DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is entered in response to Applicant's amendment and reply of 7/16/26. The claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 5-6, 8-12, and 17-20 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Election Requirement have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues the claims 11 and 12 should not be withdrawn from consideration since the Election Requirement did not require the election of a species based on structure associated with the interface of a trigger wire and rotatable ring. Examiner makes notice, Applicant elected Species C, Figs. 54A-54B in the reply filed 1/20/26. Where the claims 11-12 are withdrawn from consideration by being drawn to a non-elected invention. Refer to paragraph [00170] of the instant application, the claim limitations are drawn toward the embodiment of Figs. 38-48.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/16/26 with respect to the rejections of claim 1-4, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vad (US2016/0135972) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, Vad fails to disclose “wherein the lock shell is coupled to the rotatable ring in the first position, the lock shell and the rotatable ring are not rotatable relative to the stationary main handle, and wherein when the lock shell is coupled to the rotatable ring in the second position, the lock shell and the rotatable ring are rotatable relative to the stationary main handle”. Applicant argues, the first position in Vad describes a position of the ring that allows the second handle to the be moved along the main handle without rotation, but the components are not prevented from rotation. Examiner disagrees, the rejection relies on what is disclosed in Vad, not inherency. Furthermore, paragraph [0070] describes the ratcheted collar 154 under the second handle 12, which allows unidirectional rotation of the second handle 12, “collar 154 may have on or more protrusions or teeth 156 that allow only for unidirectional rotation of the second handle 12: when the handle 12 is keyed to handle 10 and there is unidirectional rotation allowed only in the distal direction; therefore when the ring 220 is in the distal position and reverse rotation is locked, rotation would not be possible since the threads end at a distal location on handle 10 as shown in Fig. 1. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/16/26 with respect to the rejections of claims 13-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kratzberg (US2018/0200496) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, Kratzberg does not disclose a rotatable ring that is disposed about a stationary main handle. Applicant further states Kratzberg has a structural relationship in which element 110 (rotatable ring) is partially within element 352 (stationary handle) and that the element 110 extends into element 352 and is not disposed about it. Examiner disagrees, the threads of the element 352 extend inwardly and a portion of the element 110 is disposed about the threads 352 as shown in Fig. 15. Furthermore, the claim merely recites the rotatable ring is disposed about a stationary main handle, this limitation does not necessarily recite the rotatable ring is around the stationary main handle. Where the element 110 is disposed about an inner perimeter of the element 352 as shown in Fig. 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4 and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vad (US2016/0135972 - cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Vad discloses a handle assembly for a prosthesis delivery device (see Abstract), comprising:
a stationary main handle (main handle 10, handle is fixed relative to delivery device, [0064]) having a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending therebetween (see Fig. 1);
a rotatable ring (second handle 12, [0069]) disposed about at least a portion of the stationary main handle (see Fig. 1); and
a lock shell (outer ring 220) disposed around and selectively coupled to the rotatable ring in a first position or a second position, wherein when the lock shell is coupled to the rotatable ring in the first position (distalmost position of handle 12 and ring 220 on handle 10, see Fig. 32), the lock shell and the rotatable ring are not rotatable relative to the stationary main handle (when the handle 12 is keyed to handle 10 and there is unidirectional rotation allowed only in the distal direction; therefore when the ring 220 is in the distal position and reverse rotation is locked, rotation would not be possible since the threads end at a distal location on handle 10, [0096]), and wherein when the lock shell is coupled to the rotatable ring in the second position (Fig. 31), the lock shell and the rotatable ring are rotatable relative to the stationary main handle ([0095]).
Regarding claim 2, Vad discloses the handle assembly of claim 1, further comprising a spacer ring (sleeve 222) disposed about at least a portion of the stationary main handle (see Fig. 31, 32), wherein when the lock shell (220) is coupled to the rotatable ring (12) in the first position, the lock shell engages the spacer ring (222) such that the lock shell and the rotatable ring are not rotatable relative to the stationary main handle ([0096]).
Regarding claim 3, Vad discloses the handle assembly of claim 2, wherein the spacer ring includes a protrusion (protrusion 224) and the lock shell includes a cutout (channel formed in ring 220, [0096]), and wherein when the lock shell and the rotatable ring are coupled in the first position ([0094]), the protrusion of the spacer ring is at least partially received within the cutout of the lock shell such that the lock shell and the rotatable ring are not rotatable relative to the stationary main handle ([0096]).
Regarding claim 4, Vad discloses the handle assembly of claim 1, wherein the rotatable ring (12) includes a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending therebetween (see Fig. 34), wherein the outer surface of the rotatable ring includes a convex portion (see raised portion at the distal end of 12 in Fig. 34, 35) extending radially outwardly from a rest of the outer surface of the rotatable ring.
Regarding claim 7, Vad discloses the handle assembly of claim 4, wherein the lock shell (220) includes a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending therebetween (see Fig. 31), wherein an inner surface of the lock shell includes a groove (channel formed in inner surface of ring 220, see Fig. 12) extending longitudinally from the proximal end to the distal end ([0094]), and wherein the groove is configured such that when the lock shell is disposed around the rotatable ring, the convex portion of the rotatable ring is at least partially received in the groove (a portion of the convex portion would be within the portion of the channel formed on the inner surface of the ring 220, by the ring 220 covering the convex portion as shown in Fig. 12).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kratzberg (US2018/0200496 - cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 13, Kratzberg discloses a handle assembly for a prosthesis delivery device (see Abstract), comprising:
a stationary main handle (352, interpreted as stationary by being held stationary when housing 110 is threaded to it) having a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending therebetween (see Fig. 1);
a rotatable ring (housing 110, housing is rotatable by being threaded to 352, [0049]) disposed about the stationary main handle and rotatably movable relative to the stationary main handle (Where the housing 110 is disposed about an inner perimeter of the element 352 as shown in Fig. 15; otherwise, the threads of the element 352 extend inwardly and a portion of the housing 110 is disposed about the threads 352; [0043]), wherein the rotatable ring includes a guided track (track defined by area where the spacer element 366 is fixed to the housing 110, [0050]) disposed in an outer surface of the rotatable ring (see Fig. 12), and the guided track extends between a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1);
a trigger wire (trigger wires) operatively connected to the rotatable ring, the trigger wire having a proximal end and a distal end ([0050]); and
a bushing (rotatable ring 362, [0050]) configured to be connected to the distal end of the trigger wire and slidably received within the guided track (ring is adjacent the track defined by the spacer element 366, [0050]).
Regarding claim 14, Kratzberg discloses the handle assembly of claim 13, wherein when the bushing is positioned in the guided track at the first end of the guided track (first end of the guided track defined by the spacer element 366 is interpreted as one half of the spacer element 366), at least a length of the trigger wire connected to the bushing is disposed in the guided track ([0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Kratzberg discloses the handle assembly of claim 14, wherein rotation of the rotatable ring causes the bushing to slide within the guided track from the first end of the guided track towards the second end of the guided track (second end of the guided track defined by the spacer element 366 is interpreted as the other half of the spacer element 366, where the rotatable ring 362 slides within the first end of the guided track toward the second end by rotating around the guided track defined by the spacer element 366; where rotation of the housing 110/rotatable ring is capable of causes the busing to slide when either structure is rotated relative to each other).
Regarding claim 16, Kratzberg discloses the handle assembly of claim 15, wherein after the bushing reaches the second end of the guided track, further rotation of the rotatable ring causes retraction of the trigger wire from the prosthesis delivery device ([0053]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIKAIL A MANNAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774