Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 11, regarding Kikuchi not teaching or suggesting “a second end of the primary winding of the transformer is directly connected with the switch control end of the power management chip, and the switch control end is a pin of the power management chip”, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant further argues that a person skilled in the art would not, and could not, modify the converter 240 of Kooken to enable the controller 194 to adjust the input of the converter 240 based on the output of the converter 240 in light of the teachings of Kikuchi. Examiner respectfully disagrees. It appears the applicant’s argument centers around Kooken teaching that a feedback adjustment is not required, and states the regulation of the converter is fixed rather than dynamic. However, Kooken reciting a lack of requirement of feedback adjustment does not preclude the use of feedback adjustment for a proposed benefit. As indicated in the previous rejection of claim 1, presented in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/27/2026, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for improved reliability of the DC/DC converter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, 19, 20, 23-26, & 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooken et al. (USPGPN 2007/0051712 A1 – published Mar. 8, 2007), in view of Dai et al. (USPGPN 2019/0348923 A1 – published Nov. 14, 2019), Kikuchi (USPGPN 2018/0006569), and NPL NXP - UM10780 User Guide (published 2014), and Supported by NPL NXP - TEA1721AT Datasheet – published 2012).
Regarding Claim 1, Kooken (Figs.6, 12, & 22) teaches a power supply circuit comprising:
a rectifier circuit (60), configured to convert an alternating current into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit (62), having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to adjust an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range (¶0026: active power factor converter has input of an AC voltage range 115-575V and outputs 400-500V); and
a secondary power supply conversion circuit (240) having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuity configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage (converting DC#1 to DC#2);
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer (250), a power management chip (194), the power management chip having a switch control end (512); and
a first end (506) of a primary winding (252) of the transformer is connected with an output end (14a) of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end (508) of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip (508 is connected to 512 through SW2).
Kooken fails to explicitly teach wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a feedback end;
the second end of the primary transformer is directly connected with the switch control end of the power management chip, and the switch control end is a pine of the power management chip; and
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip.
However, Dai (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a power supply system in which a lower limit of the preset voltage range (output of 104 is voltage over C2; ¶0052 & 0053: first voltage threshold to second voltage threshold) is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit (¶0045: first threshold equals a minimum input voltage of converter 106 and second threshold equals a maximum input voltage; ¶0055: the first voltage threshold may be a voltage between the minimum voltage and the maximum voltage of the isolated power converter 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken to have the lower limit of the preset voltage range greater than the minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so ensures the second power supply conversion circuit operates efficiently.
Moreover, Kikuchi (Fig.2) teaches a power supply conversion circuit (200a) comprising a feedback circuit (R11, R12, 204, & 206), a power management circuit (202) having a feedback end (202-FB); and
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with a secondary winding (W2) of the transformer (T1), and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip (204 connected to 202-FB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, to include a feedback circuit connected with the secondary winding of the transformer, with the output end connected to the feedback end of the power management chip. Doing so improves the reliability of the DC/DC converter, as evidenced by Kikuchi (¶0110: providing improved reliability).
Lastly, NPL NXP – User Guide teaches a power supply circuit which uses a power management chip comprising a switch control end directly connected with a second end of a primary winding of a transformer, and the switch control end is a pin of the power management chip (Pg.17, Fig.14: IC TEA1721AT Drain is directly connected to pin 2 of transformer T1; NPL NXP – Datasheet – Pg.3: Fig.1 shows the functional block diagram of chip TEA1721AT, used in Fig.14 of NPL NXP – User Guide, which includes an integral power switch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken with NPL NXP – User Guide to use a power management chip comprising a switch control end directly connected with a second end of a primary winding of a transformer, and the switch control end is a pin of the power management chip. Doing so moves the controlled switch into the power management chip, thereby reducing the number of components required on the circuit board and reducing the required size of the board.
Regarding Claim 9, Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the feedback circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the primary winding or the secondary winding of the transformer, and transmit the detected voltage to the power management chip; and
the power management chip is configured to adjust a voltage duty cycle of the primary winding of the transformer according to the detected voltage.
However, Kikuchi (Fig.2) further teaches the feedback circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the secondary winding of the transformer (¶0102: feedback circuit 206 drives photocoupler according to measured VOUTS), transmits the detected voltage to the power management chip (¶0103 primary controller 202 receives VFB based on photocoupler 204), and the power management chip drives the duty cycle of the primary winding based on the detected voltage (¶0104: primary controller 202 OUT terminal is controlled corresponding to the detected signal VFB-).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, with Kikuchi to include the feedback circuit detecting a voltage of the secondary winding of the transformer, transmitting the detected voltage to the power management chip, and driving the duty cycle of the primary winding based on the detected voltage. Doing so allows for improved reliability of the DC/DC converter.
