DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 3,1,2,10,13,14,15 and 8,7,11,17,18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated1 by BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020.
Response to Amendment
The amendment was received 5/20/2026. Claims cancel 4,5,6,9,12,16; claims pending 3,1,2,10,13,14,15 and 8,7,11,17,18,19.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 101
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, page 6, filed 5/20/2026, with respect to 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive for similar reasons regarding claim 3 in the Office action of 11/05/2025, page 12. The 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 8,7,11,16,17,18,19 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Claims 3 and 8
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 3 has newly introduced broad language such as “plurality”2 and the scope of claim 3 has more claim scope than previously interpreted3 (as a narrow subset of the broadest reasonable interpretation) in the previous Office actions consistent with applicant’s disclosure of “manipulate” in the context of “control”. Thus claims 3 and 8 and dependents thereof are rejected under 35 USC 102:
Claim(s) 3,1,2,10,13,14,15 and 8,7,11,17,18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated4 by BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3,1,2,10,13,14,15 and 8,7,11,17,18,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated5 by BOWMAN et al. (US 2022/0137701 A1) with Provisional application No. 63/108,900, filed on Nov. 3, 2020:
Re 3. (Currently Amended), BOWMAN discloses A device for light production (likewise) comprising6:
circuitry (or likewise “an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)” [00056] 1st S) configured to:
obtain (hands) position information (or likewise “body representations can be developed from…data….used to determine…the 3D coordinate” [00046] last S) of a plurality of parts of a body of a photographing target (“virtual objects may take the form of targets” [0081] 1st S);
derive a direction (via “draw…a virtual arrow”7 [000124] 4th S & [000125], 2nd S) vector (“representation of each hand joint (e.g., forward, up, right).” [00061] 6th S) connecting (via “a skeleton” [00046] 3rd S) a first part (or “each…knuckle” [0062] 2nd & 4th Ss) and a second (knuckle) part on (as understood given anatomy: fig. 23) a single body part (or a “one”8 “body” “hand9 2201B”, [000124] 2nd S, of “a single open palm hand” [00064] 3rd S) to each other (to release the arrow, fig. 23:2303, via said skeleton) (or likewise “kinematic (e.g., velocity, acceleration, rotation, etc.) vector10”, pg. 10, 1st S, “that extends past the hands until it reaches a target”, pg. 30, 4th S: fig. 23) and1112 {wherein13 the first part is closer to a central part of the body than the second part} (as understood given archery: fig. 23: virtual bow & arrow); and
freely manipulate14 (i.e., freely control) a plurality15 (or likewise “a user may control or manage the location and positioning of virtual objects…easily” [00090] 1st S: fig. 22: “virtual object 2203”, pg. 30 4th S) of1617 (“LED”, pg. 8, 2nd S of [00038]) lighting (“mixed reality” [0038] 1st S) apparatuses (or likewise “secondary devices (i.e., LED lights, audio controls)”, pg. 7 [00038] 1st S) to irradiate a point (or an arrow via “the further the fisted hand is pulled back, the brighter the arrow becomes” [000125] 5th S) on a line (fig. 23:2303) extending from the derived direction vector in a direction from the first part to the second part (as understood to one of archery: fig. 23: virtual bow & arrow) by adjusting irradiation directions (or likewise controlling a fixed, figure-image direction and in the reverse, figure-image direction via “control18 the projected19 image 2203” [000123] last S) of light (or likewise said “LED”, pg. 8, 2nd S of [00038]) of the plurality of lighting apparatuses according to the direction vector.
Re 1. (Currently Amended), Bowman discloses via Provisional application No. 63/108,900 The device the circuitry is further configured to:
determine a (“calculated” [00067]) distance separating2021 a first position of22 a third (“user’s”, [00072] last S, finger) part of23 the body from24 a second position of25 a fourth (“user’s”, [00072] last S, eye) part of26 the body; and
automatically manipulate at least one of
the (“LED”, pg. 8, 2nd S of [00038]) lighting (“mixed reality” [0038] 1st S) apparatuses, {{or
a sound apparatus to adjust one or more of an (“brightness”, BOWMAN [000102] 2nd S) amount of light, or
a sound volume based on (via the combination of BOWMAN,KIM) the (calculated/) distance}}27.
