DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed 7/29/2025, claim 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 8 are amended. Claims 1-20 are considered in current Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 was amended to address the previous objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, 12-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210362429 (“Barnes”).
Regarding claim 1, Barnes teaches a method for calibrating one or more heat sources in an apparatus for a layer by layer manufacture of a 3D object from particulate material ([0029], “Method 300 includes an initialization process for printer 100 and a process for performing 3D printing activity to produce a user-selected or user-configured 3D object”; [0022], “build material 117 is powdered or granular”), the apparatus comprising at least one heat source ([0023], “Thermal energy source 120 includes a warming lamp 161 and an array of fusing lamps 162”) and a thermal sensor ([0024], “heating multiple preliminary layers of build material… using temperature measurements from thermal imaging device 123”);
The method comprising: the layer cycle steps of
(a) Distributing a layer of particulate material over a build bed, the layer providing a build bed surface of the build bed ([0032], “printer 100 is to deposit a first set of layers 191 of build material 117 over build surface 118 of movable platform 126”);
(b) Heating the build bed surface by operating a first heat source at a first power input over a first period of time ([0032], “Printer 100 is to heat the first set of layers 191 using thermal energy source 120” [0023], “Controller 125 is capable of providing a first power level to the warming lamp 161 and a second power level to the multiple fusing lamps 162. The first and second power levels may be separately increased, decreased, or maintained by controller 125.” [0037], “This latest heating pass again irradiates the upper surface of the build material with thermal energy. As a result of these heating activities and the time transpired between them, the temperatures before and the temperatures after the heating pass should differ by no more than a predetermined threshold temperature difference”), the build bed surface comprising a first region (Fig. 4, region 182);
(c) Measuring a first temperature of the first region using the thermal sensor ([0035], “temperature measurements may be taken in reference areas inside or outside buildable region 182 by thermal imaging device 123”);
(d) Depositing a first amount of absorption modifier in the form of radiation absorber over the first region within the build bed surface ([0033], “apply detailing agent 198 in a selected two-dimensional (2D) pattern 199 across a layer of build material 117”; [0016], “an energy absorbing fusing agent”);
(e) Heating the first region, and a second region within the surrounding area (Fig. 4, build surface 118 includes regions 182 and 184), by operating the first heat source or a second heat source at a second power input over a second period of time ([0023], “Thermal energy source 120 includes a plurality of heating elements or lamps to provide radiant heat to build material 117 on build surface 118… Controller 125 is capable of providing a first power level to the warming lamp 161 and a second power level to the multiple fusing lamps 162. The first and second power levels may be separately increased, decreased, or maintained by controller 125.” [0037], “This latest heating pass again irradiates the upper surface of the build material with thermal energy. As a result of these heating activities and the time transpired between them, the temperatures before and the temperatures after the heating pass should differ by no more than a predetermined threshold temperature difference”);
And (f) measuring with the thermal sensor a second temperature of the first region and a third temperature of the second region, ([0045], “at block 326... During the closed-loop control, controller 125 is to cause thermal imaging device 123 to take a thermal image of the three production reference portions 241, 242, 243.”) wherein the first amount of absorption modifier causes the second temperature to be higher than the third temperature ([0046], The region 182 with fusing agent applied has temperature higher than reference portions 241 and 243);
And repeating the layer cycle two or more times ([0033], The process of deposition, heating, and applying detailing agent is repeated multiple times), each layer using a respective pair of first and second input powers in respective steps (b) and (e) of heating, wherein each said pair is different to the preceding pairs ([0045], controller 125 may adjust the power level for fusing lamps 162 and lamp 161 used for heating the building surface so that the power level of the lamps are different from the preceding layer);
And determining from the measured first, second and third temperatures measured for each layer ([0045], Controller 125 is to compare the temperatures of production reference portions 241, 243 with a first temperature set-point) an adjusted first and second input power so as to calibrate the performance of the first heat source with respect to one another and applying the adjusted first and second input powers to steps (b) and (e) of heating for a subsequent layer cycle to process a further layer ([0045], controller 125 regulates a power level of thermal energy source 120 including fusing lamps 162 and warming lamps 161 and applying the adjusted power level for layers processed after the adjustment).
