DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-19 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase of “an indole-based molecule” recited in claim 2 is considered indefinite because the word “based” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of these terms is impossible to determine.
Appropriated corrections are required.
The phrase of “an analog of at least one compound” recited in claim 3 is considered indefinite because the word “analog” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of these terms is impossible to determine.
Appropriated corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) 102 ()(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (Biomimetics, 2019, 4, 66).
Regarding claim 1, a catalyst comprising zinc tris(2-pyridylmethyl)amine (TPA) for catalyzing CO2 hydration reaction (H2O+CO2→H++HCO3-) (the instant claimed facilitate interaction between CO2 and water) (Abstract).
The phrase of “for concrete repair… and to precipitate concrete repairing calcium carbonate crystals” recites in claim 1 is interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Park et al. teach the same non-naturally catalyst as the instant claim, the zinc TPA catalyst would expect to be capable of performing concrete repair and to precipitate concrete repairing calcium carbonate crystals reactions as per applicant claim 1. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 2-3, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Park et al. is zinc TPA as the instant claims.
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, the catalyst taught by Park et al. further contains CO2 as the instant claim (page 5-9 of 12).
Regarding claim 6, the limitations of “sequesters atmospheric carbon dioxide”, recites in claim 6 is interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Park et al. teach the same non-naturally catalyst as the instant claim, the zinc TPA catalyst would expect to be capable of performing sequester atmospheric CO2 as claim 6. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of “the catalyst is configured to operate at a pH of 6.5 to 13”, recites in claim 7 is interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Park et al. teach the same non-naturally catalyst as the instant claim, the zinc TPA catalyst would expect to be capable of operating at a pH of 6.5 to 13 as claim 7. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of “the catalyst is configured to operate at a temperature of up to 75 0C” recites in claim 8 is interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Park et al. teach the same non-naturally catalyst as the instant claim, the zinc TPA catalyst would expect to be capable of operating at a temperature up to 75 0C as claim 8. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations of “the catalyst is configured to retains its catalytic activity for at least 1 year, at least 5 years, at least 10 years, at least 20 years” recites in claim 9 is interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Park et al. teach the same non-naturally catalyst as the instant claim, the zinc TPA catalyst would expect to be capable of configuring its it catalytic activity for 1 year, at least 5 years, at least 10 years, at least 20 years as claim 9. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claims 10-11, as discussed above, the limitations of “incorporated with concrete” as recites in claim 10 and “applied to concrete” recites in claim 11 are interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Park et al. teach the same non-naturally catalyst as the instant claim, the zinc TPA catalyst would expect to be capable of performing incorporated with and applied to concrete as per applicant claims 10-11. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, as discussed above, the limitations of “incorporated in a calcium solution” as recites in claim 12 is interpreted as intended use.
Per MPEP 2111, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Since Park et al. teach the same non-naturally catalyst as the instant claim, the zinc TPA catalyst would expect to be capable of performing incorporated in a calcium solution as per applicant claim 12. Therefore it meets the claim limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738