DETAILED ACTION
In the Non-Final Rejection mailed 1/14/2026:
Claims 1-18 and 21 were withdrawn.
Claims 19-20 and 22-25 were rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/11/2026 is being considered.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed 6/11/2026 has been entered:
Claims 1-25 are active.
Claims 1-18 and 21 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Adolphsen’s gas elbow isn’t slidably and removably engaged with the barrel tube because it is permanently encased in filler material, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Adolphsen describes the filler material as a required component in each embodiment of the invention (e.g., par. 56: “[the] bore of the barrel is plugged and filler material is placed in the void defined by the barrel and the sleeve at 80 and the filler material is allowed to cure”) until the embodiments pertaining to the gas elbow 160. Here, Adolphsen instead states that the filler material is optional (see, e.g., par. 65: “[This] rear void can be filled with the filler media described above”; and par. 66: “[The] front sleeve and barrel define a front void 168 which can be filled with the filler material described above”). With that said, the examiner notes that it has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired. MPEP § 2144.04. The examiner also notes that, contrary to applicant’s assertions about the gas elbow being locked to the barrel tube by the hardened filler material, Adolphsen explicitly states in par. 68 that “mounting member 176 can be included to be received into a mounting opening 178 and secure the gas elbow to the barrel”. As such, prior to the insertion of any optional filler material, the gas elbow would be perfectly capable of removal from the barrel tube by removing mounting member 178 from mounting opening 176.
In response to applicant’s argument that Adolphsen does not disclose the limitation that the bushing sleeve inner diameter is sized to slidably receive a raised coupler section with an outer diameter greater than the barrel tube first diameter, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
As best shown in Fig. 12, the portion of the barrel where gas port 152 is located is what the examiner is interpreting as corresponding to the raised coupler section of the barrel. It is clear from at least Fig. 12 that the outer diameter of the barrel tube at 100a-100d is less than the diameter of the barrel tube at gas port 152. Adolphsen also states in par. 66 that “[the] gas elbow can include a gas block 21 that is in fluid communications with the barrel gas port so that gas escaping the barrel is transferred into a gas channel 168 defined in the gas elbow and can exit the gas elbow through the gas block”. As shown in Fig. 13B, the gas channel 168 of gas elbow 160 extends directly to the barrel. As such, it is readily apparent that the limitation reciting that the bushing sleeve inner diameter is sized to slidably receive a raised coupler section with an outer diameter greater than the barrel tube first diameter is disclosed by Adolphsen.
In response to applicant’s argument that Adolphsen does not disclose the limitation that the bushing sleeve maintains a coefficient of expansion substantially equivalent to that of the barrel tube such that the concentric relationship between the barrel tube and the first and second non-metal sleeves is maintained when the barrel assembly is in use, the examiner respectfully agrees.
However, the limitation fails to place the application in condition for allowance because it is taught at least by Newman, as detailed below. The examiner notes that applicant’s specification states at lines 15-33 of page 16 that the concentric relationship between the barrel tube and the first and second non-metal sleeves is maintained by the barrel tube and the first and second non-metal sleeves having substantially equivalent expansion coefficients, as opposed to the bushing sleeve maintaining a coefficient of expansion substantially equivalent to that of the barrel tube, as claimed. With that said, the examiner was of the position that the limitation does not necessarily present an issue under 35 USC 112(a) because the specification states at lines 19-21 of page 8 that the barrel tube “is preferably fabricated from any suitable steel, but other materials may also be used” and at lines 31-33 of page 8 that the bushing sleeve “is preferably fabricated from any suitable metal, such as steel”. As such, since both the barrel tube and the bushing sleeve can be fabricated from the same material (i.e., steel), both would inherently have the same coefficient of expansion.
Claim Objections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, the limitation “an inner diameter sized to slidably receive said raised coupler section” (line 8) is unclear as claimed. A diameter is a straight, imaginary line passing through the center of a body. As such, it’s impossible for a diameter to slidably receive the raised coupler section, as claimed.
Claims 20 and 22-24 are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim.
Regarding claim 25, the limitation “said threaded tap aligned with a barrel clearance hole extending partially through said barrel tube from an outer surface of said raised coupler section toward, but not into, a barrel inner diameter” (lines 2-4) is unclear as claimed. A diameter is a straight, imaginary line passing through the center of a body. As such, it’s impossible for the barrel clearance hole to extend toward, but not into a barrel inner diameter, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-20 and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adolphsen (US 2013/0036902), herein ‘Adolphsen’, and further in view of and further in view of Newman (US 2018/0023913), herein ‘Newman’.
Regarding claim 19, Adolphsen discloses a firearm barrel assembly (Figs. 12-13) comprising:
a bushing (Fig. 13);
a barrel tube (150; Fig. 12) having a first diameter (Fig. 12; diameter of barrel tube 150 at grooves 100a-d) and a raised coupler section (Fig. 12; portion of barrel tube 150 with barrel gas port 152) having an outer diameter greater than said first diameter (Fig. 12; the diameter of barrel tube 150 at the location of barrel gas port 152 is shown to be greater than the diameter of barrel tube 150 at the location of any of the grooves 100a-100d) and a first non-metal sleeve (154; par. 48) and a second non-metal sleeve (166; par. 48) concentrically spaced apart from said barrel tube (Figs. 13A-13B) and forming an air gap therebetween (Fig. 13B; par. 65-66; rear void 156 and front void 168 define an air gap between first sleeve 154, second sleeve 166, and barrel tube 150 prior to being filled with filler material), the bushing comprising:
a bushing sleeve (160) having:
an inner diameter sized to slidably receive the raised coupler section (Figs. 12, 13A-13B, and 14; par. 15);
a bushing sleeve outer diameter (Fig. 13A; par. 66; outer diameter of central portion of gas elbow 160 to which gas block 21 is attached);
a first end (162) having a first reduced diameter (Fig. 13A; par. 66), said first reduced diameter less than said bushing sleeve outer diameter (Fig. 13A; par. 66); and
a second end (164) having a second reduced diameter (Fig. 13A; par. 66), said second reduced diameter less than said bushing sleeve outer diameter (Fig. 13A; par. 66);
wherein said bushing sleeve is adapted to be slidably and removably engaged over said raised coupler section (Figs. 12, 13A-13B, and 14; par. 15 and 68) such that said bushing sleeve is movable along said raised coupler section independently of said barrel tube (Figs. 12, 13A-13B, and 14; par. 15 and 68).
