DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
101 Rejection Arguments
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 8, that the claim 1 can not be performed within the human mind because it recites that the complex process is performed by “a first quantum computing device” and the limitation “determining ... the second quantum computing device from the plurality of quantum computing devices based on a comparison of the local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices”. Applicant further states that the determination is not feasible to perform because of the complex calculations required to determine how the local properties affect the execution of the quantum service. Furthermore, Applicant states how the local properties of each of a "plurality of quantum computing devices" affect execution, then comparing the local properties of each of the "plurality of quantum computing devices" to determine a specific quantum computing device from the "plurality of quantum computing devices" is especially infeasible to be performed in the human mind.
Examiner response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation regarding to how the process is performed by “a first quantum computing device” is an additional element that is not used in Step 2A Prong 1 when determining if the claim recites an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Furthermore, this additional element does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. Examiner interprets the quantum computing device as a classically simulated quantum computing device making the element a form of using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Regarding the limitation “determining”, the local properties is not claimed in a way to reflect the applicant’s argument of the local properties having a vast amount of information that would require complex calculations. Examiner interprets local properties to contain simple information that a human can interpret. Regarding the argument of determining how the local properties affect execution and comparing, the determining of how the local properties affects the execution is not present within the claims, but if they were, a person could determine if the execution is successful or not based on the output of the execution, and comparing the local properties of the plurality of quantum computing devices can be done within the human mind.
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 9, that the additional limitation integrate judicial exception into a practical application. More specifically, the “quantum hardware map” describing “local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices” is integrated into a practical application for determining an optimal quantum computing device… to most effectively execute the quantum service.
Examiner response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The “quantum hardware map” does not show how the determining limitation is integrated into a practical application. Rather, the “quantum hardware map” is information to that is used in the determining step.
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 10, that the additional limitation are improvements to a “quantum computing system” by “determining” in order to ensure efficient and effective execution. More specifically, the limitations “accessing…” and comparing of local properties.
Examiner response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument does not show specifically how the accessing and comparing affects the quantum computing system in such a way that it is an improvements over prior quantum computing systems.
103 Rejection Arguments
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 12, that Vivek does not teach the limitation of “determining… a second [quantum] computing device… to which to transfer the [quantum] service” and “a second quantum computing device” to transfer the “quantum service to”
Examiner response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Vivek Paragraph 0083 states “the workspace management agent 615 sends an information request message to… obtain information… to be assessed for use of the cloud computing platform.” The assessment of the cloud computing platform is the determination if the cloud computing platform can be used. In addition, the “workspace management agent” is used to transfer the quantum service/workspace from the IHS to cloud computing platform/second computing device.
Applicant asserts:
Applicant argues, on page 13, that Vivek does not teach the limitation of “accessing… a quantum hardware map descriptive of local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices”
Examiner response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The additional limitation “descriptive of local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices” add clarity to what the quantum hardware map describes. The amended limitation changes the scope of the claims. However, Vivek does teach the amended limitation. Please see updated 103 rejection shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In reference to claim 1:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“determining, by the first quantum computing device, from the plurality of quantum computing devices, a second quantum computing device in the quantum computing system to which to transfer the quantum service;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine a second quantum computing device in the quantum computing system to which to transfer the quantum service.
“and determining, by the first quantum computing device, the second quantum computing device from the plurality of quantum computing devices based on a comparison of the local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine a second quantum computing device based on a comparison of the local properties.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“receiving, by a first quantum computing device, a request to transfer a quantum service in a quantum computing system;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“wherein determining, from the plurality of quantum computing devices, the second quantum computing device comprises: accessing, by the first quantum computing device, a quantum hardware map descriptive of local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices of the quantum computing system;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“pausing, by the first quantum computing device, the quantum service associated with the first quantum computing device;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and communicating, by the first quantum computing device, a service replication for the quantum service from a first task manager service associated with the first quantum computing device to a second task manager service associated with the second quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“receiving, by a first quantum computing device, a request to transfer a quantum service in a quantum computing system;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“wherein determining, from the plurality of quantum computing devices, the second quantum computing device comprises: accessing, by the first quantum computing device, a quantum hardware map descriptive of local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices of the quantum computing system;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“pausing, by the first quantum computing device, the quantum service associated with the first quantum computing device;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and communicating, by the first quantum computing device, a service replication for the quantum service from a first task manager service associated with the first quantum computing device to a second task manager service associated with the second quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 3:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“determining, by the first quantum computing device, the second quantum computing device based at least in part on one or more parameters associated with the second quantum computing device specified in the quantum hardware map.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine the second quantum computing device based at least in part on one or more parameters associated with the second quantum computing device specified in the quantum hardware map.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 4:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of quantum computing device location, a number of qubits, a qubit type, an error correction scheme, or a temperature profile.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of quantum computing device location, a number of qubits, a qubit type, an error correction scheme, or a temperature profile.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 5:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“the service replication comprises data indicative of a service identifier associated with the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“the service replication comprises data indicative of a service identifier associated with the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 6:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the service identifier in the second task manager service is a trigger condition for configuration of one or more qubits to execute the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the service identifier in the second task manager service is a trigger condition for configuration of one or more qubits to execute the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 6:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the service identifier in the second task manager service is a trigger condition for configuration of one or more qubits to execute the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the service identifier in the second task manager service is a trigger condition for configuration of one or more qubits to execute the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 7:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the service replication comprises metadata associated with the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the service replication comprises metadata associated with the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 8:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the metadata comprises an identifier of a qubit used by the quantum service, an entanglement status of the qubit used by the quantum service, or a superposition status of the qubit used by the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the metadata comprises an identifier of a qubit used by the quantum service, an entanglement status of the qubit used by the quantum service, or a superposition status of the qubit used by the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 9:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“accessing, by the second quantum computing device, a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“and configuring, by the second quantum computing device, one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“accessing, by the second quantum computing device, a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“and configuring, by the second quantum computing device, one or more qubits based at least in part on quantum service definition file.