The current application is a CON. of Applications 16/459835 & 15/129869, now Pat. No. 11480440 & 10337879 corresponding, and PCT/US2015/000043 filed on 12/24/2015.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 11/18/2024 have been fully considered but are not persuasive to overcome the rejection. Examiner responds to the Applicant’s argument as the following reasons:
Regarding the 103 Rejection:
Regrading Claim 2, At page 10-12, Applicant argues that Moore does not teach “predict, in response to the determination the user is to begin a drive, one or more destination”. Examiner respectably disagrees to the applicant’s argument.
Moore teaches at [0049] that, when the mobile device connects with the vehicle’s system (via a wireless connection), the user interface is displayed on the vehicle’s display screen with information—specifically, predictions regarding the possible destinations of the user’s mobile device (see [0050]). This disclosure meets the scope of “in response to detecting the communication connection, determine that a user is to begin a drive to depart a location.”
Regarding claims 15 & 28: Applicant amended claims with “in response to detecting the communication connection, determine that a user is to begin a drive prior to the vehicle beginning to drive” which is similar the claimed subject matter filed on 11/18/2024. The rejection is updated with the reference- McGavran cited on the Final Rejection sent out on 01/22/2025. The rejection under 103 is updated as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-12 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (20150300832).
With regard to claim 2, Moore discloses a mobile device comprising a communication circuitry; instructions stored in a memory; and a processor circuitry to execute the instructions (a mobile computing device 2500 includes one or more processing units 2505, a memory interface 2510 and a peripherals interface 2515, see [0180]-[0181]+ Fig.25), to:
establish a communication connection between the mobile device and a vehicle (the mobile device includes a wireless communication subsystem 2525 operates over communication network such as GSM network, Wi-fi and Bluetooth network which establish a communication connection b/w the mobile and a vehicle, see [0177]+);
in response to detecting the communication connection, determine a user is to begin a drive to depart a location (when the mobile device connect with the vehicle’s electronic system, mobile device’s screen or on a screen of the vehicle that is driven by the mobile device, see [00149]. The mapping application formulates presenting on a map (shown on the mobile device or the vehicle’s screen, a 1st UI operational stage 105, [0050]-[0051]+;
predict, in response to the determination the user is to begin a drive, one or more destinations (the mapping application shows a predicted-destination notification 150, see [0052]+); and
cause a user interface to present travel assistance information to the user based on the one or more predicted destinations (the notification 150 provides the destination’s name and address and an estimated time of arrival, distance and amount of time to the destination, see [0053]+).
Although Moore’s disclosure is not described in the same terminology, the Examiner interprets Moore’s disclosure of the system shown in Fig. 24 as including a vehicle driven by a user of the mobile device, wherein the vehicle has components for establishing travel assistance. For this reason, Moore is obvious suggestively, if not anticipatory, of the claimed subject matter.
With regard to claim 3, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the communication circuitry is to detect the communication connection established between the mobile device and the vehicle is a wireless connection (a network (wireless communication) between the mobile and vehicle’s electronic, see [0049]+).
With regard to claim 4, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuitry is to predict the one or more destinations based on historical data (tracking the position of the device with respect to a route that being navigated to a particular destination, see [0077]+ which is used to predict that destination, see [0001]+ & [0090]+)).
With regard to claim 5 , Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuitry is to predict the one or more destinations based on a calendar event (the predicted destination based on the information in the user’s calendar, see [0013]+).
With regard to claim 6, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 4, wherein the calendar event includes one or more addresses (see [0013]+).
With regard to claim 7, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuitry is to predict the one or more destinations based on a search by the user (see [0013]+).
With regard to claim 8, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuitry is to predict the one or more destinations in response to establishing the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle (see [0049]).
With regard to claim 9, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuitry is to cause the user interface to present the travel assistance information to the user based on the one or more predicted destinations in response to the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle is established (mobile device’s display, see Fig.2, [0093]+).
With regard to claim 10, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 8, wherein the processor circuitry is to cause the user interface to present the travel assistance information to the user as a set of displayed turn-by-turn instructions (providing turn-by-turn navigation instructions, see [0069]).
With regard to claim 11, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 2, wherein the processor circuitry is to cause an audio interface to present the travel assistance information to the user based on the one or more predicted destinations (audio subsystem 2525, see [0181]+).
With regard to claim 12, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 10, wherein the processor circuitry is to cause the audio interface to present the travel assistance information to the user as a set of verbal turn-by- turn instructions (see [0162]+).
With regard to claim 14, Moore teaches that the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is to establish the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle based on a determination that the user is to begin driving the vehicle in the near future (see [0048]-[0049]+).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore as applied to claims 2 accordingly above, and further in view of Cheiotti (20130238241).
