DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 07/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chalamalsetti - US 2020042287.
The apparatus claim 12 is addressed before the method claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Chalamalsetti teaches a device (Chalamalsetti figure 1A integrated circuit 100 [i.e., a device]), comprising:
a memory cell array (Chalamalsetti figure 1A, each core includes an array of memristive cells [i.e., a memory cell array]); and a logic circuit, configured to:
program, in a first mode, threshold voltages of first memory cells in the memory cell array in an integrated circuit device to store first weight matrices representative of a first artificial neural network (Chalamalsetti [0036] describes a programming operation [i.e., a first mode], the memristors of the array is programmed to store weight matrices of a neural network using programming voltages . Figures 2, 4B, [0044], [0052] describes the dynamically precision selection for different neural networks configured with different precision levels. Thus, a control unit [i.e., a logic circuit] would program threshold voltages for memory cells having a second precision 210 [i.e., a first memory cells] in the memory array as illustrated in figure 1A in an integrated circuit device 100 to store first weight matrices of a neural network corresponding to such precision [i.e., a first artificial neural network]); and program, in the first mode, threshold voltages of second memory cells in the memory cell array to store second weight matrices representative of a second artificial neural network (Chalamalsetti, as illustrated in figure 4B different neural networks can be selected for different level precision. Thus, based on a next input stream, the control unit also program threshold voltages for memory cells having a first precision 205 [i.e., a second memory cells] in the memory array as illustrated in figure 1A to store second weight matrices of a neural network corresponding to such precision [i.e., a second artificial neural network]), wherein a count of the first memory cells is larger than a count of the second memory cell (Chalamalsetti figure 2 [0040] illustrates different precision type, where using larger area of the crossbar matrix allows for high precision. Thus, the count of memory cells having second precision 210 is larger than memory cells having first precision 205).
Claim 1 recite method claims that would be practiced by the apparatus claim 12. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chalamalsetti in view of Cantin - US 20190065943.
Regarding claim 18, Chalamalsetti teaches an apparatus (Chalamalsetti figure 1A teaches an integrated circuit 100), comprising: an integrated circuit die having a memory cell array (Chalamalsetti figure 1A [0026] illustrates an array of memory cells DPE 160 implemented on an integrated circuit [i.e., an integrated circuit die having a memory cell array] ); and an integrated circuit die having a logic circuit (Chalamalsetti figure 1A [0044] describes a control circuitry [i.e., an integrated circuit die having a logic circuit]); wherein the apparatus is configured to: program, in a first mode, threshold voltages of first memory cells in a first subset to store first weight matrices representative of a first artificial neural network (Chalamalsetti [0036] describes a programming operation [i.e., a first mode], the memristors of the array is programmed to store weight matrices of a neural network using programming voltages. Figures 2, 4B, [0044], [0052] describes the dynamically precision selection for different neural networks configured with different precision levels. Thus, threshold voltages are programmed for memory cells having a second precision 210 [i.e., a first memory cells in a first subset] in the memory array as illustrated in figure 1A in an integrated circuit device 100 to store first weight matrices of a neural network corresponding to such precision [i.e., a first artificial neural network]).
Chalamalsetti does not teach a memory cell array configured in a plurality of layers having a first subset and a second subset, the first subset and the second subset being mutually exclusive. However, Cantin teaches a memory cell array configured in a plurality of layers having a first subset and a second subset, the first subset and the second subset being mutually exclusive (Cantin figures 1-2 illustrate a crossbar array stack 145 [i.e., a memory cell array] configured in a plurality of layers having a first crossbar array 210 and a second crossbar array 230 [i.e., first subset and second subset] mutually exclusive).
It would have been obvious for to modify the plurality of crossbar arrays as illustrated in Chalamalsetti figure 1 to be the crossbar array stack 145 as taught in Cantin. This modification would have been obvious because both references teach crossbar array to perform matrix multiplication operation. Furthermore, as recognized by Cantin [0042], stacking crossbar array is more efficient as driving a Through-Silicon-Via (TSV) requires less power than driving long chip wires and stacking the crossbar array also reduces the hardware area comparing to the configuration as disclosed in Chalamalsetti.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY DUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2182 (571)272-2764
/ANDREW CALDWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2182