Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s argument that the double patenting rejections of claims 1 & 11 need to reevaluated, new double patenting rejections are presented in this Non-Final Office Action upon reevaluation of the amended claim set submitted on 08/25/2025 for copending Application No. 17/930987.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 11 (regarding the feedback circuit being connected with a secondary winding of the transformer and the feedback end of the power management chip, and an isolated winding of the transformer isolated from a primary side of the transformer and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that Dai fails to teach a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit since Dai teaches a voltage output by the boost converter 104 is not equal to a voltage input to the isolated power converter 106, and the voltage input to the isolated power converter 106 is ultimately determined by the bulk capacitor C2. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A voltage measured across the output of boost converter 104, measured across the terminals of C2, and measured across the input terminals of converter 106 would be equal to each other since they are parallelly connected. Therefore, the voltage output by the boost converter 104 would be equal to a voltage input to the isolated power converter 106, and the output voltage by the boost converter is adjusted to fall within the preset voltage range related to the working voltage of the isolated power converter 106. If arguendo, the Applicant were to point to a specific time period in which the voltage measured across capacitor C2 is higher than the voltage input to the boost converter 104 when the switch Q1 is off, such as at time t2 in Fig.3, the output of the boost converter 104 would still be equal to the voltage measured across the capacitor, and therefore input to the isolated power converter 106, during the time period t1 to t2.
Applicant further argues that Dai teaches the minimum value of the output voltage of the boost converter 104 is related to the minimum input voltage of the isolated power converter 106 and the bulk capacitor C2, when claim 1 only has the lower limit of the preset voltage range related to the minimum working voltage of the secondary power conversion circuit, and the lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than the minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 uses the term “comprising” in the preamble, and so the prior art may include additional components not recited in the claim, such as the bulk capacitor C2. Upon further review of the prior art, Dai additionally teaches the lower limit of the preset voltage range can be greater than the minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit (¶0055).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 & 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1 & 11, the penultimate paragraph, starting with the text “an input end of the feedback circuit”, is preceded by the conjunction “and”. The conjunction “and” should precede the final paragraph and not the penultimate paragraph.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 22 of copending Application No. 17/930987 (amended 08/25/2025) in view of Dai et al. (USPGPN 2019/0348923 A1 – published Nov. 14, 2019) and Kooken et al. (USPGPN 2007/0051712 A1 – published Mar. 8, 2007). The claims are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the table below.
Instant Application 17/941593
Copending Application 17/930987
1. A power supply circuit, comprising:
a rectifier circuit, configured to convert an alternating current into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit, having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to adjust an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range; and
a secondary power supply conversion circuit having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuity configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage;
wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer, a power management chip, and a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a switch control end and a feedback end;
a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip;
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with the primary winding of the transformer or a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip; and
an isolated winding of the transformer is isolated from a primary side of the transformer and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip, and is configured to supply power to the power management chip.
1. A power supply conversion circuit, comprising:
a first voltage conversion circuit, a post-stage voltage conversion circuit, and a signal feedback circuit;
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is connected to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, and the signal feedback circuit is connected to the first voltage conversion circuit and the post-stage voltage conversion circuit individually;
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert, in response to a voltage input to the first voltage circuit exceeding a preset voltage range, the voltage input to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range to thereby obtain a converted voltage, and output the converted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert the converted voltage input to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit into a target voltage, and output the target voltage; and
wherein the signal feedback circuit is configured to feed back, based on output of the post- stage voltage conversion circuit, information to the first voltage conversion circuit, to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit comprises a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit connected at a secondary winding of the transformer, and the second voltage conversion circuit is configured to receive feedback information of a device to be charged connected to the power supply conversion circuit, and convert the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback information.
