DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8,7,11,16,17,18,19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more:
Claim(s) 3,1,2,10,14,15 and 8,7,11,18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020 in view of KIM (US 2019/0250716 A1):
Claim(s) 12,13 and 16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020 in view of KIM (US 2019/0250716 A1) as applied in claims 3,1,2,10,14,15 and 8,7,11,18,19 above further in view of Farnik et al. (US 2018/0224100 A1):
Response to Amendment
The amendment was received 2/2/2026. Claims cancel 4,5,6,9 claims pending 3,1,2,10,12,13,14,15 and 8,7,11,16,17,18,19:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8,7,11,16,17,18,19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more:
Step zero: establish broadest reasonable interpretation in the footsnotes;
Step 1: Claim 3 is a machine; claim 8 a manufacture;
Step 2A, prong 1:
The claim(s) recite(s) math: “vector…a point on a line…vector in a direction”:
8. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium containing a program, which when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a process, comprising:
obtaining position information of a plurality of parts of a body of a photographing target;
deriving a direction vector1 connecting a first part and a second part on in a single [[arm ]] body part to each other, wherein the direction vector extends from the first part to the second part, and wherein the first part is closer to a central part of the body than the second part; and
automatically manipulating a lighting apparatus to irradiate a point2 on a line3 extending from direction4 vector5 in a direction from the first part to the second part.
Step 2A, prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (“program……computer…parts of a body…photographing target…manipulating a lighting apparatus to…irradiate”) do not improve “production”6 “technology” in view of applicant’s disclosure, via pages 1,8 (“light production” is not claimed):
Step 2B:
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements (“program……computer…parts of a body…photographing target…manipulating a lighting apparatus to…irradiate”) individually or in combination with the exception ( “vector…a point on a line…vector in a direction”) adhere to the conventional in view of applicant’s disclosure, pages 1,8:
In contrast, claim 3 reflects this improvement in (“stage”) production technology.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 101
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, page 7, filed 2/2/2026, with respect to 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1,2,9 and 7 has been withdrawn. However, claim 7 is rejected in the above, new 35 USC 101 rejection:
Claims 8,7,11,16,17,18,19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Claims 3 and 8
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, page 8, filed 2/2/2-26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 3 and 8 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC 103:
Claim(s) 3,1,2,10 and 8,7,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020 in view of KIM (US 2019/0250716 A1), wherein KIM teaches a vector extension manipulating objects (lighting-up a TV pixel 640) in a room of other manipulation objects/devices :
Dependent claims
New Claims 11-19
New claims 11-19 are rejected:
Claim(s) 3,1,2,10,14,15 and 8,7,11,18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020 in view of KIM (US 2019/0250716 A1):
Claim(s) 12,13 and 16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020 in view of KIM (US 2019/0250716 A1) as applied in claims 3,1,2,10 and 8,7,11 above further in view of Farnik et al. (US 2018/0224100 A1):
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,1,2,10,14,15 and 8,7,11,18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020 in view of KIM (US 2019/0250716 A1):
Re 3. (Currently Amended) A device for a (movie-set) stage comprising (see rejection of claim 1):
(ASIC) circuitry configured to:
obtain (hands) position information of a plurality of parts of a body of a photographing target (of targets);
derive a direction (via “draw…a virtual arrow”7 [000124] 4th S & [000125], 2nd S) vector (“representation of each hand joint (e.g., forward, up, right).” [00061] 6th S) connecting (via “a skeleton” [00046] 3rd S) a first part (or “each…knuckle” [0062] 2nd & 4th Ss) and a second (knuckle) part on (as understood given anatomy: fig. 23) [[arm]] body part (or a “one”8 “body” “hand9 2201B”, [000124] 2nd S, of “a single open palm hand” [00064] 3rd S) to each other (to release the arrow, fig. 23:2303, via said skeleton), wherein the direction vector extends from the first part to the second part, and wherein the first part is closer to a central part of the body than the second part (as understood given archery: fig. 23: virtual bow & arrow:
; and automatically manipulate10 a (“LED”, pg. 8, 2nd S of [00038]) lighting (“mixed reality” [0038] 1st S) apparatus to irradiate a point (or an arrow via “the further the fisted hand is pulled back, the brighter11 the arrow becomes” [000125] 5th S) on a line (fig. 23:2303) extending from in a direction from the first part to the second part (as understood to one of archery: fig. 23: virtual bow & arrow via:
BOWMAN does not teach the difference12 of claim 3 of:
a) (the direction vector)13 extends from (the first part to the second part)…14
b) automatically manipulate15 (a lighting apparatus)…
c) (a line extending) from the derived direction vector).
