Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 12/03/2025 are acknowledged and entered. According to the Amendments to the claims, claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10, 18 and 20 has /have been amended, claims 5, 8, 11 and 17 has /have been cancelled, claim 21 has /have been added. Accordingly, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-16 and 18-20 are pending in the application. An action on the merits for claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-16 and 18-20 are as follow.
The previous 112 (b) Claim Rejections, objections to the specification and objections to the drawings are withdrawn in accordance with applicant's amendment to the claims and the specification and the drawings with no new matter added.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, under claim 20, the “a wave guide” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-16 and 18-20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “manganese-zinc ferritic compound” in line 6. Suggest changing “manganese-zinc ferritic compound” to “a manganese-zinc ferritic compound” to obviate this objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “manganese-zinc ferritic compound” in line 5. Suggest changing “manganese-zinc ferritic compound” to “a manganese-zinc ferritic compound” to obviate this objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “manganese-zinc ferritic compound” in line 11. Suggest changing “manganese-zinc ferritic compound” to “a manganese-zinc ferritic compound” to obviate this objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the coating layer” in line 15. Suggest changing “the coating layer” to “the at least one coating layer” to obviate this objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the at least one coating layer” in line 6 and 10 respectively rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the relation between these “the at least one coating layer” and at least one coating layer of the plurality of coating layers mentioned in line 4 are? Appropriate correction/ clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the boron nitride compound” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The rest of the claims are also been rejected because each claim depends on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesbitt (US 2008/0032060 A1) in view of Tenzer (US 5,523,549).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Nesbitt discloses a plate for a microwave oven (in the form of heat to food products inside the glass dish while in a microwave oven, [0157]), comprising:
a substrate layer (substrate 102a, [0098], Fig 1A) for supporting food items to be heated in the microwave oven (food products inside… while in a microwave oven, [0157]), the substrate layer having a first surface (102a having a first surface, Fig 1A); and
a coating layer on the first surface (a reinforcing underlayment 103a on 102a, [0098], Fig 1A), the coating layer including a first layer including a boron nitride compound (a single layer of substantially uniform dry particles 106a, [0098], Fig 1A; the underlayment could be created with approximately 30 to 40 micron thick bonding material layer and an approximately 200-micron sharp particles of… boron nitride, [0179]), and a second layer including a ferritic material (a wet bonding material layer 104a, [0098], Fig 1A; ferrite particles are applied to the surface or surfaces of a substrate over a wet bonding material layer, [0157]), the ferritic material embedded between the first surface and the first layer (104a embedded between the first surface of 102a and 106a, Fig 1A),
Nesbitt discloses the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose: the ferrite materials (taught by Nesbitt already) of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound,
Tenzer teaches a plate for a microwave oven (a microwave oven 10 and a browning plate 12 including the ferrite composition, Col 6 line 47-48, Fig 1), and the ferrite materials of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound (browning plate 12 has an underside 26 that is provided with a layer of ferrite material… The layer of ferrite material comprises a ferrite composition… such as magnesium manganese zinc ferrite, Col 6 line 54-60),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nesbitt with Tenzer’s further teaching of the ferrite materials of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound; because Tenzer teaches, in Abstract, of providing an excellent ferrite composition is created by adding a high Curie temperature ferrite, by maintaining the food at a desired temperature during microwave operation.
Claim 2, wherein the substrate layer has a first thickness, and the coating layer has a second thickness, and the first thickness is greater than the second thickness (a first thickness of 102a is greater than a second thickness of 103a, Fig 1A, Nesbitt).
Claim 3, wherein the first surface is a substantially planar contacting surface defined between the coating layer and substrate layer (Fig 1A, Nesbitt).
Claim 4, wherein the second layer contacts the first surface and between the substrate layer and the first layer (104a contacts the first surface and between 102a and 106a, Fig 1A, Nesbitt).
Claim 9, wherein the substrate layer includes a second surface opposite to first surface (102a includes a second surface opposite to first surface, Fig 1A, Nesbitt), the second surface being a upper surface in contact with the food items (browning plate 12 has an underside 26 that is provided with a layer of ferrite material, Fig 1A, Nesbitt).
Claims 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nesbitt (US 2008/0032060 A1) in view of Tenzer (US 5,523,549) applied to claim 1, further in view of Khizar et al. (US 2020/0163172 A1).
Regarding Claims 6-7, Nesbitt in view of Tenzer teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Claims 6-7.