Adolphsen does not expressly teach wherein said bushing sleeve maintains a coefficient of expansion substantially equivalent to that of said barrel tube such that the concentric relationship between said barrel tube and said first and second non-metal sleeves is maintained when said barrel assembly is in use.
Newman teaches a firearm barrel assembly (10) comprising a non-metal sleeve (13) arranged concentrically to a barrel tube (11), wherein one or more gas key inserts (16) are joined to the barrel tube (par. 38), and wherein a gas block (20) is joined to the one or more gas key inserts (Figs. 8-10), wherein both the barrel tube (par. 35) and the one or more gas key inserts (par. 38) are made of steel (inherently, the one or more gas key inserts 16 maintain a coefficient of expansion substantially equal to that of the barrel tube 11, since they are made from steel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the barrel tube and the bushing sleeve of Adolphsen to be made of the same material as taught by Newman with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Adolphsen discloses wherein said bushing sleeve provides constant pressure between said barrel tube and said first and said second non-metal sleeves when said barrel assembly is in use (Fig. 13B; par. 65-66).
Regarding claims 22 and 24, the modified Adolphsen discloses wherein said bushing sleeve carries a gas block (21) comprising a gas block gas escape hole (Figs. 13A-13B; par. 66), said gas block being mounted to said bushing sleeve and not directly to said barrel tube (Figs. 13-14; par. 66), wherein said bushing sleeve further comprises a combination bushing gas escape and fastener hole (168 and/or 170 and/or 178) through said bushing sleeve and adapted to be communicatively coupled to a gas escape hole (152) through said barrel tube (Figs. 13-14; par. 66-68), and wherein said combination bushing gas escape and fastener hole is communicatively coupled to said gas block gas escape hole (Figs. 13A-13B; par. 66), but does not expressly teach wherein said bushing sleeve slidably carries an independent gas block removably mounted to said bushing sleeve without being permanently affixed to said barrel tube.
Newman teaches a firearm barrel assembly (10) comprising a non-metal sleeve (13) arranged concentrically to a barrel tube (11), wherein one or more gas key inserts (16) are joined to the barrel tube (par. 38), and wherein a gas block (20) is joined to the one or more gas key inserts (Figs. 8-10) by a threaded fastener inserted through a hole in the gas block and threaded into a fastening hole of the one or more gas key inserts (Fig. 10; par. 38) which is aligned with a barrel clearance hole in the barrel tube (Fig. 4), such that the one or more gas keys act as a solid platform for removably mounting the gas block (claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the gas block of the modified Adolphsen to be independent of the bushing sleeve as taught by Newman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to fit the barrel assembly with a gas block to be utilized by the firearm (Newman; par. 38) in a removable manner, while still preventing gas from leaking into the composite (Newman; par. 38).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Adolphsen discloses a combination bushing gas escape and fastener hole (168 and/or 170 and/or 178) through said bushing sleeve and adapted to be communicatively coupled to a gas escape hole (152) through said barrel tube (Figs. 13-14; par. 66-68).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Adolphsen discloses a fastening hole (178) extending through said bushing sleeve (Figs. 13B; par. 68) and adapted to align with a barrel clearance hole (Figs. 13B-14), but does not expressly teach wherein the fastening hole is a threaded tap aligned with a barrel clearance hole extending partially through the barrel tube from an outer surface of said raised coupler section toward, but not into, a barrel inner diameter, said barrel clearance hole not communicating with a bore of said barrel tube, and said threaded tap receiving a threaded fastener to mechanically secure said gas block to said bushing sleeve.
Newman teaches a firearm barrel assembly (10) comprising a non-metal sleeve (13) arranged concentrically to a barrel tube (11), wherein one or more gas key inserts (16) are joined to the barrel tube (par. 38), and wherein a gas block (20) is joined to the one or more gas key inserts (Figs. 8-10) by a threaded fastener inserted through a hole in the gas block and threaded into a fastening hole of the one or more gas key inserts (Fig. 10; par. 38) which is aligned with a barrel clearance hole in the barrel tube (Fig. 4) and extends partially through the barrel tube from an outer surface of said raised coupler section toward, but not into, a barrel inner diameter (Fig. 4), said barrel clearance hole not communicating with a bore of said barrel tube (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the fastener of the modified Adolphsen to be inserted into a gas block hole and threaded into the fastening hole of the bushing sleeve as taught by Newman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to fit the barrel assembly with a gas block to be utilized by the firearm (Newman; par. 38) in a removable manner, while still preventing gas from leaking into the composite (Newman; par. 38).
Conclusion
Claims 19-20 and 22-25 are rejected. Claims 1-18 and 21 are withdrawn.
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Troy Chambers/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3641
/BENJAMIN S. GOMBERG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3641