KIM teaches the difference of claim 3 of:
a) (the direction vector) (“control vector”) extends (via “an extension thereof” from (“an initial point” [0061] last S: fig. 4: 410:eye-point) (the first part to the second part)…
b) automatically manipulate16 (via a “computer17… manipulation” [0010] in a automatic manner) (a lighting apparatus)…
c) (a line extending) (“an angle”18 [0061], last A: figs. 4,5,7, extending from a common eye-point) from the derived direction vector).
Since BOWMAN teaches controlling a device, one of skill in the art of controlling objects can make BOWMAN’s be KIM’s seeing in the change “a technique for allowing a user to precisely control various objects by simply performing an intuitive gesture or manipulation, by mapping a control vector, which is specified in a real-world coordinate system according to a gesture or manipulation that the user intuitively performs using his/her body part or a certain vector control means, to a control coordinate point in an object reference coordinate system defined according to a characteristic of an object.”, KIM [0008]:
Re 1. (Currently Amended), Bowman of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches via Provisional application No. 63/108,900 [[A]] The device (that performs said combined high-speed processing as shown in fig. 22, below: a combination of “a physical, real-world person with computer-generated graphics” [00039] last S) for [[a]] the stage (“to control a stage” LED light on the stage of “a movie set”, provisional application 63/108,900: [0071] last S, via numerically-encoded “instructions describing the…lighting”19 [0048] 6th S) of claim 3, wherein
circuitry (resulting in a “circuit”, provisional application: [00056], comprised by a “gate array”20 [0056] 1st S) is further configured to:
determine a (“calculated” [00067]) distance separating2122 a first position 23 a first [[one]] (“user’s”, [00072] last S, finger) part of24 from25 a second position 26 a second [[one]] (“user’s”, [00072] last S, eye) part of27
automatically manipulate at least one of the nd S of [00038]) lighting (“mixed reality” [0038] 1st S) apparatus, or (E) a sound apparatusto adjust one or more of an (“brightness”, BOWMAN [000102] 2nd S) amount of light, or a sound volume based28 on (via the combination of BOWMAN,KIM) the (calculated/)determined distance.
Re 2. (Currently amended) The device according to The information processing device according to wherein the first [[one]] (hand-eye) part of second [[one]] (hand-eye) part of
Re 10. (Previously Presented) The device according to claim 3, wherein there is a body model (used to render objects in tracking images as shown in said fig. 5: see corresponding rejection of claim 9) of the photographing target (of targets) and
the (hand) position information of the plurality of parts of the body of the photographing target is estimated (i.e., correctly determined by reason and tracking) on a (factual image-data input) basis of the (representational) body model (generating an orb-object 503 in the factual tracking image-data input, fig. 5, relative to a human body).
Re 14. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches The device of claim 3, wherein a (“calculated” [00067] 4th S) distance (via fig. 3:305: “Generate a virtual object corresponding to the generated gestural data”) from (as shown in the flowchart29 of figure 3: an objection generation step 305 from an end-point step 301) an end point (or an end-point to end-point comprised by a “hand joint”-“vector”30, [00061] penult S, via fig. 3: 301: “Receive user positional data from a mixed reality user device”) of the derived (joint) direction vector to the point is a predetermined (“specified maximum” [00067] 4th S) distance (via fig. 3:305: “Generate a virtual object corresponding to the generated gestural data” via:
Re 14.31 (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches The device of claim 3, wherein a distance (determined by the extent of something specified as measured) from (via end to end) an end point (to end point) of the derived (joint) direction vector32 (fig. 23 annotated below) to the (arrow-head) point is a predetermined (or “assigned” & “compared” [00062] 2nd S) distance (comprised by said joint vectors via fig. 23:
Re 15. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches The device of claim 14 (rejected the second time), wherein the predetermined (or compared or assigned) distance (comprised by said joint vectors via fig. 23, annotated below) is proportional to a magnitude (by definition, Dictionary.com, of vector:
Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude.) of the direction vector33 (via fig. 23 annotated:
Claim 8 is rejected like claim 3:
Re 8. (Currently Amended), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium containing a program, which when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a process, comprising:
obtaining position information of a plurality of parts of a body of a photographing target;
deriving a direction vector connecting a first part and a second part on in a single [[arm ]] body part to each other, wherein the direction vector extends from the first part to the second part, and wherein the first part is closer to a central part of the body than the second part; and
automatically manipulating a lighting apparatus to irradiate a point on a line extending from vector in a direction from the first part to the second part.
Claim 7 is rejected similar to claim 1:
Re 7. (Currently Amended), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches [[A]] The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium (or “computer-readable storage medium” [000136]) of claim 8, wherein the process further comprises:
determining a distance separating a first portiona first [[one]] part of a second [[one]] part of
automatically manipulating at least one of the [[a]] lighting apparatus, or a sound apparatusto adjust one or more of an amount of light, or sound volume based on the determined distance.
