DETAILED ACTION
Re-open of Prosecution after Pre-Brief Appeal Conference
In view of the Pre-Appeal Brief Conference on, 12/01/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A second non-final office action is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843
Examiner’s Response to Applicant’s Pre-Appeal Brief Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejection Based on Whitefield (US 2017/0250666)
Applicant’s arguments submitted in the Pre-Appeal Brief Request and accompanying remarks have been fully considered. After careful consideration examiner decided to establish a prima facie case of obviousness supported by:
Clear identification of the scope and content of the prior art
Specific articulation of differences between the prior art and claims
Rational underpinning based on recognized problems, known solutions, and predictable results
Explicit motivation grounded in technical advantages and market demands
Regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejection Based on Patton and Lim
After careful consideration of the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections based on Patton et al. (US2020/0313711) and Lim et al. (US2019/0348961) as argued by the applicant in the pre-Appeal Brief remarks, examiner concedes and withdraws the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 13-16, 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitefield et al. (US 2017/0250666).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Whitefield discloses various front-end module (FEM) architectures for wireless communication devices, specifically addressing the challenge of monitoring RF signal power and impedance matching in transmit and receive paths. Whitefield through the combination of Figures 15A and 15C with integrated filter-coupler 300 of Figures 6B-6D discloses:
A front-end module (FEM 600) comprising: [Whitefield Figures 15A and 15C Combined] Figures 15A and 15C of Whitefield showing integrated filter-coupler 300 at both upstream and downstream positions.
a power amplifier (110) configured to amplify a radio frequency signal, the power amplifier having an input configured to receive the radio frequency signal and an output configured to provide an amplified radio frequency signal;
Whitefield Fig. 15A, element 110, §0038-§0040]
a first coupler (integrated filter-coupler 300a from Fig. 15A positioned upstream of ASM 150) having an input port (302a), an output port (304a), a coupled port (306a) and an isolated port (308a), the input port (302a) being coupled to the output of the power amplifier (at node connecting PA 110 to filter-coupler 300a);
Whitefield Fig. 15A showing filter-coupler 300 between PA 110 and ASM 150; Fig. 6B-6D showing four-port configuration with input 302, output 304, coupled port 306, isolated port 308; §0058-§0065]
an antenna switch module (ASM 150) having an input coupled to the output port (304a) of the first coupler (300a) and an output; Whitefield Fig. 15A, element ASM 150, §0046-§0049.
a second coupler (integrated filter-coupler 300b from Fig. 15C positioned downstream of ASM 150) having an input port (302b), an output port (304b), a coupled port (306b) and an isolated port (308b), the input port (302b) of the second coupler (300b) being coupled to the output of the antenna switch module (ASM 150);
Whitefield Fig. 15C showing filter-coupler 300 between ASM 150 and antenna 140; Fig. 6B-6D showing four-port configuration; §0058-§0065], [0102]
an antenna port (304b) configured to be coupled to an antenna (140), the antenna port being coupled to the output port (304b) of the second coupler (300b); and
Whitefield Fig. 15C, antenna 140 connected to output 304 of filter-coupler 300; §0102
a first switch subassembly (350b associated with 300b from Fig. 6D) to switchably connect one of the coupled port (306b) and the isolated port (308b) of the second coupler (300b) to an output (314b/316b) of the first switch assembly (350b) and the other one of the coupled port (306b) and the isolated port (308b) of the second coupler (300b) to a first termination impedance (320b);
Whitefield Fig. 6D, switch assembly 350 with switches 352/354 selectively connecting coupled port 306 or isolated port 308 to outputs 314/316 or termination 320; §0061-§0062.
Whitefield expressly teaches that the integrated filter-coupler "may be used in transmission paths, reception paths, or both" (§0063) and that these filter-couplers provide "forward power measurement, reverse power measurement, or both" (§0064), indicating their versatile applicability throughout the RF signal chain.
Differences Between Prior Art and Claimed Invention
The primary difference between Whitefield's disclosed embodiments and claims 1 and 18 is that the claims recite two integrated filter-couplers positioned at both locations—one upstream of the antenna switch module (ASM) and one downstream—whereas Whitefield's individual embodiments (Figs. 15A and 15C) each show only a single filter-coupler at one location or the other.
[AltContent: textbox (FLb)][AltContent: textbox (FLa)]
Figs. 15a and 15b of Whitefield with integrated filter-coupler 300 of Fig. 6D.
With a rational underpinning, a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) before the effective filing date of the invention having experience in RF front-end module would find it obvious to combine integrated filter-coupler embodiment 300 of Figures 6B-6D applied to both the upstream position of Figure 15A and the downstream position of Figure 15C of Whitefield would render claims 1 and 18 obvious for the following reasons:
1. Recognized Problem in the Art
Front-end modules require comprehensive RF performance monitoring to ensure:
Accurate measurement of forward power delivered by the power amplifier
Detection of reflected power indicating antenna mismatch
Identification of fault conditions at multiple points in the signal chain
Signal quality assessment in reception mode
Whitefield explicitly acknowledges these needs throughout the specification (§0003-§0007, §0063-§0064).
