DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-final Office Action dated 06/02/2026, filed with the office on 09/01/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5-10 and 14-16 are pending. Claims 1, 9 and 10 are amended. Claims 2, 4 and 11-13 are cancelled. Claims 14-16 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of independent Claims 1, 9, 10, and new claims 14-16 which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “controller configured to estimate” and “controller is further configured to: execute” in claim 1; “controller is further configured to: extract” in claim 5; “controller determines” in claim 6; “controller determines” in claim 7; and “controller stops at least one frame detection function” and “controller has determined” in claim 8.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, these are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structures described in the applicant’s drawings: algorithms (flow charts) depicted in Fig. 8, and applicant’s specification: ¶0036: “The control unit15 is a "controller" and is implemented by, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) or a micro processing unit (MPU)” as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2019/0259180 A1), in view Lin et al. (US 2019/0206078 A1) and in further view of Kishikawa et al. (US 2009/0080697 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches, An information processing apparatus comprising: a controller configured to (Tanaka, ¶0038: “calibration apparatus 1 is mainly configured by a known microcomputer that includes a central processing unit”) estimate an attitude of a single onboard camera based on captured images that have been captured by the single onboard camera, (Tanaka, ¶0003: “an attitude or the like of the onboard camera is calibrated through use of the acquired image”) wherein the controller is further configured to: in a case where the single onboard camera is mounted in a first state without a known calibration value, (Tanaka, ¶0083: “the determined roll angle θroll and depression angle θpitch being applied to expression 2, the position of the front camera 17 relative to the imaged markers 39 and 41 is determined”; applicant’s specification ¶0017: “calibration values (mounting position as well as pan, tilt, and roll) of the camera11” therefore, position of the first camera is interpreted to teach-- “first state without a known calibration value”) execute first attitude estimation processing (Tanaka, ¶0100: “the attitude, that is, the depression angle θ pitch, the roll angle θ roll, and the direction θ yaw of each camera relative to the own vehicle 27 can be determined by the processes”) that includes: setting a rectangular-shaped first region of interest in the captured images; (Tanaka, ¶0056: “marker recognizing unit 9 sets a portion of the image by the front camera 17 as a target detection area 43” also see Fig. 5, area 43 is rectangular) and estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, (Tanaka, ¶0003: “attitude or the like of the onboard camera is calibrated through use of the acquired image”). However, Tanaka does not explicitly teach, calculating a first calibration value based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in the first region of interest; and in a case where the single onboard camera is mounted in a second state with the known calibration value that has been previously determined in the first attitude estimation processing, execute second attitude estimation processing that includes: setting, in the captured images, a trapezoidal-shaped second region of interest corresponding to a shape of a road surface appearing in the captured images by using a known calibration value; and estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, and calculating a second calibration value, based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, and calculating a second calibration value, based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in a superimposed portion where the first region of interest and the second region of interest overlap each other, wherein a size of the rectangular-shaped first region of interest and a size of the trapezoidal- shaped second region of interest both are smaller than an entire size of each of the captured images.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Lin teaches, calculating a first calibration value (Lin, ¶0025: “in the process of tracking a pose of a camera… characteristic point method so that the pose of the camera can be calculated more accurately”) based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in the first region of interest; (Lin, ¶0006: “tracking based on a fixed marker is mostly triggered by an indirect method (characteristic point+descriptor), and is conducted by an algorithm such as an optical flow method”) and in a case where the single onboard camera is mounted in a second state (Lin, ¶0071: “tracking by the direct method, to output pose 2, which is recorded as a second pose”) with the known calibration value that has been previously determined in the first attitude estimation processing, execute second attitude estimation processing (Lin, ¶0049: “the pose of the camera may be determined based on the first pose and the second pose… Kalman filtering is applied to the spatial coordinates (Tx, Ty, Tz) and the angles (roll, pitch, yaw) estimated from the previous and current frames”) that includes: setting, in the captured images, a (Lin, ¶0081: “unit 303 is configured to determine a region of interest based on the second pose”) corresponding to a shape of a road surface appearing in the captured images by using a known calibration value; (Lin, ¶0039: “marker placed in a real scene, including a planar object such as a poster, a display board, a book, a floor sticker, etc. Typically, a planar marker can be used as a positioning reference, such as a rectangular parallelepiped”) and estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, (Lin, ¶0039: “By recognizing the marker in the image and processing the image containing the marker, the pose of the camera is estimated”) and calculating a second calibration value, based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images (Lin, ¶0049: “the pose of the camera may be determined based on the first pose and the second pose… Kalman filtering is applied to the spatial coordinates (Tx, Ty, Tz) and the angles (roll, pitch, yaw) estimated from the previous and current frames”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka using the teachings of Lin to introduce estimating camera pose using optical flow method. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of computing different camera poses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka and Lin to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Tanaka and Lin does not explicitly teach a trapezoidal-shaped (region or interest) and optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in a superimposed portion where the first region of interest and the second region of interest overlap each other, wherein a size of the rectangular-shaped first region of interest and a size of the trapezoidal- shaped second region of interest both are smaller than an entire size of each of the captured images.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Kishikawa teaches, a trapezoidal-shaped (region or interest) (Kishikawa, ¶0089: “captured image of the grid located ahead of the vehicle has a substantially trapezoidal distortion as shown by the solid line”; also see Fig. 7, Fig. 10, Fig. 11 and Fig. 14) and optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images (Kishikawa, ¶0106: “FIG. 11 is a flowchart showing a modified flow of the feature point tracking process”) in a superimposed portion where the first region of interest and the second region of interest overlap each other, (Kishikawa, FIG. 11: rectangular and trapezoidal shaped regions are overlapped) wherein a size of the rectangular-shaped first region of interest (Kishikawa, ¶0117: “An image Ex1 shown in the bottom of FIG. 14 is one example of a cutout image. The affine transform of the cutout image Ex1 gives a rectangle-framed image”) and a size of the trapezoidal- shaped second region of interest both are smaller than an entire size of each of the captured images. (Kishikawa, ¶0085: “the cutout images simply cut out from the respective original images”; also see Fig. 7, Fig. 10, Fig. 11 and Fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin using the teachings of Kishikawa to introduce rectangular and trapezoidal overlapping zone in the image. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of tracking feature points through the overlapping region to perform a camera calibration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin and Kishikawa to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka, in view of Lin, and in further view of Kishikawa teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second region of interest has a shape according to a shape of the road surface that appears to converge toward a vanishing point in the captured images. (Kishikawa, Fig. 11: the rectangular cut out regions include trapezoidal shape of road surface that appears to converge towards a vanishing point).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin, and in further view of Kishikawa using the additional teachings of Kishikawa to introduce a converging road shape. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of computing a calibration for the camera based on the shape of the road view. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin and Kishikawa to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka, in view of Lin, and in further view of Kishikawa teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: extract, from each of the first region of interest and the second region of interest, a group of line segment pairs based on the optical flows; (Tanaka, ¶0046: “A pair of markers 39 and 41 is provided on a floor surface”; and ¶0007: “a first feature portion in the marker moves to a position overlapping a second feature portion in the marker in the image”) and estimate, as the first calibration value and the second calibration value, rotation angles of pan, tilt, and roll axes of the single onboard camera based on each of the line segment pairs. (Tanaka, ¶0100: “the depression angle θ pitch, the roll angle θ roll, and the direction θ yaw of each camera relative to the own vehicle 27 can be determined by the processes”; also see Figs. 9-12).
Regarding claim 9, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps in method claim 9 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in apparatus claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Tanaka, Lin and Kishikawa presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Tanaka teaches, An information processing method performed by an information processing apparatus having a controller, (Tanaka, ¶0038: “the calibration apparatus 1 is mainly configured by a known microcomputer that includes a central processing unit (CPU)”).
Regarding claim 10, it recites a computer-readable recording medium storing a program that executes a process corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of the program process in computer-readable medium of claim 10 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the apparatus claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Tanaka, Lin and Kishikawa presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Tanaka teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored thein a program that causes a computer to execute a process (Tanaka, ¶0038: “Various functions of the calibration apparatus 1 are actualized by the CPU 3 running a program that is stored in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”).
