DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant has amended independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-6; and added new claims 8-10. The pending claims are claims 1-10.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al., JP 2018160379.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura et al., teaches an anode (abstract) comprising an anode current collector (0010; 0025) and an anode active material layer (0003; 0010) arranged on the anode current collector (0010), wherein: the anode active material layer includes a Li composite layer containing a Li composite (0071) including a Li element (0008) and a dope element (0008; 0026); and in the Li composite layer (0008), when C1 designates a concentration of the dope element (0008) in a first surface that is an opposite side of the anode current collector side (0010), and C2 designates a concentration of the dope element in a second surface that is the anode current collector side (0026; 0028), C2 is larger than C1 (0029; 0057; 0090; 0092; 0094).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura et al., teaches wherein in a direction from the second surface toward the first surface, a concentration of the dope element in the Li composite layer decreases continuously or stepwise (0010; 0028; 0090).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura et al., teaches wherein C1 is larger than 0 atm% (0083).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura et al., teaches wherein C1is 0 atm% (0083).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura et al., teaches wherein the Li composite layer contains, as the dope element, at least one of Si, Sn, Al (0008; 0026).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura et al., teaches battery (abstract; 0007; 0018) comprising: a cathode (0021; 0023) including a cathode current collector (0070) and a cathode active material layer (0070); an anode including an anode current collector (0010; 0025) and an anode active material layer (0025-0026); and an electrolyte layer (0021) arranged between the cathode active material layer (0070) and the anode active material layer (0025), wherein: the anode is the anode according to claim 1 (0057; 0059).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura et al., teaches the Li composite is a Li alloy (0035-0036; 0071).
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al., JP 2018160379.
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura et al., does not teach wherein a ratio of C2 with respect to C1, which is C2/C1 is 1.25 or more and 100 or less.
However, a ratio of the concentration C1 with respect to the concentration C2, which is C2/C1, would be within an optimizable claimed range. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, the concentrations, C1 and C2, would be optimized to provide the ratio of concentration, C2/C1, in the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura et al., teaches the Li composite layer (0071).
Nakamura does not teach vapor deposition layer.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would provide a lithium composite layer with a method well-known in the art such as vapor deposition, which is a product-by-process.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al., JP 2018160379, in view of Lee et al., US 2017/0176543.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura et al., teaches the Li composite layer (0035-0036; 0071).
Nakamura does not teach Mg as the dope element.
Lee et al., teaches a dope element of Mg (0026-0028; claim 5 of Lee).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to insert the teachings of Lee et al., into the teachings of Nakamura et al., because Lee teaches Mg as a dopant: “When the lithium composite metal oxide is further doped with the above-mentioned metal elements as described above, structural stability of the positive electrode active material is improved. As a result, battery output properties may be enhanced.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “Nakamura is silent about the “concentration distribution of the dope element,” as instantly claimed. Indeed, Nakamura is silent on dope elements ("dopants") in general.” However, Lee et al., teaches a dope element such as Mg (0026-0028; claim 5 of Lee). Lee teaches Mg as a dopant: “When the lithium composite metal oxide is further doped with the above-mentioned metal elements as described above, structural stability of the positive electrode active material is improved. As a result, battery output properties may be enhanced.”
However, a ratio of the concentration C1 with respect to the concentration C2, which is C2/C1, would be within the claimed range. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, the concentrations, C1 and C2, would be optimized to provide the ratio of concentration, C2/C1, in the claimed range.
The Applicant argues that “the LiPF6 does not correspond to the Li composite in the present claims.”
However, the lithium composite in Nakamura et al., is present in paragraph (0071), which recites lithium cobalt oxide, lithium nickel oxide, lithium manganese spinel, and composite metal oxides (0071). .
Applicant argues “Nakamura fails to disclose a concentration gradient of a dope element.”
However, Nakamura teaches “a concentration of the dope element” since different surfaces have different concentrations, which would provide a gradient (0008; 0010; 0026)Additionally, it teaches a concentration gradient in paragraphs 0010; 0028; 0090.
Applicant argues that “Nakamura fails to disclose a ratio of C2/C1 of 1.25 or more and 100 or less.”
However, a ratio of the concentration C1 with respect to the concentration C2, which is C2/C1, would be within the claimed range. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Thus, the concentrations, C1 and C2, would be optimized to provide the rate of concentration, C2/C1, in the claimed range.
Conclusion
ANGELA J. MARTIN
Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/ANGELA J MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727