22. The power supply conversion circuit according to claim 1, wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit further comprises an AC-DC power management chip, the AC- DC power management chip comprises a switch control terminal, a feedback terminal, and a power supply terminal;
a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected to an output end of the first voltage conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding is connected to the switch control terminal;
the secondary winding of the transformer is connected to an input end of the second voltage conversion circuit;
a winding is separately led out from the primary side of the transformer and connected to the power supply terminal of the AC-DC power management chip; and
an output end of the signal feedback circuit is connected to the feedback terminal, and a voltage feedback signal is transmitted back from an output of the second voltage conversion circuit through a comparator, a first resistor, a second resistor, and an optical coupler of the signal feedback circuit to the feedback terminal.
11. A charging device, comprising: a power access port and a power supply circuit, the power access port being configured to receive an alternating current via a power supply;
wherein the power supply circuit, comprises:
a rectifier circuit, configured to convert an alternating current into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit, having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to adjust an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range; and
a secondary power supply conversion circuit having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuity configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage;
wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer, a power management chip, and a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a switch control end and a feedback end;
a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip;
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with the primary winding of the transformer or a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip; and
an isolated winding of the transformer is isolated from a primary side of the transformer and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip, and is configured to supply power to the power management chip.
1. A power supply conversion circuit, comprising:
a first voltage conversion circuit, a post-stage voltage conversion circuit, and a signal feedback circuit;
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is connected to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit, and the signal feedback circuit is connected to the first voltage conversion circuit and the post-stage voltage conversion circuit individually;
wherein the first voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert, in response to a voltage input to the first voltage circuit exceeding a preset voltage range, the voltage input to the first voltage conversion circuit to be within the preset voltage range to thereby obtain a converted voltage, and output the converted voltage to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit is configured to convert the converted voltage input to the post-stage voltage conversion circuit into a target voltage, and output the target voltage; and
wherein the signal feedback circuit is configured to feed back, based on output of the post- stage voltage conversion circuit, information to the first voltage conversion circuit, to thereby make the first voltage conversion circuit be synchronized with the post-stage voltage conversion circuit;
wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit comprises a transformer and a second voltage conversion circuit connected at a secondary winding of the transformer, and the second voltage conversion circuit is configured to receive feedback information of a device to be charged connected to the power supply conversion circuit, and convert the voltage output from the secondary winding into the target voltage based on the feedback information.
22. The power supply conversion circuit according to claim 1, wherein the post-stage voltage conversion circuit further comprises an AC-DC power management chip, the AC- DC power management chip comprises a switch control terminal, a feedback terminal, and a power supply terminal;
a first end of a primary winding of the transformer is connected to an output end of the first voltage conversion circuit, and a second end of the primary winding is connected to the switch control terminal;
the secondary winding of the transformer is connected to an input end of the second voltage conversion circuit;
a winding is separately led out from the primary side of the transformer and connected to the power supply terminal of the AC-DC power management chip; and
an output end of the signal feedback circuit is connected to the feedback terminal, and a voltage feedback signal is transmitted back from an output of the second voltage conversion circuit through a comparator, a first resistor, a second resistor, and an optical coupler of the signal feedback circuit to the feedback terminal.
Instant Application claim 1 is different from conflicting claim 22 in that the instant application includes a rectifier circuit and that the lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than the minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit.
However, Dai (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a power supply system in which a lower limit of the preset voltage range (output of 104 is voltage over C2; ¶0052 & 0053: first voltage threshold to second voltage threshold) is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit (¶0045: first threshold equals a minimum input voltage of converter 106 and second threshold equals a maximum input voltage; ¶0055: the first voltage threshold may be a voltage between the minimum voltage and the maximum voltage of the isolated power converter 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken to have the lower limit of the preset voltage range greater than the minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so ensures the second power supply conversion circuit operates efficiently.
Moreover, Kooken teaches a power supply conversion circuit which includes a rectifier (Fig.12, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conflicting application to include a rectifier circuit. Doing so is a well know method in the art for converting an AC source into a DC source for the benefit of providing a current which only flows in a single direction to provide stable power.