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka, in view of Lin, and in further view of Kishikawa teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the trapezoidal-shaped second region of interest does not overlap the rectangular- shaped first region of interest so that the superimposed portion does not include all of the trapezoidal-shaped second region of interest and the superimposed portion is smaller than the trapezoidal-shaped second region of interest. (Kishikawa, ¶0023: “obtain a front view image of a preset reticulate pattern from image data of the reticulate pattern having a known shape”; also see Fig. 7, S102, reproduced below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin, and in further view of Kishikawa using the additional teachings of Kishikawa to introduce a trapezoidal region that is larger than the overlapping trapezoidal region. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of only employing the overlapping smaller region for efficiently computing the camera calibration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin and Kishikawa to obtain the invention in claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 14. Therefore, the recited steps in method claim 15 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in apparatus claim 14. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Tanaka, Lin and Kishikawa presented in rejection of claim 14, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 16, it recites a computer-readable recording medium with program instructions corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 14. Therefore, the program instructions in computer-readable recording medium claim 16 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in apparatus claim 14. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Tanaka, Lin and Kishikawa presented in rejection of claim 14, apply to this claim.
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2019/0259180 A1), in view of Lin et al. (US 2019/0206078 A1), in further view of Kishikawa et al. (US 2009/0080697 A1) and still in further view of Hosono et al. (US 2022/0277592 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka, in view of Lin, and in further view of Kishikawa teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the controller determines angle estimates for the pan, tilt, and roll axes. However, the combination of Tanaka, Lin and Kishikawa does not explicitly teach, based on a median value after making a histogram of each of the rotation angles that have been estimated.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Hosono teaches, based on a median value (Hosono, ¶0053: “the median thereof is defined as the action direction of this frame image”) after making a histogram of each of the rotation angles that have been estimated. (Hosono, ¶0053: “a movement direction histogram is generated based on the angles of the motion vectors of the optical flow that are included in the object region of each frame image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin and in further view of Kishikawa using the teachings of Hosono to introduce a histogram of angles. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of estimating an angle with better accuracy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin, Kishikawa and Hosono to obtain the invention in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka, in view of Lin, in further view of Kishikawa and still in further view of Hosono teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the controller determines axis misalignment of the single onboard camera (Kishikawa, ¶0011: “efficient and accurate detection of a positional misalignment in the perpendicular direction”) based on the angle estimates that have been determined. (Tanaka, ¶0077: “an orientation of the front camera 17 relative to the analyzed pattern, that is, a depression angle θpitch and a roll angle θroll of the front camera 17 are determined”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin, in further view of Kishikawa and still in further view of Hosono using the additional teachings of Kishikawa to introduce a measuring a positional misalignment. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of compensating for the measured misalignment and recalibrating the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin, Kishikawa and Hosono to obtain the invention in claim 7.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2019/0259180 A1), in view Lin et al. (US 2019/0206078 A1), in further view of Kishikawa et al. (US 2009/0080697 A1), still in further view of Hosono et al. (US 2022/0277592 A1) and yet in further view of Nakagawa (US 2021/0284137 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka, in view of Lin, in further view of Kishikawa and still in further view of Hosono teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 7. However, the combination of Tanaka, Lin, Kishikawa and Hosono does not explicitly teach wherein the controller stops at least one of a parking frame detection function and an automatic parking function when the controller has determined that the axis misalignment is exists.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Nakagawa teaches, wherein the controller stops at least one of a parking frame detection function and an automatic parking function when the controller has determined that the axis misalignment is exists. (Nakagawa, ¶0023: “a signal for stopping the automatic parking operation to the automatic drive controller 330 when determining that the error detector 340 detects an error or malfunction of the automatic parking operation”; the error/malfunction in the system is interpreted to include axis misalignment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin, in further view of Kishikawa, and still in further view of Hosono using the teachings of Nakagawa to introduce termination of an operation. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of ending a parking operation when the sensor view is misaligned to avoid potential collision. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin, Kishikawa, Hosono and Nakagawa to obtain the invention in claim 8.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662