Khizar et al. teach a plate for a microwave oven (a crisp plate 10, [0018], Fig 1), comprising: a substrate layer for supporting food items (plate 10 with a substrate layer for supporting food items, [0018], Fig 1) to be heated in the microwave oven (a microwave oven 6, [0017], Fig 1), and Claim 6, wherein the second layer includes the ferritic material (“the second layer includes the ferritic material” taught by Nesbitt already) dispersed in a polymer matrix (ferrite particles embedded within silicon have been used, [0003]).
Claim 7, wherein the polymer matrix is silicone (ferrite particles embedded within silicon have been used, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nesbitt in view of Tenzer with Khizar et al.’s further teaching of Claims 6-7; because Khizar et al. teach, in [0001], of providing an excellent liner for use with a microwave oven, wherein the liner is comprised of materials suitable for improving the overall performance of a microwave oven, improving cooking times and cooking thoroughness, and making the microwave oven more energy efficient.
Claims 10, 12-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khizar et al. (US 2020/0163172 A1) in view of Nesbitt (US 2008/0032060 A1) and Tenzer (US 5,523,549).
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Khizar et al. disclose a plate for a microwave oven, comprising:
a substrate layer for supporting food items (plate 10 with a substrate layer for supporting food items, [0018], Fig 1) to be heated in the microwave oven (a microwave oven 6, [0017], Fig 1), and
a plurality of coating layers (liner 12 shown in FIG. 3 includes an alumina component 40… network 43 of unidirectionally aligned carbon nanotubes and aluminum nanoparticles 42… polymer component 44, [0025]) at least partially juxtaposed and in contact with the substrate layer (see Fig 2A),
an auxiliary layer (an alumina component 40, Fig 3) of the plurality of coating layers in substantial contact with the substrate layer (40 of 18 in substantial contact with plate 16, [0019], Figs 2A-3),
Khizar et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose at least one coating layer of the plurality of coating layers including at least one of a ferritic material the ferritic material of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound, the at least one coating layer with the ferritic material positioned between the substrate layer and another of the plurality of coating layers; and
an auxiliary layer positioned between the substrate layer and the at least one coating layer, the auxiliary layer comprising the boron nitride compound,
wherein the at least one coating layer of the plurality of coating layers is heatable by an electromagnetic radiation irradiated by the microwave oven.
Nesbitt teaches a plate for a microwave oven (food products inside the glass dish while in a microwave oven, [0157]), and at least one coating layer of the plurality of coating layers (Note: “at least one coating layer of the plurality of coating layers” taught by Khizar et al. already) including at least one of a ferritic material (ferrite particles are applied to the surface or surfaces of a substrate, [0157]), the at least one coating layer with the ferritic material positioned between the substrate layer and another of the plurality of coating layers (104a positioned between 102a and 106a, Fig 1A); and
an auxiliary layer (taught by Khizar et al. already) positioned between the substrate layer and the at least one coating layer (see Fig 3, Khizar et al. and Fig 1A, Nesbitt), the auxiliary layer comprising the boron nitride compound (harder particles such as boron nitride particles… can be applied to the surface of the substrate, [0047]),
wherein the at least one coating layer is heatable by an electromagnetic radiation irradiated by the microwave oven (the liner is provided on a surface of a crisp plate in a microwave oven, [0015], Khizar et al.).
Tenzer teaches a plate for a microwave oven (a microwave oven 10 and a browning plate 12 including the ferrite composition, Col 6 line 47-48, Fig 1), and the ferrite materials of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound (browning plate 12 has an underside 26 that is provided with a layer of ferrite material… The layer of ferrite material comprises a ferrite composition… such as magnesium manganese zinc ferrite, Col 6 line 54-60),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khizar et al. with Nesbitt’s further teaching of at least one coating layer of the plurality of coating layers including at least one of a ferritic material, the at least one coating layer with the ferritic material positioned between the substrate layer and another of the plurality of coating layers; and the auxiliary layer positioned between the substrate layer and the at least one coating layer, the auxiliary layer comprising the boron nitride compound; because Nesbitt teaches, [0157], of providing an excellent dish with ferrite particles to create and transfer energy in the form of heat to food products inside the dish while in a microwave oven; and further teach Khizar et al. in view of Nesbitt with Tenzer’s further teaching of the ferrite materials of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound; because Tenzer teaches, in Abstract, of providing an excellent ferrite composition is created by adding a high Curie temperature ferrite, by maintaining the food at a desired temperature during microwave operation.