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 10:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the one or more qubits comprise one or more second qubits associated with the second quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the one or more qubits comprise one or more second qubits associated with the second quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 11:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the one or more qubits comprise one or more first qubits associated with the first quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the one or more qubits comprise one or more first qubits associated with the first quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 12:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“further comprising modifying the quantum service definition file.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could modify the quantum service definition file.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 13:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a process
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the quantum service is executed at the second quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the quantum service is executed at the second quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 14:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a machine
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“and wherein the quantum computing device was selected to receive the service replication of the quantum service based at least in part on the quantum hardware map;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could select the quantum computing device to receive the service replication based in part on the quantum hardware map.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“a memory; and a quantum processor device coupled to the memory; the quantum processor device is to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“provide information descriptive of local properties for the quantum computing device to update a quantum hardware map descriptive of local properties for a plurality of quantum computing devices within a quantum computing system;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“receive a service replication of a quantum service in a task manager service of the quantum computing device;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“access a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and configure one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“a memory; and a quantum processor device coupled to the memory; the quantum processor device is to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“provide information descriptive of local properties for the quantum computing device to update a quantum hardware map descriptive of local properties for a plurality of quantum computing devices within a quantum computing system;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“receive, from a different quantum computing device within the quantum computing system, a service replication of a quantum service in a task manager service of the quantum computing device;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“wherein the quantum service was previously executed on the different quantum computing device,” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“access a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and configure one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 15:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a machine
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the quantum processor device is to execute the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the quantum processor device is to execute the quantum service.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 16:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a machine
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
No
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the service replication comprises a service identifier.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the service replication comprises a service identifier.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 17:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a machine
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“_” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could _.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“wherein the quantum processor device is further to determine a trigger condition based on the service identifier in the service replication” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“wherein the quantum processor device is to configure one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file upon occurrence of the trigger condition.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“wherein the quantum processor device is further to determine a trigger condition based on the service identifier in the service replication” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“wherein the quantum processor device is to configure one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file upon occurrence of the trigger condition.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In reference to claim 18:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a machine
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“wherein the quantum processor device is to modify the quantum service definition file.” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could modify the quantum service definition file.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No
In reference to claim 19:
Step 1 - Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a manufacture
Step 2A Prong 1 - Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
“determine, from the plurality of quantum computing devices, a second quantum computing device in the quantum computing system to which to transfer a quantum service;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine a second quantum computing device in a quantum computing system to which to transfer a quantum service.
“and determine the second quantum computing device from the plurality of quantum computing devices based on a comparison of the local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices;” which is an abstract idea because it is directed to a mental process, an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion. The limitation as drafted, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation, can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(Ill)(c)). For example, a person could determine a second quantum computing device based on the comparison of local properties.
Step 2A Prong 2 - Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
“comprising instructions to cause one or more processor devices, on a first quantum computing device of a plurality of quantum computing devices of a quantum computing system, that implements a plurality of qubits, to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“wherein to determine, from the plurality of quantum computing devices, the second quantum computing device, the one or more processor devices are to: access a quantum hardware map descriptive of local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices of the quantum computing system;” (insignificant extra-solution activity mere data gathering MPEP 2106.05(g))
“pause the quantum service in a first task manager service associated with the first quantum computing device;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and communicate a service replication for the quantum service from a first task manager service associated with the first quantum computing device to a second task manager service associated with the second quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B - Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
“comprising instructions to cause one or more processor devices, on a first quantum computing device of a plurality of quantum computing devices of a quantum computing system, that implements a plurality of qubits, to:” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“wherein to determine, from the plurality of quantum computing devices, the second quantum computing device, the one or more processor devices are to: access a quantum hardware map descriptive of local properties for the plurality of quantum computing devices of the quantum computing system;” (well-understood, routine, conventional MPEP 2106.05(d))
“pause the quantum service in a first task manager service associated with the first quantum computing device;” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and communicate a service replication for the quantum service from a first task manager service associated with the first quantum computing device to a second task manager service associated with the second quantum computing device.” is merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer; Vivek Viswanathan et al; US 20220308915 A1 (hereinafter “Vivek”) in view of Griffin; Leigh et al; US 20200201655 A1 (hereinafter “Leigh”) in further view of Ezekiel; US 20130282791 A1 (hereinafter “Ezekiel”).