Instant Application claim 11 is different from instant application claim 22 for the same reasons as claim 1 listed above, and in that the instant application recites “a charging device, comprising:
a power supply access port and a power supply circuit, the power supply access port being configured to receive an alternating current via a power supply;”
However, Kooken further teaches a power supply access port (12) and a power supply circuit (PS7), the power supply port being configured to receive an alternating current via a power supply (¶0067: input 12 is a single phase AC line supply).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conflicting application to combine the power supply circuit with a power supply access port configured to receive an alternating current via a power supply. Doing so allows the charging device to be connected to an AC power source to power the designated load.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 11, 20, 23-26, & 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooken et al. (USPGPN 2007/0051712 A1 – published Mar. 8, 2007), in view of Dai et al. (USPGPN 2019/0348923 A1 – published Nov. 14, 2019) and Kikuchi (USPGPN 2018/0006569).
Regarding Claim 1, Kooken (Figs.6, 12, & 22) teaches a power supply circuit comprising:
a rectifier circuit (60), configured to convert an alternating current into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit (62), having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to adjust an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range (¶0026: active power factor converter has input of an AC voltage range 115-575V and outputs 400-500V); and
a secondary power supply conversion circuit (240) having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuity configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage (converting DC#1 to DC#2);
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer (250), a power management chip (194), the power management chip having a switch control end (512); and
a first end (506) of a primary winding (252) of the transformer is connected with an output end (14a) of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end (508) of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip (508 is connected to 512 through SW2).
Kooken fails to explicitly teach wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a feedback end and a power supply terminal;
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip; and
an isolated winding of the transformer is isolated from a primary side of the transformer and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip, and is configured to supply power to the power management chip.
However, Dai (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a power supply system in which a lower limit of the preset voltage range (output of 104 is voltage over C2; ¶0052 & 0053: first voltage threshold to second voltage threshold) is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit (¶0045: first threshold equals a minimum input voltage of converter 106 and second threshold equals a maximum input voltage; ¶0055: the first voltage threshold may be a voltage between the minimum voltage and the maximum voltage of the isolated power converter 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken to have the lower limit of the preset voltage range greater than the minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so ensures the second power supply conversion circuit operates efficiently.
Moreover, Kikuchi (Fig.2) teaches a power supply conversion circuit (200a) comprising a feedback circuit (R11, R12, 204, & 206), a power management circuit (202) having a feedback end (202-FB) and a power supply terminal (202-VCC);
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with a secondary winding (W2) of the transformer (T1), and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip (204 connected to 202-FB); and
an isolated winding of the transformer (W3) is isolated from a primary side of the transformer (W3 is isolated from W1) and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip (W3 connected to 202-VCC), and is configured to supply power to the power management chip (¶0106: W3 generates VCC to be supplied to the power supply terminal of primary controller 202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, to include a feedback circuit connected with the secondary winding of the transformer, with the output end connected to the feedback end of the power management chip, and an isolated winding of the transformer connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip. Doing so improves the reliability of the DC/DC converter, as evidenced by Kikuchi (¶0110: providing improved reliability).
Regarding Claim 9, Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the feedback circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the primary winding or the secondary winding of the transformer, and transmit the detected voltage to the power management chip; and
the power management chip is configured to adjust a voltage duty cycle of the primary winding of the transformer according to the detected voltage.
However, Kikuchi (Fig.2) further teaches the feedback circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the secondary winding of the transformer (¶0102: feedback circuit 206 drives photocoupler according to measured VOUTS), transmits the detected voltage to the power management chip (¶0103 primary controller 202 receives VFB based on photocoupler 204), and the power management chip drives the duty cycle of the primary winding based on the detected voltage (¶0104: primary controller 202 OUT terminal is controlled corresponding to the detected signal VFB-).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Kikuchi to include the feedback circuit detecting a voltage of the secondary winding of the transformer, transmitting the detected voltage to the power management chip, and driving the duty cycle of the primary winding based on the detected voltage. Doing so allows for improved reliability of the DC/DC converter.
Regarding Claim 10, Kooken, as modified, further teaches wherein the preset voltage range is a specific value, and the lower limit of the preset voltage range is equal to an upper limit of the preset voltage range (¶0018: first DC bus has a fixed voltage).