Regarding Claim 10, Kooken, as modified, further teaches wherein the preset voltage range is a specific value, and the lower limit of the preset voltage range is equal to an upper limit of the preset voltage range (¶0018: first DC bus has a fixed voltage).
Regarding Claim 11, Kooken (Figs. 12 & 22) teaches a charging device comprising:
a power supply access port (12) and a power supply circuit (PS7), the power supply port being configured to receive an alternating current via a power supply (¶0067: input 12 is a single phase AC line supply);
wherein the power supply circuit comprises:
a rectifier circuit (60), configured to convert an alternating current into a direct current;
a primary power supply conversion circuit (62), having an input end connected with an output end of the rectifier circuit, configured to adjust an input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is out of a preset voltage range into an output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range (¶0026: active power factor converter has input of an AC voltage range 115-575V and outputs 400-500V); and
a secondary power supply conversion circuit (240) having an input end connected with an output end of the primary power supply conversion circuity configured to convert the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit into a target direct current voltage (converting DC#1 to DC#2);
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a transformer (250), a power management chip (194), the power management chip having a switch control end (512); and
a first end (506) of a primary winding (252) of the transformer is connected with an output end (14a) of the primary power supply conversion circuit, and a second end (508) of the primary winding of the transformer is connected with the switch control end of the power management chip (508 is connected to 512 through SW2).
Kooken fails to explicitly teach wherein a lower limit of the preset voltage range is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit;
wherein the secondary power supply conversion circuit comprises a feedback circuit, the power management chip having a feedback end;
the second end of the primary transformer is directly connected with the switch control end of the power management chip, and the switch control end is a pine of the power management chip; and
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with a secondary winding of the transformer, and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip.
However, Dai (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a power supply system in which a lower limit of the preset voltage range (output of 104 is voltage over C2; ¶0052 & 0053: first voltage threshold to second voltage threshold) is greater than a minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit (¶0045: first threshold equals a minimum input voltage of converter 106 and second threshold equals a maximum input voltage; ¶0055: the first voltage threshold may be a voltage between the minimum voltage and the maximum voltage of the isolated power converter 106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken to have the lower limit of the preset voltage range greater than the minimum working voltage of the secondary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so ensures the second power supply conversion circuit operates efficiently.
Moreover, Kikuchi (Fig.2) teaches a power supply conversion circuit (200a) comprising a feedback circuit (R11, R12, 204, & 206), a power management circuit (202) having a feedback end (202-FB);
an input end of the feedback circuit is connected with a secondary winding (W2) of the transformer (T1), and an output end of the feedback circuit is connected with the feedback end of the power management chip (204 connected to 202-FB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, to include a feedback circuit connected with the secondary winding of the transformer, with the output end connected to the feedback end of the power management chip. Doing so improves the reliability of the DC/DC converter, as evidenced by Kikuchi (¶0110: providing improved reliability).
Lastly, NPL NXP – User Guide teaches a power supply circuit which uses a power management chip comprising a switch control end directly connected with a second end of a primary winding of a transformer, and the switch control end is a pin of the power management chip (Pg.17, Fig.14: IC TEA1721AT Drain is directly connected to pin 2 of transformer T1; NPL NXP – Datasheet – Pg.3: Fig.1 shows the functional block diagram of chip TEA1721AT, used in Fig.14 of NPL NXP – User Guide, which includes an integral power switch).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken with NPL NXP – User Guide to use a power management chip comprising a switch control end directly connected with a second end of a primary winding of a transformer, and the switch control end is a pin of the power management chip. Doing so moves the controlled switch into the power management chip, thereby reducing the number of components required on the circuit board and reducing the required size of the board.
Regarding Claim 19, Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the feedback circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the primary winding or the secondary winding of the transformer, and transmit the detected voltage to the power management chip; and
the power management chip is configured to adjust a voltage duty cycle of the primary winding of the transformer according to the detected voltage.
However, Kikuchi (Fig.2) further teaches the feedback circuit is configured to detect a voltage of the secondary winding of the transformer (¶0102: feedback circuit 206 drives photocoupler according to measured VOUTS), transmits the detected voltage to the power management chip (¶0103 primary controller 202 receives VFB based on photocoupler 204), and the power management chip drives the duty cycle of the primary winding based on the detected voltage (¶0104: primary controller 202 OUT terminal is controlled corresponding to the detected signal VFB-).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, with Kikuchi to include the feedback circuit detecting a voltage of the secondary winding of the transformer, transmitting the detected voltage to the power management chip, and driving the duty cycle of the primary winding based on the detected voltage. Doing so allows for improved reliability of the DC/DC converter.