With regarding to claim 13, Moore discloses recognizing the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle via the wireless connection via Bluetooth but fails to teach recognizing the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle based on a user routine (see [0042]-[0043] & [0070]-[0071]+.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Moore by including recognizing the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle based on a user routine as taught by Chelotti for improving the mobile device’s performing navigation.
Claim(s) 15-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (20150300832) in view of McGavran (20140279723).
With regard to claims 15 & 28, Moore discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instruction that, when executed (a mobile computing device 2500 includes one or more processing units 2505, a memory interface 2510 and a peripherals interface 2515, see [0180]-[0181]+ Fig.25), cause a machine to at least:
recognize a communication connection between a mobile device and a vehicle (the mobile device includes a wireless communication subsystem 2525 operates over communication network such as GSM network, Wi-fi and Bluetooth network which establish a communication connection b/w the mobile and a vehicle, see [0177]+);
in response to detecting the communication connection, determine that a user is to begin a drive (when the mobile device connect with the vehicle’s electronic system, mobile device’s screen or on a screen of the vehicle that is driven by the mobile device, see [00149]. The mapping application formulates presenting on a map (shown on the mobile device or the vehicle’s screen, a 1st UI operational stage 105, [0050]-[0051]+;
predict, in response to the determination the user is to begin the drive, one or more destinations (when the mobile device connect with the vehicle’s electronic system, mobile device’s screen or on a screen of the vehicle that is driven by the mobile device, see [00149]. The mapping application formulates presenting on a map (shown on the mobile device or the vehicle’s screen, a 1st UI operational stage 105, [0050]-[0051]+;
cause a user interface to present travel assistance information to the user based on the one or more predicted destinations (the notification 150 provides the destination’s name and address and an estimated time of arrival, distance and amount of time to the destination, see [0053]+).
Moore does not clearly teach that in response to detecting the communication connection, determine that a user is to begin a drive prior to the vehicle beginning to drive.
McGavran discloses an embodiment that when a mobile device and the vehicle are communication connection, the mobile device’s output of the map application to the vehicle’s display. The vehicle’s display presents certain content (predicted destination and routes), and physical controls for the vehicle is started (see [0030]-[0031]+).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Moore by including, in response to detecting the communication connection, a determination that a user is to begin a drive prior to the vehicle actually beginning to drive, as taught by McGavran. The combination of Moore and McGavran results in an adapted system that assists the mobile device user by providing information without requiring a search before the vehicle departs for the desired destination.
With regard to claims 16 & 29, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the machine to recognize the communication connection established between the mobile device and the vehicle is a wireless connection (a network (wireless communication) between the mobile and vehicle’s electronic, see [0049]+).
With regard to claims 17 & 30, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the machine to predict the one or more destinations based on historical data (tracking the position of the device with respect to a route that being navigated to a particular destination, see [0077]+ which is used to predict that destination, see [0001]+ & [0090]+).
With regard to claim 18 & 31, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the machine to predict the one or more destinations based on a calendar event (the predicted destination based on the information in the user’s calendar, see [0013]+).
With regard to claims 19 & 32, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the calendar event includes one or more addresses (see [0041]+).
With regard to claim 20 & 33, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the machine to predict the one or more destinations based on a search by the user (see [0013]+).
With regard to claims 21 & 34, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the machine to predict the one or more destinations in response to recognizing the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle (mobile device’s display, see Fig.2, [0093]+).
With regard to claims 22 & 35, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause presentation of the travel assistance information to the user based on the one or more predicted destinations when the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle is recognized (see [0049]-[0053]+).
With regard to claims 23 & 36, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause presentation of the travel assistance information to the user as a set of displayed turn-by-turn instructions (providing turn-by-turn navigation instructions, see [0069]).
With regard to claims 24 & 37, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause presentation of the travel assistance information via an audio interface based on the one or more predicted destinations (audio subsystem 2525, see [0181]+).
With regard to claims 25 & 38, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause presentation of the travel assistance information as a set of verbal turn-by-turn instructions (the audio subsystem 1130 is coupled to a speaker to output audio (e.g., to output voice navigation instructions), see [0162]+).
With regard to claims 27 & 40, Moore teaches that the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the machine to recognize the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle is established based on a recognition that the user is to begin driving the vehicle in the near future (see [0048]-[0049]+).
