DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 7-22 are currently pending
Claims 5-6 were previously canceled
Claims 21-22 are newClaims 1, 4 and 7 are currently amended
Claims 1-4 and 7-22 are currently rejected
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/17/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of co-pending Application No. 18/824467, co-pending Application No. 18/824502, and co-pending Application No. 18/824513 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajendran et al. (U.S. 2018/0148883 A1) (hereinafter “Raj”).
Regarding Claim 1:
Raj teaches a filtering system for a washing or drying machine (see FIG. 1, an appliance 14) (see FIG. 2, lint removal system 12 further including a lint processing pump 10) (see paragraphs 1, 2, 24 and 32), said filtering system comprising:
a casing internally defining a cavity (Examiner’s note: Examiner is broadly interpreting ‘a cavity’ as an entire interior space/region/area within the laundry appliance housing/casing) (see FIGS. 3-5, casing 26 having an interior cavity/space/region/area) (see paragraphs 24-26 and 38), the casing comprising an inlet configured to receive a fluid, the inlet leading into the cavity (see FIGS. 3-5, casing 26 having an interior cavity) (see FIGS. 2-5, a fluid/lint inlet 54) (see paragraphs 24-26 and 38), and at least one outlet configured to deliver the fluid coming from the cavity (see FIGS. 2-5, an outlet 56) (see paragraph 25);
a filtering assembly contained in the cavity and configured to conduct the fluid entering said casing through the inlet (see FIG. 5, a filter 52) (see paragraphs 25-30 and 38), the filtering assembly being configured to trap any particles contained in said fluid (see FIG. 5, a filter 52) (see paragraphs 25-30 and 38);
a compacting assembly situated in said cavity, the compacting assembly being configured for collecting and compacting the particles trapped by the filtering assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38);
a driving assembly configured to drive the compacting assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a motor 70 further operating a drive shaft 72) (see paragraphs 26-28); and
a storing container situated in said cavity (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made), the storing container facing the compacting assembly, and the storing container being configured to receive the particles collected and compacted by said compacting assembly (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made);
wherein the storing container is removably mounted in the cavity and is accessible through the casing (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made).
Although Raj teaches a filtering system capable of removing wet and dry lint along with particles, one may broadly interpret that Raj does not explicitly teach trapping any solid microplastic particles contained in said fluid, as recited in amended, independent claim 1. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filtering system of Raj to further remove and trap any solid microplastic particles by the filter 52 of Raj for optimization purposes (see FIG. 5, a filter 52) (see paragraphs 25-30) (see MPEP 2115 regarding device/apparatus claims and the material worked upon).
Regarding Claim 2:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 1, wherein the compacting assembly is configured to remove the solid microplastic particles from a surface of the filtering assembly configured to fluidically communicate with said inlet by conveying the solid microplastic particles towards a bottom or out of said filtering assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38).
Regarding Claim 3:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 1, wherein said compacting assembly extends axially through the filtering assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38).
Regarding Claim 4:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 1, wherein said compacting assembly comprises an endless screw configured to be rotatably driven by the driving assembly, to axially push the solid microplastic particles trapped by the filtering assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50, which further includes a plurality of apertures 74 (fluid apertures 78 and/or processing apertures 80)) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38).
Regarding Claim 7:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 1, wherein the filtering assembly comprises a hollow body having an axial through aperture conducted by said compacting assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50, which further includes a plurality of apertures 74 (fluid apertures 78 and/or processing apertures 80)) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38).
Regarding Claim 8:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 7, wherein said hollow body has a substantially cylindrical shape internally defining said axial through aperture (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50, which further includes a plurality of apertures 74 (fluid apertures 78 and/or processing apertures 80)) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38).
Regarding Claim 9:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 7, wherein said hollow body has a substantially cylindrical shape internally defining said axial through aperture, and wherein said axial through aperture faces towards said storing container (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50, which further includes a plurality of apertures 74 (fluid apertures 78 and/or processing apertures 80)) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38).
Regarding Claim 10:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 1, wherein said casing comprises a plurality of outlets configured for delivering the fluid coming from the cavity; said filtering system further comprising a flow diverter assembly situated in the cavity and configured for assuming a plurality of operating conditions defining, through the cavity, a respective plurality of fluid paths between the inlet and the plurality of outlets (see FIGS. 2 and 5, an impeller 22) (see paragraphs 22 and 38).
Regarding Claim 11:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 10, wherein at least one of said plurality of operating conditions provides a fluid path that goes through said filtering assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, an impeller 22) (see paragraphs 22 and 38) (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50, which further includes a plurality of apertures 74 (fluid apertures 78 and/or processing apertures 80)) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38).
Regarding Claim 12:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 10, wherein at least one of said plurality of operating conditions provides an additional fluid path that does not go through said filtering assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, an impeller 22) (see paragraphs 22 and 38) (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a blade assembly 34 further including a rotating blade 50, which further includes a plurality of apertures 74 (fluid apertures 78 and/or processing apertures 80, wherein some of the apertures do not go through filter) (see paragraphs 24-28, 30 and 38) (see paragraph 31 further discussing filter-free appliances).
Regarding Claim 13:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 10, wherein said driving assembly is configured for controlling said flow diverter assembly, switching said flow diverter assembly between said plurality of operating conditions (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a motor 70 further operating a drive shaft 72 and impeller 22) (see paragraphs 26-28).