Regarding Claim 11, Kooken (Figs. 12 & 22) teaches a charging device comprising:
a power supply access port (12) and a power supply circuit (PS7), the power supply port being configured to receive an alternating current via a power supply (¶0067: input 12 is a single phase AC line supply);
wherein the power supply circuit comprises:
a rectifier circuit (60), configured to convert an alternating current into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit (62), having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to adjust an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range (¶0026: active power factor converter has input of an AC voltage range 115-575V and outputs 400-500V); and
a secondary power supply conversion circuit (240) having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuity configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage (converting DC#1 to DC#2);
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer (250), a power management chip (194), the power management chip having a switch control end (512); and
a first end (506) of a primary winding (252) of the transformer is connected with an output end (14a) of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end (508) of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip (508 is connected to 512 through SW2).
Kooken fails to explicitly teach wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a feedback end and a power supply terminal;
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip; and
an isolated winding of the transformer is isolated from a primary side of the transformer and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip, and is configured to supply power to the power management chip.
However, Dai (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a power supply system in which a lower limit of the preset voltage range (output of 104 is voltage over C2; ¶0052 & 0053: first voltage threshold to second voltage threshold) is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit (¶0045: first threshold equals a minimum input voltage of converter 106 and second threshold equals a maximum input voltage; ¶0055: the first voltage threshold may be a voltage between the minimum voltage and the maximum voltage of the isolated power converter 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken to have the lower limit of the preset voltage range greater than the minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so ensures the second power supply conversion circuit operates efficiently.
Moreover, Kikuchi (Fig.2) teaches a power supply conversion circuit (200a) comprising a feedback circuit (R11, R12, 204, & 206), a power management circuit (202) having a feedback end (202-FB) and a power supply terminal (202-VCC);
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with a secondary winding (W2) of the transformer (T1), and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip (204 connected to 202-FB); and
an isolated winding of the transformer (W3) is isolated from a primary side of the transformer (W3 is isolated from W1) and connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip (W3 connected to 202-VCC), and is configured to supply power to the power management chip (¶0106: W3 generates VCC to be supplied to the power supply terminal of primary controller 202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, to include a feedback circuit connected with the secondary winding of the transformer, with the output end connected to the feedback end of the power management chip, and an isolated winding of the transformer connected with the power supply terminal of the power management chip. Doing so improves the reliability of the DC/DC converter, as evidenced by Kikuchi (¶0110: providing improved reliability).
Regarding Claim 19, Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the feedback circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the primary winding or the secondary winding of the transformer, and transmit the detected voltage to the power management chip; and
the power management chip is configured to adjust a voltage duty cycle of the primary winding of the transformer according to the detected voltage.
However, Kikuchi (Fig.2) further teaches the feedback circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the secondary winding of the transformer (¶0102: feedback circuit 206 drives photocoupler according to measured VOUTS), transmits the detected voltage to the power management chip (¶0103 primary controller 202 receives VFB based on photocoupler 204), and the power management chip drives the duty cycle of the primary winding based on the detected voltage (¶0104: primary controller 202 OUT terminal is controlled corresponding to the detected signal VFB-).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Kikuchi to include the feedback circuit detecting a voltage of the secondary winding of the transformer, transmitting the detected voltage to the power management chip, and driving the duty cycle of the primary winding based on the detected voltage. Doing so allows for improved reliability of the DC/DC converter.
Regarding Claim 20, Kooken, as modified, further teaches wherein the preset voltage range is a specific value, and the lower limit of the preset voltage range is equal to an upper limit of the preset voltage range (¶0018: first DC bus has a fixed voltage).
Regarding Claim 23, Kooken (Fig.6), as modified, further teaches wherein the primary power supply conversion circuit comprises a BOOST unit (666), the BOOST unit is configured to adjust the input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is less than the lower limit of the preset voltage range into the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is within the preset voltage range (boost converter would raise voltage from below 400V to at least 400V).
