DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second electrode being configured to move within a syringe as a plunger rod or stopper in combination with an inner shield enclosing the pair of electrodes and an outer shield partially enclosing the inner shield as recited in claim 1, the second electrode extending along a wall of the syringe while also being a plunger rod or stopper as recited in claim 6, the pair of viewing windows in combination with the second electrode being a plunger rod or stopper as recited in claim 7, a second electrode being both rectangular and a plunger rod or stopper as recited in claim 8, and a second electrode being both tapered and a plunger rod or stopper as recited in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites the second electrode extending along a wall of the syringe while being a plunger rod or stopper, however such a limitation is supported in the specification as originally filed and is considered new matter.
Claim 7 recites a pair of view windows in combination with the embodiment having the second electrode being a plunger rod or stopper, however such a limitation is supported in the specification as originally filed and is considered new matter.
Claim 8 recites both electrodes being rectangular in combination with the embodiment having the second electrode being a plunger rod or stopper, however such a limitation is supported in the specification as originally filed and is considered new matter.
Claim 9 recites both electrodes being tapered in combination with the embodiment having the second electrode being a plunger rod or stopper, however such a limitation is supported in the specification as originally filed and is considered new matter.
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the embodiment having both electrodes on the sides of the wall the syringe while claim 1 upon which claim 6 depends recites the embodiment having the second electrode on the plunger, which renders claim 6 incompatible with claim 1. For examination purpose, claim 6 will be interpreted as having one electrode on the wall and one electrode on the plunger.
Claim 7 recites a pair of viewing windows between the first and second electrodes, however, such a window configuration is only appropriate for the embodiment where there are a pair of electrodes facing each other. Claim 1 upon which claim 7 defines at least one electrode being on the plunger, which does not or rather cannot have the same type of window configuration. Applicant is advised to review all the dependent claims and assure that every limitation is appropriate for the claimed embodiment where at least the second electrode is part of the plunger or stopper. For examination purposes, the wall of the syringe will be considered as an equivalent of the claimed viewing windows until the claim language is corrected.
Claim 8 recites that both electrodes are rectangular, but this is not consistent with claim 1 which requires at least the second electrodes to be a plunger or stopper. For examination purposes, only the first electrode will be understood as being rectangular.
Claim 9 recites that both electrodes are tapered, but this is not consistent with claim 1 which requires at least the second electrode to be a plunger or stopper. For examination purpose, only the first electrode will be understood as being rectangular
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-8, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,110,148 to Brown et al. (“Brown”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0186365 to Kinio et al. (“Kinio”).
Regarding claim 1, Brown teaches a sensor (Fig. 2) for measurement of contents of a syringe (80), the sensor comprising: a voltage source configured to generate a first voltage (column 2, lines 25-29), a pair of electrodes (Fig. 5-B) coupled to the voltage source including a first electrode (400a”) and a second electrode (400a’), the second electrode configured to move within the syringe and being one of a plunger rod of the syringe or a stopper of the syringe (Fig. 5-B, plunger rod), the pair of electrodes configured to apply an electric field extending through at least a portion of an interior of the syringe (column 8, lines 18-31), a measurement circuit configured to measure a capacitance across the pair of electrodes (abstract), and an outer shield (metal layer, column 6, lines 12-15) having a third voltage (the metal shield would inherently have a voltage), but does not show the inner shield.
Kinio teaches an inner shield partially (Fig. 4, 150/152) enclosing a pair of electrodes (142/144), the inner shield having a second voltage (via 168/170). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an inner shield into the sensor of Brown as taught by Kinio in order to prevent parasitic capacitance ([0050]). Once combined, the outer shield of Brown would partially enclose the inner shield.
Regarding claim 2, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 1 as shown above, Kinio further teaching the inner shield comprising a first portion (150) and a second portion (152) and the second voltage is a voltage difference between the first portion and the second portion (via 168/170). Once combined the first portion would partially enclose the first electrode and the second portion would partially enclose the second electrodes.