With regard to claim 41, Moore discloses a system for providing travel assistance, the system comprising wireless communication interface circuitry ; programmable circuitry; and instructions to cause the programmable circuitry (a mobile computing device 2500 includes one or more processing units 2505, a memory interface 2510; a peripherals interface 2515, and a wireless communication subsystem 2525, see [0180]-[0181]+ Fig.25), to:
establish a communication session between a mobile device and a vehicle via the wireless communication interface circuitry (the mobile device includes a wireless communication subsystem 2525 operates over communication network such as GSM network, Wi-fi and Bluetooth network which establish a communication connection b/w the mobile and a vehicle, see [0177]+);
in response to detecting the communication connection, determine that a user is to begin a drive (when the mobile device connect with the vehicle’s electronic system, mobile device’s screen or on a screen of the vehicle that is driven by the mobile device, see [00149]. The mapping application formulates presenting on a map (shown on the mobile device or the vehicle’s screen, a 1st UI operational stage 105, [0050]-[0051]+;
predict, in response to the determination the user is to begin the drive, one or more destinations (when the mobile device connect with the vehicle’s electronic system, mobile device’s screen or on a screen of the vehicle that is driven by the mobile device, see [00149]. The mapping application formulates presenting on a map (shown on the mobile device or the vehicle’s screen, a 1st UI operational stage 105, [0050]-[0051]+;
cause a user interface to present travel assistance information to the user based on the one or more predicted destinations (the notification 150 provides the destination’s name and address and an estimated time of arrival, distance and amount of time to the destination, see [0053]+).
Moore does not clearly teach that in response to detecting the communication connection, determine that a user is to begin a drive prior to the vehicle beginning to drive.
McGavran discloses an embodiment that when a mobile device and the vehicle are communication connection, the mobile device’s output of the map application to the vehicle’s display. The vehicle’s display presents certain content (predicted destination and routes), and physical controls for the vehicle is started (see [0030]-[0031]+).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Moore by including, in response to detecting the communication connection, a determination that a user is to begin a drive prior to the vehicle actually beginning to drive, as taught by McGavran. The combination of Moore and McGavran results in an adapted system that assists the mobile device user by providing information without requiring a search before the vehicle departs for the desired destination.
With regard to claim 42, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to recognize the communication session established between the mobile device and the vehicle is a wireless connection (see [0049]).
With regard to claim 43, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to predict the one or more travel destinations based on historical data (tracking the position of the device with respect to a route that being navigated to a particular destination, see [0077]+ which is used to predict that destination, see [0001]+ & [0090]+)).
With regard to claim 44, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to predict the one or more travel destinations based on a calendar event (the predicted destination based on the information in the user’s calendar, see [0013]+).
With regard to claim 45, Moore teaches that the system of claim 43, wherein the calendar event includes one or more addresses (the predicted route based on the information in the user’s calendar, see [0062]+).
With regard to claim 46, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to predict the one or more travel destinations based on a search by the user (see [0013]+).
With regard to claim 47, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to predict the one or more travel destinations in response to recognizing the communication session between the mobile device and the vehicle (see [0049]).
With regard to claim 48, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to cause the user interface to present the travel assistance information to the user based on the one or more predicted travel destinations in response to recognizing the communication session between the mobile device and the vehicle (mobile device’s display, see Fig.2, [0093]+).
With regard to claim 49, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to cause the user interface to present the travel assistance information to the user as a set of displayed turn-by-turn instructions (providing turn-by-turn navigation instructions, see [0069]).
With regard to claim 50, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to cause an audio interface to present the travel assistance information to the user based on the one or more predicted destinations (audio subsystem 1130, see [0181]+).
With regard to claim 51, Moore teaches that the system of claim 49, wherein the programmable circuitry is to cause the audio interface to present the travel assistance information to the user as a set of verbal turn-by-turn instructions (the audio subsystem 1130 is coupled to a speaker to output audio (e.g., to output voice navigation instructions), see [0162]).
With regard to claim 53, Moore teaches that the system of claim 41, wherein the programmable circuitry is to recognize the communication session between the mobile device and the vehicle is established based on a recognition that the user is to begin driving in the near future (see[0048]-[0049]+).
With regard to claim 26, 39 & 52, Moore teaches that recognizing the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle via the wireless connection via Bluetooth but fails to teach recognizing the communication connection between the mobile device and the vehicle based on a user routine (see [0050]-[0051] & [0159]-[0165]+)
McGavran teaches at [0022] that the route prediction engine 105 performs its automated processes with different frequencies such as identify possible patterns of travel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Moore by including, in response to detecting the communication connection, a determination that a user is to begin a drive prior to the vehicle actually beginning to drive, and performing automated processes based on user routine traveling as taught by McGavran. The combination of Moore and McGavran results in an adapted system that assists the mobile device user by providing information without requiring a search before the vehicle departs for the desired destination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGA X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662