Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments dated 12/11/2025 have been considered and a new non-final issued, as claims 18 and 20 were not addressed during examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8,17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,4,7,9,12,14,18,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US20220095226A1) in view of He et al. (US20190254110A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Chang teaches, A communication method, comprising:
monitoring, by a terminal device, a wake-up signal from a network device, wherein the wake-up signal is used to wake up the terminal device that monitors, on a next paging occasion (P0), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) [56]- The physical wake-up signaling WUS is monitored before a page message is detected in each PO. If the UE detects the WUS, it detects a paging message in a subsequent PO, such that it detects a PDCCH scrambled with P-RNTI and/or receives a PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH.
determining, according to the wake-up signal, by the terminal device, a monitoring situation of monitoring on the next PO the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI.[56]- If the UE detects the WUS, it detects a paging message in a subsequent PO, such that it detects a PDCCH scrambled with P-RNTI and/or receives a PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH. (=next PO the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI)
wherein the wake-up signal is used for an indication of at least one group of terminal devices of multiple groups of terminal devices monitoring on the next PO the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI:[57]- In order to further reduce power consumption of the UE, the UE grouping-based physical wake-up signaling (UE-group WUS) may be introduced. For example, UEs corresponding to a certain PO may be divided into several groups, and a certain group or multiple groups of UEs use one WUS.
Chang does not teach, wherein the first indication information is bitmap information, each bit in the bitmap information corresponds to a group of terminal devices, and the bit is used for an indication of waking up a wake-up state of the terminal device in the corresponding group of terminal devices.
He teaches, wherein the wake-up signal comprises first indication information, the first indication information is used for an indication of waking up at least one group of terminal devices:
wherein the first indication information is bitmap information, each bit in the bitmap information corresponds to a group of terminal devices, and the bit is used for an indication of waking up a wake-up state of the terminal device in the corresponding group of terminal devices.[262]- additional information conveyed by the DCI format in the PDCCH providing a WUS can be configured by higher layers. In one example, the DCI format can include a bitmap indicating the cells where the UE wakes up in the following DRX cycle. Each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a configured SCell and indicates whether or not the UE wakes up for the SCell in the following DRX cycle.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chang, wherein the first indication information is bitmap information, each bit in the bitmap information corresponds to a group of terminal devices, and the bit is used for an indication of waking up a wake-up state of the terminal device in the corresponding group of terminal devices as taught by He to add flexibility to add resources during and after handover.
Regarding Claim 3, Chang teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the monitoring situation of monitoring on the next PO the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI comprises:
determining, according to the first indication information, by the terminal device, whether the terminal device belongs to at least one group of awakened terminal devices; [57]- For example, UEs corresponding to a certain PO may be divided into several groups, and a certain group or multiple groups of UEs use one WUS.
If the terminal device belongs to at least one group of awakened terminal devices, monitoring on the next PO, by the terminal device, the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI.[56]- If the UE detects the WUS, it detects a paging message in a subsequent PO, such that it detects a PDCCH scrambled with P-RNTI and/or receives a PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH
Regarding Claim 4,Chang teaches, The method according to claim 1 wherein the monitoring, by the terminal device, the wake-up signal from the network device comprises: monitoring, by the terminal device, the wake-up signal from the network device on a monitoring occasion of a target time period.[89]- the R15 WUS is located is the same as the time-frequency resource where the WUS corresponding to the UE group is located
Regarding Claim 7, Chang teaches, The method according to claim 6, further comprising
determining, by the terminal device, the device group of the terminal device according to an identifier of the terminal device, the number of device groups. the number of PFs in the DRX period and the number of POs in the PF. [63]- If it is assumed that the UE determines that it is in group 2 (G2) according to WUS grouping criteria (e.g., based on the UE identity), then the UE is associated with multiple WUSs, including GWUS8, GWUS2, GWUS5, and GWUS7.
