Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 106654362 B; citations refer to the English translation attached to the rejection mailed May 16, 2025) in view of Iwasaki (US 2017/0250403 A1), Kim et al. (US 2022/0173480 A1), and Duan et al. ("Dendrite-Free Li-Metal Battery Enabled by a Thin Asymmetric Solid Electrolyte with Engineered Layers," Journal of the American Chemical Society 140(1), pp. 82-85, December 2017).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a solid-state battery comprising a cathode layer, solid electrolyte layer, and anode layer in that order (Zhao [0081]), in which the solid electrolyte layer comprises a first layer comprising a solid electrolyte adjacent to the electrodes (second composite adhesive layer comprising Li2S-SiS2),a second layer comprising the solid electrolyte and a porous support adjacent to the first layer (first composite adhesive layer on glass mesh comprising Li2S-SiS2) (Zhao [0079]-[0080]), and a third layer opposite the first layer comprising the same solid electrolyte such that one is adjacent to the anode and the other is adjacent to the cathode (layers B in Zhao Fig. 1), with the solid electrolyte on the surface and in the pores of the porous support (Zhao [0034]).
Zhao does not teach any particular porosity for the support material, indicating only that it is a high porosity material (Zhao [0072]). Kim teaches that, in order to balance ion conductivity and mechanical strength, the porous support for a composite solid electrolyte should have a porosity of 50-90% (Kim [0040]), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any value within the range taught by Kim, including values within the range of the instant claim, in order to balance ion conductivity and mechanical strength.
Zhao does not teach the use of 15LiBr • 10LiI • 75 (0.75Li2S • 0.25P2S5) glass ceramic as the solid electrolyte material. Zhao teaches the use of Li2S-SiS2 (Zhao [0079]-[0080]). Iwasaki teaches that 15LiBr • 10LiI • 75 (0.75Li2S • 0.25P2S5) glass ceramic (Iwasaki [0075]) and Li2S-SiS2 are suitable solid sulfide electrolytes for use in lithium batteries (Iwasaki [0041]-[0044]). The two are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any of the solid electrolytes listed by Iwasaki, including 15LiBr • 10LiI • 75 (0.75Li2S • 0.25P2S5) glass ceramic.
Zhao does not teach any particular thickness for the second solid electrolyte layer. Duan teaches that commercially available scaffold 25 µm thick is appropriate for such a solid electrolyte structure (Duan p. 83, first column, first complete paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a 25 µm scaffold, and therefore a 25 µm second solid electrolyte layer, which falls within the range of the instant claim, since Zhao give no guidance and Duan teaches that it is appropriate.
Regarding claim 3, modified Zhao teaches a porosity of 50-90% (Kim [0040]), which overlaps the range of the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any value within the range taught by Kim, including values within the range of the instant claim, in order to balance ion conductivity and mechanical strength.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao gives an example in which the porous support is a non-woven fabric (Zhao [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, the thickness the second solid electrolyte layer of modified Zhao is 25 µm (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, modified Zhao does not teach any particular layer thickness for the first and third solid electrolyte layers. Duan teaches that layers of 5-6.5 µm, which overlaps the ranges of the instant claims, are sufficient to prevent dendrite formation (Duan p. 83, first column, first complete paragraph; and p. 84, last paragraph), and that layers with a thickness less than 5.4 µm, which overlaps the ranges of the instant claims, are sufficient to form a good interfacial contact with the electrodes (Duan p. 83, top of second column). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any value in the ranges disclosed by Duan, including values within the range of the instant claims.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722