Claim 11 is rejected like claim 2:
Re 11. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 7, wherein the first part of the body and the second part of the body are not adjacent to each other.
Claim 18 is rejected like claim 14:
Re 18. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein a distance from an end point of the derived direction vector to the point is a predetermined distance.
Claim 19 is rejected like claim 15:
Re 19. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the predetermined distance is proportional to a magnitude of the direction vector.
Claim(s) 12,13 and 16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020 in view of KIM (US 2019/0250716 A1) as applied in claims 3,1,2,10,14,15 and 8,7,11,18,19 above further in view of Farnik et al. (US 2018/0224100 A1):
Re 12. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches The device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are configured to adjust an irradiation (via “brightness”, BOWMAN [000102] 2nd S) direction of the lighting apparatus according to the derived direction vector.
BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM does not teach the difference of claim 12 of:
adjust an (irradiation) direction.
Farnik teaches the difference of claim 12:
adjust an (irradiation) direction (“parameters sent to each luminaire such that each luminaire is directed to the same spot on the performance area 240 based on the pan and tilt parameters of the manually controlled follow spot” [0023], penult S).
Since BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM teaches a light, one of skill in the art of lights can make BOWMAN’s of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM be as Farnik’s seeing in the change “a live video display may allow the operator controlling follow spot controller 200 to see the performance area 240 and the lighting and more accurately control the pan and tilt position of the automated luminaires 122 and/or 120.”, Farnik [0024] 3rd S.
Re 13. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM,Farnik teaches The device of claim 12, wherein the light apparatus comprises a movable unit, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to control a movable unit of the light apparatus to irradiate the point according to (via the combination of BOWMAN,KIM,Farnik) the derived direction vector.
Claim 16 is rejected like claim 12:
Re 16. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM,Farnik teaches The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein the process further comprises adjusting an irradiation direction of the lighting apparatus according to the derived direction vector.
Claim 17 is rejected like claim 13:
Re 17. (New), BOWMAN of the combination of BOWMAN,KIM,Farnik teaches The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the process further comprises controlling a movable unit of the light apparatus to irradiate the point according to the derived direction vector.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art “nearest to the subject matter defined in the claims” (MPEP 707.05) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action:
Citation
Relevance
SCHMETZ et al. (WO 2017/067764 A1)
SCHMETZ teaches user-interface manipulating lighting, pg. 1,ll.9-14:
The touch user interface allows manipulation of the direction in which light is emitted by the automated lighting fixtures.
as the closest to the claimed “automatically manipulate a lighting apparatus” of claim 3.
Mory et al. (US 2019/0318534 A1)
Mory teaches trackball manipulating lighting, [0047], 3rd S:
The imaging system may automatically “scan” the light source 1005 along the surface of the region of interest 1035 and/or a user may control the position of the light source 1005 in the image plane 1020 via a user interface (e.g., “drag” an orb rendered in the image via a touch screen, tap a desired location on a touch screen for the light source, manipulate a track ball, etc.).
as the closest to the claimed “automatically manipulate a lighting apparatus” of claim 3.
CHUN (WO 2017/209439 A1)
CHUN teaches manipulating lighting by automatic control, pages 2,3:
At least one example embodiment provides a motion-based studio equipment control system and method that may easily produce video content optimized for a motion of a performance object without a manipulation of studio equipment by a studio manpower by recognizing the motion of the performance object in an optional time interval, by identifying the recognized motion of the performance object as a default performance motion or an optional performance motion, and by automatically controlling studio equipment, for example, a lighting, a camera, sound, and the like, to adaptively cope with the motion of the performance object.
as the closest to the claimed “automatically manipulate a lighting apparatus” of claim 3.
/DENNIS ROSARIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676
1 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude. (Dictionary.com: AMERICAN)
2 point: maths a geometric element having no dimensions and whose position in space is located by means of its coordinates (Dictionary.com” BRITISH)
3 line: Mathematics. a continuous extent of length, straight or curved, without breadth or thickness; the trace of a moving point. (Dictionary.com: AMERICAN)
4 direction: (modifier) maths
a. (of an angle) being any one of the three angles that a line in space makes with the three positive directions of the coordinate axes. Usually given as α, β, and γ with respect to the x-, y-, and z- axes
b. (of a cosine) being the cosine of any of the direction angles
5 vector: maths an element of a vector space (Dictionary.com: BRITISH)
6 production: 8. the organization and presentation of a dramatic entertainment. 9. the entertainment itself. (Dictionary.com)
7 arrow: any of various things that resemble an arrow in shape, function, or speed, such as a sign indicating direction or position (Dictionary.com)
8 one: being or amounting to a single unit or individual or entire thing, item, or object rather than two or more; a single. (Dictionary.com)
9 hand: the terminal part of the forelimb in any of the higher vertebrates. (Dictionary.com)
10 “automatically manipulate” is interpreted as “automatically…manipulate” consistent with applicant’s disclosure thus, “automatically” does not necessarily modify “manipulate” consistent with applicant’s disclosure
11 bright: radiating or reflecting light; luminous; shining. (Dictionary.com)
12 THE CLAIMED INVENTION AS A WHOLE regarding “extends from” (applicant’s disclosure, page 8, ll. 3-7:”extending…from”-“production control section 36”: fig. 2) :
The problem in applicant’s disclosure is “heavy” “work” “burden”, page 1,ll. 19-25:
In a live venue or a concert hall, production is performed which changes lighting and changes
the volume of sound according to movement of a performer. Such production has been performed
manually. A person in charge of production determines start timing and end timing of production, and manually controls lighting apparatuses and sound apparatuses. During performance by the performer, the person in charge of production observes movement of the performer, and performs work of synchronizing production with the movement of the performer. However, a burden of the work is heavy.