Regarding claim 2, Barnes teaches wherein the step (e) of heating is carried by passing the first heat source over the build bed surface at a first speed profile while operating the first heat source at the first power input ([0045], “Controller 125 is to compare the temperatures of production reference portions 241, 243 with a first temperature set-point and is to regulate or control a power level or the travel speed of thermal energy source 120),
Wherein the first period of time is determined by the first speed profile ([0022], “thermal energy source 120 are slidingly mounted to carriage system 122 to move back-and-forth parallel to the x-axis across build surface 118” Barnes teaches the distance of the movement of the heater is fixed and because travel time is the result of distance over speed, Barnes teaches the first period of time is determined by the first speed profile.),
And wherein the step (e) of heating is carried by the second heat source, by passing the second heat source over the build bed surface at a second speed profile while operating the second heat source at the second power input ([0045], “Controller 125 may compare the temperature of production reference portion 242 with a second temperature set-point and is to regulate a power level or the travel speed of thermal energy source 120” thermal energy source 120 comprises of the first heat source 161 and the second heat source 162, and when controller regulates the power level and the travel speed of the thermal energy source 120, it regulates both the first and second heat sources),
Wherein the second period of time is determined by the second speed profile ([0022], “thermal energy source 120 are slidingly mounted to carriage system 122 to move back-and-forth parallel to the x-axis across build surface 118” Barnes teaches the distance of the movement of the heater is fixed and because travel time is the result of distance over speed, Barnes teaches the second period of time is determined by the second speed profile.)
Regarding claim 4, Barnes teaches wherein the absorption modifier is radiation absorber ([0016], “an energy absorbing fusing agent”) in the form of droplets of a fluid using one or more droplet deposition heads ([0022], “an applicator 112 (to apply one or more of a coloring agent, a fusing agent, a detailing agent, or another liquid)… nozzles to deliver liquid droplets in selected patterns by spraying or ejection”), and depositing a different number of droplets of fluid per unit area ([0033], “apply detailing agent 198 in a selected two-dimensional (2D) pattern 199 across a layer of build material 117”), wherein depositing a higher number of drops per unit area over the first region compared to the second region ([0046], Reference portions 241 and 243 are not deposited with fusing agent while buildable region 182 are deposited with fusing agent).
Regarding claim 5, Barnes teaches the absorption modifier is a radiation absorber ([0016], “an energy absorbing fusing agent”), and wherein the first amount of radiation absorber per unit area deposited over the first region is higher than the second amount of radiation absorber per unit area deposited over the second region ([0046], The region 182 with fusing agent applied has temperature higher than reference portions 241 and 243 with zero amount of fusing agent applied).
Regarding claim 6, Barnes teaches operating a stationary heat source ([0016], “The heater may be stationary”) arranged above the build bed surface over the duration of time of the layer cycle so as to maintain the temperature of the surrounding area at or near a target layer temperature ([0029], “controller 125 may provide a fixed power level to lamps 161, 162 to apply thermal energy to the preliminary layers 190” Fig. 6, preliminary layers 190 includes the entirety of the build bed surface), wherein the target layer temperature is lower than a melting temperature of the particulate material ([0046], “the first temperature set-point used by controller 125 is less than a target temperature for the object portion 234” [0016], “a radiant heater to soften, melt, or fuse portions of the build material” Barnes teaches the target temperature for the object portion 234 is at melting temperature of the build material and the first temperature set-point is lower than the melting temperature).
Regarding claim 7, Barnes teaches determining the adjusted first and second input power based on a predetermined temperature difference to be achieved between the step (b) of heating following distribution of a layer and the step (e) of heating following deposition of absorption modifier ([0023], “Controller 125 is capable of providing a first power level to the warming lamp 161 and a second power level to the multiple fusing lamps 162. The first and second power levels may be separately increased, decreased, or maintained by controller 125.” [0037], “This latest heating pass again irradiates the upper surface of the build material with thermal energy. As a result of these heating activities and the time transpired between them, the temperatures before and the temperatures after the heating pass should differ by no more than a predetermined threshold temperature difference”).