Re 2. (Currently amended) The device according to The information processing device according to wherein the third (hand-eye) part of the body and the fourth (hand-eye) part
Re 10. (Previously Presented) The device according to claim 3, wherein there is a body model (used to render objects in tracking images as shown in said fig. 5: see corresponding rejection of claim 9) of the photographing target (of targets) and
the (hand) position information of the plurality of parts of the body of the photographing target is estimated (i.e., correctly determined by reason and tracking) on a (factual image-data input) basis of the (representational) body model (generating an orb-object 503 in the factual tracking image-data input, fig. 5, relative to a human body).
Re 13. (Currently Amended), BOWMAN discloses The device of claim [[12]] -3, wherein a lighting apparatus of the plurality of lighting apparatuses comprises a movable unit28 (or likewise said “draw…a virtual arrow”29 [000124] 4th S & [000125], 2nd S), and wherein the circuitry is configured to control [[a]] the movable unit of the light apparatus to irradiate the point according to the derived direction vector.
Re 14. (Previously Presented), BOWMAN discloses The device of claim 3, wherein a (“calculated” [00067] 4th S) distance (via fig. 3:305: “Generate a virtual object corresponding to the generated gestural data”) from (as shown in the flowchart30 of figure 3: an objection generation step 305 from an end-point step 301) an end point (or an end-point to end-point comprised by a “hand joint”-“vector”31, [00061] penult S, via fig. 3: 301: “Receive user positional data from a mixed reality user device”) of the derived (joint) direction vector to the point is a predetermined (“specified maximum” [00067] 4th S) distance (via fig. 3:305: “Generate a virtual object corresponding to the generated gestural data” via:
Re 14.32 (Previously Presented), BOWMAN discloses The device of claim 3, wherein a distance (determined by the extent of something specified as measured) from (via end to end) an end point (to end point) of the derived (joint) direction vector33 (fig. 23 annotated below) to the (arrow-head) point is a predetermined (or “assigned” & “compared” [00062] 2nd S) distance (comprised by said joint vectors via fig. 23:
Re 15. (Previously Presented), BOWMAN discloses The device of claim 14 (rejected the second time), wherein the predetermined (or compared or assigned) distance (comprised by said joint vectors via fig. 23, annotated below) is proportional to a magnitude (by definition, Dictionary.com, of vector:
Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude.) of the direction vector34 (via fig. 23 annotated).
Claim 8 is rejected like claim 3:
Re 8. (Currently Amended), BOWMAN discloses A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium containing a program, which when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a process, comprising:
obtaining position information of a plurality of parts of a body of a photographing target;
deriving a direction vector connecting a first part and a second part on in a single body part to each other, wherein the direction vector extends from the first part to the second part, and wherein the first part is closer to a central part of the body than the second part; and
performing light production by freely plurality of lighting apparatuses to irradiate a point on a line extending from the derived direction vector in a direction from the first part to the second part by adjusting irradiation direction of light of the plurality of lighting apparatuses according to the direction vector.
Claim 7 is rejected similar to claim 1:
Re 7. (Currently Amended), BOWMAN discloses The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium (or “computer-readable storage medium” [000136]) of claim 8, wherein the process further comprises:
determining a distance separating a first portion of a third part of the body from a second position of a fourth part of the body; and
automatically manipulating at least one of the plurality of lighting apparatuses, or a sound apparatus to adjust one or more of an amount of light, or sound volume based on the
Claim 11 is rejected like claim 2:
Re 11. (Previously Presented), BOWMAN discloses The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 7, wherein the first part of the body and the second part of the body are not adjacent to each other.
Claim 17 is rejected like claim 13:
Re 17. (Currently Amended), BOWMAN discloses The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 8 [[16]], wherein the process further comprises controlling a movable unit of a lighting apparatus of the plurality of lighting apparatuses to irradiate the point according to the derived direction vector.
Claim 18 is rejected like claim 14:
Re 18. (Previously Presented), BOWMAN discloses The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 8, wherein a distance from an end point of the derived direction vector to the point is a predetermined distance.
Claim 19 is rejected like claim 15:
Re 19. (Previously Presented), BOWMAN discloses The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the predetermined distance is proportional to a magnitude of the direction vector.