Regarding Claim 9,Chang teaches, A communication method, comprising:
sending, by a network device, a wake-up signal to a terminal device,
wherein the wake-up signal is used to wake up the terminal device that monitors, on a next paging occasion (P0), a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI); [56]- The physical wake-up signaling WUS is monitored before a page message is detected in each PO. If the UE detects the WUS, it detects a paging message in a subsequent PO, such that it detects a PDCCH scrambled with P-RNTI and/or receives a PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH.
scheduling, by the network device, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) on the next PO through the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI. wherein the PDSCH is used to transmit a paging message. [56]- a PDCCH and/or a PDSCH needs to be repeatedly transmitted, such that the UE can correctly receive information from the base station or correctly transmit information to the base station
Regarding Claim 12, Chang teaches, A communication apparatus, comprising: a processor, a memory and a receiver;
wherein the memory has stored therein a computer executable program code, the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to cause the processor to: monitor a wake-up signal from a network device, wherein the wake-up signal is used to wake up a terminal device that monitors, on a next paging occasion (PO),a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTi); ) [56]- The physical wake-up signaling WUS is monitored before a page message is detected in each PO. If the UE detects the WUS, it detects a paging message in a subsequent PO, such that it detects a PDCCH scrambled with P-RNTI and/or receives a PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH.
determine, according to the wake-up signal, a a monitoring situation of monitoring on the nextP0 the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI [56]- If the UE detects the WUS, it detects a paging message in a subsequent PO, such that it detects a PDCCH scrambled with P-RNTI and/or receives a PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH. (=next PO the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI)
wherein the wake-up signal is used for an indication of at least one group of terminal devices of multiple groups of terminal devices monitoring on the next PO the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI: [57]- In order to further reduce power consumption of the UE, the UE grouping-based physical wake-up signaling (UE-group WUS) may be introduced. For example, UEs corresponding to a certain PO may be divided into several groups, and a certain group or multiple groups of UEs use one WUS.
Chang does not teach, wherein the wake-up signal comprises first indication information, the first indication information is used for an indication of waking up at least one group of terminal devices; wherein the first indication information is bitmap information, each bit in the bitmap information corresponds to a group of terminal devices, and the bit is used for an indication of waking up awake-up state of the terminal device in the corresponding group of terminal devices.
He teaches, wherein the wake-up signal comprises first indication information, the first indication information is used for an indication of waking up at least one group of terminal devices; wherein the first indication information is bitmap information, each bit in the bitmap information corresponds to a group of terminal devices, and the bit is used for an indication of waking up awake-up state of the terminal device in the corresponding group of terminal devices..[262]- additional information conveyed by the DCI format in the PDCCH providing a WUS can be configured by higher layers. In one example, the DCI format can include a bitmap indicating the cells where the UE wakes up in the following DRX cycle. Each bit in the bitmap corresponds to a configured SCell and indicates whether or not the UE wakes up for the SCell in the following DRX cycle.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chang, wherein the wake-up signal comprises first indication information, the first indication information is used for an indication of waking up at least one group of terminal devices; wherein the first indication information is bitmap information, each bit in the bitmap information corresponds to a group of terminal devices, and the bit is used for an indication of waking up awake-up state of the terminal device in the corresponding group of terminal devices. as taught by He to add flexibility to add resources during and after handover.
Regarding Claim 14, Chang teaches, The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to cause the processor to: determine, according to the first indication information, whether the terminal device belongs to at least a group of awakened terminal devices; if the terminal device belongs to at least a group of awakened terminal devices, monitor on the next PO the PDCCH scrambled by the P-RNTI. [57]- A group WUS refers to a WUS that may only wake up a certain group of UEs. A group combination WUS refers to a WUS that may wake up multiple groups of UEs monitoring the same WUS time-frequency resource (and possibly the same PO), and the number of the multiple groups of UEs is a subset of all groups of UEs.
Regarding Claim 18, Chang teaches, A communication apparatus, comprising: a processor, a memory and a transmitter: wherein the memory has stored therein a computer executable program code, the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to cause the processor to execute the method according to claim 1. See Fig 6
Regarding Claim 20, Chang teaches, The apparatus according to claim 18,wherein the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to control the transmitter to send configuration information to the terminal device, the configuration information is used to enable the terminal device to monitor the wake up signal; wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a number of device groups;[63]- For example, it is assumed that the WUS configuration may include the following configurations: the number of groups is 4, the group WUSs corresponding to each group (G1, G2, G3, and G4) are identified by GWUS1.
Claim(s) 6,11,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US20220095226A1) in view of He et al. (US20190254110A1)
in further view of Chang et al. (US20210400580A1) (hereinafter “Maleki”)
Regarding Claim 6,Chang in view of He does not teach, The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information from the network device,
wherein the configuration information is used for an indication of the terminal device monitoring the wake-up signal; wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal
Maleki teaches, The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information from the network device,
wherein the configuration information is used for an indication of the terminal device monitoring the wake-up signal;[133]- the network node 16 configures the wireless device 22 such that the aforementioned mask may only be applicable to one or more radio interface operations such as after the wireless device 22 wakes up from a DRX cycle
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal, [127]- In this method, the network node 16 determines and/or configures the wireless device 22 with a minimum offset threshold Threshoff applicable to, e.g., C-DRX on-duration period, i.e., K0-K2, and aperiodicTriggeringOffset>Threshoff
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chang in view of He, The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the terminal device, configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information is used for an indication of the terminal device monitoring the wake-up signal; wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal as taught by Maleki to add flexibility to add resources during and after handover.