Regarding claim 1, Vivek teaches A method comprising: receiving, by a first [quantum] computing device, a request to transfer a [quantum] service in a [quantum] computing system comprising a plurality of [quantum] computing devices comprising the first [quantum] computing device; (Vivek Paragraph 0080; “For better scalability, modern computing systems should allow the workspaces to be distributed across IHS and cloud platforms.” Vivek Paragraph 0087; "At step 630, the workspace management agent 615 receives a request for the workspace 331A to be migrated from the IHS 100 to the cloud computing platform." Vivek Paragraph 0079; “the workspace migration method 600 may be provided for migrating workspaces from one computing platform to another.” Examiner notes the application apart of the workspace is the service; first computing device is the computing platform the workspace is currently operating on; migrating from one computing platform to another suggests that computing system comprises a plurality of computing devices/platforms comprising the first computing device);
determining, by the first [quantum] computing device, from the plurality of [quantum] computing devices, a second [quantum] computing device in the [quantum] computing system to which to transfer the quantum service; (Vivek Paragraph 0080; “For better scalability, modern computing systems should allow the workspaces to be distributed across IHS and cloud platforms.” Vivek Paragraph 0083; "Next at step 622, the workspace management agent 615 sends an information request message to the cloud workspace management agent 625 to, for example, obtain information about the capabilities and/or limitations of the cloud computing platform… to be assessed for use of the cloud computing platform." Vivek Paragraph 0067; “an IHS supporting the use of workspaces may operate using a workspace management agent, represented as 415 in FIG. 4, that is used to deploy and manage workspaces operating on the IHS.” Examiner notes that workspace management agent operating on an IHS (first computing device) determines a second computing device/cloud computing platform from plurality of computing devices (cloud platforms) in the computing system to which to transfer the quantum service based on the requested information);
wherein determining, from the plurality of [quantum] computing devices, the second [quantum] computing device comprises: accessing, by the first [quantum] computing device, a [quantum] hardware map descriptive of local properties for the plurality of [quantum] computing devices of the [quantum] computing system; (Vivek Paragraph 0080; “For better scalability, modern computing systems should allow the workspaces to be distributed across IHS and cloud platforms.” Vivek Paragraph 0083; "Next at step 622, the workspace management agent 615 sends an information request message to the cloud workspace management agent 625 to, for example, obtain information about the capabilities and/or limitations of the cloud computing platform… to be assessed for use of the cloud computing platform." Vivek Paragraph 0067; “an IHS supporting the use of workspaces may operate using a workspace management agent, represented as 415 in FIG. 4, that is used to deploy and manage workspaces operating on the IHS.” Examiner notes that the hardware map (information) descriptive of local properties (capabilities and limitations of the cloud computing platform) for the plurality of computing devices (across IHS and cloud platforms) of the computing system; the hardware map is accessed via the information request message to HIS and cloud platforms)
pausing, by the first [quantum] computing device, the quantum service associated with the first [quantum] computing device; (Vivek Paragraph 0090; "Then at step 642, the workspace management agent 615 communicates with the local resource service 355 to pause execution of the workspace");
and communicating, by the first [quantum] computing device, a service replication for the quantum service from a first task manager service associated with the first quantum computing device to a second task manager service associated with the second [quantum] computing device. (Vivek Paragraph 0088; "the workspace management agent 615 issues a migration request to the cloud workspace management agent 625 at step 632." Examiner notes that workspace management agent/first task manager service associated with the first computing device is communicating a service replication/migration request to the cloud workspace management agent/second task manager service associated with the second computing device)
Vivek does not teach quantum computing device/system.
Quantum hardware map
However, Leigh does teach quantum computing device/system (Leigh Paragraph 0021; "The quantum computing system 10 operates in a quantum environment but can operate using classical computing principles or quantum computing principles.")
