DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3 and 5-10 are pending. Claims 1, 9 and 10 are amended. Claims 2, 4 and 11-13 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 6, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been fully considered; but they are not found persuasive. Specifically, in page 7 of its reply, Applicant argues in second paragraph that Oba does not disclose or render obvious Applicant’s claimed “estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, and calculating a second calibration value, based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in a superimposed portion where the first region of interest and the second region of interest overlap each other”. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1 091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The recited limitations are mapped to the combination of the cited prior art references Tanaka, Lin and Oba. Tanaka discloses calibrating the attitude of an onboard camera— Tanaka, ¶0003: “an attitude or the like of the onboard camera is calibrated through use of the acquired image”. Lin discloses optical flow of feature points— Lin, ¶0006: “tracking based on a fixed marker is mostly triggered by an indirect method (characteristic point+descriptor), and is conducted by an algorithm such as an optical flow method” and computes the change in camera pose across frames— Lin, ¶0049: “the pose of the camera may be determined based on the first pose and the second pose… Kalman filtering is applied to the spatial coordinates (Tx, Ty, Tz) and the angles (roll, pitch, yaw) estimated from the previous and current frames”. Oba discloses optical flow analysis— Oba, ¶0147: “The optical flow filter 126 detects the velocity at which a specific number of points on the object move between the time series image frames” wherein the target regions includes a rectangular first region and a trapezoidal second region on the road— Oba, ¶0181: “a central projection image including the rectangular shape of the road surface, for example, the parallel lines on the right and left sides of the vehicle are captured as the right and left sides of a trapezoid”) wherein the regions are overlapped— Oba, Fig. 16 shows the regions of interest overlaps. Figure 16 is reproduced below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of tracking the optical flow of feature points in the target overlapping region to compute a calibration value. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “controller configured to estimate” and “controller is further configured to: execute” in claim 1; “controller is further configured to: extract” in claim 5; “controller determines” in claim 6; “controller determines” in claim 7; and “controller stops at least one frame detection function” and “controller has determined” in claim 8.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, these are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structures described in the applicant’s drawings: algorithms (flow charts) depicted in Fig. 8, and applicant’s specification: ¶0036: “The control unit15 is a "controller" and is implemented by, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) or a micro processing unit (MPU)” as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2019/0259180 A1), in view Lin et al. (US 2019/0206078 A1) and in further view of Oba et al. (US 2018/0365859 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches, An information processing apparatus comprising: a controller configured to (Tanaka, ¶0038: “calibration apparatus 1 is mainly configured by a known microcomputer that includes a central processing unit”) estimate an attitude of a single onboard camera based on captured images that have been captured by the single onboard camera, (Tanaka, ¶0003: “an attitude or the like of the onboard camera is calibrated through use of the acquired image”) wherein the controller is further configured to: in a case where the single onboard camera is mounted in a first state without a known calibration value, (Tanaka, ¶0083: “the determined roll angle θroll and depression angle θpitch being applied to expression 2, the position of the front camera 17 relative to the imaged markers 39 and 41 is determined”; applicant’s specification ¶0017: “calibration values (mounting position as well as pan, tilt, and roll) of the camera11” therefore, position of the first camera is interpreted to teach-- “first state without a known calibration value”) execute first attitude estimation processing (Tanaka, ¶0100: “the attitude, that is, the depression angle θ pitch, the roll angle θ roll, and the direction θ yaw of each camera relative to the own vehicle 27 can be determined by the processes”) that includes: setting a rectangular-shaped first region of interest in the captured images; (Tanaka, ¶0056: “marker recognizing unit 9 sets a portion of the image by the front camera 17 as a target detection area 43” also see Fig. 5, area 43 is rectangular) and estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, (Tanaka, ¶0003: “attitude or the like of the onboard camera is calibrated through use of the acquired image”). However, Tanaka does not explicitly teach, calculating a first calibration value based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in the first region of interest; and in a case where the single onboard camera is mounted in a second state with the known calibration value that has been previously determined in the first attitude estimation processing, execute second attitude estimation processing that includes: setting, in the captured images, a trapezoidal-shaped second region of interest corresponding to a shape of a road surface appearing in the captured images by using a known calibration value; and estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, and calculating a second calibration value, based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, and calculating a second calibration value, based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in a superimposed portion where the first region of interest and the second region of interest overlap each other.