacitor 112, paragraph [0034]); and control the bypass circuit to connect a first voltage source of the system to the load when the load and the first voltage source experience a similar voltage to avoid use of the converter by the first voltage source and the load(the controller 125 controls the switch 122 to be closed. The power source 112 discharges and provides power to the load, since the power is directly applied to the load without passing through the converter. Thus, it experiences the same voltage as the load, paragraph [0037], figs. 4,5) and allow for a second voltage source of the system to charge or discharge through the converter simultaneous to the avoidance of the use of the converter by the load and the first voltage source (As the ultracapacitor 112 is connected to the DC link 114, a large transient load imposed by the electric drive 118 during a period 140 can be handled by a combination of the battery 110 and ultracapacitor 112—with the ultracapacitor 112 discharging power to supplement power provided by the battery 110 in order to collectively provide increased power to meet this load, paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Huh further discloses a plurality of hybrid battery banks connected in a series arrangement (serially connected 110, 112, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Huh further discloses wherein the load, the supercapacitor, and the battery are connected to each other through the converter (load 116+118, 112, and 100 is connected through the converter 108, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Huh further discloses wherein the power electronics comprise the buck-boost converter (controller 125 controls operation of DC-DC converter 108 (to boost/buck voltage) paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 21, Huh further discloses wherein the multi-directional buck- boost converter comprises a multi-directional DC-DC buck-boost converter (Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Huh further discloses wherein the multi-directional buck- boost converter comprises a multi-directional DC-DC buck-boost converter (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh (US 2017/0057363) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Rentel et al. (US 2021/0006075), herein after Rentel.
Regarding claim 11, Huh discloses the system of claim 9. However, Huh does not explicitly disclose a plurality of hybrid battery banks connected in a parallel arrangement.
Rentel discloses a plurality of hybrid battery banks connected in a parallel arrangement (A plurality of energy storage modules and/or individual interconnected energy storage modules can form an energy storage system when interconnected in parallel, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huh to connect the plurality of battery banks in parallel as taught by Rentel, in order to have a higher power capability, lower power loss, improved thermal behavior.
Regarding claim 13, Huh discloses the system of claim 9. However, Huh is silent about the system further comprising additional supercapacitors, additional programmable power electronics, and additional batteries.
Rentel discloses the system comprising additional supercapacitors, additional programmable power electronics, and additional batteries (plurality of modules 1009, 1010 has additional supercapacitors, programable power electronics and batteries, fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huh to connect the plurality of battery bank modules as taught by Rentel, in order to improve safety through fault isolation, easier maintenance, and the ability to scale capacity to meet changing energy demands.
Regarding claim 14, Huh in view of Rentel discloses the system of claim 13. Rentel further discloses the system further comprising a plurality of modules, wherein each module comprises at least one supercapacitor of the system, at least one set of programmable power electronics of the system, at least one battery of the system (plurality of modules with 1006, 1009, 1010 with their respective converter and controller, fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huh to connect the plurality of battery bank modules as taught by Rentel, in order to improve safety through fault isolation, easier maintenance, and the ability to scale capacity to meet changing energy demands.
Regarding claim 15, Huh in view of Rentel discloses the system of claim 14. Rentel further discloses wherein each battery of the system is separated from other batteries through a respective set of power electronics of each module, and wherein each power electronics of each module independently manage battery operation per defined parameters (The DC/DC converters 1000 can be used to adjust and compensate for these differences in any desired manner to say extract all the energy of each energy storage element in a balanced manner, and/or generate a regulated terminal load voltage and/or load current, paragraph [0047] each module is connected to their respective converter and controlled independently, fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huh to connect the plurality of battery bank modules as taught by Rentel, in order to improve safety through fault isolation, easier maintenance, and the ability to scale capacity to meet changing energy demands.
Claim(s) 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh (US 2017/0057363) as applied to claims 1, 6 and 9 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 10,263,456), herein after Wang.
Regarding claim 24, Huh discloses the DC/DC converter 108, however, Huh does not explicitly disclose that the buck-boost converter comprises a hex- directional buck-boost converter.
Wang discloses a three port Bidirectional DC-DC Converter comprises a hex-directional (Abstract; Note the converter is capable of controlling the power in six directions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huh to have a hex-directional converter as taught by Wang, in order to have efficient, flexible, and direct power transfer between three energy nodes which improves efficiency and enables advanced hybrid energy management.
Regarding claim 25, Huh in view of Wang discloses the system of claim 24. Huh further discloses wherein multiple field effect transistors are moved in the converter to implement the bypass circuit (244 and 242 connected to the converter to implement the bypass path, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 26, Huh discloses the DC/DC converter 108, however, Huh does not explicitly disclose that the buck-boost converter comprises a hex- directional buck-boost converter.
Wang discloses a three port Bidirectional DC-DC Converter comprises a hex- directional (Abstract; Note the converter is capable of controlling the power in six directions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huh to have a hex-directional converter as taught by Wang, in order to have efficient, flexible, and direct power transfer between three energy nodes which improves efficiency and enables advanced hybrid energy management.
Regarding claim 27, Huh in view of Wang discloses the system of claim 26. Huh further discloses wherein multiple field effect transistors are moved in the converter to implement the bypass circuit(244 and 242 connected to the converter to implement the bypass path, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 28, Huh discloses the system of claim 9. Huh further discloses the DC/DC converter (108, fig. 4), wherein multiple field effect transistors are moved in the converter to implement the bypass circuit(244 and 242 connected to the converter to implement the bypass path, fig. 8).
However, Huh does not explicitly disclose that the buck-boost converter comprises a hex- directional buck-boost converter.
Wang discloses a three port Bidirectional DC-DC Converter comprises a hex- directional (Abstract; Note the converter is capable of controlling the power in six directions).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Huh to have a hex-directional converter as taught by Wang, in order to have efficient, flexible, and direct power transfer between three energy nodes which improves efficiency and enables advanced hybrid energy management.
Conclusion
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859