Regarding Claim 24, Kooken (Figs.4 & 6), as modified, further teaches wherein the BOOST unit comprises one or a combination of: at least one of a BOOST circuit (62), at least one of a BUCK/BOOST circuit (66), at least one of a charge pump circuit, or at least one of a CUK circuit.
Regarding Claim 25, Kooken (Fig.6), as modified, further comprises wherein the primary power supply conversion circuit further comprises a BUCK unit (66), the BUCK unit is operative to convert the input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is larger than an upper limit of the preset voltage range into the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range (buck converter would lower voltage from above 500V to at most 500V); and
wherein the upper limit of the preset voltage range is equal to the maximum value of the output voltage of the rectifier circuit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1).
Moreover, Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, discloses the claimed invention except for the upper limit of the preset voltage range is equal to the maximum working voltage rather than a value less than the maximum working voltage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to set an upper limit voltage that is lower than the maximum working voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Doing so would minimize the chance of inefficient power conversion caused by a voltage rising above the maximum working voltage due to delays in control commands.
Regarding Claim 26, Kooken (Figs.5 & 6), as modified, further teaches wherein the BUCK unit comprises one or a combination of: at least one of a BUCK circuit (64), at least one of a BUCK/BOOST circuit (66), at least one of a charge pump circuit, or at least one of a CUK circuit.
Regarding Claim 29, Kooken (Fig.6), as modified, further teaches wherein the primary power supply conversion circuit comprises a BOOST unit (666), the BOOST unit is operative to adjust the input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is less than the lower limit of the preset voltage range into the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is within the preset voltage range (boost converter would raise voltage from below 400V to at least 400V).
Regarding Claim 30, Kooken (Figs.4 & 6), as modified, further teaches wherein the BOOST unit comprises one or a combination of: at least one of a BOOST circuit (62), at least one of a BUCK/BOOST circuit (66), at least one of a charge pump circuit, or at least one of a CUK circuit.
Regarding Claim 31, Kooken (Fig.6), as modified, further comprises wherein the primary power supply conversion circuit further comprises a BUCK unit (66), the BUCK unit is operative to convert the input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is larger than an upper limit of the preset voltage range into the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range (buck converter would lower voltage from above 500V to at most 500V); and
wherein the upper limit of the preset voltage range is equal to the maximum value of the output voltage of the rectifier circuit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1).
Moreover, Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, discloses the claimed invention except for the upper limit of the preset voltage range is equal to the maximum working voltage rather than a value less than the maximum working voltage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to set an upper limit voltage that is lower than the maximum working voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Doing so would minimize the chance of inefficient power conversion caused by a voltage rising above the maximum working voltage due to delays in control commands.
Regarding Claim 32, Kooken (Figs.5 & 6), as modified, further teaches wherein the BUCK unit comprises one or a combination of: at least one of a BUCK circuit (64), at least one of a BUCK/BOOST circuit (66), at least one of a charge pump circuit, or at least one of a CUK circuit.
Claim(s) 2 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, as applied to claims 1 and 11, and further in view of Sato et al. (USPGPN 2018/0166903 A1 – published Jun. 14, 2018).
Regarding Claim 2, Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the power supply circuit further comprises a first capacitor;
a first end of the first capacitor is connected with the input end of the primary power supply conversion circuit; and
a second end of the first capacitor is connected to the ground;
wherein the first capacitor is operative to increase a voltage between the output end of the rectifier circuit and the input end of the primary power supply conversion circuit.
However, Sato (Fig.1) teaches a first capacitor (C1) connected between an input end of a primary power supply conversion unit (9a) and ground, which increases a voltage between the output of the rectifier (D11-D14) circuit and the input of the primary power supply conversion circuit (¶0025: C1 is a smoothing capacitor which maintains a higher voltage when the rectifier output decreases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Sato to include a smoothing capacitor between the rectifier circuit and the primary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so allows the pulsing output of the rectifier to be further stabilized to reduce voltage fluctuations input to the primary power supply conversion circuit.