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Lin teaches, calculating a first calibration value (Lin, ¶0025: “in the process of tracking a pose of a camera… characteristic point method so that the pose of the camera can be calculated more accurately”) based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in the first region of interest; (Lin, ¶0006: “tracking based on a fixed marker is mostly triggered by an indirect method (characteristic point+descriptor), and is conducted by an algorithm such as an optical flow method”) and in a case where the single onboard camera is mounted in a second state (Lin, ¶0071: “tracking by the direct method, to output pose 2, which is recorded as a second pose”) with the known calibration value that has been previously determined in the first attitude estimation processing, execute second attitude estimation processing (Lin, ¶0049: “the pose of the camera may be determined based on the first pose and the second pose… Kalman filtering is applied to the spatial coordinates (Tx, Ty, Tz) and the angles (roll, pitch, yaw) estimated from the previous and current frames”) that includes: setting, in the captured images, a (Lin, ¶0081: “unit 303 is configured to determine a region of interest based on the second pose”) corresponding to a shape of a road surface appearing in the captured images by using a known calibration value; (Lin, ¶0039: “marker placed in a real scene, including a planar object such as a poster, a display board, a book, a floor sticker, etc. Typically, a planar marker can be used as a positioning reference, such as a rectangular parallelepiped”) and estimating the attitude of the single onboard camera, (Lin, ¶0039: “By recognizing the marker in the image and processing the image containing the marker, the pose of the camera is estimated”) and calculating a second calibration value, based on optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images (Lin, ¶0049: “the pose of the camera may be determined based on the first pose and the second pose… Kalman filtering is applied to the spatial coordinates (Tx, Ty, Tz) and the angles (roll, pitch, yaw) estimated from the previous and current frames”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka using the teachings of Lin to introduce estimating camera pose using optical flow method. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of computing different camera poses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka and Lin to obtain the above-described limitations in claim 1. However, the combination of Tanaka and Lin does not explicitly teach, a trapezoidal-shaped (region or interest) and optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images in a superimposed portion where the first region of interest and the second region of interest overlap each other.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Oba teaches, a trapezoidal-shaped (region or interest) (Oba, ¶0194: “the relevant process may be limited to a predictable road surface range such as a finite neighbor trapezoidal range”; also see, Fig. 16) and optical flows of feature points across frames of the captured images (Oba, ¶0147: “The optical flow filter 126 detects the velocity at which a specific number of points on the object move between the time series image frames”) in a superimposed portion where the first region of interest and the second region of interest overlap each other. (Oba, Fig. 16 shows the rectangular and trapezoidal regions overlap in a superimposed manner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin using the teachings of Oba to introduce computing optical flow in a trapezoidal shaped region of interest. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of tracking feature points through a rectangular target region overlapping the trapezoidal road markings to perform calibration computation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin and Oba to obtain the invention in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka, in view of Lin, and in further view of Oba teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second region of interest has a shape according to a shape of the road surface that appears to converge toward a vanishing point in the captured images. (Oba, ¶0181: “parallel lines on the right and left sides of the vehicle are captured as the right and left sides of a trapezoid. In a case where the infinite far point is included in the screen, the intersection point is the so-called infinite point”; and ¶0199: “infinite point (vanishing point)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin, and in further view of Oba using the additional teachings of Oba to introduce a vanishing point. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of accounting for a vanishing point in calibration calculation for higher accuracy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin and Oba to obtain the invention in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka, in view of Lin, and in further view of Oba teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to: extract, from each of the first region of interest and the second region of interest, a group of line segment pairs based on the optical flows; (Tanaka, ¶0046: “A pair of markers 39 and 41 is provided on a floor surface”; and ¶0007: “a first feature portion in the marker moves to a position overlapping a second feature portion in the marker in the image”) and estimate, as the first calibration value and the second calibration value, rotation angles of pan, tilt, and roll axes of the single onboard camera based on each of the line segment pairs. (Tanaka, ¶0100: “the depression angle θ pitch, the roll angle θ roll, and the direction θ yaw of each camera relative to the own vehicle 27 can be determined by the processes”; also see Figs. 9-12).
