DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 were pending. Claims 6-7 and 11-14 are presently canceled. Claims 1, 9-10, 15-17, and 20 are presently amended.
Claims 1-5, 8-10, and 15-21 are examined herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of specification amendments.
The objections to claims 16, 17, and 20 are withdrawn in view of claims amendments.
The rejections of claims 6-7 and 11-14 are withdrawn in view of claims cancellation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberger et al. (MAbs. 2016;8(2):331-9) in view of Xu et al. (J Chromatogr B Analyt Technol Biomed Life Sci. 2014 Jun 1; 960:230-8)
Regarding claim 1, Haberger teaches a method for characterizing at least one high molecular weight species of a protein of interest, said method comprising:
a. obtaining a sample including said protein of interest and said at least one high molecular weight species – specifically, Haberger teaches that the protein of interest was obtained during bio-process and formulation development and it had an aggregate present (pg. 332, col. 1, par. 1);
b. contacting said sample to a native size exclusion chromatography column – specifically, Haberger teaches that the aggregates were analyzed by a size exclusion-based ultrahigh-pressure liquid chromatography method (pg. 332, col. 1, par. 1). Haberger teaches size exclusion chromatography run under native conditions, because both HPLC-SEC and FastSEC were run using nondenaturing buffer 200 mM KH2PO4, 250 mM KCl, pH 7.0 (HPLC-SEC, pg. 338, col. 1, last par., and FastSEC, pg. 9, col. 2, par. 2);
c. washing said column to collect an eluate – specifically, Haberger teaches that the protein of interest (a monoclonal antibody CrossMAb) was separated using two size exclusion chromatography columns (Fig. 3B – HPLC-SEC and Fig. C - FastSEC). Separation on a size exclusion chromatography column necessarily requires washing the column to collect an eluate. Both size exclusion chromatography columns (HPLC-SEC and FastSEC) demonstrated separation of the monomeric CrossMab reference material from high-molecular weight species (e.g., monomer at about 16 min on Fig. 1A and B, and high molecular weight species at about 19 min in Fig. 1B).
e. subjecting said mixture to a mass spectrometer to characterize said at least one
high molecular weight species – specifically, Haberger teaches “we aimed to characterize the LMW and HMW variants observed in the Fast-SEC UV-profile by coupling UHPLC-SEC to native ESI-MS” (pg. 333, col. 2, par. 1). The HMW variants are high molecular weight species of the instant disclosure.
Haberger does not specifically teach step (d) of claim 1 - adding a denaturing solution to the eluate to form a mixture.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches size-exclusion chromatography-mass spectrometry for characterization of size variants of monoclonal antibodies (Abstract). Xu also teaches adding a denaturing solution to the eluate to form a mixture. Specifically, Xu teaches adding denaturing solution of m-nitrobenzyl alcohol, 50% ACN, and 0.1% formic acid to the liquid chromatography column eluate (pg. 231, col. 2, last par.), meeting limitation of claim 8 reciting the denaturing solution comprises acetonitrile, formic acid, or combination of acetonitrile and formic acid.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the step of adding a denaturing solution to the eluate in the method of Haberger by allowing a mixture to form as taught by Xu, in order to improve performance of the mass spectrometry analysis (Abstract). One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adding a denaturing solution as a post-SEC additive to improve the ionization of antibody (id.). This combination would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art for the reasons mentioned above.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because both Haberger and Xu teach closely related mass spectrometry analysis of antibodies, and the denaturing solution does not have a negative effect on antibody samples.
Regarding claim 2, Haberger teaches the protein of interest is an antibody - a bi-specific antibody CrossMAb (pg. 331, col. 2, par. 2 and pg. 332, col. 1, par. 1).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Haberger teaches that eluate includes at least one high molecular weight species – peak 1 represents the CrossMAb trimer and peaks 2 and 3 represent the CrossMAb dimers (pg. 334, col. 1, par. 1 and Fig. 3B). The trimer and dimers are high molecular weight species of the CrossMAb. Additionally, the reference teaches that “by the application of ESI-MS under denaturing conditions, only charge state signals corresponding to the CrossMAb monomer were detected, whereas using native (ESI-MS) conditions the CrossMAb dimer, trimer, and tetramer could also be verified” (pg. 333, col. 1, par. 2), meeting the limitation of claim 19 reciting at least one high molecular weight species is a noncovalent high molecular weight species.
