DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 17/942,489, filed 09/12/2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1, 2, and 13-20 in the reply filed on 10/08/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that undue search burden is not proven. This is not found persuasive because the product and method require different limitations with different requirements for search that are not necessarily overlapping, such as the example given in the restriction- the product can be made by another and materially different process, such as a different charging cycle.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/08/2025.
Claims 1, 2, and 13-20 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the magnesium compound”. However, the magnesium compound has not been introduced and lacks antecedent basis. Claim 13 is interpreted in line with claim 2 and the specification, wherein the magnesium compound is described separately from the magnesium disposed on at least a portion of the surface of the current collector (see claim 2 and page 2 of instant specification). Accordingly, “the magnesium compound” is interpreted as “a magnesium compound”.
Claims 14, 15, and 18 recite the limitation "the protective layer". However, the protective layer has not been introduced and lacks antecedent basis. Claims 14, 15, and 18 are interpreted as “a protective layer”.
Claim 16 recites “a current collector” however, it is unclear whether this is a second current collector or referring to the current collector of claim 1. Claim 16 is interpreted as “the current collector”.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 recites “wherein the second electrode comprises a current collector” (see 112(b) rejection above) which does not further limit the invention of claim 1 in which it is dependent, as claim 1 recites “a second electrode comprising a current collector”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US-20210280854-A1) in view of Hoshina (US-20170271663-A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Kwon teaches an electrochemical cell (Fig. 2C; 1; [0076] [0123]), comprising:
a first electrode (Fig. 2C, 12; [0076] [0123]) comprising a lithium intercalation compound (see [0081], wherein the positive electrode has material capable of reversibly absorbing lithium ions, thus an intercalation compound) having a nickel content ([0055] and claim 7) of greater than or equal to 70 at% (([0055] and claim 7; wherein 80-98 mol% converts to 80-98 at% in Formula 5 [0050-0052]; which is within the claimed range) relative to other transition metals in the lithium intercalation compound ([0050-0055], wherein the relation is to the other compounds in Formula 5);
a second electrode (Fig. 2C; 20; [0118] [0123]) comprising a current collector (Fig. 2C, 21; [0076], [0123]);
and a separator (Fig. 2C; 30; [0076] [0123]) between the first electrode 20 and the second electrode 12.
However, Kwon fails to teach a second electrode with magnesium on at least a portion of a surface of the current collector.
Hoshina teaches a second electrode (Hoshina; [0061] negative electrode which is second to a first positive electrode [0062]) with magnesium [0060] on at least a portion of a surface (see [0060] wherein a current collector alloyed with Mg has Mg on at least a portion of its surface) of the current collector ([0060], “negative electrode current collector”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to alloy the negative electrode current collector 21 with Mg, as suggested by Hoshina, in order to reduce weight [0093] and improve contact resistance [0097].
Regarding claim 2,
Kwon teaches an electrochemical cell (Fig. 2C; 1; [0076] [0123]), comprising:
a first electrode (Fig. 2C, 12; [0076] [0123]) comprising a lithium intercalation compound (see [0081], wherein the positive electrode has material capable of reversibly absorbing lithium ions, thus an intercalation compound) having a nickel content ([0055] and claim 7) of greater than or equal to 70 at% (([0055] and claim 7; wherein 80-98 mol% converts to 80-98 at% in Formula 5 [0050-0052]; which is within the claimed range) relative to other transition metals in the lithium intercalation compound ([0050-0055], wherein the relation is to the other compounds in Formula 5);
a second electrode (Fig. 2C; 20; [0118], [0123]) comprising a current collector (Fig. 2C, 21; [0076], [0123]);
a separator (Fig. 2C; 30; [0076] [0123]) between the first electrode 20 and the second electrode 12;
and a protective layer ([0083], “coating layer”, wherein any coating layer may be a protective layer) adjacent to the second electrode (Fig. 2C, wherein all the layers of 1 are adjacent to each other), wherein the protective layer [0083] comprises a magnesium ([0083], “Mg”) compound [0083], “compound of a coating element…coating element for the coating layer may be magnesium (Mg)”, and wherein the protective layer [0083] has an average thickness of less than or equal to 10 um ([0066]; less than 100 nm or .1 um and greater than .1 nm, which is entirely within the claimed range).
However, Kwon fails to teach a second electrode with magnesium on at least a portion of a surface of the current collector.
Hoshina teaches a second electrode (Hoshina; [0061] negative electrode which is second to a first positive electrode [0062]) with magnesium [0060] on at least a portion of a surface (see [0060] wherein a current collector alloyed with Mg has Mg on at least a portion of its surface) of the current collector ([0060], “negative electrode current collector”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to alloy the negative electrode current collector 21 with Mg, as suggested by Hoshina, in order to reduce weight [0093] and improve contact resistance [0097].
Regarding claim 13,
Kwon in view of Hoshina teaches the electrochemical cell 1 of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the magnesium compound (see 112(b) rejection above; see [0083]) comprises MgO (see [0083] “coating layer may include at least one compound of a coating element selected from…an oxide…of the coating element…the coating element for the coating layer may be Mg”, thus MgO)
Regarding claim 14,
Kwon in view of Hoshina teaches the electrochemical cell 1 of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the protective layer [0083] further comprises a lithium compound ([0083], “Li…compound”).
Regarding claim 15,
Kwon in view of Hoshina teaches the electrochemical cell 1 of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the protective layer (Fig. 2C, 24; [0123], wherein “a passivation layer” is a protective layer, see 112(b) rejection above) comprises a lithium compound [0123] comprising LiF [0123].
Regarding claim 16,
Kwon in view of Hoshina teaches the electrochemical cell 1 of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the second electrode 20 comprises a current collector 21 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 17,
Kwon in view of Hoshina teaches the electrochemical cell 1 of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to teach wherein the second electrode 20 is free of lithium. However, in another embodiment, Kwon teaches wherein the second electrode 20 is free of lithium (Fig. 2A, 20; [0120, “22 may be, for example, Li-free regions”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to remove layers 23’ and 24 of Fig. 2C to obtain the structure of 2A in order to simply manufacturing and reduce material cost, and because Kwon teaches 2A as an acceptable embodiment of the invention [0076].
Regarding claim 18,
Kwon in view of Hoshina teaches the electrochemical cell 1 of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the protective layer ([0083], “coating layer”; wherein any coating layer is a protective layer, see 112(b) rejection above) has an average thickness of less than or equal to 10 um ([0066]; less than 100 nm or .1 um and greater than .1 nm, which is entirely within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 19,
Kwon in view of Hoshina teaches the electrochemical cell 1 of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising a source of lithium (Fig. 2C, 12; see [0079-0083]wherein the positive electrode contains Li and is thus a source of lithium for the battery).
Regarding claim 20,
Kwon in view of Hoshina teaches the electrochemical cell 1 of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first electrode 12 comprises a source of lithium (Fig. 2C, 12; see [0079-0083] wherein the positive electrode contains Li and is thus a source of lithium for the battery)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ryu (US-20230044623-A1), relevant to a positive electrode containing a high nickel content.
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723