Suggestions
MPEP 707.07(d) Language To Be Used in Rejecting Claims [R-10.2019], last para:
The examiner should, as a part of the first Office action on the merits, identify any claims which he or she judges, as presently recited, to be allowable and/or should suggest any way (via arrows pointing the way via disclosure, page 8 & figs. 1 & 7) in which he or she considers that rejected claims (3 & 8) may be amended to make them allowable:.
Conclusion
The prior art “nearest to the subject matter defined in the claims” (MPEP 707.05) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action.
Citation
Relevance
IDS cited LIAO et al. (CN 108198221 A) with SEARCH machine translation: a primary Y-reference
LIAO teaches “freely…controls the speed…and position35”, pg. 23, last text blk continued on page 24:
light device module, a follow-up system is also called a servo system, refers to mechanical position or angle as the automatic control system of the control object. the main function of the servo system is according to the control command, performing amplification, conversion or processing power such that can conveniently and freely, but also controls the speed of the driving device and position and output the torque variable control of higher accuracy.
as the closest to the claimed “freely manipulate a plurality” of claim 3.
Scepanovic et al. (US 2018/0288295 A1)
Scepanovic teaches a “lighting module” “ ‘configured to’… include” “manipulated… “circuitry36…without37 limitation”:
[0031] “Configured To.” Various units, circuits, or other components may be described or claimed as “configured to” perform a task or tasks. In such contexts, “configured to” is used to connote structure by indicating that the units/circuits/components include structure (e.g., circuitry) that performs those task or tasks during operation. As such, the unit/circuit/component can be said to be configured to perform the task even when the specified unit/circuit/component is not currently operational (e.g., is not on). The units/circuits/components used with the “configured to” language include hardware—for example, circuits, memory storing program instructions executable to implement the operation, etc. Reciting that a unit/circuit/component is “configured to” perform one or more tasks is expressly intended not to invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph, for that unit/circuit/component. Additionally, “configured to” can include generic structure (e.g., generic circuitry) that is manipulated by software and/or firmware (e.g., an FPGA or a general-purpose processor executing software) to operate in manner that is capable of performing the task(s) at issue. “Configure to” may also include adapting a manufacturing process (e.g., a semiconductor fabrication facility) to fabricate devices (e.g., integrated circuits) that are adapted to implement or perform one or more tasks.
[0094] In some embodiments, the lighting module which is configured to adjustably direct a collimated light beam based on adjustably positioning a collimator includes a light source and a collimator. The light source can include any known light beam emitters, including, without limitation, a light emitting diode (LED). As used herein, a collimator can be referred to as an “optical collimator” which at least partially focuses and directs the light beam emitted by the light source, such that the directed light beam, referred to herein as a “collimated light beam”, is directed by the lighting module in a particular direction and with a particular beam angle.
as the closest to the claimed “freely manipulate a plurality” of claim 3.
Previously cited/overlooked (PTO-892 7/10/2025) Dill (US 8917905 B1)
Dill teaches a more free manipulate interface strategy for management and creation via “simpler control…for…management and creation” c.6,,l. 15-20:
--In addition, in some embodiments the system offers simplified interfaces to offer a simpler38 control39 interface strategy for cue management40 and creation.--
as the closest to the claimed “freely manipulate a plurality” of claim 3.
Previously cited/overlooked (PTO-892 2/25/2026) CHUN (WO 2017/209439 A1)
CHUN teaches in a manner free of a decision or action manipulating a plurality of lighting 113 via “automatically41 controlling42…the lighting 113” , page 21, [101]:
According to the aforementioned method, the studio equipment control system 100 may easily produce video content optimized for a performance motion of the performance object without a manipulation of the studio equipment 110 by a studio manpower (a person) by recognizing a motion of the performance object in the optional time interval (time_optional), by identifying the recognized motion of the performance object as a default performance motion or an optional performance motion, and by automatically controlling the studio equipment 110, such as the first camera 111, the second camera 112, the lighting 113, the audio console 114, and the like, to adaptively cope with the motion of the performance object.
wherein “The lighting 113 may include a plurality of luminous bodies (or light emitting sources)”, pg. 13, 4th S,
as the closest to the claimed “freely manipulate a plurality” of claim 3.