Regarding claim 8, Barnes teaches a method for calibrating one or more heat sources in an apparatus for a layer by layer manufacture of a 3D object from particulate material ([0029], “Method 300 includes an initialization process for printer 100 and a process for performing 3D printing activity to produce a user-selected or user-configured 3D object”; [0022], “build material 117 is powdered or granular”), the apparatus comprising at least one heat source ([0023], “Thermal energy source 120 includes a warming lamp 161 and an array of fusing lamps 162”) and a thermal sensor ([0024], “heating multiple preliminary layers of build material… using temperature measurements from thermal imaging device 123”);
The method comprising: the layer cycle steps of
(a) Distributing a layer of particulate material over a build bed, the layer providing a build bed surface of the build bed ([0032], “printer 100 is to deposit a first set of layers 191 of build material 117 over build surface 118 of movable platform 126”);
(b) Heating the build bed surface by operating a first heat source at a first power input over a first period of time ([0032], “Printer 100 is to heat the first set of layers 191 using thermal energy source 120” [0023], “Controller 125 is capable of providing a first power level to the warming lamp 161 and a second power level to the multiple fusing lamps 162. The first and second power levels may be separately increased, decreased, or maintained by controller 125.” [0037], “This latest heating pass again irradiates the upper surface of the build material with thermal energy. As a result of these heating activities and the time transpired between them, the temperatures before and the temperatures after the heating pass should differ by no more than a predetermined threshold temperature difference”), the build bed surface comprising a first region (Fig. 4, region 182);
(c) Measuring a first temperature of the first region using the thermal sensor ([0035], “temperature measurements may be taken in reference areas inside or outside buildable region 182 by thermal imaging device 123”);
(d) Depositing a first amount of absorption modifier in form of radiation absorber over the first region ([0033], “apply detailing agent 198 in a selected two-dimensional (2D) pattern 199 across a layer of build material 117”; [0016], “an energy absorbing fusing agent”) and a second amount of absorption modifier over a second region ([0039], “to apply detailing agent to reference areas 201, 203 on individual layers of the fourth set of layers 194”);
(e) Heating the first region and the second region (Fig. 4, build surface 118 includes regions 182 and 184), by operating the first heat source or a second heat source at a second power input over a second period of time ([0023], “Thermal energy source 120 includes a plurality of heating elements or lamps to provide radiant heat to build material 117 on build surface 118… Controller 125 is capable of providing a first power level to the warming lamp 161 and a second power level to the multiple fusing lamps 162. The first and second power levels may be separately increased, decreased, or maintained by controller 125.” [0037], “This latest heating pass again irradiates the upper surface of the build material with thermal energy. As a result of these heating activities and the time transpired between them, the temperatures before and the temperatures after the heating pass should differ by no more than a predetermined threshold temperature difference”);
And (f) measuring with the thermal sensor a second temperature, of the first region, and a third temperature of the second region ([0045], “at block 326... During the closed-loop control, controller 125 is to cause thermal imaging device 123 to take a thermal image of the three production reference portions 241, 242, 243.”);
Wherein the first amount and the second amount of absorption modifier causes the second temperature to be higher than the third temperature ([0046], The region 182 with fusing agent applied has temperature higher than reference portions 241 and 243) and the third temperature to be higher than the temperature of the surrounding area after the step (e) of heating ([0047], the temperature of portions 242 has a set-point for unfused build material, which is lower than the temperature set-point for fused build material 241 and 243);
And repeating the layer cycle two or more times ([0033], “This process includes deposition, heating, and applying the mapping pattern 199 of detailing agent and may be repeated for a plurality of the layers of the second set 192. In some examples, five layers of build material 117 are utilized in block 312.”), each layer using a respective pair of first and second input powers in respective steps (b) and (d) of heating, wherein each said pair is different to the preceding pairs ([0045], controller 125 may adjust the power level for fusing lamps 162 and lamp 161 used for heating the building surface so that the power level of the lamps are different from the preceding layer);
And determining from the measured first, second and third temperatures measured for each layer an adjusted first and/or second input power so as to calibrate the performance of the first, or the first and second, heat source with respect to one another and applying the adjusted first and second input powers to steps (b) and (e) of heating for a subsequent layer cycle to process a further layer ([0045], “Controller 125 is to compare the temperatures of production reference portions 241, 243 with a first temperature set-point and is to regulate or control a power level or the travel speed of thermal energy source 120, making an adjustment when appropriate. In this process, controller 125 may adjust the power level for fusing lamps 162 while leaving the power level to warming lamps 161 unchanged or may adjust the power levels of lamps 162 and lamp 161.”).