Regarding Claim 20, Kooken, as modified, further teaches wherein the preset voltage range is a specific value, and the lower limit of the preset voltage range is equal to an upper limit of the preset voltage range (¶0018: first DC bus has a fixed voltage).
Regarding Claim 23, Kooken (Fig.6), as modified, further teaches wherein the primary power supply conversion circuit comprises a BOOST unit (666), the BOOST unit is configured to adjust the input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is less than the lower limit of the preset voltage range into the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is within the preset voltage range (boost converter would raise voltage from below 400V to at least 400V).
Regarding Claim 24, Kooken (Figs.4 & 6), as modified, further teaches wherein the BOOST unit comprises one or a combination of: at least one of a BOOST circuit (62), at least one of a BUCK/BOOST circuit (66), at least one of a charge pump circuit, or at least one of a CUK circuit.
Regarding Claim 25, Kooken (Fig.6), as modified, further comprises wherein the primary power supply conversion circuit further comprises a BUCK unit (66), the BUCK unit is operative to convert the input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is larger than an upper limit of the preset voltage range into the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range (buck converter would lower voltage from above 500V to at most 500V); and
wherein the upper limit of the preset voltage range is equal to the maximum value of the output voltage of the rectifier circuit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1).
Moreover, Kooken, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for the upper limit of the preset voltage range is equal to the maximum working voltage rather than a value less than the maximum working voltage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to set an upper limit voltage that is lower than the maximum working voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Doing so would minimize the chance of inefficient power conversion caused by a voltage rising above the maximum working voltage due to delays in control commands.
Regarding Claim 26, Kooken (Figs.5 & 6), as modified, further teaches wherein the BUCK unit comprises one or a combination of: at least one of a BUCK circuit (64), at least one of a BUCK/BOOST circuit (66), at least one of a charge pump circuit, or at least one of a CUK circuit.
Regarding Claim 29, Kooken (Fig.6), as modified, further teaches wherein the primary power supply conversion circuit comprises a BOOST unit (666), the BOOST unit is operative to adjust the input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is less than the lower limit of the preset voltage range into the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is within the preset voltage range (boost converter would raise voltage from below 400V to at least 400V).
Regarding Claim 30, Kooken (Figs.4 & 6), as modified, further teaches wherein the BOOST unit comprises one or a combination of: at least one of a BOOST circuit (62), at least one of a BUCK/BOOST circuit (66), at least one of a charge pump circuit, or at least one of a CUK circuit.
Regarding Claim 31, Kooken (Fig.6), as modified, further comprises wherein the primary power supply conversion circuit further comprises a BUCK unit (66), the BUCK unit is operative to convert the input voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit which is larger than an upper limit of the preset voltage range into the output voltage of the primary power supply conversion circuit within the preset voltage range (buck converter would lower voltage from above 500V to at most 500V); and
wherein the upper limit of the preset voltage range is equal to the maximum value of the output voltage of the rectifier circuit (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1).
Moreover, Kooken, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for the upper limit of the preset voltage range is equal to the maximum working voltage rather than a value less than the maximum working voltage. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to set an upper limit voltage that is lower than the maximum working voltage, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Doing so would minimize the chance of inefficient power conversion caused by a voltage rising above the maximum working voltage due to delays in control commands.
Regarding Claim 32, Kooken (Figs.5 & 6), as modified, further teaches wherein the BUCK unit comprises one or a combination of: at least one of a BUCK circuit (64), at least one of a BUCK/BOOST circuit (66), at least one of a charge pump circuit, or at least one of a CUK circuit.
Claim(s) 2 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, as applied to claims 1 and 11, and further in view of Sato et al. (USPGPN 2018/0166903 A1 – published Jun. 14, 2018).
Regarding Claim 2, Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the power supply circuit further comprises a first capacitor;
a first end of the first capacitor is connected with the input end of the primary power supply conversion circuit; and
a second end of the first capacitor is connected to the ground;
wherein the first capacitor is operative to increase a voltage between the output end of the rectifier circuit and the input end of the primary power supply conversion circuit.
However, Sato (Fig.1) teaches a first capacitor (C1) connected between an input end of a primary power supply conversion unit (9a) and ground, which increases a voltage between the output of the rectifier (D11-D14) circuit and the input of the primary power supply conversion circuit (¶0025: C1 is a smoothing capacitor which maintains a higher voltage when the rectifier output decreases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Sato to include a smoothing capacitor between the rectifier circuit and the primary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so allows the pulsing output of the rectifier to be further stabilized to reduce voltage fluctuations input to the primary power supply conversion circuit.