Quantum hardware map (Leigh Paragraph 0031; “The quantum computing system 10 maintains quantum computing system information 32 that includes, by way of non-limiting example, the number of qubits 30 used by the quantum computing system 10, a current temperature of the quantum computing system 10, coherence information, gate error information, and the like.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Vivek in view of Leigh does not teach and determining, by the first [quantum] computing device, the second [quantum] computing device from the plurality of [quantum] computing devices based on a comparison of the local properties for the plurality of [quantum] computing devices;
However, Ezekiel does teach and determining, by the first [quantum] computing device, the second [quantum] computing device from the plurality of [quantum] computing devices based on a comparison of the local properties for the plurality of [quantum] computing devices; (Ezekiel Paragraph 0040; “to determine platform compatibility of a plurality of platform providers with identified hardware 106, and to provide to platform customer 171 a migration in place list corresponding to platform customer 171, namely, a list that identifies platform providers that can be deployed to identified hardware 106.” Ezekiel Paragraph 0062; “In a "Platform Compatibility" block 504, migration support modules 102 may be configured to determine platform compatibility with identified hardware, e.g., hardware 106 associated with identified platform customer 171 within infrastructure provider 100. Block 504 may determine platform compatibility with identified hardware by retrieving hardware properties, retrieving platform provider hardware interoperability requirements, and comparing retrieved hardware properties against retrieved hardware interoperability requirements.” Examiner notes that determining the second computing device (compatible platform) is based on a comparison of the local properties (hardware properties) for the plurality of computing devices (plurality of platform providers))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek, Leigh, and Ezekiel. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. Ezekiel teaches a method to perform migration in place. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek, Leigh, and Ezekiel to perform migration in place to reduce unexpected errors “migration in place may also have other advantages such as reducing unexpected errors due different hardware environments before and after migration.” (Ezekiel Paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 3, Vivek teaches The method of claim 1, wherein determining the second [quantum] computing device to which to transfer the quantum service comprises determining, by the first [quantum] computing device, the second [quantum] computing device based at least in part on one or more parameters associated with the second [quantum] computing device specified in the quantum hardware map. (Vivek Paragraph 0088; "In one embodiment, the migration request includes the stateless parameters obtained at step 628 above. Using the stateless parameters, the cloud workspace management agent 625 instantiates a replicated workspace 331B at step 634. The replicated workspace 331B may be a software based (e.g., Docker, Snap, etc.) or hardware based (e.g., Vmware, Hyper-V, VirtualBox, etc.)." Examiner notes that a second quantum computing device/replicated workspace is determined based off the stateless parameters in the workspace parameters/ one or more parameters of the quantum hardware map.)
Vivek does not teach quantum computing device.
However, Leigh does teach quantum computing device (Leigh Paragraph 0021; "The quantum computing system 10 operates in a quantum environment but can operate using classical computing principles or quantum computing principles.")
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 4, Vivek does not teach The method of claim 3, wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of quantum computing device location, a number of qubits, a qubit type, an error correction scheme, or a temperature profile.
However, Leigh does teach The method of claim 3, wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more of quantum computing device location, a number of qubits, a qubit type, an error correction scheme, or a temperature profile. (Leigh Paragraph 0031; "The quantum computing system 10 maintains quantum computing system information 32 that includes, by way of non-limiting example, the number of qubits 30 used by the quantum computing system 10, a current temperature of the quantum computing system 10, coherence information, gate error information, and the like.")
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 5, Vivek teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the service replication comprises data indicative of a service identifier associated with the quantum service. (Vivek Paragraph 0070; "the workspace 405 may include a unique identifier in its registration request transmitted to the workspace orchestration service 420. In such instances, this unique identifier presented by the workspace 405 is an identifier that was included in the workspace definition that was generated by the workspace orchestration service 420 and used to deploy the workspace 405." Vivek Paragraph 0079; "In particular, the workspace migration method 600 caches information about the workspace 331 so that when migration to another computing platform is requested, the cached information may be used to instantiate another similar workspace" Examiner notes that the migration method/service replication comprises data/information that includes a unique identifier/service identifier associated with the workspace that includes applications/quantum service.)
Regarding claim 6, Vivek teaches The method of claim 5, wherein the service identifier in the second task manager service is a trigger condition for configuration of one or more qubits to execute the quantum service. (Vivek Paragraph 0070; "the workspace 405 may include a unique identifier in its registration request transmitted to the workspace orchestration service 420. In such instances, this unique identifier presented by the workspace 405 is an identifier that was included in the workspace definition that was generated by the workspace orchestration service 420 and used to deploy the workspace 405." Vivek Paragraph 0079; "In particular, the workspace migration method 600 caches information about the workspace 331 so that when migration to another computing platform is requested, the cached information may be used to instantiate another similar workspace" Examiner notes that the unique identifier/service identifier in the second task manager service/another computing platform is a trigger condition for instantiating a workspace that includes applications/services; configuration of one or more qubits is needed to execute a quantum service)
Regarding claim 7, Vivek teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the service replication comprises metadata associated with the quantum service. (Vivek Paragraph 0084; "the workspace parameters include stateless information about the workspace 331A. In general, stateless information may include characteristics of the workspace… Examples of such stateless information may include the type of applications 602 configured in the workspace 331A, one or more configuration settings of those applications 602, performance characteristics of the workspace" Examiner notes that the workspace parameters provided for the service replication includes metadata associated with the quantum service in the form of stateless information.)