Regarding claim 9, Barnes teaches wherein the step (e) of heating is carried by passing the first heat source over the build bed surface at a first speed profile while operating the first heat source at the first power input ([0045], “Controller 125 is to compare the temperatures of production reference portions 241, 243 with a first temperature set-point and is to regulate or control a power level or the travel speed of thermal energy source 120),
Wherein the first period of time is determined by the first speed profile ([0022], “thermal energy source 120 are slidingly mounted to carriage system 122 to move back-and-forth parallel to the x-axis across build surface 118” Barnes teaches the distance of the movement of the heater is fixed and because travel time is the result of distance over speed, Barnes teaches the first period of time is determined by the first speed profile.),
And wherein the step (e) of heating is carried by the second heat source, by passing the second heat source over the build bed surface at a second speed profile while operating the second heat source at the second power input ([0045], “adjust the power levels of lamps 162 and lamp 161… Controller 125 may compare the temperature of production reference portion 242 with a second temperature set-point and is to regulate a power level or the travel speed of thermal energy source 120),
Wherein the second period of time is determined by the second speed profile ([0022], “thermal energy source 120 are slidingly mounted to carriage system 122 to move back-and-forth parallel to the x-axis across build surface 118” Barnes teaches the distance of the movement of the heater is fixed and because travel time is the result of distance over speed, Barnes teaches the second period of time is determined by the second speed profile.)
Regarding claim 10, Barnes teaches the first speed profile is the same as the second speed profile such that the first period of time and the second period of time are substantially the same (Fig. 5, Barnes teaches the fuser carriage carries the dispensing device 116 and thermal energy source 120, which includes the warming lamp and fusing lamps. Therefore, the speed profile of the warming lamp and fusing lamps are the same).
Regarding claim 12, Barnes teaches wherein the absorption modifier is radiation absorber ([0016], “an energy absorbing fusing agent”) in the form of droplets of a fluid using one or more droplet deposition heads ([0022], “an applicator 112 (to apply one or more of a coloring agent, a fusing agent, a detailing agent, or another liquid)… nozzles to deliver liquid droplets in selected patterns by spraying or ejection”), and depositing a different number of droplets of fluid per unit area, wherein depositing a higher number of drops per unit area over the first region compared to the second region ([0046], The region 182 with fusing agent applied has higher number of drops than reference portions 241 and 243, which has zero number of drops).
Regarding claim 13, Barnes teaches the absorption modifier is a radiation absorber ([0016], “an energy absorbing fusing agent”), and wherein the first amount of radiation absorber per unit area deposited over the first region is higher than the second amount of radiation absorber per unit area deposited over the second region ([0046], The region 182 with fusing agent applied has higher number of drops than reference portions 241 and 243, which has zero number of drops).
Regarding claim 14, Barnes teaches operating a stationary heat source ([0016], “The heater may be stationary”) arranged above the build bed surface over the duration of time of the layer cycle so as to maintain the temperature of the surrounding area at or near a target layer temperature ([0029], “controller 125 may provide a fixed power level to lamps 161, 162 to apply thermal energy to the preliminary layers 190” Fig. 6, preliminary layers 190 includes the entirety of the build bed surface), wherein the target layer temperature is lower than a melting temperature of the particulate material ([0046], “the first temperature set-point used by controller 125 is less than a target temperature for the object portion 234” [0016], “a radiant heater to soften, melt, or fuse portions of the build material” Barnes teaches the target temperature for the object portion 234 is at melting temperature of the build material and the first temperature set-point is lower than the melting temperature).
Regarding claim 15, Barnes teaches wherein the operation of the stationary heat source is controlled based on one or more further temperature measurements measured within the build bed surface, using the thermal sensor, during the layer cycle ([0023], “Controller 125 is capable of providing a first power level to the warming lamp 161 and a second power level to the multiple fusing lamps 162. The first and second power levels may be separately increased, decreased, or maintained by controller 125.” [0037], “This latest heating pass again irradiates the upper surface of the build material with thermal energy. As a result of these heating activities and the time transpired between them, the temperatures before and the temperatures after the heating pass should differ by no more than a predetermined threshold temperature difference”).