The solution is, pg. 1, 26,27:
It is desirable to provide a technology that automatically performs production according to
movement of a target such as a performer.
I don’t see applicant’s solution in claim 3 of “automatically performs production according to
movement of a target”, wherein production is defined: the entertainment itself (Dictionary.com). Thus this absence/deletion is an indication of obviousness of claim 3.
13 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
14 ellipses (…) represent claim limitations already taught
15 “automatically manipulate” is interpreted as “automatically…manipulate” consistent with applicant’s disclosure thus, “automatically” does not necessarily modify “manipulate” consistent with applicant’s disclosure
16 “automatically manipulate” is interpreted as “automatically…manipulate” consistent with applicant’s disclosure thus, “automatically” does not necessarily modify “manipulate” consistent with applicant’s disclosure
17 computer: A programmable machine that performs high-speed processing of numbers, as well as of text, graphics, symbols, and sound., wherein machine is defined: a person or thing that acts in a mechanical or automatic manner. (Dictionary.com)
18 angle: the space between two straight lines that diverge from a common point or between two planes that extend from a common line (Dictionary.com)
19 instructions: Computers. a command given to a computer to carry out a particular operation, wherein operation is defined: Computers. any discrete activity or action that is performed by a computer, as reading, writing, processing, sending, or receiving data, wherein data is defined: (usually used with a singular verb) information in digital format, as encoded text or numbers, or multimedia images, audio, or video (Dictionary.com).
20 gate array: Computers, Electronics. logic array, wherein logic array is defined: Computers, Electronics. an arrangement of circuitry on a mass-produced microchip permitting the chip to be easily customized for a specific application (Dictionary.com)
21 See “from” footnote”, below
22 of: (used to indicate distance or direction from, separation, deprivation, etc.). within a mile of the church; south of Omaha; to be robbed of one's money. (Dictionary.com): this “separation” sense of “of” is not in claim 1
23 of (used to indicate material, component parts (“one part of… an arm”), substance, or contents). (Dictionary.com)
24 of (used to indicate specific identity (“part & “arm”=body part) or a particular item within a category).. (Dictionary.com)
25 from: (used to express removal or separation (“separating a first position…from a second position”), as in space, time, or order). (Dictionary.com)
26 of (used to indicate material, component parts (“one part of… a leg”), substance, or contents). (Dictionary.com)
27 of (used to indicate specific identity (“part & “leg”=body part) or a particular item within a category). (Dictionary.com)
28 Past participle contributing to the action of “manipulating”: the non-broadest reasonable interpretation
29 flow chart: a graphic representation, using symbols interconnected with lines, of the successive steps in a procedure or system., wherein successive is defined: following in order or in uninterrupted sequence; consecutive, wherein following is defined: that is now to follow; now to be mentioned, described, related, or the like, wherein follow is defined: to come after as a result or consequence; result from. (Dictionary.com).
30 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude, wherein length is defined: the longest extent of anything as measured from end to end., wherein extent is defined: something extended, as a space; a particular length, area, or volume; something having extension, wherein length is defined: the longest extent of anything as measured from end to end, wherein end is defined: a point, line, or limitation that indicates the full extent, degree, etc., of something; limit; bounds.(Dictionary.com)
31 CLAIM 14 rejected the second time: This second more specific rejection of claim 14 is due to claim 15 further limiting (via “ the predetermined distance is proportional”) claim 14.
32 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude, wherein length is defined: a distance determined by the extent of something specified, wherein extent is defined: something extended, as a space; a particular length, area, or volume; something having extension, wherein length is defined: the longest extent of anything as measured from end to end, wherein end is defined: a point, line, or limitation that indicates the full extent, degree, etc., of something; limit; bounds. .
33 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude. (Dictionary.com)