Regarding claim 8, Vivek does not teach The method of claim 7, wherein the metadata comprises an identifier of a qubit used by the quantum service, an entanglement status of the qubit used by the quantum service, or a superposition status of the qubit used by the quantum service.
However, Leigh does teach The method of claim 7, wherein the metadata comprises an identifier of a qubit used by the quantum service, an entanglement status of the qubit used by the quantum service, or a superposition status of the qubit used by the quantum service. (Leigh Paragraph 0043; "The quantum computer task manager 34 communicates information to a destination that identifies the quantum service 12-1, the qubit 30-1, and either the superposition status of the qubit 30-1 or the entanglement status of the qubit 30-1 (FIG. 4, block 1004)." Examiner notes that information sent to the destination is metadata that comprises superposition status or entanglement status of the qubit used by the quantum service.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 9, Vivek does not teach The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises: accessing, by the second quantum computing device, a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service;
and configuring, by the second quantum computing device, one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file.
However, Leigh does teach The method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises: accessing, by the second quantum computing device, a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service; (Leigh Paragraph 0036; "the quantum computer task manager 34 accesses information contained in the QASM files" Examiner notes that the QASM files has/is a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service; quantum computing device hosting the quantum computer task manager is the second quantum computing device)
and configuring, by the second quantum computing device, one or more qubits based at least in part on quantum service definition file. (Leigh Paragraph 0036; "Generally, the quantum computer task manager 34 may analyze the QASM files 28 to, for example, determine if the QASM file 28, when executed, places one or more of the qubits 30 in a state of superposition or a state of entanglement." Examiner notes the QASM file when executed configures one or more of the qubits in a state of superposition or entanglement.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 10, Vivek does not teach The method of claim 9, wherein the one or more qubits comprise one or more second qubits associated with the second quantum computing device.
However, Leigh does teach The method of claim 9, wherein the one or more qubits comprise one or more second qubits associated with the second quantum computing device. (Leigh Paragraph 0036; "The quantum computer task manager 34 may also analyze the QASM files 28 to determine a subset of qubits 30 of all the available qubits 30 that are used by each quantum service 12." Examiner notes that all available qubits/one or more qubits comprise a subset of qubits/one or more second qubits associated with the second quantum computing device.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 11, Vivek does not teach The method of claim 9, wherein the one or more qubits comprise one or more first qubits associated with the first quantum computing device.
However, Leigh does teach The method of claim 9, wherein the one or more qubits comprise one or more first qubits associated with the first quantum computing device. (Leigh Paragraph 0036; "The quantum computer task manager 34 may also analyze the QASM files 28 to determine a subset of qubits 30 of all the available qubits 30 that are used by each quantum service 12." Examiner notes that all available qubits/one or more qubits comprise a subset of qubits/one or more first qubits associated with the first quantum computing device.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 13, Vivek does not teach The method of claim 1, wherein the quantum service is executed at the second quantum computing device.
However, Leigh does teach The method of claim 1, wherein the quantum service is executed at the second quantum computing device. (Leigh Paragraph 0034; "One such task may be a scheduler service 42 that is responsible for executing tasks, such as the quantum services 12, on the quantum computing system 10." Examiner notes that quantum service is executed on the quantum computing system/second quantum computing device.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 19, Vivek teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions to cause one or more processor devices, on a first [quantum] computing device of a plurality of [quantum] computing devices of a [quantum] computing system, [that implements a plurality of qubits], to: (Vivek Paragraph 0017; “IHS 100 includes one or more processors 101, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), that execute code retrieved from a system memory 105.” Vivek Paragraph 0080; “For better scalability, modern computing systems should allow the workspaces to be distributed across IHS and cloud platforms.”);
