DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in EP on September 14, 2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the EP 21196607.2-1113 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gilbert et al (2011/0060329).
Referring to claim 12, Gilbert et al teaches a method for producing an electrical voltage for supply of an electrosurgical instrument with a sequence of current impulses, the method comprising: producing a sequence of current impulses by a plurality of impulse generators (20) (paragraphs 0023-0024; Figures 1A, 1B and 3), wherein the plurality of impulse generators (20) each comprise an inductor (60) and an output side (paragraphs 0022-0025), wherein each of the output sides of the plurality of impulse generators comprises a coil (61b) that is coupled with the respective inductor of the plurality of impulse generators in a transformer-type manner (paragraph 0027; Figure 4), wherein the coils of each of the plurality of impulse generators are connected with one another (Figures 1-4). Gilbert et al teaches that “[e]ach supply 50, 52, 54…”m” may be an isolated power converter such as, for example, a so-called “flyback converter” in paragraph 0023 and then teaches that “FIG. 4 illustrates a circuit diagram of a flyback converter 70” in paragraph 0027. Furthermore, Figure 3 has multiple power supplies (50, 52, 54, M) and paragraph 0014 teaches that Figure 4 is a circuit diagram of a power supply according to an embodiment in paragraph 0014.
Referring to claims 13, Gilbert et al teaches wherein the control device is configured to output control impulses to at least two of the plurality of impulse generators concurrently (paragraph 0026).
Referring to claim 14, Gilbert et al teaches wherein the control device is configured to output control impulses to at least two of the plurality of impulse generators sequentially (paragraph 0026).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed January 20, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-6, 11, 15 and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed January 20, 2026 with respect to claims 12-14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 12 does not include the same limitations and does not require that the coils of the impulse generator outputs are electrically connected in series. Claim 12 only requires that the coils of each of the plurality of impulse generators are connected with one another, which is shown in Figures 3 and 4. Gilbert et al teaches that “[e]ach supply 50, 52, 54…”m” may be an isolated power converter such as, for example, a so-called “flyback converter” in paragraph 0023 and then teaches that “FIG. 4 illustrates a circuit diagram of a flyback converter 70” in paragraph 0027. Therefore the coils of each of the plurality of impulse generators are connected with one another since they are all part of the same system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 11, 15 and 16 are allowed. The prior art of record fails to fairly teach or disclose “wherein each of the coils of the impulse generator outputs are electrically connected in series” in the context of the claim as a whole.
Conclusion
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794