Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 11, 16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220353633 A1 dated 2021-04-28) in view of Koo et al. (US 20230019120 A1 dated 2021-07-08), Cheong et al. (US 20240032123 A1 dated 2021-04-09) and Bennett et al. (US 20110018759 A1 dated 2011-01-27), hereinafter Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett
As to claim 1, Kim et al. (US 20220353633 A1 dated 2021-04-28) discloses A portable electronic device comprising:
a first wireless communication circuit configured to perform ultra wide band (UWB) communication (UWB communication circuit);
a second wireless communication circuit configured to perform wireless communication that is different from the UWB communication (Bluetooth communication circuit 200);
a memory (memory 130) configured to store instructions;
and a processor (processor 120) configured to execute the instructions to:
perform first UWB communication through a first UWB communication channel with a plurality of first external electronic devices using the first wireless communication circuit, perform position detection based on the first UWB communication (Paragraph [0067] – “The UWB communication circuit 430 (e.g., the UWB communication circuit 220 in FIG. 2) may receive from the processor 499 a digital signal required for measuring the position of the external electronic device 401”),
Kim et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Koo et al. (US 20230019120 A1 dated 2021-07-08) discloses detect a first event corresponding to a handover of the position detection from the portable electronic device to a second external electronic device while the first UWB communication is performed (Paragraph [0027] - “FIG. 19 is a flowchart illustrating a method in which a UWB device performs a cluster selection and handover operation according to an embodiment;” Here, a generic handover operation is detected as the claim does not say what is meant by handover of the position detection. We don’t know what the second device is being handed over to.), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim et al to include the means to the handover operation by Koo et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this addition allows to use the handover operation from the electronic device to an external electronic device in order to do position detection for the second external electronic device as a backup.
Kim et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Cheong et al. (US 20240032123 A1 dated 2021-04-09) discloses based on the first event, stop the position detection through the first UWB communication channel, and transmit communication information to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit, wherein the communication information is used by the second external electronic device to perform a second UWB communication with the plurality of first external electronic devices (Paragraph [0127] – “For example, the second electronic device 202 may exchange information (e.g., security information and/or authentication information) for UWB communication through the second communication link.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al to include the means to exchanging information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Cheong et al. in order to exchange information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as a backup.
It is noted that the wherein clause (… the communication information is used by the second…) recites an intended use which fails to limit the structure of the claimed electronic device and therefore carries no patentable weight.
In an analogous art, Bennett et al. (US 20110018759 A1 dated 2011-01-27) discloses based on the first event, stop the position detection through the first UWB communication channel, and transmit communication information to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit, wherein the communication information comprises data configured to enable the second external electronic device to perform a second UWB communication with the plurality of first external electronic devices (Paragraph [0046] – “Based upon the destination received at Step 902 and a current location of the GPS enabled wireless phone, the GPS enabled wireless phone determines a route to the destination (Step 904). The GPS enabled wireless phone then completes a first portion of the route via directing a user of the GPS enabled wireless phone along the route (Step 906). The GPS enabled wireless phone is then prompted to handover the route to a navigation system (Step 908). Such prompting may be based upon interaction with the user, based upon a detection of proximity to the navigation system, or based upon another technique. The GPS enabled wireless phone then computes the second portion of the route to the destination and transmits the second portion of the route to the navigation system for execution therewith (Step 910).”, here handover of position detection takes place from one device to another. The method of handover is not specified, it could be carried via UWB, BLE or cellular communication method. Paragraph [0023] – “The navigation system may also communicate via the one or more wireless networks 108.” Here the navigation system is the second external electronic device and it is communicating with wireless networks such as the base station which is the first external electronic device in the claim.)
Bennett does teach handing over the position detection to the navigation system and the navigation system is communicating with the network. However, it does not teach that the navigation system is using UWB communication method to interface with wireless network. However, Paragraph [0033] of Bennett discloses, “The wireless interfaces 222 of the navigation system 218 support various communication protocol standards including those relating to cellular networks, WPANs, WLANs, WWANs, and/or other communication standards.” Here the navigation system is talking with the network using cellular networks, WPANs, WLANs, WWANs, and/or other communication standards that may include UWB communication. To a person having ordinary skill in the art, it is obvious that the navigation system can use UWB communication method to interface with the wireless networks which are the first external electronic devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al and Bennett to include the means to the use of UWB communication in order to get more accuracy in position detection.