Regarding claim 4, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 2 as shown above, Brown further teaching the outer shield comprising a first portion and a second portion (two halves of the previously defined outer shield), the first portion of the outer shield partially enclosing the first portion of the inner shield, the second portion of the outer shield partially enclosing the second portion of the inner shield (the outer shield is designed to surround both electrodes at least partially given the broadest reasonable interpretation), and the third voltage is a fixed voltage applied to both the first portion of the outer shield and the second portion of the outer shield (the same fixed voltage would apply to both halves of the outer shield and can be labeled as a third voltage).
Regarding claim 6, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 1 as shown above, Brown further teaching the first electrode extends along a wall of the syringe, the second electrode extends along the plunger of the syringe
Regarding claim 7, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 6 as shown above, Brown further teaching the first electrode and second electrode are separated by a pair of viewing windows to provide visual access to contents of the syringe (wall of the syringe, see 112 rejection above for interpretation).
Regarding claim 8, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 6 as shown above, Brown further teaching the first electrode is
Regarding claim 10, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 1 as shown above, Brown further teaching the first electrode (400a”) extends along a wall of the syringe and the second electrode (400a’) is within the syringe (Fig. 5-B).
Regarding claim 13, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 10 as shown above, Brown teaching the first electrode being rectangular ([0253]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown and Kinio as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0069756 to Larsen.
Regarding claim 3, Brown and Kinio teaches the sensor of claim 2 as shown above, but are silent regarding the relative voltages between the electrodes and the shields.
Larsen teaches the voltage difference between a first portion and a second portion of an inner shield is equal to a voltage difference applied by the voltage source to the pair of electrodes ([0031]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the voltages between shields and electrodes to be the same as having the same voltage is common practice in order to ensure that no voltage imbalances occur in order for proper functioning and capacitance measurement.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown and Kinio as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0016054 to Ding et al. (“Ding”).
Regarding claim 5, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 1 as shown above, but do not teach the insulating layer.
Ding teaches an insulating layer (422) between an inner shield (423D/E) and an outer shield (423C). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an insulating layer in the sensor of Brown and Kinio as taught by Kinio as an insulating layer is needed for isolation so that the shield electrodes can function to shield the electrodes from parasitic conductance.
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown and Kinio as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0093042 to Klemm et al. (“Klemm”).
Regarding claim 9, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 6 as shown above, but do not teach the tapered shape.
Klemm teaches a first electrode being tapered toward an end of a container (61, Fig. 1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode of Brown to be tapered as taught by Klemm in order to improve the accuracy and precision of the capacity measurement ([0035]).
Regarding claim 14, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 10 as shown above, but do not teach the tapered shape.
Klemm teaches a first electrode being tapered toward an end of a container (61, Fig. 1). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first electrode of Brown to be tapered as taught by Klemm in order to improve the accuracy and precision of the capacity measurement ([0035]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown and Kinio as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0268656 to Bammer et al. (“Bammer”).
Regarding claim 15, Brown and Kinio teach the sensor of claim 10 as shown above, but Brown teaches a single cylindrical outer electrode instead of two outer electrodes (i.e., first and third electrodes).
Bammer teaches a cylindrical electrode configuration (Fig. 9D) incorporating a third electrode (23) extending along the wall of the container on an opposite side of the container to a first electrode (22). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as multiple pairs of measurement electrodes are advantageous for accurate measurement of the liquid content of level in elongated containers ([0069]).
Response to Arguments
The specification amendment was received on 01/30/2026. The specification amendment is acceptable.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to specification objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments and amendments with respect to art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, inter alia, that the combination of Kawai, Kinio, and Brown changes the principle of operation of the primary reference Kawai. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner submits that all the references use a pair of electrodes to measure capacitance thereby maintaining the primary principle of operation, while merely showing different types of obvious art-recognized electrodes shape and configuration variants. In any case, a new rejection has been issued in view of Brown in Kinio in order to address the new limitations presented in the most recent amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /THEODORE J STIGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783