Claim 12, wherein the plurality of coating layers includes a second layer comprising a polymeric matrix being provided with a silicone (ferrite particles embedded within silicon have been used, [0003]), and the polymeric matrix comprises a bi-component pre-polymerized polymer (a topcoat material 526 including… iron particles… conductive particles such as carbon, [0125], Figs 5C-5D, Nesbitt).
Claim 13, wherein the plurality of coating layers includes a second composite layer of a carbon material blended with the ferritic material (a topcoat material 526 including… iron particles… conductive particles such as carbon, [0125], Figs 5C-5D, Nesbitt).
Claim 14, wherein the carbon material is carbon nanotubes, and the ferritic material is ferromagnetic nanowires, and the carbon nanotubes are blended with the ferritic material in an amount of 1.0 wt% to 7.0 wt% (coating may be any suitable coating such as a topcoat or final coat material… and electrically insulative, [0114]; a topcoat material 526 including… iron particles… conductive particles such as carbon, [0125], Figs 5C-5D, Nesbitt. Even though Nesbitt do not explicitly disclose that the carbon nanotubes are blended with the ferritic material in an amount of 1.0 wt% to 7.0 wt%; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled person in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the blended wt%, since such a configuration would have involved a mere change in the wt% of components (see details in Spac. [0033]), a change in wt% of components is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237.
Claim 15, wherein the ferritic material is a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound, a manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a carbon ferrite compound, or combinations thereof (a topcoat material 526 including… iron particles… conductive particles such as carbon, [0125], Figs 5C-5, Nesbitt).
Claim 16, wherein the nickel-manganese ferritic compound is a Ni0.5Mn0.5F2O4 compound, the nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound is a Nio.6o-yCuyZno,42Fe1,9sOo,39 compound, and the manganese-zinc ferritic compound is a (MnxZnyFe2+1-x-y)Fe3+2Q4 compound (a topcoat material 526 including… iron particles… conductive particles such as carbon, [0125], Figs 5C-5, Nesbitt).
Claim 18, wherein the at least one coating layer has a textured surface and comprises a plurality of tiles abutting from the substrate layer or a plurality of venting openings configured to vent any gaseous residue trapped in the coating layer and/or in the substrate layer (ultra porous bronze particles are "sponge-like" particles that include many openings and voids, [0122], Nesbitt).
Claim 19, wherein the at least one coating layer is configured to reach a surface temperature of at least 200°C (a specific high temperature topcoat formulation may be applied, [0117], a very high temperature PTFE or silicone type resin, [0118], Nesbitt) when heated by the microwave oven irradiating an electromagnetic radiation at a power of at least 750W (the liner is provided on a surface of a crisp plate in a microwave oven, [0015]; a high voltage power supply, [0032], Khizar et al.).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Khizar et al. disclose an assembly comprising:
a microwave oven (see Title) comprising a microwave source (a microwave source via a waveguide device 30, [0017], Fig 2A), a cavity (a cavity 7, [0017], Fig 1), and a wave guide guiding means (via a waveguide device 30, [0017], Fig 2A), the microwave source being configured for generating radiation (configured to supply of microwaves 32, [0017], Fig 2A), the cavity being configured for accommodating food items to be heated or cooked or thawed, and the wave guide transferring the electromagnetic radiation from the microwave source to the cavity (see Figs 1-2A); and
a plate (plate 10, [0018], Fig 1) configured to be placed in the cavity of the microwave oven, the plate including a substrate layer for supporting food items (plate 10 with a substrate layer for supporting food items, [0018], Fig 1) to be heated in the microwave oven (for cooking a food substrate, [0017] see Figs 1-2A), and at least one coating layer (liner 12 shown in FIG. 3 includes an alumina component 40… network 43 of unidirectionally aligned carbon nanotubes and aluminum nanoparticles 42… polymer component 44, [0025]) at least partially juxtaposed and in contact with the substrate layer (see Fig 2A), the at least one coating layer includes at least a first layer (see Fig 3) and a second layer (see Fig 3),
wherein the coating layer is heatable by the electromagnetic radiation irradiated by the microwave oven (the liner is provided on a surface of a crisp plate in a microwave oven, [0015]).
Khizar et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose the at least one coating layer includes at least a first layer including a boron nitride compound and a second layer including a ferritic material of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound, the second layer being positioned between the substrate layer and the first layer.