Regarding claim 4, Haberger teaches using a SEC-UV/MS mass spectrometer comprising of a SEC column, a Dionex UltiMate 3000 chromatography system equipped with UV detection at 280 nm (pg. 338, col. 1, par. 3), and a Q-TOF mass spectrometer (pg. 337, col. 2, par. 3).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Haberger and Xu teach the denaturing solution comprising 50% ACN, and 0.1% formic acid (Xu, pg. 231, col. 2, last par.). Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific concentrations of acetonitrile and formic acid recited in instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem and the prior art teaches that the concentrations of the denaturing components often vary according to the sample being analyzed, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable ranges by optimization procedures known in the art.
Regarding claim 21, Haberger teaches that the mass spectrometric analysis of the CrossMAb size variants by native SEC-UV/MS suggested a high HMW species consisting of a modified CrossMAb non covalently associated with a LC-Dimer. In order to confirm this non-covalent interaction, 10% acetonitrile was added to the chromatographic eluent. Fig. 4A shows the result of Fast-SEC separation with UV detection of a CrossMAb stability sample with and without addition of acetonitrile to the eluent (pg. 334, col. 2, par. 2), meeting the limitation of claims 7 and 21 reciting comparing at least one peak from a mass spectra obtained using (e) with a mass spectra obtained by carrying out an online size exclusion chromatography-mass spectrometry of said sample of (a) under native conditions.
Claims 5 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberger in view of Xu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yan et al. (J Am Soc Mass Spectrom. 2020 Oct 7;31(10):2171-2179. Epub 2020 Sep 11) as evidenced by as evidenced by Sanders et al. (Anal Methods. 2020 Sep 28;12(36):4404-4417) and Newomics (M3 emitters, 2025).
The teachings of Haberger and Xu have been set forth above.
Haberger and Xu fail to specifically teach mass spectrometer is a nano-electrospray ionization mass spectrometer; a flow of said mixture of (d) in said mass spectrometer is less than 10 μL/min; mixture of (d) split into said mass spectrometer and ultraviolet detector; a desolvation gas is added to said mixture of (d) prior to subjecting it to mass spectrometer; and a multi-nozzle emitter is used to add said desolvation gas with said mixture of (d).
Regarding claims 5 and 15-18, Yan teaches an LC−MS method for intact mass analysis of protein drugs (Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Yan also teaches a mass spectrometer is a nano-electrospray ionization mass spectrometer. Specifically, a Thermo Q Exactive UHMR or Exactive Plus EMR mass spectrometer equipped with a Nanospray Flex Ion Source was used for native MS analysis (pg. 2173, col. 1, par. 1) with a multinozzle emitter used for nanoelectrospray ionization (pg. 2172, col. 2, par. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Yan also teaches a flow of said mixture of (d) in said mass spectrometer is less than 10 μL/min. Specifically, Yan teaches a postcolumn splitting strategy was applied to reduce the flow rates to a range (<10 μL/min) that can be readily accommodated by a
multinozzle emitter (M3) for NSI (pg. 2173, col. 2, par. 1).
Regarding claim 16, Yan also teaches a method wherein mixture of (d) split into said mass spectrometer and ultraviolet detector. Specifically, Yan teaches that eluate exiting a SEC column is split into two flow paths, one leading to a UV detector and another leading to a mass spectrometer (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Yan also teaches a desolvation gas is added to said mixture of (d) prior to subjecting it to mass spectrometer. Specifically, Yan teaches that a desolvation nitrogen gas was applied to assist nanoelectrospray (pg. 2173, col. 1, par. 1 and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Yan also teaches a multi-nozzle emitter is used to add said desolvation gas with said mixture of (d). Specifically, Yan teaches using a multi-nozzle emitter for nanoelectrospray ionization, wherein it is connected to a bottle with desolvation gas (pg. 2172, col. 2, par. 1 and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Haberger and Xu by employing a nano-electrospray ionization mass spectrometer as taught by Yan, to provide a mass spectrometry method with improved performance as evidenced by Sanders (Abstract). One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose nano electrospray mass spectrometer because nano format of liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry has improved chromatographic efficiency and increased sensitivity of the electrospray process (id.). This combination would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art for the reasons mentioned above.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because nano electrospray mass spectrometers are commercially available instruments designed for protein analysis.
Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Haberger and Xu by employing a flow rate of less than 10 μL/min as taught by Yan, to provide a nanoelectrospray mass spectrometer with a required sample flow rate. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to reduce the flow rates to a range (<10 μL/min) that can be readily accommodated by a multinozzle emitter (M3) for NSI (pg. 2173, col. 2, par. 1). This combination would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art because it is a mass spectrometer requirement.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because nano electrospray mass spectrometers are commercially available instruments designed for protein analysis and Haberger used Waters Q-TOF ESI mass spectrometer.
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Haberger and Xu by splitting the postcolumn eluate flow into separate UV and mass spectrometry paths as taught by Yan, in order to reduce the flow rates to a range that could be accommodated by a multinozzle emitter for nanoelectrospray ionization (Yan, pg. 2172, col. 2, par. 1). One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to split the postcolumn flow to match higher column flow rate with a slower flow rate of the mass spectrometer. This combination would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art to ensure proper functioning the mass spectrometer.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because electrospray mass spectrometers of Haberger and Yan are very similar instruments designed for mass spectrometry analysis.
Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Haberger and Xu by adding a desolvation gas prior to mass spectrometer input as taught by Yan, in order to achieve charge-reduction native MS (Yan, pg. 2173, col. 1, par. 1). One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a desolvation gas because it is a standard practice in the art of mass spectrometry. This combination would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art for the reasons mentioned above.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because the use a desolvation gas is a standard practice in the art of ESI mass spectrometry.
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Haberger and Xu by employing a multinozzle emitter as taught by Yan, in order to deliver the postcolumn sample flow to the mass spectrometer. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the multinozzle emitter because it dramatically enhancing the ionization efficiency to achieve unprecedented sensitivity, robustness, and throughput as evidenced by Newomics (pg. 1). This combination would have been desirable to those of ordinary skill in the art for the reasons mentioned above.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because the multinozzle emitter of Yan is commercially produced for electrospray mass spectrometers as taught Haberger.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberger in view of Xu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Remmele et al. (J Pharm Sci. 2006 Jan;95(1):126-45).
The teachings of Haberger and Xu have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 20, Haberger teaches that eluate includes at least one high molecular weight species – peak 1 represents the CrossMAb trimer and peaks 2 and 3 represent the CrossMAb dimers (pg. 334, col. 1, par. 1 and Fig. 3B). The detection of trimer and dimers as separate peaks by Haberger indicates the ability of the native mass spectrometry to work in this high molecular weight range.
Haberger and Xu fail to specifically teach at least one high molecular weight species is a non-dissociable high molecular weight species of said protein of interest.
Regarding claim 20, Remmele teaches characterization of dimers of epratuzumab - a recombinant antihuman-CD22 monoclonal antibody (Abstract and pg. 127, col. 2, par. 2). Remmele also teaches non-dissociable high molecular weight species of epratuzumab. Specifically, Remmele teaches that epratuzumab dimer has about 70% covalent forms (Abstract) and the dimer has two intact monomers (where a monomer is defined as the mass of two light chains and two heavy chains covalently attached via two inter-heavy chain disulfide bonds in the Fc hinge region) with an apparent molecular mass of ~300 kDa (pg. 127, col. 2, par. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Haberger and Xu by applying it for characterizing covalently linked high molecular weight species of monoclonal antibodies as taught by Remmele, as an obvious matter of using of known technique to analyze similar products in the same way.