As to claim 11, Kim et al. (US 20220353633 A1 dated 2021-04-28) discloses A portable electronic device comprising: a first wireless communication circuit configured to be used for ultra wide band (UWB) communication (UWB communication circuit); a second wireless communication circuit configured to be used for wireless communication different from the UWB communication (Bluetooth communication circuit 200); a memory (memory 130) configured to store instructions; and a processor (processor 120) configured to execute the instructions to:
perform first UWB communication for position detection through a first UWB communication channel with a plurality of first external electronic devices using the first wireless communication circuit (Paragraph [0067] – “The UWB communication circuit 430 (e.g., the UWB communication circuit 220 in FIG. 2) may receive from the processor 499 a digital signal required for measuring the position of the external electronic device 401”);
Kim et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Cheong et al. (US 20240032123 A1 dated 2021-04-09) discloses while the first UWB communication is performed, detect a third event corresponding to a start of a second UWB communication for the position detection between the plurality of first external electronic devices and a second external electronic device, and based on the third event, transmit information comprising data configured to enable the second external electronic device to perform the second UWB communication with the plurality of first external electronic devices to the second external electronic device through the second wireless communication circuit (Paragraph [0127] – “For example, the second electronic device 202 may exchange information (e.g., security information and/or authentication information) for UWB communication through the second communication link.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al to include the means to exchanging information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Cheong et al. in order to exchange information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as a backup.
As to claim 16, Kim et al. (US 20220353633 A1 dated 2021-04-28) discloses A method of operating a portable electronic device, the method comprising: performing first ultra wide band (UWB) communication through a first UWB communication channel with a plurality of first external electronic devices using a first wireless communication circuit, performing position detection based on the first UWB communication (Paragraph [0067] – “The UWB communication circuit 430 (e.g., the UWB communication circuit 220 in FIG. 2) may receive from the processor 499 a digital signal required for measuring the position of the external electronic device 401”);
Kim et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Koo et al. (US 20230019120 A1 dated 2021-07-08) discloses detecting a first event corresponding to a handover of the position detection to a second external electronic device while the first UWB communication is performed (Paragraph [0027] - “FIG. 19 is a flowchart illustrating a method in which a UWB device performs a cluster selection and handover operation according to an embodiment;”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al to include the means to the handover operation as taught by wireless network of Koo et al. in order to use the handover operation from the electronic device to an external electronic device.
Kim et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Cheong et al. (US 20240032123 A1 dated 2021-04-09) discloses based on the first event, stopping the position detection through the first UWB communication channel, and transmitting communication information to the second external electronic device using a second wireless communication circuit configured to perform wireless communication different from the first UWB communication, wherein the communication information is used by the second external electronic device to perform a second UWB communication with the plurality of first external electronic devices (Paragraph [0127] – “For example, the second electronic device 202 may exchange information (e.g., security information and/or authentication information) for UWB communication through the second communication link.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al to include the means to exchanging information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Cheong et al. in order to exchange information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as a backup.
In an analogous art, Bennett et al. (US 20110018759 A1 dated 2011-01-27) discloses based on the first event, stop the position detection through the first UWB communication channel, and transmit communication information to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit, wherein the communication information comprises data configured to enable the second external electronic device to perform a second UWB communication with the plurality of first external electronic devices (Paragraph [0046] – “Based upon the destination received at Step 902 and a current location of the GPS enabled wireless phone, the GPS enabled wireless phone determines a route to the destination (Step 904). The GPS enabled wireless phone then completes a first portion of the route via directing a user of the GPS enabled wireless phone along the route (Step 906). The GPS enabled wireless phone is then prompted to handover the route to a navigation system (Step 908). Such prompting may be based upon interaction with the user, based upon a detection of proximity to the navigation system, or based upon another technique. The GPS enabled wireless phone then computes the second portion of the route to the destination and transmits the second portion of the route to the navigation system for execution therewith (Step 910).”, here handover of position detection takes place from one device to another. The method of handover is not specified, it could be carried via UWB, BLE or cellular communication method. Paragraph [0023] – “The navigation system may also communicate via the one or more wireless networks 108.” Here the navigation system is the second external electronic device and it is communicating with wireless networks such as the base station which is the first external electronic device in the claim.).