Regarding Claim 12, Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the power supply circuit further comprises a first capacitor;
a first end of the first capacitor is connected with the input end of the primary power supply conversion circuit; and
a second end of the first capacitor is connected to the ground;
wherein the first capacitor is operative to increase a voltage between the output end of the rectifier circuit and the input end of the primary power supply conversion circuit.
However, Sato (Fig.1) teaches a first capacitor (C1) connected between an input end of a primary power supply conversion unit (9a) and ground, which increases a voltage between the output of the rectifier (D11-D14) circuit and the input of the primary power supply conversion circuit (¶0025: C1 is a smoothing capacitor which maintains a higher voltage when the rectifier output decreases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Sato to include a smoothing capacitor between the rectifier circuit and the primary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so allows the pulsing output of the rectifier to be further stabilized to reduce voltage fluctuations input to the primary power supply conversion circuit.
Claim(s) 27 & 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, as applied to claims 25 & 31 above, and further in view of Batikoff et al. (USPGPN 2014/0354245 A1 – published Dec. 4, 2014).
Regarding Claim 27, Kooken, as modified, (Fig.22) further teaches wherein the BOOST unit comprises a first MOS switch (606; ¶0102: 602 may be a MOS device) and a first trigger circuit configured to turn on or off the first MOS switch (194/604).
Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the BUCK unit comprises a second MOS switch and a second trigger circuit configured to turn on or off the second MOS switch.
However, Batikoff (Fig.3) teaches a BUCK unit (210) which comprises a second MOS switch (S1) which is controlled by a second trigger circuit (230, Control signals to S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Batikoff to include a second MOS switch for the BUCK unit, controlled by a second trigger circuit. Doing so allows for controlled operation of the BUCK unit to reduce an input voltage and have separate trigger conditions from the first MOS switch used in the BOOST unit.
Regarding Claim 33, Kooken, as modified, (Fig.22) further teaches wherein the BOOST unit comprises a first MOS switch (606; ¶0102: 602 may be a MOS device) and a first trigger circuit configured to turn on or off the first MOS switch (194/604).
Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the BUCK unit comprises a second MOS switch and a second trigger circuit configured to turn on or off the second MOS switch.
However, Batikoff (Fig.3) teaches a BUCK unit (210) which comprises a second MOS switch (S1) which is controlled by a second trigger circuit (230, Control signals to S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Batikoff to include a second MOS switch for the BUCK unit, controlled by a second trigger circuit. Doing so allows for controlled operation of the BUCK unit to reduce an input voltage and have separate trigger conditions from the first MOS switch used in the BOOST unit.
Claim(s) 28 & 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, as applied to claims 9 & 19 above, and further in view of Matthews et al. (USPGPN 2014/0254213).
Regarding Claim 28, Kooken, as modified (Kikuchi-Fig.2), further teaches where in a voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a first resistor (R11), a second resistor (R12), and an optical coupler (204) of the feedback circuit to the feedback end of the power management chip (202-FB).
Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a comparator.
However, Matthews (Figs.1 & 2) teaches a feedback circuit (R1, R2, 270, 280, & 144) which passes a feedback signal from a secondary winding (112) of a transformer (110) through a comparator (270) to a power management chip (150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Matthews to pass the voltage feedback signal through a comparator to the power management chip. Doing so allows for a regulation of the output voltage, as evidenced by Matthews (¶0023: comparator 270 outputs to feedback signal 285, which is used to regulate VO).
Regarding Claim 34, Kooken, as modified (Kikuchi-Fig.2), further teaches where in a voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a first resistor (R11), a second resistor (R12), and an optical coupler (204) of the feedback circuit to the feedback end of the power management chip (202-FB).
Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a comparator.
However, Matthews (Figs.1 & 2) teaches a feedback circuit (R1, R2, 270, 280, & 144) which passes a feedback signal from a secondary winding (112) of a transformer (110) through a comparator (270) to a power management chip (150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Matthews to pass the voltage feedback signal through a comparator to the power management chip. Doing so allows for a regulation of the output voltage, as evidenced by Matthews (¶0023: comparator 270 outputs to feedback signal 285, which is used to regulate VO).
Conclusion
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859