Nesbitt teaches a plate for a microwave oven (food products inside the glass dish while in a microwave oven, [0157]), and the at least one coating layer (Note: “the at least one coating layer” taught by Khizar et al. already) includes at least a first layer including a boron nitride compound (a single layer of substantially uniform dry particles 106a, [0098], Fig 1A; the underlayment could be created with approximately 30 to 40 micron thick bonding material layer and an approximately 200-micron sharp particles of… boron nitride, [0179]) and a second layer including a ferritic material (a wet bonding material layer 104a, [0098], Fig 1A; ferrite particles are applied to the surface or surfaces of a substrate over a wet bonding material layer, [0157]), the second layer being positioned between the substrate layer and the first layer (104a embedded between the first surface of 102a and 106a, Fig 1A),
Tenzer teaches a plate for a microwave oven (a microwave oven 10 and a browning plate 12 including the ferrite composition, Col 6 line 47-48, Fig 1), and the ferrite materials of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound (browning plate 12 has an underside 26 that is provided with a layer of ferrite material… The layer of ferrite material comprises a ferrite composition… such as magnesium manganese zinc ferrite, Col 6 line 54-60),
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Khizar et al. with Nesbitt’s further teaching of the at least one coating layer includes at least a first layer including a boron nitride compound and a second layer including a ferritic material, the second layer being positioned between the substrate layer and the first layer; because Nesbitt teaches, [0157], of providing an excellent dish with ferrite particles to create and transfer energy in the form of heat to food products inside the dish while in a microwave oven; and further teach Khizar et al. in view of Nesbitt with Tenzer’s further teaching of the ferrite materials of at least one of manganese-zinc ferritic compound, a nickel-manganese ferritic compound, and a nickel-copper-zinc ferritic compound; because Tenzer teaches, in Abstract, of providing an excellent ferrite composition is created by adding a high Curie temperature ferrite, by maintaining the food at a desired temperature during microwave operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 11-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in any claims of the current rejection.
A. The applicant's argument on Remarks, namely “neither Khizar nor Nesbitt disclose, teach, or suggest a coating with both of these components let alone in the particular arrangement claimed. Moreover, the references teach away from their combination, as well as their modification, and also teach away from the particular arrangement, “because Khizar teaches away from ferrite, it would not have been obvious to look elsewhere to modify a ferritic coating, let alone selecting additional compounds, but also by embedding a ferritic layer between a substrate and a boron nitride coating”, “Nesbitt is silent to a selection of particles, and does not contemplate selection based on Curie temperature. Because of the position over the wet bonding layer, the properties contemplated by Nesbitt would be distinguishable. Thus, Nesbitt does not cure the deficiencies of Khizar in reciting the claimed coating int he (Examiner Note: should be “in the" instead of “int he"?) arrangement provided” and “as follows based on the position of the ferrite particles, Nesbitt also teaches away from the claimed arrangement of the ferritic layer being embedded between the substrate and first layer (boron nitride layer)”.
The examiner’s response: Khizar discloses exactly a plate for a microwave oven, comprising: a coating layer on the first surface (liner 12 shown in Figs 2A-3 includes an alumina component 40… network 43 of unidirectionally aligned carbon nanotubes and aluminum nanoparticles 42… polymer component 44, [0025]), and an auxiliary layer (an alumina component 40, Fig 3) of the plurality of coating layers in substantial contact with the substrate layer (40 of 18 in substantial contact with plate 16, [0019], Figs 2A-3); Khizar et al. disclosed the coating layer already, only not disclose the coating layer including a ferritic material; and Nesbitt further teaches a plate for a microwave oven (food products inside the glass dish while in a microwave oven, [0157]), and at least one coating layer of the plurality of coating layers (Note: “at least one coating layer of the plurality of coating layers” taught by Khizar et al. already) including at least one of a ferritic material (ferrite particles are applied, [0157]); and an auxiliary layer positioned between the substrate layer and the at least one coating layer (see 42 and 43 in Fig 3, taught by Khizar et al.), the auxiliary layer comprising the boron nitride compound (harder particles such as boron nitride particles, [0047], Nesbitt); and the purpose of bringing in Nesbitt for providing an excellent dish with ferrite particles to create and transfer energy in the form of heat to food products inside the dish while in a microwave oven ([0157]). Nether Khizar et al. nor Nesbitt teach away, and the combination teach exactly as claimed shown above; therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761