Bennett does teach handing over the position detection to the navigation system and the navigation system is communicating with the network. However, it does not teach that the navigation system is using UWB communication method to interface with wireless network. However, Paragraph [0033] of Bennett discloses, “The wireless interfaces 222 of the navigation system 218 support various communication protocol standards including those relating to cellular networks, WPANs, WLANs, WWANs, and/or other communication standards.” Here the navigation system is talking with the network using cellular networks, WPANs, WLANs, WWANs, and/or other communication standards that may include UWB communication. To a person having ordinary skill in the art, it is obvious that the navigation system can use UWB communication method to interface with the wireless networks which are the first external electronic devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al and Bennett et al. to include the means to the use of UWB communication in order to get more accuracy in position detection.
As to claim 18, Kim et al. (US 20220353633 A1 dated 2021-04-28) discloses A method of operating a portable electronic device, the method comprising: detecting a third event corresponding to a start of a second ultra wide band (UWB) communication for position detection between a plurality of first external electronic devices and a second external electronic device while the portable electronic device performs first UWB communication for the position detection with the plurality of first external electronic devices through a first wireless communication circuit configured to perform UWB communication (Paragraph [0067] – “The UWB communication circuit 430 (e.g., the UWB communication circuit 220 in FIG. 2) may receive from the processor 499 a digital signal required for measuring the position of the external electronic device 401”); and
Kim et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Cheong et al. (US 20240032123 A1 dated 2021-04-09) discloses based on the third event, transmitting communication information to the second external electronic device using a second wireless communication circuit configured to perform wireless communication different from the UWB communication, wherein the communication information comprises data configured to enable the second external electronic device for the second UWB communication with the plurality of first external electronic devices (Paragraph [0127] – “For example, the second electronic device 202 may exchange information (e.g., security information and/or authentication information) for UWB communication through the second communication link.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al to include the means to exchanging information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Cheong et al. in order to exchange information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as a backup.
As to claim 20, Kim et al. (US 20220353633 A1 dated 2021-04-28) discloses A portable electronic device comprising: a first wireless communication circuit configured to communicate using an ultra wide band (UWB) bandwidth (UWB Communication Circuit) ;a second wireless communication circuit configured to communicate using a bandwidth different from the UWB bandwidth (Bluetooth Communication Circuit); and a processor (processor 120) configured to: control the first wireless communication circuit to perform first UWB communication with a plurality of first external electronic devices, determine a first location of the portable electronic device based on the first UWB communication (Paragraph [0067] – “The UWB communication circuit 430 (e.g., the UWB communication circuit 220 in FIG. 2) may receive from the processor 499 a digital signal required for measuring the position of the external electronic device 401”),
Kim et al. does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Cheong et al. (US 20240032123 A1 dated 2021-04-09) discloses based on detecting a first event while the first UWB communication is performed, control the second wireless communication circuit to transmit communication information to a second external electronic device, wherein the communication information comprises data configured to enable the second external electronic device to perform a second UWB communication with the plurality of first external electronic devices, and determine a second location of the electronic device based on the second UWB communication between the second external electronic device and the plurality of first external electronic devices (Paragraph [0127] – “For example, the second electronic device 202 may exchange information (e.g., security information and/or authentication information) for UWB communication through the second communication link.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al to include the means to exchanging information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Cheong et al. in order to exchange information by the second electronic device for UWB communication as a backup.
