DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/20/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 regarding the prior art failing to teach “a surface modifier is distributed on a surface side of the binder” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the prior art fails to teach wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other because Sugiyama only describes the refractive index in one direction is larger than the average refractive index in another direction. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the prior art fails to teach wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other because Sugiyama only describes the refractive index in one direction is larger than the average refractive index in another direction, Examiner notes that even though Sugiyama teaches the average refractive index, there are necessarily at least some if not all particles that have individual refractive indices that meet the limitation. By virtue of “average”, the refractive index must be lower overall in order to satisfy the teaching of Sugiyama [0177]. Furthermore, Sugiyama [0179] teaches that for the inorganic particles, “the refractive index of the particles in the longer diameter direction is larger than the refractive index thereof in the direction crossing the longer diameter direction at right angles”. Therefore, Examiner maintains the Sugiyama teaches the argued limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (2003/0147140, of record) in view of Wakizaka et al. (2013/0265529, of record), in view of Nakamura et al. (2003/0202137, of record), in view of Sugiyama (2007/0172604, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a resin film (Figure 1, 1, anti-reflection film; [0048] teaches the binder is made of a transparent resin) comprising: a low-refractive-index layer having a refractive index of 1.40 or less (4, low-refractive index layer; [0048] teaches the refractive index of 4, low-refractive index layer, is between 1.35 and 1.45); and an anisotropic diffusion layer configured to diffuse light anisotropically (3, scattering layer; [0060] teaches the scattering intensity varies continuously when the viewing angle is continuously changed, thus interpreted as anisotropic scattering), wherein the anisotropic diffusion layer comprises anisotropic particles having an anisotropic shape (5, scatterers; Figure 1, [0060]), the anisotropic particles having a longitudinal direction aligned along one direction (Figure 1), and a resin portion which diffuses the anisotropic particles and is formed of a resin ([0051, 0073] teach a transparent resin in which the scatterers are dispersed), and wherein a reflectivity excluding a specular reflection light component is 1.0% or less (at least [0120] teaches a reflectance of 1, anti-reflection film, to be 1.1% or less).
Ito fails to teach wherein the low-refractive-index layer comprises a binder with hollow silica particles distributed in the binder and wherein a blending amount of the hollow silica particles is up to 65% by mass, wherein a surface modifier is distributed on a surface of the binder, and wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other. Ito and Wakizaka are related because both teach a resin film comprising a low-refractive-index layer.
Wakizaka teaches a resin film (at least [0024] teaches an anisotropic layer formed from a curable resin) comprising: a low-refractive-index layer ([0024] teaches a low refractive index layer) having a refractive index of 1.40 or less ([0024] teaches the low refractive index layer has a refractive index of 1.2 to 1.40), wherein the low-refractive-index layer comprises a binder ([0024] teaches the low refractive index layer contains a binder) with hollow silica particles distributed in the binder ([0024] teach the low refractive index layer contains fines particles A; [0028] teaches fine particles A are hollow silica particles) and wherein a blending amount of the hollow silica particles is up to 65% by mass ([0082] teaches the content of fine particles A is preferably 20% by mass to 60% by mass).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Wakizaka and provide wherein the low-refractive-index layer comprises a binder with hollow silica particles distributed in the binder and wherein a blending amount of the hollow silica particles is up to 65% by mass. Doing so would allow for improved antireflection properties while also increasing the film strength.
The modified Ito fails to teach wherein a surface modifier is distributed on a surface of the binder, and wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other. The modified Ito and Nakamura are related because each teach a resin film.
Nakamura teaches a resin film (at least Figures 5(a), 5(b), 5(c)) wherein a surface modifier is distributed on a surface of the binder (6, over coat layer, is distributed on a surface of 2, low-refractive-index layer, and specifically on a surface of 22, polymer, which is viewed to be a binder; [0203]; at least [0465] teaches the over coat layer has effects of giving stainproofing property based on water and oil repellency, and improving scratch-resistance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura and provide wherein a surface modifier is distributed on a surface of the binder. Doing so would allow for stainproofing and improving scratch-resistance.
The modified Ito fails to teach wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other. The modified Ito and Sugiyama are related because both teach a resin film with anisotropic particles.