determine, from the plurality of quantum computing devices, a second [quantum] computing device in the [quantum] computing system to which to transfer a quantum service; (Vivek Paragraph 0080; “For better scalability, modern computing systems should allow the workspaces to be distributed across IHS and cloud platforms.” Vivek Paragraph 0083; "Next at step 622, the workspace management agent 615 sends an information request message to the cloud workspace management agent 625 to, for example, obtain information about the capabilities and/or limitations of the cloud computing platform (e.g., maximum amount of workspace 331 instances allowed, processor performance levels, memory allocation, etc.), billing charges, such as any subscription charges to be assessed for use of the cloud computing platform. After receiving the requested information at step 624, the workspace management agent 615 sends an information request message to the local resource service 355 to obtain workspace parameters associated with the originating workspace 331A at step 626. The workspace parameters may include any type that may be used to replicate the workspace 331A on another computing platform." Vivek Paragraph 0067; “an IHS supporting the use of workspaces may operate using a workspace management agent, represented as 415 in FIG. 4, that is used to deploy and manage workspaces operating on the IHS.” Examiner notes that workspace management agent determines a second computing device/cloud computing platform in the computing system to which to transfer the quantum service based on the requested information; the first computing device is the computing platform running the workspace management system)
wherein to determine, from the plurality of [quantum] computing devices, the second [quantum] computing device, the one or more processor devices are to: access a [quantum] hardware map descriptive of local properties for the plurality of [quantum] computing devices of the [quantum] computing system; (Vivek Paragraph 0080; “For better scalability, modern computing systems should allow the workspaces to be distributed across IHS and cloud platforms.” Vivek Paragraph 0083; "Next at step 622, the workspace management agent 615 sends an information request message to the cloud workspace management agent 625 to, for example, obtain information about the capabilities and/or limitations of the cloud computing platform… to be assessed for use of the cloud computing platform." Vivek Paragraph 0067; “an IHS supporting the use of workspaces may operate using a workspace management agent, represented as 415 in FIG. 4, that is used to deploy and manage workspaces operating on the IHS.” Examiner notes that the hardware map (information) descriptive of local properties (capabilities and limitations of the cloud computing platform) for the plurality of computing devices (across IHS and cloud platforms) of the computing system; the hardware map is accessed via the information request message to HIS and cloud platforms)
pause the quantum service in a first task manager service associated with the first [quantum] computing device; (Vivek Paragraph 0090; "Then at step 642, the workspace management agent 615 communicates with the local resource service 355 to pause execution of the workspace")
and communicate a service replication for the quantum service from a first task manager service associated with the first [quantum] computing device to a second task manager service associated with the second [quantum] computing device. (Vivek Paragraph 0088; "the workspace management agent 615 issues a migration request to the cloud workspace management agent 625 at step 632." Examiner notes that workspace management agent/first task manager service associated with the first computing device is communicating a service replication/migration request to the cloud workspace management agent/second task manager service associated with the second computing device)
Vivek does not teach quantum computing device/system that implements a plurality of qubits.
Quantum hardware map
However, Leigh does teach quantum computing device/system that implements a plurality of qubits. (Leigh Paragraph 0021; "The quantum computing system 10 operates in a quantum environment but can operate using classical computing principles or quantum computing principles.")
Quantum hardware map (Leigh Paragraph 0031; “The quantum computing system 10 maintains quantum computing system information 32 that includes, by way of non-limiting example, the number of qubits 30 used by the quantum computing system 10, a current temperature of the quantum computing system 10, coherence information, gate error information, and the like.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Vivek in view of Leigh does not teach and determine the second [quantum] computing device from the plurality of [quantum] computing devices based on a comparison of the local properties for the plurality of [quantum] computing devices;
However, Ezekiel does teach and determine the second [quantum] computing device from the plurality of [quantum] computing devices based on a comparison of the local properties for the plurality of [quantum] computing devices; (Ezekiel Paragraph 0040; “to determine platform compatibility of a plurality of platform providers with identified hardware 106, and to provide to platform customer 171 a migration in place list corresponding to platform customer 171, namely, a list that identifies platform providers that can be deployed to identified hardware 106.” Ezekiel Paragraph 0062; “In a "Platform Compatibility" block 504, migration support modules 102 may be configured to determine platform compatibility with identified hardware, e.g., hardware 106 associated with identified platform customer 171 within infrastructure provider 100. Block 504 may determine platform compatibility with identified hardware by retrieving hardware properties, retrieving platform provider hardware interoperability requirements, and comparing retrieved hardware properties against retrieved hardware interoperability requirements.” Examiner notes that determining the second computing device (compatible platform) is based on a comparison of the local properties (hardware properties) for the plurality of computing devices (plurality of platform providers))
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek, Leigh, and Ezekiel. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. Ezekiel teaches a method to perform migration in place. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek, Leigh, and Ezekiel to perform migration in place to reduce unexpected errors “migration in place may also have other advantages such as reducing unexpected errors due different hardware environments before and after migration.” (Ezekiel Paragraph 0032).