Claim 2, 12, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett as applied in claim 1, 11, 16, 18 and further in view of Yun et al. (US 20220139134 A1 dated 2020-11-02), hereinafter Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun
As to claim 2, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Yun et al. (US 20220139134 A1 dated 2020-11-02) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect a second event corresponding to a resumption of the first UWB communication while the second UWB communication is performed, and based on the second event, transmit a message requesting termination of the second UWB communication to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit, and resume the first UWB communication (Paragraph [0073] – “The time at which the UWB module no and the smart key 200 stop communication may be a time at which the UWB communication is stopped after the first reference time from the time at which the UWB module 110 first starts communication or a time at which UWB communication is stopped after the first reference time has elapsed from a time at which the UWB module no restarts communication.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kim-Koo-Cheong- Bennett et al to include the means to terminating and restarting UWB communication by Yun et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this addition allows to stop and restart UWB communication.
As to claim 12, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Yun et al. (US 20220139134 A1 dated 2020-11-02) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect a fourth event corresponding to a termination of the second UWB communication by the second external electronic device, and based on the fourth event, transmit a message requesting the termination of the second UWB communication to the second external electronic device through the second wireless communication circuit (Paragraph [0073] – “The time at which the UWB module no and the smart key 200 stop communication may be a time at which the UWB communication is stopped after the first reference time from the time at which the UWB module 110 first starts communication or a time at which UWB communication is stopped after the first reference time has elapsed from a time at which the UWB module no restarts communication.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett et al to include the means to terminating and restarting UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Yun et al. in order to stop and restart UWB communication.
As to claim 17, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Yun et al. (US 20220139134 A1 dated 2020-11-02) discloses The method of claim 16, further comprising: detecting a second event corresponding to a resumption of the first UWB communication while the second UWB communication is performed in the second external electronic device; and based on the second event, transmitting a message requesting termination of the second UWB communication to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit and resuming the first UWB communication (Paragraph [0073] – “The time at which the UWB module no and the smart key 200 stop communication may be a time at which the UWB communication is stopped after the first reference time from the time at which the UWB module 110 first starts communication or a time at which UWB communication is stopped after the first reference time has elapsed from a time at which the UWB module no restarts communication.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett et al to include the means to terminating and restarting UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Yun et al. in order to stop and restart the UWB communication.
As to claim 19, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Yun et al. (US 20220139134 A1 dated 2020-11-02) discloses The method of claim 18, further comprising: detecting a fourth event corresponding to a termination of the second UWB communication; and based on the fourth event, transmitting a message requesting the termination of the second UWB communication to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit (Paragraph [0073] – “The time at which the UWB module no and the smart key 200 stop communication may be a time at which the UWB communication is stopped after the first reference time from the time at which the UWB module 110 first starts communication or a time at which UWB communication is stopped after the first reference time has elapsed from a time at which the UWB module no restarts communication.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett et al to include the means to terminating UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Yun et al. in order to stop UWB communication to the external electronic device.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun as applied in claim 2 and further in view of Kang et al. (US 20220255908 A1 dated 2019-10-29)
As to claim 3, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Kang et al. (US 20220255908 A1 dated 2019-10-29) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 2, wherein the second wireless communication circuit comprises a BLUETOOTH low energy (BLE) communication circuit, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: establish a connection between the portable electronic device and the second external electronic device using the BLE communication circuit, detect the first event based on the establishing of the connection, and detect the second event based on a termination of the connection (Paragraph [0098] – “For example, the second electronic device 202 may request a communication connection from the target device 203 based on the identification of the target device 203, and control the communication circuit (e.g., the BLE communication circuit) to establish the communication connection with the target device 203 based on the request.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun et al to include the means to establishing communication connection via BLE communication circuit as taught by wireless network of Kang et al. in order to establish communication connection between the electronic device and the external electronic device via BLE communication circuit.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun as applied in claim 2 and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20210037403 A1 dated 2019-08-02)
