DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(a)
Applicant submission of a Declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(a) establishing co-ownership and evidence that the secondary citing of Reggiardo reference was published less than one year from the filing of the of the instant invention is acknowledged. Accordingly, the teachings of Reggiardo et al is withdrawn.
New Ground(s) of rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 20-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalluri et al {Kalluri, used interchangeably herein} (US 10598665, March 24, 2020) and Nagy et al (Int. J. Cancer, vol. 140, p.930-937, 2017).
Regarding claims 1, 4-7, Kallluri teaches a method for detecting a RAS pathway mutation in a subject, the method comprising: identifying a cancer biomarker in a subject, wherein the cancer biomarker may a KRAS mutation (col. 3, lines 7-8; col. 4, lines 1-4), the method comprising obtaining a biological sample from the sample (col. 2, lines 44); isolating nucleic acids from the biological sample (col. 4, lines 39-41; col. 9-12); and analyzing the expression level of extracellular RNAs in the nucleic acids, wherein a differential expression level of the extracellular RNAs compared to a control sample indicates that the subject has a RAS pathway mutations (col. 2-7, 12-15, col. 45, lines 12-15; col. 46, lines 4-17; col. 47, lines 25-27, 40-41, Table 2; Figures 1, 2, 5, 11, 13, 19; see also Examples 2 and 3). Kalluri teaches wherein non-coding RNAs are analyzed (col. 40, lines 21-38). Kalluri further teaches wherein cancer is a RAS mutant cancer and wherein the RAS mutant cancer is a lung, cancer, pancreatic cancer, colorectal cancer, or melanoma (col. 2 line 2 to col. 3, line 25).
Regarding claim 2, Kalluri teaches where the RAS pathway mutation is in KRAS (Fig 2A-E, Fig. 11F, Fig. 12A-F, Fig. 19), EGFR (col. 12, line 21).
Regarding claim 3, Kalluri teaches wherein the biological sample comprises extracellular vesicles isolated from biofluids from the subject (abstract, col., 1, line 60 to col. 2, first full paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, Kalluri teaches wherein the method further comprises analyzing the expression level of a gene involved in the interferon IFN gamma or Zn Finger response (col. 21, lines 45 – 49, Table 1).
Regarding claims 20-23, Kalluri teaches wherein the biological sample is a blood sample, a urine sample, a saliva sample or a tissue sample and wherein the subject is a human (col. 2, lines 49 to col. 3, lines 42; col. 13 first full paragraph).
Regarding claim 24-26, Kalluri teaches further comprising administering to the subject one or more anticancer agents, wherein the anticancer agent is an inhibitor of a RAS pathway gene (col. 3-7, col. 12).
Regarding claims 27-30, Kalluri teaches further comprising isolating extracellular vesicles from the sample on the basis of size wherein the size is from about 40 – 150 nm (col. 11 line 64; col. 13, line 64 to col. 14, 11). Kalluri does not teach wherein the vesicles are from about 150 nm or about 213 nm in diameter. However, MPEP states "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
While, Kalluri teaches number aspects of the claimed invention including analyzing differential expression levels of RNA, analyzing increase, decrease or lack of change in cancer derived exosomes to detect cancer in a sample and response to therapy, the reference does not teach in the sequencing step, aligning the one or more sequencing reads of the noncoding RNA to repetitive sequences in a human genome, analyzing expression level of noncoding RNA transcribed from transposable elements.
Regarding claims 1-8 and 23-30, Nagy et al. teach a method for detecting Kras mutations in a sample, wherein the method comprises exome RNA sequencing and aligning sequence data with repetitive sequences in human genome (page 931-935, paragraphs under ‘methods’ section).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the KRAS detection method of Kalluri et al. to encompass aligning sequencing reads as taught by Nagy et al and comparing to a control. The ordinary person skilled in the art would have motivated to do so for the combined benefit of improving the sensitivity of detecting Kras mutation in a sample because Nagy et al. explicitly taught the analyzing sequencing data in comparison to human genome SNP reference accurately detect the sequence variations per gene (page 932, paragraphs under the section ‘statistical analysis pipeline’). Such modification of the method is considered obvious over the cited prior art.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1-15 and 20-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No.18/706,482 {Application ‘482}.
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F. 2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (fed. Cir. 1985).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the claims 1-23 of the instant invention and the claims 1-22 of copending application ‘482 are drawn to a method for detecting RAS pathway mutations in a subject, the method comprising: obtaining a biological sample from the subject; isolating nucleic acids from the biological sample and analyzing the expression level of the RNA compared to a control sample indicates that the subject has a RAS pathway mutation (claim 1 of instant invention and claim 1 of copending application ‘482). The claims 2-22 of copending application ‘482 embodies the limitations of the claims 2-23 of the instant invention.
The claims of copending application ‘482 differs from the claims 1-15 and 20-23 of the instant invention in that they are broader in scope and comprise of overlapping subject matter. The claims of the copending application and the instant application clearly comprise of a species/genus relationship.
As the court stated in In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (CAFC 1993), “a second application-- "containing a broader claim, more generical in its character than the specific claim in the prior patent"--typically cannot support an independent valid patent. Miller, 151, U.S. at 198; See Stanley, 214 F.2d at 153. Thus, the generic invention, as noted above is "anticipated" by the species of the patented invention. Cf., Titanium metal corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (holding that an earlier species disclosure in the prior art defeats any generic claims). This court's predecessor has held that, without a terminal disclaimer, the species claims preclude issuance of the generical application. "In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 944, 214 USPQ 761, 767 (CCPA 1982); Schneller, 397 F.2d at 354".
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant traverses the rejections on the following grounds: Applicant states that the present application has the earlier patent term filing date and therefore and therefore request the rejection be withdrawn.
11. All of the arguments have been thoroughly reviewed and considered but are not found persuasive because it cannot be determined which of the application may be patented and published first. The examiner further notes under under 37 CFR 1.111(b), applicants may request that certain objections or requirements “as to form” be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter in indicated. However, MPEP 804.02 clarifies that a non-statutory double patenting rejection is not “as to form” – it is a substantive rejection based on the doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting. To overcome the double patenting rejection, a proper terminal disclaimer under 37 CFR 1.321 is required.
Conclusion
12. No claims are allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CYNTHIA B WILDER whose telephone number is (571)272-0791. The examiner can normally be reached Flexible.
/CYNTHIA B WILDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681