Claim(s) 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer; Vivek Viswanathan et al; US 20220308915 A1 (hereinafter “Vivek”) in view of Griffin; Leigh et al; US 20200201655 A1 (hereinafter “Leigh”)
Regarding claim 14, Vivek teaches A [quantum] computing device, comprising: a memory; and a [quantum] processor device coupled to the memory; the [quantum] processor device is to: (Vivek Paragraph 0017; “IHS 100 includes one or more processors 101, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), that execute code retrieved from a system memory 105.”);
provide information descriptive of local properties for the [quantum] computing device to update a [quantum] hardware map descriptive of local properties for a plurality of [quantum] computing devices within a [quantum] computing system; (Vivek Paragraph 0080; “For better scalability, modern computing systems should allow the workspaces to be distributed across IHS and cloud platforms.” Vivek Paragraph 0083; "Next at step 622, the workspace management agent 615 sends an information request message to the cloud workspace management agent 625 to, for example, obtain information about the capabilities and/or limitations of the cloud computing platform… to be assessed for use of the cloud computing platform." Vivek Paragraph 0067; “an IHS supporting the use of workspaces may operate using a workspace management agent, represented as 415 in FIG. 4, that is used to deploy and manage workspaces operating on the IHS.” Examiner notes that information request provides information descriptive of local properties for the computing device (capabilities and/or limitations of the cloud computing platform) to update the hardware map (information) descriptive of local properties (capabilities and limitations of the cloud computing platform) for the plurality of computing devices (across IHS and cloud platforms) of the computing system; to update is obtaining latest information about computing device (cloud computing platform))
receive, from a different [quantum] computing device within the [quantum] computing system, a service replication of a quantum service in a task manager service of the [quantum] computing device; (Vivek Paragraph 0082; “the cloud workspace management agent 625 is shown and described as being configured in a cloud computing platform” Vivek Paragraph 0088; "the workspace management agent 615 issues a migration request to the cloud workspace management agent 625 at step 632." Vivek Paragraph 0093; “The workspace migration method 600 may be repeatedly performed each time the workspace 331 is to be migrated to another computing platform… the workspace migration method 600 may be performed again to migrate the replicated workspace 331B from the cloud computing platform back to the IHS 100.” Examiner notes that migration request can be performed from IHS to cloud computing platform and vice versa; workspace management agent/task manager service of the computing device receives a service replication/migration request from cloud workspace management agent);
wherein the quantum service was previously executed on the different [quantum] computing device, (Vivek Paragraph 0093; “The workspace migration method 600 may be repeatedly performed each time the workspace 331 is to be migrated to another computing platform… the workspace migration method 600 may be performed again to migrate the replicated workspace 331B from the cloud computing platform back to the IHS 100.” Examiner notes that quantum service (workspace) was previously executed on the different computing device (cloud computing platform))
and wherein the [quantum] computing device was selected to receive the service replication of the quantum service based at least in part on the [quantum] hardware map; (Vivek Paragraph 0083; “Steps 620-628 generally describe an registration procedure that may be performed to register the workspace 331A to be migrated to a cloud computing platform… the workspace management agent 615 sends an information request message to the cloud workspace management agent 625 to, for example, obtain information about the capabilities and/or limitations of the cloud computing platform (e.g., maximum amount of workspace 331 instances allowed, processor performance levels, memory allocation, etc.), billing charges, such as any subscription charges to be assessed for use of the cloud computing platform.” Examiner notes that computing device (cloud computing platform) was selected/assessed for use to receive the service replication of the quantum service (migrate workspace) based at least in part on the hardware map (information about the capabilities and/or limitations of the cloud computing platform))
Vivek does not teach quantum computing device or quantum processor;
access a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service;
and configure one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file.
Quantum hardware map
However, Leigh does teach quantum computing device or quantum processor; (Leigh Paragraph 0021; "The quantum computing system 10 operates in a quantum environment but can operate using classical computing principles or quantum computing principles.")
access a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service; (Leigh Paragraph 0036; "the quantum computer task manager 34 accesses information contained in the QASM files" Examiner notes that the QASM files has/is a quantum service definition file associated with the quantum service)
and configure one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file. (Leigh Paragraph 0036; "Generally, the quantum computer task manager 34 may analyze the QASM files 28 to, for example, determine if the QASM file 28, when executed, places one or more of the qubits 30 in a state of superposition or a state of entanglement." Examiner notes the QASM file when executed configures one or more of the qubits in a state of superposition or entanglement.)
Quantum hardware map (Leigh Paragraph 0031; “The quantum computing system 10 maintains quantum computing system information 32 that includes, by way of non-limiting example, the number of qubits 30 used by the quantum computing system 10, a current temperature of the quantum computing system 10, coherence information, gate error information, and the like.”)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 15, Vivek does not teach The quantum computing device of claim 14, wherein the quantum processor device is to execute the quantum service.
However, Leigh does teach The quantum computing device of claim 14, wherein the quantum processor device is to execute the quantum service. (Leigh Paragraph 0034; "One such task may be a scheduler service 42 that is responsible for executing tasks, such as the quantum services 12, on the quantum computing system 10." Examiner notes that quantum service is executed on the quantum computing system/second quantum computing device.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 16, Vivek teaches The quantum computing device of claim 14, wherein the service replication comprises a service identifier. (Vivek Paragraph 0070; "the workspace 405 may include a unique identifier in its registration request transmitted to the workspace orchestration service 420. In such instances, this unique identifier presented by the workspace 405 is an identifier that was included in the workspace definition that was generated by the workspace orchestration service 420 and used to deploy the workspace 405." Vivek Paragraph 0079; "In particular, the workspace migration method 600 caches information about the workspace 331 so that when migration to another computing platform is requested, the cached information may be used to instantiate another similar workspace" Examiner notes that the migration method/service replication comprises data/information that includes a unique identifier/service identifier associated with the workspace that includes applications/quantum service.)