As to claim 4, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Kim et al. (US 20210037403 A1 dated 2019-08-02) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure a strength of a radio frequency (RF) signal received from the second external electronic device through the second wireless communication circuit to obtain a signal strength value, based on the signal strength value being smaller than a predetermined reference value, detect the first event, and based on the signal strength value being larger than the predetermined reference value while the second UWB communication is performed, detect the second event (Paragraph [0145] – “The UE performs frequency measurement in accordance with the frequency measurement configuration information, and may report a result of the frequency measurement to the gNB (5-60) when a predetermined condition is satisfied (e.g., if the signal strength of a specific frequency is better than a certain reference (e.g., a threshold value), or if the signal strength of a current serving cell (frequency) is smaller than a certain reference (e.g., a threshold value).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun et al to include the means to having signal strength smaller or larger than the predetermined reference value as taught by wireless network of Kim et al. in order to detect events having signal strength smaller or larger than the predetermined reference value.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun as applied in claim 2 and further in view of Li et al. (US 20220224559 A1 dated 2019-04-15)
As to claim 5, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Li et al. (US 20220224559 A1 dated 2019-04-15) discloses The portable electronic device of any one of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: measure a strength of a radio frequency (RF) signal received from the second wireless communication circuit to obtain a signal strength value, recognize a trend corresponding to a distance between the second external electronic device and the portable electronic device, based on a change in the signal strength value, based on the trend being a decreasing trend, detect the first event, and based on the trend being an increasing trend, detect the second event (Paragraph [0108] – “According to one or more embodiments of the present application, obtaining device information of the target home device when the distance is less than or equal to a preset distance further includes: detecting a change trend of signal strength of the short-distance wireless communication signals, determining a home device with the fastest increase in signal strength as a target home device, and obtaining the device information of the target home device, when distances corresponding to scanned short-distance wireless communication signals transmitted by the plurality of home devices are all less than or equal to a first preset distance threshold, and distances between a home device having the closest distance and other home devices are all less than or equal to a second preset distance threshold, and the first preset distance threshold is greater than the second preset distance threshold.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun et al to include the means to detecting a change trend of signal strength with distance as taught by wireless network of Li et al. in order to detect a change trend of signal strength with distance between external electronic device and the electronic device.
Claim 6, 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Nam et al. (US 20230100965 A1 dated 2021-09-29)
As to claim 6, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Nam et al. (US 20230100965 A1 dated 2021-09-29) discloses The portable electronic device of any one of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive UWB signals from the plurality of first external electronic devices through the first UWB communication, and determine a location of the portable electronic device, based on a time point at which the UWB signals are received and geographical location information of the plurality of first external electronic devices (Paragraph [0223] – “According to an embodiment, the response signal may include information on a delay for transmitting the response signal, and the at least one processor may be configured to identify a timing at which the first UWB signal is transmitted, and identify information on a location for the at least one external electronic device, based on information on the timing at which the first UWB signal is transmitted, a timing at which the response signal is received, and the delay for transmitting the response signal.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett et al. to include the means to location determination based on UWB signals as taught by wireless network of Nam et al. in order to determine location information of the electronic device and external electronic devices using UWB signals.
As to claim 7, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Nam et al. (US 20230100965 A1 dated 2021-09-29) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: receive time point information indicating a time point at which the second external electronic device received UWB signals from the second external electronic device through the second wireless communication circuit while the second UWB communication is performed, and determine a location of the second external electronic device, based on the time point information and geographical location information of the plurality of first external electronic devices (Paragraph [0223] – “According to an embodiment, the response signal may include information on a delay for transmitting the response signal, and the at least one processor may be configured to identify a timing at which the first UWB signal is transmitted, and identify information on a location for the at least one external electronic device, based on information on the timing at which the first UWB signal is transmitted, a timing at which the response signal is received, and the delay for transmitting the response signal.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett et al. to include the means to location determination for the external electronic device based on UWB signals as taught by wireless network of Nam et al. in order to determine location information of the external electronic devices using UWB signals.