Regarding Claim 12, Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the power supply circuit further comprises a first capacitor;
a first end of the first capacitor is connected with the input end of the primary power supply conversion circuit; and
a second end of the first capacitor is connected to the ground;
wherein the first capacitor is operative to increase a voltage between the output end of the rectifier circuit and the input end of the primary power supply conversion circuit.
However, Sato (Fig.1) teaches a first capacitor (C1) connected between an input end of a primary power supply conversion unit (9a) and ground, which increases a voltage between the output of the rectifier (D11-D14) circuit and the input of the primary power supply conversion circuit (¶0025: C1 is a smoothing capacitor which maintains a higher voltage when the rectifier output decreases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai and Kikuchi, with Sato to include a smoothing capacitor between the rectifier circuit and the primary power supply conversion circuit. Doing so allows the pulsing output of the rectifier to be further stabilized to reduce voltage fluctuations input to the primary power supply conversion circuit.
Claim(s) 27 & 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, as applied to claims 25 & 31 above, and further in view of Batikoff et al. (USPGPN 2014/0354245 A1 – published Dec. 4, 2014).
Regarding Claim 27, Kooken, as modified, (Fig.22) further teaches wherein the BOOST unit comprises a first MOS switch (606; ¶0102: 602 may be a MOS device) and a first trigger circuit configured to turn on or off the first MOS switch (194/604).
Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the BUCK unit comprises a second MOS switch and a second trigger circuit configured to turn on or off the second MOS switch.
However, Batikoff (Fig.3) teaches a BUCK unit (210) which comprises a second MOS switch (S1) which is controlled by a second trigger circuit (230, Control signals to S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, with Batikoff to include a second MOS switch for the BUCK unit, controlled by a second trigger circuit. Doing so allows for controlled operation of the BUCK unit to reduce an input voltage and have separate trigger conditions from the first MOS switch used in the BOOST unit.
Regarding Claim 33, Kooken, as modified, (Fig.22) further teaches wherein the BOOST unit comprises a first MOS switch (606; ¶0102: 602 may be a MOS device) and a first trigger circuit configured to turn on or off the first MOS switch (194/604).
Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the BUCK unit comprises a second MOS switch and a second trigger circuit configured to turn on or off the second MOS switch.
However, Batikoff (Fig.3) teaches a BUCK unit (210) which comprises a second MOS switch (S1) which is controlled by a second trigger circuit (230, Control signals to S1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, with Batikoff to include a second MOS switch for the BUCK unit, controlled by a second trigger circuit. Doing so allows for controlled operation of the BUCK unit to reduce an input voltage and have separate trigger conditions from the first MOS switch used in the BOOST unit.
Claim(s) 28 & 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, as applied to claims 9 & 19 above, and further in view of Matthews et al. (USPGPN 2014/0254213).
Regarding Claim 28, Kooken, as modified (Kikuchi-Fig.2), further teaches where in a voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a first resistor (R11), a second resistor (R12), and an optical coupler (204) of the feedback circuit to the feedback end of the power management chip (202-FB).
Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a comparator.
However, Matthews (Figs.1 & 2) teaches a feedback circuit (R1, R2, 270, 280, & 144) which passes a feedback signal from a secondary winding (112) of a transformer (110) through a comparator (270) to a power management chip (150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, with Matthews to pass the voltage feedback signal through a comparator to the power management chip. Doing so allows for a regulation of the output voltage, as evidenced by Matthews (¶0023: comparator 270 outputs to feedback signal 285, which is used to regulate VO).
Regarding Claim 34, Kooken, as modified (Kikuchi-Fig.2), further teaches where in a voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a first resistor (R11), a second resistor (R12), and an optical coupler (204) of the feedback circuit to the feedback end of the power management chip (202-FB).
Kooken, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the voltage feedback signal is passed back from the secondary winding of the transformer through a comparator.
However, Matthews (Figs.1 & 2) teaches a feedback circuit (R1, R2, 270, 280, & 144) which passes a feedback signal from a secondary winding (112) of a transformer (110) through a comparator (270) to a power management chip (150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Kooken, in view of Dai, Kikuchi, and NPL NXP – User Guide, with Matthews to pass the voltage feedback signal through a comparator to the power management chip. Doing so allows for a regulation of the output voltage, as evidenced by Matthews (¶0023: comparator 270 outputs to feedback signal 285, which is used to regulate VO).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859