2. Known Benefits of Distributed Monitoring
It is well-established in the RF art that monitoring signal parameters at multiple points along a signal path provides superior diagnostic capabilities compared to single-point measurement. Specifically:
(Fig. 15A position) enables: power amplifier performance verification, detection of PA faults before switching, and optimization of PA efficiency
(Fig. 15C position) enables: antenna matching verification, detection of antenna disconnect or damage, and measurement of actual radiated power
A POSITA would recognize that these monitoring functions are complementary, not redundant—they provide different diagnostic information about different stages of the transmit/receive chain.
3. Express Teaching of Modular Reusability
Whitefield expressly teaches that integrated filter-coupler 300 is a modular, reusable component that can be deployed at various locations. The specification states:
"The integrated filter-coupler assembly 300 may be used in a variety of configurations" (§0063)
The filter-coupler "may be used in transmission paths, reception paths, or both" (§0063)
Multiple figures (15A, 15B, 15C) show the same element 300 at different positions, teaching positional flexibility
This explicit teaching of modularity and positional interchangeability would lead a POSITA to recognize that element 300 could be deployed at multiple locations simultaneously where each location serves a beneficial monitoring function.
4. Predictable Results
The combination would yield entirely predictable results:
Each filter-coupler 300 would perform its established function (filtering + power coupling) exactly as disclosed
The upstream coupler would monitor PA output as taught in Fig. 15A
The downstream coupler would monitor antenna matching as taught in Fig. 15C
No modification to the individual filter-coupler modules would be required
The ASM 150 would continue to perform its switching function unchanged
This represents the straightforward application of a known, modular component to multiple positions where it performs its intended function—precisely the type of combination contemplated by KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) ("When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp").
5. Motivation to Combine
A POSITA would be motivated to combine the embodiments of Figures 15A and 15C for the following specific technical reasons:
Enhanced Diagnostic Capability: Using couplers at both positions enables differential diagnosis—distinguishing between PA failures (detected by upstream coupler) and antenna failures (detected by downstream coupler). This enhanced fault isolation would be immediately recognized as advantageous by a POSITA familiar with RF system troubleshooting.
Bidirectional Performance Optimization: The upstream position optimizes PA efficiency and protects the PA from reverse power, while the downstream position ensures optimal antenna matching and protects the antenna interface. A POSITA would recognize these as complementary goals achievable through dual deployment.
Standards Compliance: Many wireless standards (e.g., 3GPP specifications) require monitoring both conducted power (at PA output) and radiated power (at antenna), which inherently requires measurement at both locations.
Market Demands: Modern multi-band, multi-mode cellular devices require sophisticated power management and diagnostics. A POSITA would be motivated to provide comprehensive monitoring to meet these known market requirements.
Doesn’t teach Away: Whitefield contains no criticism, discouragement, or teaching away from using multiple filter-couplers. To the contrary, the modular teaching and multiple alternative positions suggest combinability.
Routine Skill: Deploying multiple instances of a modular component at different functional locations is within the routine skill of RF engineers and represents ordinary creativity, not inventive insight.
For the foregoing reasons, claims 1 and 18 would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of Whitefield.
wherein per claims 2 and 19, In the combination above the isolated port (302a) of the first coupler (300a) is connected to a second termination impedance (320a).