As to claim 8, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Nam et al. (US 20230100965 A1 dated 2021-09-29) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to receive location information of the second external electronic device from the second external electronic device through the second wireless communication circuit while the second UWB communication is performed (Paragraph [0223] – “According to an embodiment, the response signal may include information on a delay for transmitting the response signal, and the at least one processor may be configured to identify a timing at which the first UWB signal is transmitted, and identify information on a location for the at least one external electronic device, based on information on the timing at which the first UWB signal is transmitted, a timing at which the response signal is received, and the delay for transmitting the response signal.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett et al. to include the means to location determination for the external electronic device based on UWB signals as taught by wireless network of Nam et al. in order to determine location information of the external electronic devices using UWB signals.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun as applied in claim 2 and further in view of YOON et al. (US 20220385333 A1 dated 2021-06-01)
As to claim 9, Kim et al. (US 20220353633 A1 dated 2021-04-28) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 2, wherein the memory is further configured to store an application, a service module, and UWB firmware, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the application to make a request for positioning communication to the UWB firmware through the service module, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the UWB firmware to: based on the request, configure a state of a channel for the first UWB communication as an active state to perform the first UWB communication using the first wireless communication circuit, and transmit a message indicating that the state of the channel is configured as the active state to the application (Paragraph [0057] – “Then the processor 120 may perform the positioning communication with the external electronic device 102 through the established UWB communication channel.”), and
The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, YOON et al. (US 20220385333 A1 dated 2021-06-01) discloses wherein the processor is further configured to execute the service module to: based on the first event, allow the UWB firmware to switch the state of the channel to an idle state by transmitting a message requesting termination of the first UWB communication to the UWB firmware, instruct the UWB firmware to not inform the application of the switching of the state of the channel to the idle state, and transmit a message requesting initiation of the second UWB communication to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit, and based on the second event, allow the UWB firmware to switch the state of the channel to the active state by transmitting a message requesting resumption of the first UWB communication to the UWB firmware, and transmit the message requesting termination of the second UWB communication to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit.
(Paragraph [0127] – “Although not shown, the operations of FIG. 8 may be repeatedly performed, as an example, until an application using UWB communication in the electronic device 101 is terminated or is determined to be terminated by the processor 120.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun et al. to include the means to terminating and waking up UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Yoon et al. in order to terminate and resume UWB communication switching the state from active to idle and vice versa.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Gu (US 20230076696 A1 dated 2020-05-14)
As to claim 10, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Gu et al. (US 20230076696 A1 dated 2020-05-14) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 1, wherein, based on the first UWB communication channel being established, the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to insert information received from the plurality of first external electronic devices into the communication information and transmit the communication information to the second external electronic device (Paragraph [0058] – “For example, the memory 220 may store information of supportable communication (e.g., Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and/or UWB), supportable communication band information (e.g., Wi-Fi communication band or a UWB communication band) and/or information (e.g., a service set identifier (SSID)) of an external electronic device to perform communication.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett et al. to include the means to storing information on an external electronic device as taught by wireless network of Gu et al. in order to perform communication with the second external electronic device using the stored information on the external electronic device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun as applied in claim 12 and further in view of SAGATA (US 20200162872 A1 dated 2018-11-19), hereinafter Kim-Koo-Cheong-Yun-Sagata
As to claim 13, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, SAGATA (US 20200162872 A1 dated 2018-11-19) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 12, wherein the second external electronic device is installed in an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect the third event based on a user input calling the autonomous vehicle through an input device of the portable electronic device, and detect the fourth event based on receiving a predetermined signal from the second external electronic device (Paragraph [0037] For example, the controller 11 may determine whether or not the vehicle-mounted device 20 is in a range of a distance in which the short-range wireless communication with the terminal device 10 is possible, based on whether or not the controller 11 has received a predetermined signal from the vehicle-mounted device 20 via the short-distance wireless communication. The predetermined signal may be any signal that is transmitted from the vehicle-mounted device 20 through short-range wireless communication.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun et al. to include the means to receiving a predetermined signal from the in-vehicle device as taught by wireless network of Sagata in order to receive a predetermined signal from the second external electronic device to indicate being in the range in which short-range wireless communication with the vehicle-mounted device is possible.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun as applied in claim 12 and further in view of Na et al. (US 9961184 B2 dated 2015-02-03)