Opiyo et al. (Exploring the viability of holographic displays for product visualization)
Opiyo teaches freely manipulating (positioning “arbitrarily”) “virtual objects” without an apparent reason or pattern, pg. 179, 5th bullet:
Navigation and orientation. The viewers should always be able to identify locations in virtual space and return to known positions. Also, it should be possible to position (reposition and orientate) virtual objects arbitrarily43 within the workspace, it should be possible to modify (scale, deform, dissect, truncate and merge) the elements as well as entire virtual objects directly by hands within the workspace, and it should be possible to manipulate (position and modify) virtual objects indirectly from outside the workspace.
as the closest to the disclosed “freely manipulate the position irradiated by the light” (applicant’s disclosure, page 8,ll. 10-12.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS ROSARIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676
1 MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 [R-08.2017], 2nd para, 2nd to last S: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
2 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: plurality: a number greater than one, wherein number is defined: the sum, total, count, or aggregate of a collection of people or things, wherein thing is defined: some entity, object, or creature that is not or cannot be specifically designated or precisely described. (Dictionary.com)
3 SIGNIFICANT SEARCH TERM (control=manipulate): control: to exercise restraint or direction over; dominate: command, wherein command is defined: to regulate, conduct, or manage, wherein manage is defined: to handle, direct, govern, or control in action or use, wherein handle is defined: to use or employ, especially in a particular manner; manipulate. (Dictionary.com)
4 MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 [R-08.2017], 2nd para, 2nd to last S: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
5 MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 [R-08.2017], 2nd para, 2nd to last S: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
6 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: -ing (of “comprising”): a suffix of nouns formed from verbs, expressing the action of the verb or its result, product, material, etc. (the art of building; a new building; cotton wadding ), wherein etc. is defined: and others; and so forth; and so on (used to indicate that more of the same sort or class might have been mentioned, but for brevity have been omitted), wherein so is defined: likewise or correspondingly; also; too. (Dictionary.com)
7 arrow: any of various things that resemble an arrow in shape, function, or speed, such as a sign indicating direction or position (Dictionary.com)
8 one: being or amounting to a single unit or individual or entire thing, item, or object rather than two or more; a single. (Dictionary.com)
9 hand: the terminal part of the forelimb in any of the higher vertebrates. (Dictionary.com)
10 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude. (Dictionary.com)
11 and: (used to connect alternatives).
12 The crossed text “is taught” via MPEP 2143.03 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd para:
As a general matter, the grammar and ordinary meaning of terms [“and”] as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives [wherein the direction vector extends from the first part to the second part, and wherein the first part is closer to a central part of the body than the second part], the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
13 The {italics text} Is not “a limitation in a claim” via MPEP 2111.04 "Adapted to," "Adapted for," "Wherein," "Whereby," and Contingent Clauses [R-10.2019], last para, 1st S: The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. See, e.g., Griffin v. Bertina, 285 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (finding that a "wherein" clause limited a process claim where the clause gave "meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps").
14 SIGNIFICANT SEARCH TERM (control=manipulate): control: to exercise restraint or direction over; dominate: command, wherein command is defined: to regulate, conduct, or manage, wherein manage is defined: to handle, direct, govern, or control in action or use, wherein handle is defined: to use or employ, especially in a particular manner; manipulate. (Dictionary.com)
15 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: plurality: a number greater than one, wherein number is defined: the sum, total, count, or aggregate of a collection of people or things, wherein thing is defined: some entity, object, or creature that is not or cannot be specifically designated or precisely described. (Dictionary.com)
16 Regarding the modifier “of” in view of applicant’s disclosure, pg. 8,ll. 18-23: “The present technology has been described above on the basis of the embodiment. According to the embodiment, the production control section 36 can perform production automatically on the basis of a production parameter derived by the deriving section 34. The present embodiment is illustrative, and it is to be understood by those skilled in the art that combinations of constituent elements and processing processes of the embodiment are susceptible of various modifications and that such modifications also fall within the scope of the present technology.”