Sugiyama teaches a resin film wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other (at least [0177, 0179]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Sugiyama and provide wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other. Doing so would allow for improved optical properties over a long period of time by including birefringence.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the following relationships (I) and (II) is satisfied, where a refractive index of the resin portion is defined as n.sub.b, a refractive index of the anisotropic particles in the longitudinal direction is defined as n.sub.ax, and a refractive index of the anisotropic particles in the short direction is defined as n.sub.ay:
|n.sub.b−n.sub.ax|<0.04 and 0.04<|n.sub.b−n.sub.ay|<0.50 (at least Abstract);
|n.sub.b−n.sub.ay|<0.04 and 0.04<|n.sub.b−n.sub.ax|<0.50 (at least Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, wherein the anisotropic particles have a length in the longitudinal direction of 1 μm to 200 μm ([0058]) and a length in a short direction of 0.1 μm to 10 μm ([0059]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 4, wherein an aspect ratio which is a ratio of the length of the anisotropic particles in the longitudinal direction to the length in the short direction is 10 or more ([0058-0059] include values in which the aspect ratio is 10 or more).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, wherein an interface between the anisotropic particles and the resin portion is compatible (at least [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, wherein a refractive index of the resin portion is 1.45 to 1.65 ([0048]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, wherein the anisotropic particles contain at least one of metal oxide, a carbonate compound, a hydroxide compound, or a phosphate compound (at least [0073]).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, wherein a difference in refractive index of the resin portion and the low-refractive-index layer is 0.1 or more ([0048]).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, wherein the anisotropic diffusion layer has a haze value of 20% to 80% ([0038]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the anisotropic diffusion layer has an anisotropic diffusivity of 3 or more.
However, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to adjust the anisotropic diffusivity to be 3 or more, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). Doing so would allow for improved diffusion at viewing angles, thereby improving imaging light.
Regarding claim 15, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, wherein the anisotropic diffusion layer functions as a base material which supports the low-refractive-index layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Ito discloses a method of making a resin film (Figure 1, 1, anti-reflection film; [0048] teaches the binder is made of a transparent resin), the method comprising: forming a low-refractive-index layer having a refractive index of 1.40 or less (4, low-refractive index layer; [0048] teaches the refractive index of 4, low-refractive index layer, is between 1.35 and 1.45); and forming an anisotropic diffusion layer configured to diffuse light anisotropically (3, scattering layer; [0060] teaches the scattering intensity varies continuously when the viewing angle is continuously changed, thus interpreted as anisotropic scattering), wherein the anisotropic diffusion layer comprises anisotropic particles having an anisotropic shape (5, scatterers; Figure 1, [0060]), the anisotropic particles having a longitudinal direction aligned along one direction (Figure 1), and a resin portion which diffuses the anisotropic particles and is formed of a resin ([0051, 0073] teach a transparent resin in which the scatterers are dispersed), and wherein a reflectivity excluding a specular reflection light component is 1.0% or less (at least [0120] teaches a reflectance of 1, anti-reflection film, to be 1.1% or less).
Ito fails to teach wherein the low-refractive-index layer comprises a binder with hollow silica particles distributed in the binder and wherein a blending amount of the hollow silica particles is up to 65% by mass, wherein a surface modifier is distributed on a surface of the binder, and wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other. Ito and Wakizaka are related because both teach a resin film comprising a low-refractive-index layer.
Wakizaka teaches a resin film (at least [0024] teaches an anisotropic layer formed from a curable resin) comprising: a low-refractive-index layer ([0024] teaches a low refractive index layer) having a refractive index of 1.40 or less ([0024] teaches the low refractive index layer has a refractive index of 1.2 to 1.40), wherein the low-refractive-index layer comprises a binder ([0024] teaches the low refractive index layer contains a binder) with hollow silica particles distributed in the binder ([0024] teach the low refractive index layer contains fines particles A; [0028] teaches fine particles A are hollow silica particles) and wherein a blending amount of the hollow silica particles is up to 65% by mass ([0082] teaches the content of fine particles A is preferably 20% by mass to 60% by mass).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Wakizaka and provide wherein the low-refractive-index layer comprises a binder with hollow silica particles distributed in the binder and wherein a blending amount of the hollow silica particles is up to 65% by mass. Doing so would allow for improved antireflection properties while also increasing the film strength.
The modified Ito fails to teach wherein a surface modifier is distributed on a surface of the binder, and wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other. The modified Ito and Nakamura are related because each teach a resin film.