Regarding Claim 14:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 10, wherein said flow diverter assembly axially faces the filtering assembly (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a motor 70 further operating a drive shaft 72 and impeller 22) (see paragraphs 26-28).
Regarding Claim 15:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 10, wherein said flow diverter assembly comprises at least one diaphragm having at least one hole, the at least one diaphragm being configured to be rotatably driven (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a motor 70 further operating a drive shaft 72 and impeller 22) (see paragraphs 26-28).
Regarding Claim 16:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 15, wherein said flow diverter assembly comprises a plurality of diaphragms having at least one hole axially aligned with one another, the plurality of diaphragms having at least one hole being configured to be rotatably driven in a coordinated manner around a same axis of rotation (see FIGS. 2 and 5, a motor 70 further operating a drive shaft 72 and impeller 22) (see paragraphs 26-28).
Regarding Claim 17:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 1, further comprising a bypass assembly configured for automatically excluding the filtering assembly from a fluid flow from the inlet to said at least one outlet in predetermined operating conditions (see FIG. 2 further illustrating a bypass assembly for bypassing washing assembly 16).
Regarding Claim 18:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 17, wherein said bypass assembly comprises a non-return valve mounted upstream of the filtering assembly (see FIG. 2, check valves 142) (see paragraph 35).
Regarding Claim 19:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 1, further comprising a clogging sensor configured to detect clogging of the filtering assembly (see paragraphs 50-53 further discussing low pressure areas and clogging) (see paragraphs 54-58 further discussing modifications and variations to the filtering system). As a result, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to include a clogging sensor to further detect malfunction or too much debris blocking the filtering assembly of Raj (see paragraphs 50-53 further discussing low pressure areas and clogging) (see paragraphs 54-58 further discussing modifications and variations to the filtering system).
Regarding Claim 20:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 19, wherein said clogging sensor comprises a pressure sensor situated upstream and/or downstream of the filtering assembly (see paragraphs 50-53 further discussing low pressure areas and clogging) (see paragraphs 54-58 further discussing modifications and variations to the filtering system). (see paragraphs 50-53 further discussing low pressure areas and clogging) (see paragraphs 54-58 further discussing modifications and variations to the filtering system). As a result, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to include a clogging sensor to further detect malfunction or too much debris blocking the filtering assembly of Raj (see paragraphs 50-53 further discussing low pressure areas and clogging) (see paragraphs 54-58 further discussing modifications and variations to the filtering system)
Regarding Claim 21:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 1, wherein said storing container has a substantially cup-like shape and is housed in a lower closure member removably mounted to a hollow portion of said casing (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made) (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Changes in shape regarding modifications to shapes).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the shape of the storing container to have a substantially cup-like shape for optimization purposes (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made) (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Changes in shape regarding modifications to shapes).
Regarding Claim 22:
Raj teaches the filtering system according to claim 7, wherein a sealing element is axially adjacent between said hollow body and said storing container (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filtering system of Raj to include a sealing element axially adjacent between said hollow body and said storing container for optimization purposes and for effective connection and sealing and to prevent any leaks (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made).
Other References Considered
CHENGDU et al. (CN 107447452 A) (hereinafter “Cheng”) (see attached English description) teaches a water-saving washing machine filter device.
Lim et al. (U.S. 5,331,986) (hereinafter “Lim”) teaches a dishwashing machine.
Mishina et al. (U.S. 2009/0071912 A1) (hereinafter “Mishina”) teaches a system and method for removing lint.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive and also focus on new claims 21-22, which have been addressed above in the updated rejection (see above).
The previous claim objections have been considered and are now withdrawn as a result of the current claim amendments.
The previous provisional double patenting rejections have been considered and are now withdrawn as a result of the filing and acceptance of the terminal disclaimer filed on 06/17/2026.
Applicant argues throughout pages 6-8 of the Remarks section filed on 06/17/2026 “as illustrated in Rajendran’s Figure 2, the ‘separate container’ is associated with the drain outlet (30). This separate container is positioned entirely downstream, located far apart from the compacting/blade assembly (34), and is not situated within the cavity (70) of the pump…Rajendran fails to teach or suggest a storing container situated in the cavity and facing the compacting assembly as recited in Claim 1. The structural configuration of the filtering system for a washing or drying machine of claim 1 achieves immediate, compact collection within the device enclosure itself, avoiding external dripping as well as minimizing the spatial footprint of the system…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Raj teaches a filtering system including a casing internally defining a cavity (Examiner’s note: Examiner is broadly interpreting ‘a cavity’ as an entire interior space/region/area within the laundry appliance housing/casing) (see FIGS. 3-5, casing 26 having an interior cavity/space/region/area) (see paragraphs 24-26 and 38), the casing comprising an inlet configured to receive a fluid, the inlet leading into the cavity (see FIGS. 3-5, casing 26 having an interior cavity) (see FIGS. 2-5, a fluid/lint inlet 54) (see paragraphs 24-26 and 38), and at least one outlet configured to deliver the fluid coming from the cavity (see FIGS. 2-5, an outlet 56) (see paragraph 25), and a storing container situated in said cavity (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made), the storing container facing the compacting assembly, and the storing container being configured to receive the particles collected and compacted by said compacting assembly (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see FIG. 2, a disposal area 20) (see paragraphs 24, 31-36, 38, 51) (see also paragraph 37 further discussing a separate container containing fluid and lint particles that can be removed) (see paragraphs 54-59 further discussing various modifications/alterations can be made).
Conclusion
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773