Regarding Claim 11, Regarding Claim 6, Chang in view of He does not teach, The method according to claim 9, further comprising: sending, by the network device, configuration information to the terminal device, the configuration information is used to enable the terminal device to monitor the wake-up signal; wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal.
Maleki teaches, The method according to claim 9, further comprising:sending, by the network device, configuration information to the terminal device, the configuration information is used to enable the terminal device to monitor the wake-up signal;
[133]- the network node 16 configures the wireless device 22 such that the aforementioned mask may only be applicable to one or more radio interface operations such as after the wireless device 22 wakes up from a DRX cycle
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal, [127]- In this method, the network node 16 determines and/or configures the wireless device 22 with a minimum offset threshold Threshoff applicable to, e.g., C-DRX on-duration period, i.e., K0-K2, and aperiodicTriggeringOffset>Threshoff
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chang in view of He, The method according to claim 9, further comprising: sending, by the network device, configuration information to the terminal device, the configuration information is used to enable the terminal device to monitor the wake-up signal; wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal as taught by Maleki to add flexibility to add resources during and after handover.
Regarding Claim 16, Chang in view of He does not teach, The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to control the receiver to receive configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information is used for an indication of the terminal device monitoring the wake-up signal;wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following:, a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal
Maleki teaches, The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to control the receiver to receive configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information is used for an indication of the terminal device monitoring the wake-up signal;;[133]- the network node 16 configures the wireless device 22 such that the aforementioned mask may only be applicable to one or more radio interface operations such as after the wireless device 22 wakes up from a DRX cycle
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following:, a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal, [127]- In this method, the network node 16 determines and/or configures the wireless device 22 with a minimum offset threshold Threshoff applicable to, e.g., C-DRX on-duration period, i.e., K0-K2, and aperiodicTriggeringOffset>Threshoff
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chang in view of He, The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to control the receiver to receive configuration information from the network device, wherein the configuration information is used for an indication of the terminal device monitoring the wake-up signal;wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following:, a minimum time offset of the wake-up signal as taught by Maleki to add flexibility to add resources during and after handover.
Claim(s) 5,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US20220095226A1) in view of He et al. (US20190254110A1)
in further view of Shreshtha et al. (US20220295403A1)
Regarding Claim 5, Chang in view of He does not teach, The method according to claim 4, wherein the target time period is a time period between a maximum time offset of the next PO and a minimum time offset of the next PO.
Shreshtha teaches, The method according to claim 4, wherein the target time period is a time period between a maximum time offset of the next PO and a minimum time offset of the next PO.[127]- With respect to UE 101 determining an offset gap between the WUS and configured PO, assume that the parameters of a maximum WUS duration and a minimum offset between WUS and PO are cell-specific, and broadcast in the system information.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chang in view of He, The method according to claim 4, wherein the target time period is a time period between a maximum time offset of the next PO and a minimum time offset of the next PO as taught by Shreshtha to add flexibility to add resources during and after handover.
Regarding Claim 15, Chang in view of He does not teach, The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to cause the processor to monitor the wake-up signal from the network device on a monitoring occasion of a target time period; wherein the target time period is a time period between a maximum time offset of the next PO and a minimum time offset of the next PO.
Shreshtha teaches, The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to cause the processor to monitor the wake-up signal from the network device on a monitoring occasion of a target time period;
wherein the target time period is a time period between a maximum time offset of the next PO and a minimum time offset of the next PO.[127]- With respect to UE 101 determining an offset gap between the WUS and configured PO, assume that the parameters of a maximum WUS duration and a minimum offset between WUS and PO are cell-specific, and broadcast in the system information.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Chang in view of He, The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor executes the computer executable program code stored in the memory to cause the processor to monitor the wake-up signal from the network device on a monitoring occasion of a target time period;
wherein the target time period is a time period between a maximum time offset of the next PO and a minimum time offset of the next PO as taught by Shreshtha to add flexibility to add resources during and after handover.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478