Regarding claim 17, Barnes teaches wherein the step (b) and the step (e) of heating further comprise heating substantially all of the build bed surface ([0022], “thermal energy source 120 are slidingly mounted to carriage system 122 to move back-and-forth parallel to the x-axis across build surface 118”; [0023], “Thermal energy source 120 includes a plurality of heating elements or lamps to provide radiant heat to build material 117 on build surface 118”).
Regarding claim 18, Barnes teaches wherein between adjacent layer cycles, one or more further layers are processed having a different layer cycle ([0029], “The preliminary layers 190 will be described as comprising several sets of layers, and some of these sets of layers may be processed differently than other sets of layers. For example, a set of the preliminary layers 190 may be deposited before thermal energy is applied to them, and another set of the preliminary layers 190 may be built such that an individual layer is deposited and heated before a subsequent layer is deposited and heated”).
Regarding claim 19, Barnes teaches determining the adjusted first and second input power based on a predetermined temperature difference to be achieved between the step (b) of heating following distribution of a layer and the step (e) of heating following deposition of absorption modifier ([0023], “Controller 125 is capable of providing a first power level to the warming lamp 161 and a second power level to the multiple fusing lamps 162. The first and second power levels may be separately increased, decreased, or maintained by controller 125.” [0037], “This latest heating pass again irradiates the upper surface of the build material with thermal energy. As a result of these heating activities and the time transpired between them, the temperatures before and the temperatures after the heating pass should differ by no more than a predetermined threshold temperature difference”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210362429 (“Barnes”) in view of US 20200398482 (“Tjellesen”).
Regarding claim 3, Barnes does not teach having a predefined time interval for a plurality of processing steps, wherein the predefined time intervals are the same for each layer.
Tjellesen teaches having a predefined time interval, as a first time interval, between distributing a new layer of build material to heating the previous build bed surface with a heat source ([0121], “initiate the deposition step at the expiry of the fixed time interval from the completion of the sintering step”), and the duration of the layer cycle is the same for each layer of the build process ([0121], “to define an average fixed time interval to elapse for a given powder material and process”).
Barnes in view of Tjellesen teaches having a predefined time interval, as a second time interval, between distributing build material of the current layer and heating the distributed build material. Barnes teaches the build material distributing device is located on the same carrier with the heat source (Barnes, Fig. 5). Tjellesen further teaches that when the heat source and the material dispensing device are located on the same carrying device, the time interval between distribution of build material and sintering of build material will be constant (Tjellesen, [0111], “when the sinter source 360 and roller 320 are provided on the same sled, the time between sintering and deposition cannot be alter.”).
Barnes and Tjellesen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of additive manufacturing. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the process in Barnes to incorporate defining the time interval between the distribution of build material and sintering of build material as taught by Tjellesen, because controlling the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material is known to have impact on the adhesion between layers, and consequently the mechanical strength of a final printed part (Tjellesen, [0111]). For that reason, the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material in the process of Barnes to obtain the desired characteristic of final printed part (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 11, Barnes does not teach having a predefined time interval for a plurality of processing steps, wherein the predefined time intervals are the same for each layer.
Tjellesen teaches having a predefined time interval, as a first time interval, between distributing a new layer of build material to heating the previous build bed surface with a heat source ([0121], “initiate the deposition step at the expiry of the fixed time interval from the completion of the sintering step”), and the duration of the layer cycle is the same for each layer of the build process ([0121], “to define an average fixed time interval to elapse for a given powder material and process”).
Barnes in view of Tjellesen teaches having a predefined time interval, as a second time interval, between distributing build material of the current layer and heating the distributed build material. Barnes teaches the build material distributing device is located on the same carrier with the heat source (Barnes, Fig. 5). Tjellesen further teaches that when the heat source and the material dispensing device are located on the same carrying device, the time interval between distribution of build material and sintering of build material will be constant (Tjellesen, [0111], “when the sinter source 360 and roller 320 are provided on the same sled, the time between sintering and deposition cannot be alter.”).