Further per claims 3 and 20, Whitefield also teaches a second switch sub assembly (SSA 350a associated with 300a) to switchably connect one of the coupled port (306a) and the isolated port (308a) of the first coupler (300a) to an output of the second switch assembly (350a associated with 300a) and the other one of the coupled port (306a) and the isolated port (308a) of the first coupler (300a) to a second termination impedance (320a). Per claims 4 and 21, the FEM (600) further comprising a filter (Fla) connected between the output port (304a) of the first coupler (300a) and the input of the antenna switch module (ASM) and per claims 5 and 22, the FEM (600) further comprising a controller (the FEM further include one or more processors or controllers that controls the transmission of signals based upon the frequency of the signals being transmitted, provide control signals to the integrated filter-coupler 300, to actuate switches, and tune elements of the integrated filter-coupler 300, §0105) coupled to the first switch sub assembly (350b) and the second switch sub assembly (350a) and configured to connect the coupled port (314a/316a) of the first coupler (300a) to the output of the second switch assembly (350a) and to connect the isolated port (308a) of the first coupler (300a) to the second termination impedance (320a) to obtain a first measurement from the output of the second switch assembly (350a), the first measurement providing an indication of forward power provided by the power amplifier (integrated filter-coupler 300 includes switch network 350 that selectively configures the coupler portion of the integrated filter coupler 300 for either forward or reverse power measurement. The switch network 350 includes a first switch 352 that selectively connects the forward coupled port 306 to either a first measurement port 314 or a first termination impedance 320, and a second switch 354 that selectively connects the reverse coupled port 308 to either a second measurement port 316 or a second termination impedance 320, §0073). Wherein per claim 6, the controller is further configured to connect the coupled port (306b) of the second coupler (300b) to the output (314b/316b) of the first switch assembly (350b) and to connect the isolated port (308b) of the second coupler (300b) to the first termination impedance (320b) to obtain a second measurement (forward coupling) from the output (314b/316b) of the first switch assembly (350b), the second measurement providing an indication of forward power present on the antenna (140). And per claim 7, wherein the controller is further configured to connect the isolated port (308b) of the second coupler (300b) to the output (314b/316b) of the first switch assembly (350b) and to connect the coupled port (306b) of the second coupler (300b) to the first termination impedance (320b) to obtain a second measurement (reverse power measurement) from the output of the first switch assembly (350b), the second measurement providing an indication of power reflected (reverse power) from the antenna (140). And per claim 8, the controller is further configured to adjust an impedance of the antenna (the control interface receives control signals, such as, the impedance control signal 406 for antenna tuning module, §0094, §0096) based on the indication of power reflected from the antenna. Wherein per claim 9, the controller is further configured to obtain a first measurement (forward/revers power) from the output port (314a/316a) of the first coupler (300a) and a second measurement (forward/reverse power) from the output port (314b/316b) of the second coupler (300b). wherein per claim 10, although not explicit in the current prior art of Whitefield (US 20170250666) in accompanying inventions (US 20160172739 A1, US 20170077967 A1) Whitefield also teaches that the controller is further configured to linearize the (Figs. 7A-7C, Whitefield also teaches tunability of termination impedances 320a based on coupling forward or reverse power information from the first coupler (300a) by using FET switches (350a) biased in the linear mode, to help linearize the amplifier, §0077-§0078) amplified radio frequency signal by modifying, based on the first measurement and the second measurement, the radio frequency signal received by the power amplifier. Further per claims 13 and 14, Whitefield teaches operation under different frequency band as well as modulation schemes and as such it is obvious that plurality of amplifiers and associated FEMs for accommodating different frequency ranges as well as modulation schemes (§0012, §0085, §0100) would be an obvious extension of Whitefield. Wherein for multiple bands with separate antenna ports it would be obvious per claim 15, the amplified radio frequency signal and the second amplified radio frequency signal are transmitted at the same time (§0029). Further per claim 16, wherein the radio frequency signal received by the input of the power amplifier has a frequency in one of a range of about 600 MHz to about 2.5 GHz , a range of about 450 MHz to about 6 GHz (because of the coverage of Global System for Mobile (GSM) signal, a code division multiple access (CDMA) signal, a W-CDMA signal, a Long Term Evolution (LTE) signal, or an EDGE signal by Whitefield, §0100).
Claims 11, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitefield in view of Gunzner et al. (US 20200144973 A1).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Whitefield although is not explicit about amplitude and a phase of a transfer function that describes a change in power of the amplified radio frequency signal between the power amplifier and the antenna, Whitefield teaches measurements of forward and reflected powers from the output of the amplifier as well as from the input of the antenna.
Fig. 1A Gunzner reproduced for ease of reference.
Gunzner in a similar filed of endeavor teaches determination of complex reflection coefficient from forward and reflected power, wave to permit prompt protection of power amplifiers. This is accomplished by more accurately determining an amplitude and phase of an output reflected signal at an output port of a bidirectional coupler (similar to one of Whitefield) as a function of an amplitude and a phase of a coupled forward signal coupled into a forward coupled port and an amplitude and a phase of a coupled reverse signal coupled into a reverse coupled port (similar to the isolation port of the first coupler 300a of Whitefield) of the bidirectional coupler;
Whitefield has all the information needed for amplitude and phase measurement of the forward and reflected power, therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to incorporate the calculations suggested by Gunzner for protecting the amplifier (which is an expensive component of the FEM 600 of Whitefield) by following the steps of operating the switch assembly to obtain a measurement of forward power provided to the antenna and operating the switch assembly to obtain a measurement of reflected power from the antenna then calculating a ratio between the measurement of forward power and the measurement of reflected power; and adjusting an amount of power provided by the power amplifier based on the calculated ratio. Thus, teaching on all limitations of claim 12, because this would be obvious sequence of steps in protecting the amplifier against severe antenna mismatch. Also with the modification, per claim 17, the first and second couplers (300a and 300b) would have been considered well within the purview of a person of ordinary skill to be chosen from different combinations a unidirectional coupler as well as a bidirectional coupler.
Conclusion
/HAFIZUR RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843.