Regarding claim 17, Vivek teaches The quantum computing device of claim 16, wherein the [quantum] processor device is further to determine a trigger condition based on the service identifier in the service replication, (Vivek Paragraph 0070; "the workspace 405 may include a unique identifier in its registration request transmitted to the workspace orchestration service 420. In such instances, this unique identifier presented by the workspace 405 is an identifier that was included in the workspace definition that was generated by the workspace orchestration service 420 and used to deploy the workspace 405." Vivek Paragraph 0079; "In particular, the workspace migration method 600 caches information about the workspace 331 so that when migration to another computing platform is requested, the cached information may be used to instantiate another similar workspace" Examiner notes that the unique identifier/service identifier in the cached information is a trigger condition in the migration request/service replication)
Vivek does not teach quantum processor device;
wherein the quantum processor device is to configure one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file upon occurrence of the trigger condition.
However, Leigh does teach quantum processor device; (Leigh Paragraph 0021; "The quantum computing system 10 operates in a quantum environment but can operate using classical computing principles or quantum computing principles.")
wherein the quantum processor device is to configure one or more qubits based at least in part on the quantum service definition file upon occurrence of the trigger condition. (Leigh Paragraph 0036; "Generally, the quantum computer task manager 34 may analyze the QASM files 28 to, for example, determine if the QASM file 28, when executed, places one or more of the qubits 30 in a state of superposition or a state of entanglement." Examiner notes the QASM file when executed configures one or more of the qubits in a state of superposition or entanglement.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek and Leigh. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek and Leigh to gather information about a quantum computing service and device in order to migrate to a compatible quantum computing system “In quantum computing systems, quantum services include quantum-related metadata that does not exist in classical computing systems. Such quantum-related metadata may include, for example, physical phenomena such as superposition and entanglement, and which qubits are utilized by which quantum services. Such information may be desirable to an operator of the quantum computing system, and to other running tasks on the quantum computing system, such as a scheduler, or the like.” (Leigh Paragraph 0019).
Claim(s) 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer; Vivek Viswanathan et al; US 20220308915 A1 (hereinafter “Vivek”) in view of Griffin; Leigh et al; US 20200201655 A1 (hereinafter “Leigh”) in further view of Ezekiel; US 20130282791 A1 (hereinafter “Ezekiel”) in further view of Griffin; Leigh et al; US 20200125402 A1 (hereinafter “Leigh2”).
Regarding claim 12, Vivek in view of Leigh does not teach The method of claim 9, further comprising modifying the quantum service definition file.
However, Leigh2 does teach The method of claim 9, further comprising modifying the quantum service definition file. (Leigh2 Paragraph 0057; "The processing device may modify the QASM file to cause the execution of the subset of instructions associated with the qubit whose requirement(s) is satisfied.")
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek, Leigh, Ezekiel, and Leigh2. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. Ezekiel teaches a method to perform migration in place. Leigh2 teaches modifying a QASM file. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek, Leigh, Ezekiel, and Leigh2 to ensure the execution of the quantum service satisfies its operational requirements “The processing device may modify the QASM file to cause the execution of the subset of instructions associated with the qubit whose requirement(s) is satisfied. The processing device may also modify the QASM file to not cause or prevent execution of a second subset of instructions associated with a qubit(s) other than whose requirement(s) is satisfied.” (Leigh2 Paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 18, Vivek in view of Leigh does not teach The quantum computing device of claim 14, wherein the quantum processor device is to modify the quantum service definition file.
However, Leigh2 does teach The quantum computing device of claim 14, wherein the quantum processor device is to modify the quantum service definition file. (Leigh2 Paragraph 0057; "The processing device may modify the QASM file to cause the execution of the subset of instructions associated with the qubit whose requirement(s) is satisfied.")
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vivek, Leigh, Ezekiel, and Leigh2. Vivek teaches a system to migrate workspaces to other computing platforms for minimal downtime. Leigh teaches a quantum computer task manager that accesses first data associated with a first quantum service to determine a first subset of qubits used by the first quantum service and communicates to a destination information that identifies the first quantum service. Ezekiel teaches a method to perform migration in place. Leigh2 teaches modifying a QASM file. One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vivek, Leigh, Ezekiel, and Leigh2 to ensure the execution of the quantum service satisfies its operational requirements “The processing device may modify the QASM file to cause the execution of the subset of instructions associated with the qubit whose requirement(s) is satisfied. The processing device may also modify the QASM file to not cause or prevent execution of a second subset of instructions associated with a qubit(s) other than whose requirement(s) is satisfied.” (Leigh2 Paragraph 0057).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL DUC TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-6870. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-5:00 EST.
/D.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147