Barnes and Tjellesen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of additive manufacturing. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the process in Barnes to incorporate defining the time interval between the distribution of build material and sintering of build material as taught by Tjellesen, because controlling the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material is known to have impact on the adhesion between layers, and consequently the mechanical strength of a final printed part (Tjellesen, [0111]). For that reason, the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material in the process of Barnes to obtain the desired characteristic of final printed part (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210362429 (“Barnes”) in view of US 20200001525 (“Wynne”).
Regarding claim 16, Barnes teaches wherein each layer comprises a plurality of sublayers, wherein each sublayer is processed according to the same layer cycle steps for that layer ([0029], “The preliminary layers 190 will be described as comprising several sets of layers,… another set of the preliminary layers 190 may be built such that an individual layer is deposited and heated before a subsequent layer is deposited and heated”).
Barnes does not teach a respective average temperature is determined for the first, second and third temperature from one or more of the plurality of sublayers.
Wynne teaches an additive manufacturing method, wherein a respective average temperature is determined for the first, second and third temperature from one or more of the plurality of sublayers ([0099], monitoring and adjusting the average temperatures at multiple points for each print layers).
Barnes and Wynne are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of additive manufacturing. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the process in Barnes to incorporate determining average temperatures for the first, second and third temperature from multiple layers as taught by Wynne as described above, in order to enable energy exposure adjustment in bulk (Wynne, [0099]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210362429 (“Barnes”) in view of US 2020398482 (“Tjellesen”).
Regarding claim 20, Barnes teaches having a predefined time interval between distributing build material of the current layer and heating the distributed build material. Barnes teaches the build material distributing device is located on the same carrier with the heat source (Barnes, Fig. 5).
Barnes does not teach having a predefined time interval for a plurality of processing steps, wherein the predefined time intervals are the same for each layer.
Tjellesen teaches that when the heat source and the material dispensing device are located on the same carrying device, the time interval between distribution of build material and sintering of build material will be constant (Tjellesen, [0111], “when the sinter source 360 and roller 320 are provided on the same sled, the time between sintering and deposition cannot be alter.”).
Barnes and Tjellesen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of additive manufacturing. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the process in Barnes to incorporate defining the time interval between the distribution of build material and sintering of build material as taught by Tjellesen, because controlling the time between distribution of build material and sintering of build material is known to have impact on the adhesion between layers, and consequently the mechanical strength of a final printed part (Tjellesen, [0111]). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would know to keep the same time interval for each layer, since Barnes also teaches repeating the process of each layer ([0033], The process of deposition, heating, and applying detailing agent is repeated multiple times.)
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer filed 7/29/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, for an initial matter, the applicant is arguing that Barnes fails to disclose the “layer cycle” which requires every step from (a)-(f) performing on a single layer. However, this is not indicated by the claim. The relevant portion of the claim reads as follows:
“A method for calibrating one or more heat sources in an apparatus for a layer by layer manufacture of a 3D object from particulate material… the layer cycle steps of (a)…; and repeating the layer cycle two or more times, each layer using a respective pair of first and second input powers in respective steps (b) and (e) of heating…; and applying the adjusted first and second input powers to steps (b) and (e) of heating for a subsequent layer cycle to process a further layer.”
The claim indicates in each layer cycle, in which a cycle may include multiple layers, adjusting input powers in the heating steps for each layer. If applicant intends to narrow the scope of the claim by limiting the layer cycle to refer to a cycle in which a single layer is processed according to steps (a)-(f), the claim should clearly indicate such limitation. Thus, applicant’s argument that Barnes fails to meet the claim limitation because the steps from Barnes are performed on multiple layers is not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s further arguments that Barnes fails to teach a layer cycle includes a set of layers being processed by of the steps (a)-(f), applicant argues that Barnes only teaches steps (a)-(b) being performed in the first set of layers while the heating steps in (c) is performed in other layers (Remark, pg 12, para. 1-4).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Barnes in Fig. 3A block 306 and 312 both teaches depositing and heating the first and second set of layers and additionally Barnes teaches performing the heating steps explicitly in block 312.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the steps taught by Barnes fail to follow the sequential steps (a)-(f) disclosed by claims 1 and 8 (Remark, pg 12, para. 4-7), the claims do not indicate that the steps are necessarily taken in sequential order. Furthermore, the change in sequence of a process, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. See MPEP. 2144.04. IV. C. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIFFANY YU. HUANG
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754