Nakamura teaches a resin film (at least Figures 5(a), 5(b), 5(c)) wherein a surface modifier is distributed on a surface of the binder (6, over coat layer, is distributed on a surface of 2, low-refractive-index layer, and specifically on a surface of 22, polymer, which is viewed to be a binder; [0203]; at least [0465] teaches the over coat layer has effects of giving stainproofing property based on water and oil repellency, and improving scratch-resistance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Nakamura and provide wherein a surface modifier is distributed on a surface of the binder. Doing so would allow for stainproofing and improving scratch-resistance.
The modified Ito fails to teach wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other. The modified Ito and Sugiyama are related because both teach a resin film with anisotropic particles.
Sugiyama teaches a resin film wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other (at least [0177, 0179]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Sugiyama and provide wherein the anisotropic particles have a refractive index in the longitudinal direction and a refractive index in a short direction different from each other. Doing so would allow for improved optical properties over a long period of time by including birefringence.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Ito discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the anisotropic layer is formed by stretching (at least [0229]).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Ito discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the formation of at least one of the anisotropic layer and the low-refractive-index layer comprises: preparing a coating solution ([0024]); applying the coating solution to form a coating film ([0024]); drying the coating film ([0024]); and polymerizing the coating film (at least [0073, 0083, 0085]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Ito discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the step of polymerizing the coating film comprises applying at least one of ultraviolet light or heat (at least [0085]).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (2003/0147140, of record) in view of Wakizaka et al. (2013/0265529, of record), in view of Nakamura et al. (2003/0202137, of record), in view of Sugiyama (2007/0172604, of record), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shoshi et al. (2006/0171034, of record).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, but fails to teach further comprising: a high-refractive-index layer having a refractive index of 1.60 or more. The modified Ito and Shoshi are related because both teach a resin film.
Shoshi teaches a resin film further comprising: a high-refractive-index layer having a refractive index of 1.60 or more (at least Abstract teaches a hard coat layer with a refractive index of 1.60 to 1.75).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Shoshi and provide a high-refractive-index layer having a refractive index of 1.60 or more. Doing so would allow for improved antireflection and durability.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, but fails to teach further comprising: a hard coating layer having a refractive index of 1.54 or more. The modified Ito and Shoshi are related because both teach a resin film.
Shoshi teaches a resin further comprising: a hard coating layer having a refractive index of 1.54 or more (at least Abstract teaches a hard coat layer with a refractive index of 1.60 to 1.75).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Shoshi and provide a hard coating layer having a refractive index of 1.54 or more. Doing so would allow for improved antireflection and durability.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (2003/0147140, of record) in view of Wakizaka et al. (2013/0265529, of record), in view of Nakamura et al. (2003/0202137, of record), in view of Sugiyama (2007/0172604, of record), as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Amimori et al. (2005/0001957, of record).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Ito discloses the resin film according to claim 1, but fails to teach further comprising: a base material which supports the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic diffusion layer, wherein the base material is provided between the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic diffusion layer. The modified Ito and Amimori are related because both teach a resin film.
Amimori teaches a resin film further comprising: a base material which supports the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic diffusion layer (Figure 15 depicts 1, transparent substrate film, supporting 3, low-refractive index layer, and 2, spectrally anisotropic scattering layer), wherein the base material is provided between the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic diffusion layer (Figure 15 depicts 1, transparent substrate film, between 3, low-refractive index layer, and 2, spectrally anisotropic scattering layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Amimori and provide a base material which supports the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic diffusion layer, wherein the base material is provided between the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic diffusion layer. Doing so would allow for improved film adhesion and durability of the multiple layers.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Ito discloses the method of claim 16, but fails to teach further comprising: providing a base material and arranging the base material between the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic layer. The modified Ito and Amimori are related because both teach a resin film.
Amimori teaches a method further comprising: providing a base material (Figure 15 depicts 1, transparent substrate film) and arranging the base material between the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic layer (Figure 15 depicts 1, transparent substrate film, between 3, low-refractive index layer, and 2, spectrally anisotropic scattering layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have further modified Ito to incorporate the teachings of Amimori and provide a base material and arranging the base material between the low-refractive-index layer and the anisotropic layer. Doing so would allow for improved film adhesion and durability of the multiple layers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872