One having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the prior art references because Haberger teaches that native mass spectrometry can separate antibody trimers and dimers, and Haberger, Xu, and Remmele are similarly drawn to analysis of antibody molecules.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 26, 2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that “claim 1 is presently amended to clarify that the method provides for a native SEC step with a post-column denaturing step, thereby providing a denaturing non-native mass spectrometer analysis. Haberger does not discuss the combination of a native SEC step with non-native mass spectrometer analysis” (pg. 9, last par.).
The argument is not persuasive because Haberger was not cited of its teaching of both a native SEC step and non-native mass spectrometer analysis. Haberger is cited of its teaching of a native SEC step conditions 200 mM KH2PO4, 250 mM KCl, pH 7.0 (HPLC-SEC, pg. 338, col. 1, last par., and FastSEC, pg. 9, col. 2, par. 2). It is the prior art of Xu that teaches non-native mass spectrometer analysis. Specifically, Xu teaches adding denaturing solution of m-nitrobenzyl alcohol, 50% ACN, and 0.1% formic acid to the liquid chromatography column eluate (pg. 231, col. 2, last par.) prior to mass spectrometry analysis in order to improve performance of the mass spectrometry analysis (Xu, Abstract).
Applicant argues that “Haberger … in fact, teaches against the use of non-native MS when analyzing high molecular weight species” (pg. 231, col. 2, last par.) and “See Haberger, page 333, left hand column, first full paragraph" ... only native ESI-MS enables detection of the full set of covalent and non-covalent CrossMAb size variants."” (pg. 10, par. 1).
The argument is not persuasive because Applicant is arguing limitations which are not claimed. In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that detection of the full set of covalent and non-covalent CrossMAb size variants are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues that “Xu, which discusses the use of m-nitrobenzyl alcohol to improve antibody ionization in MS analysis, does not cure the defects of Haberger, and likewise does not discuss the combination of native SEC with non-native MS analysis” (pg. 10, par. 1).
The argument is not persuasive because as presented above in reply #2, Haberger does not teach away from using denaturing mass spectrometry conditions as Applicant argues, and Xu does complement the teaching of Haberger by employing a denaturing solution of m-nitrobenzyl alcohol, 50% ACN, and 0.1% formic acid (pg. 231, col. 2, last par.) prior to mass spectrometry analysis in order to improve performance of the mass spectrometry analysis (Xu, Abstract). While Xu does not teach native SEC, it is not relied upon for that since it is taught by Haberger.
Applicant argues that “the presently claimed method provides for detection of both non-covalent and non-dissociable HMW species, thereby providing superior detection of a wide range of HMW species-a beneficial result that could not be expected from the combination of teachings in Haberger and Xu., and likewise does not discuss the combination of native SEC with non-native MS analysis” (pg. 10, par. 1).
The argument is not persuasive because Applicant is arguing limitations which are not claimed. In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that superior detection of a wide range of HMW species is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 12-14 are presently canceled (pg. 10, par. 2); therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that “Claims 5 and 15-18 are rejected as allegedly obvious over Haberger, Xu, Yan et al. (J Am Soc Mass Spectrom. 2020 Oct 7;31(10):2171-2179) and Newomics (M3 emitters, 2025). In light of the amendments to claim 1, Yan and Newomics fail to cure the defects of Haberger and Xu as discussed above. Therefore, claims 5 and 15-18 are also not obvious for, at least, the reasons discussed above” (pg. 10, par. 3).
The argument is not persuasive because Applicant fails to overcome the rejection of the independent claim 1 (parent claim to claims 5 and 15-18). See replies #1-4 above for details. The rejection of claims 5 and 15-18 stays.
Applicant argues that “Claim 20 is rejected as allegedly obvious over Haberger, Xu, and Remmele et al. (J Pharm Sci. 2006 Jan;95(1): 126-45). Remmele does not cure the dejects of Haberger and Xu as discussed above” (pg. 10, last par.).
The argument is not persuasive because Applicant fails to overcome the rejection of the independent claim 1 (parent claim to claim 20). See replies #1-4 above for details. The rejection of claim 20 stays.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER ALEXANDROVIC VOLKOV/
Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/REBECCA M GIERE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677