17 of: (used to indicate possession, connection, or association). (Dictionary.com)
18 control: to exercise restraint or direction over; dominate: command, wherein command is defined: to direct with specific authority or prerogative; order, wherein direct is defined: to regulate the course of; control, wherein regulate is defined: to adjust so as to ensure accuracy of operation. (Dictionary.com)
19 project: Geometry. to throw forward an image of (a figure or the like) by straight lines or rays, either parallel, converging, or diverging, that pass through all its points and reproduce it on another surface or figure, wherein lines is defined: A geometric figure formed by a point moving in a fixed direction and in the reverse direction. The intersection of two planes is a line. (Dictionary.com)
20 See “from” footnote”, below
21 of: (used to indicate distance or direction from, separation, deprivation, etc.). within a mile of the church; south of Omaha; to be robbed of one's money. (Dictionary.com): this “separation” sense of “of” is not in claim 1
22 of (used to indicate material, component parts (“one part of… an arm”), substance, or contents). (Dictionary.com)
23 of (used to indicate specific identity (“part & “arm”=body part) or a particular item within a category).. (Dictionary.com)
24 from: (used to express removal or separation (“separating a first position…from a second position”), as in space, time, or order). (Dictionary.com)
25 of (used to indicate material, component parts (“one part of… a leg”), substance, or contents). (Dictionary.com)
26 of (used to indicate specific identity (“part & “leg”=body part) or a particular item within a category). (Dictionary.com)
27 text is {{curly italics brackets}} are “taught” via MPEP 2143.03 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd para
28 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: unit: a single thing or person. (Dictionary.com)
29 arrow: any of various things that resemble an arrow in shape, function, or speed, such as a sign indicating direction or position (Dictionary.com)
30 flow chart: a graphic representation, using symbols interconnected with lines, of the successive steps in a procedure or system., wherein successive is defined: following in order or in uninterrupted sequence; consecutive, wherein following is defined: that is now to follow; now to be mentioned, described, related, or the like, wherein follow is defined: to come after as a result or consequence; result from. (Dictionary.com).
31 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude, wherein length is defined: the longest extent of anything as measured from end to end., wherein extent is defined: something extended, as a space; a particular length, area, or volume; something having extension, wherein length is defined: the longest extent of anything as measured from end to end, wherein end is defined: a point, line, or limitation that indicates the full extent, degree, etc., of something; limit; bounds.(Dictionary.com)
32 CLAIM 14 rejected the second time: This second more specific rejection of claim 14 is due to claim 15 further limiting (via “ the predetermined distance is proportional”) claim 14.
33 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude, wherein length is defined: a distance determined by the extent of something specified, wherein extent is defined: something extended, as a space; a particular length, area, or volume; something having extension, wherein length is defined: the longest extent of anything as measured from end to end, wherein end is defined: a point, line, or limitation that indicates the full extent, degree, etc., of something; limit; bounds. .
34 vector: Mathematics. a quantity possessing both magnitude and direction, represented by an arrow the direction of which indicates the direction of the quantity and the length of which is proportional to the magnitude. (Dictionary.com)
35 SIGNIFICANT SEARCH TERM (control=manipulate): control: to exercise restraint or direction over; dominate: command, wherein command is defined: to regulate, conduct, or manage, wherein manage is defined: to handle, direct, govern, or control in action or use, wherein handle is defined: to use or employ, especially in a particular manner; manipulate. (Dictionary.com)
36 circuitry: the circuits themselves, wherein “-s” of “circuits” is defined: an ending marking nouns as plural (boys; wolves ), wherein plural is defined: pertaining to or involving a plurality of persons or things. (Dictionary.com)
37 without: free from; excluding. (Dictionary.com)
38 simple: easy to understand, deal with, use, etc.: simple tools, wherein easy is defined: free from formality, constraint, or embarrassment.
39 SIGNIFICANT SEARCH TERM (control=manipulate): control: to exercise restraint or direction over; dominate: command, wherein command is defined: to regulate, conduct, or manage, wherein manage is defined: to handle, direct, govern, or control in action or use, wherein handle is defined: to use or employ, especially in a particular manner; manipulate. (Dictionary.com)
40 management: the act or manner of managing; handling, direction, or control, wherein handling is defined: to use or employ, especially in a particular manner; manipulate. (Dictionary.com)
41 automatically: in a manner independent of a decision or action, wherein independent is defined: not subject to another's authority or jurisdiction; autonomous; free. (Dictionary.com)
42 SIGNIFICANT SEARCH TERM (control=manipulate): control: to exercise restraint or direction over; dominate: command, wherein command is defined: to regulate, conduct, or manage, wherein manage is defined: to handle, direct, govern, or control in action or use, wherein handle is defined: to use or employ, especially in a particular manner; manipulate. (Dictionary.com)
43 arbitrarily: without an apparent reason or pattern; randomly; capriciously, wherein without is defined: free from; excluding. (Dictionary.com)