DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application claims priority from provisional application 61193396, filed 11/24/08.
Status of Claims
Claims 32-51 are pending.
Claims 41-51 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-31 have been cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Invention 1 (Method of use) without traverse in the reply filed on 1/22/14. The applicant failed to elect a single species from the listed requirement, but in order to advance prosecution the examiner has withdrawn the species election requirement. It is noted, for the sake of election by original presentation, that the claims are solely directed at the single structures of Figures 4A-C with the openings tapered sections, and pockets.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means of the cushion’s material flexibility and fluid movement in claim 34.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
In view of the applicant’s amendments the objections to claim 35 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the applicant’s amendments the 112 rejections to claims 33, 34, and 40 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 32-40 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Swartz USPN 5,344,459.
32. Swartz discloses a method for implanting a cushion (Figure 7) in a patient's knee joint between the patient's femur and tibia bones (Figure 12), the method comprising the steps of:
providing the cushion made from a flexible material (4:24-30) comprising a plurality of adjacent pockets (upper and lower C-shaped portions Figure 8), with a fluid filling the interior of the plurality of pockets cushion (5:54-59) such that a rupture of a first pocket results in the fluid draining from ruptured first pocket and not from an adjacent second pocket (since pockets are separate a rupture of a side wall of one does not impact the adjacent pocket) wherein two directly adjacent pockets share a common partition wall (upper and lower C-shaped portions comprise a common partition wall as the top and bottom of the respective portions Figure 8)
orienting the cushion such that the first pocket and the adjacent second pocket are both under a single condyle of the patient (Figure 7 shows two pockets arranged to be under each condyle) and
- fitting the cushion in the space between the patient's femur and tibia bones (Figure 12).
33. Swartz discloses the plurality of pockets (inner C-shaped portions Figure 7) are made from a flexible material (the pockets are expandable with air and or fluid making them inherently flexible), and a fluid filling an interior of the pocket (5:54-59), the pocket being sized to fit in a space between the patient's femur and tibia bones (Figure 12).
34. Swartz discloses the pockets are attached to the tibia and femoral bones (when surgery is completed the pockets are in direct contact which is considered to read on the attachment) so that the pocket is adapted to allow a gliding movement between the tibia and femur by means of the cushion’s material flexibility and fluid movement (the gelled fluid provides a frictionless/effortless contact and movement within the knee joint).
35. Swartz discloses the cushion has a first fixating section attaching the top of the cushion to the bottom of the femur at, at least a first point of attachment (the entire upper surface of the cushion is contacting and fixated to the femur), and a second fixating section attaching the cushion to the top of the tibia at, at least a second point of attachment (the entire lower surface of the cushion is contacting and fixated to the tibia) so that, as the femur moves relative to the tibia when a patient bends his or her knee joint, the position of the first and second points of attachment are caused to move relative to one another in a direction substantially more perpendicular than parallel with a length axis of the tibia bone (when the patient with the cushion of Swartz bends his knee the attachment surfaces will expand upward and away from each other in the same manner as the applicant’s invention).
36. Swartz discloses the cushion is sized and formed with a tapered central portion (narrowed middle section shown in Figures 7 or 9), so as to allow accommodation of cruciate ligaments extending between the femur and tibia (Figures 7, 9, and 12), wherein the cushion has a size substantially corresponding to a meniscus originally in the patient's knee joint between the patient's femur and tibia bones (Figure 12).
37. 39. and 40. Swartz discloses its known in the art to provide a central through hole/opening such that it can accommodate two interior cruciate ligaments extending between the patient's femur and tibia bones (the larger opening in Figure 9 is capable of accommodating at least 2 ligaments), wherein said opening is placed substantially in the center of the cushion through which the ligaments pass (Figure 9) so that the cushion is shaped substantially like a bow tie (Figures 7 and 9).
38. Swartz discloses the fluid is a gel (5:57-59).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose the newly claimed adjacent pockets comprise a common partition wall. This is not persuasive because Swartz clearly discloses his implant comprises multiple interior pockets configurations including 2 pockets sharing common partition walls including. Swartz includes one embodiment shown in Figure 8 and another in Figure 6, which both include shared/touching partition walls.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3738