As to claim 14, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Na et al. (US 9961184 B2 dated 2015-02-03) discloses The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the second external electronic device is installed in an autonomous vehicle, and wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect the third event based on receiving a user input calling the autonomous vehicle through an input device of the electronic device, measure a strength of a radio-frequency (RF) signal received from the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit to obtain a signal strength value, and detect the fourth event based on the signal strength value being smaller than a predetermined reference value (Col 6 lines 25-30 – “For example, when a radio signal strength received from the vehicle 700 is a preset reference signal strength value, the smart key 23 can determine its location in the direct wireless communication range with the vehicle 700.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun et al. to include the means to comparing radio signal strength received from the vehicle with a predetermined reference value as taught by wireless network of Na et al. in order to compare radio signal strength received from the vehicle with a predetermined reference value in order to communicate with the second external electronic device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun-Sagata as applied in claim 13 and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20230106384 A1 dated 2021-09-28)
As to claim 15, The combination of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Bennett-Yun-Sagata does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Kim et al. (US 20230106384 A1 dated 2021-09-28) discloses The portable electronic device of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive UWB signals from the plurality of first external electronic devices through the first UWB communication, determine a location of the portable electronic device, based on a time point at which the UWB signals are received and geographical location information of the plurality of first external electronic devices, and instruct the autonomous vehicle to drive to the location of the portable electronic device by transmitting location information corresponding to the determined location to the second external electronic device using the second wireless communication circuit (Paragraph [0117] – “As another example, referring to FIG. 16, a processor 1200 may identify an environment 1600 in which the electronic device 101 is located via at least one of the plurality of the communication circuits. For example, the processor 120 may identify a location of the electronic device 101 by identifying a distance 1615 between a base station 1610 and the electronic device 101 based at least in part on a signal received from the base station 1610 through a communication circuit for a cellular communication scheme, identifying a distance 1625 between an AP 1620 and the electronic device 101 based at least in part on a signal received from the AP 1620 via the communication circuit for the Wi-Fi communication scheme, and identifying a distance 1645 between the electronic device 101 and a vehicle 1640 based at least in part on a reflected signal for the signal transmitted from the electronic device 101 to the vehicle 1640 via the communication circuit for the UWB communication scheme.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Kim-Koo-Cheong-Yun-Sagata et al. to include the means to finding the location of an electronic device, communication between the electronic device and the vehicle via UWB communication as taught by wireless network of Kim et al. in order to communicate with the electronic device from the vehicle via UWB communication in order to instruct the autonomous vehicle to drive to the location of the electronic device.
Remarks/Arguments
All the remarks and arguments posted on 12/18/2025 have been reviewed.
In response to applicant’s arguments “Therefore, the cited references fail to disclose or suggest "wherein the communication information comprises data configured to enable the second external electronic device to perform a second UWB communication with the plurality of first external electronic devices," as claimed in claim 1.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0023] of Bennett discloses, “The navigation system may also communicate via the one or more wireless networks 108.” Here the navigation system is the second external electronic device and it is communicating with wireless networks such as the base station which is the first external electronic device in the claim.
Bennett does teach handing over the position detection from the mobile phone to the navigation system in the vehicle, and the navigation system is communicating with the network. However, it does not teach that the navigation system is using UWB communication method to interface with wireless network. However, Paragraph [0033] of Bennett discloses, “The wireless interfaces 222 of the navigation system 218 support various communication protocol standards including those relating to cellular networks, WPANs, WLANs, WWANs, and/or other communication standards.” Here the navigation system is talking with the network using cellular networks, WPANs, WLANs, WWANs, and/or other communication standards that may include UWB communication. To a person having ordinary skill in the art, it is obvious that the navigation system can use UWB communication method to interface with the wireless networks which are the first external electronic devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Kim et al and Bennett to include the means to the use of UWB communication in order to get more accuracy in position detection.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDULLAH AL MAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646