Regarding claim 9, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps in method claim 9 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in apparatus claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Tanaka, Lin and Oba presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Tanaka teaches, An information processing method performed by an information processing apparatus having a controller, (Tanaka, ¶0038: “the calibration apparatus 1 is mainly configured by a known microcomputer that includes a central processing unit (CPU)”).
Regarding claim 10, it recites a computer-readable recording medium storing a program that executes a process corresponding to the elements of the apparatus recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of the program process in computer-readable medium of claim 10 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the apparatus claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Tanaka, Lin and Oba presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Additionally, Tanaka teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored thein a program that causes a computer to execute a process (Tanaka, ¶0038: “Various functions of the calibration apparatus 1 are actualized by the CPU 3 running a program that is stored in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”).
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2019/0259180 A1), in view of Lin et al. (US 2019/0206078 A1), in further view of Oba et al. (US 2018/0365859 A1) and still in further view of Hosono et al. (US 2022/0277592 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka, in view of Lin, and in further view of Oba teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the controller determines angle estimates for the pan, tilt, and roll axes. However, the combination of Tanaka, Lin and Oba does not explicitly teach, based on a median value after making a histogram of each of the rotation angles that have been estimated.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Hosono teaches, based on a median value (Hosono, ¶0053: “the median thereof is defined as the action direction of this frame image”) after making a histogram of each of the rotation angles that have been estimated. (Hosono, ¶0053: “a movement direction histogram is generated based on the angles of the motion vectors of the optical flow that are included in the object region of each frame image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin and in further view of Oba using the teachings of Hosono to introduce a histogram of angles. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of estimating an angle with better accuracy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin, Oba and Hosono to obtain the invention in claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka, in view of Lin, in further view of Oba and still in further view of Hosono teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the controller determines axis misalignment of the single onboard camera based on the angle estimates that have been determined. (Oba, ¶0011: “a field angle mismatch amount that is the correction amount of the first camera as a shift angle between a camera optical axis and a vehicle running direction”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin, in further view of oba and still in further view of Hosono using the additional teachings of Oba to introduce an angle calculation. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of estimating an axis misalignment based on the angle measurement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin, Oba and Hosono to obtain the invention in claim 7.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 2019/0259180 A1), in view Lin et al. (US 2019/0206078 A1), in further view of Oba et al. (US 2018/0365859 A1), still in further view of Hosono et al. (US 2022/0277592 A1) and yet in further view of Nakagawa (US 2021/0284137 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka, in view of Lin, in further view of Oba and still in further view of Hosono teaches, The information processing apparatus according to claim 7. However, the combination of Tanaka, Lin, Oba and Hosono does not explicitly teach wherein the controller stops at least one of a parking frame detection function and an automatic parking function when the controller has determined that the axis misalignment is exists.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Nakagawa teaches, wherein the controller stops at least one of a parking frame detection function and an automatic parking function when the controller has determined that the axis misalignment is exists. (Nakagawa, ¶0023: “a signal for stopping the automatic parking operation to the automatic drive controller 330 when determining that the error detector 340 detects an error or malfunction of the automatic parking operation”; the error/malfunction in the system is interpreted to include axis misalignment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tanaka in view of Lin, in further view of Oba, and still in further view of Hosono using the teachings of Nakagawa to introduce termination of an operation. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of ending a parking operation when the sensor view is misaligned to avoid potential collision. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Tanaka, Lin, Oba, Hosono and Nakagawa to obtain the invention in claim 8.
Conclusion
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662