DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 6, 8-10, and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/20/26
Applicant's election with traverse of Species C, Figs. 54A-54B in the reply filed on 1/20/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has mischaracterized the embodiment of Species C and has therefore failed to demonstrate the independence and distinctness required for a restriction requirement. This is not found persuasive because the Examiner merely relies on the recited features to distinguish the different species; however, the independent and distinct features are apparent based on the Figures 54A-54B.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
In addition, claims 11-12 are withdrawn from consideration by the examiner as being directed to a non-elected invention. Refer to paragraph [00170] of the instant application, the claim limitations are drawn toward the embodiment of Figs. 38-48.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4, and 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vad (US2016/0135972 - cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Vad discloses a handle assembly for a prosthesis delivery device (see Abstract), comprising:
a stationary main handle (main handle 10, handle is fixed relative to delivery device, [0064]) having a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending therebetween (see Fig. 1);
a rotatable ring (second handle 12, [0069]) disposed about at least a portion of the stationary main handle (see Fig. 1); and
a lock shell (outer ring 220) disposed around and selectively coupled to the rotatable ring in a first position or a second position, wherein when the lock shell is coupled to the rotatable ring in the first position (see Fig. 32), the lock shell and the rotatable ring are not rotatable relative to the stationary main handle ([0096]), and wherein when the lock shell is coupled to the rotatable ring in the second position (Fig. 31), the lock shell and the rotatable ring are rotatable relative to the stationary main handle ([0095]).
Regarding claim 2, Vad discloses the handle assembly of claim 1, further comprising a spacer ring (sleeve 222) disposed about at least a portion of the stationary main handle (see Fig. 31, 32), wherein when the lock shell (220) is coupled to the rotatable ring (12) in the first position, the lock shell engages the spacer ring (222) such that the lock shell and the rotatable ring are not rotatable relative to the stationary main handle ([0096]).
Regarding claim 3, Vad discloses the handle assembly of claim 2, wherein the spacer ring includes a protrusion (protrusion 224) and the lock shell includes a cutout (channel formed in ring 220, [0096]), and wherein when the lock shell and the rotatable ring are coupled in the first position ([0094]), the protrusion of the spacer ring is at least partially received within the cutout of the lock shell such that the lock shell and the rotatable ring are not rotatable relative to the stationary main handle ([0096]).
Regarding claim 4, Vad discloses the handle assembly of claim 1, wherein the rotatable ring (12) includes a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending therebetween (see Fig. 34), wherein the outer surface of the rotatable ring includes a convex portion (see raised portion at the distal end of 12 in Fig. 34, 35) extending radially outwardly from a rest of the outer surface of the rotatable ring.
Regarding claim 7, Vad discloses the handle assembly of claim 4, wherein the lock shell (220) includes a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending therebetween (see Fig. 31), wherein an inner surface of the lock shell includes a groove (channel formed in inner surface of ring 220, see Fig. 12) extending longitudinally from the proximal end to the distal end ([0094]), and wherein the groove is configured such that when the lock shell is disposed around the rotatable ring, the convex portion of the rotatable ring is at least partially received in the groove (a portion of the convex portion would be within the portion of the channel formed on the inner surface of the ring 220, by the ring 220 covering the convex portion as shown in Fig. 12).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kratzberg (US2018/0200496 - cited in Applicant’s IDS).
Regarding claim 13, Kratzberg discloses a handle assembly for a prosthesis delivery device (see Abstract), comprising:
a stationary main handle (352, interpreted as stationary by being held stationary when housing 110 is threaded to it) having a proximal end, a distal end, and an outer surface extending therebetween (see Fig. 1);
a rotatable ring (housing 110, housing is rotatable by being threaded to 352, [0049]) disposed about the stationary main handle and rotatably movable relative to the stationary main handle ([0043]), wherein the rotatable ring includes a guided track (track defined by area where the spacer element 366 is fixed to the housing 110, [0050]) disposed in an outer surface of the rotatable ring (see Fig. 12), and the guided track extends between a first end and a second end (see Fig. 1);
a trigger wire (trigger wires) operatively connected to the rotatable ring, the trigger wire having a proximal end and a distal end ([0050]); and
a bushing (rotatable ring 362, [0050]) configured to be connected to the distal end of the trigger wire and slidably received within the guided track (ring is adjacent the track defined by the spacer element 366, [0050]).
Regarding claim 14, Kratzberg discloses the handle assembly of claim 13, wherein when the bushing is positioned in the guided track at the first end of the guided track (first end of the guided track defined by the spacer element 366 is interpreted as one half of the spacer element 366), at least a length of the trigger wire connected to the bushing is disposed in the guided track ([0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Kratzberg discloses the handle assembly of claim 14, wherein rotation of the rotatable ring causes the bushing to slide within the guided track from the first end of the guided track towards the second end of the guided track (second end of the guided track defined by the spacer element 366 is interpreted as the other half of the spacer element 366, where the rotatable ring 362 slides within the first end of the guided track toward the second end by rotating around the guided track defined by the spacer element 366; where rotation of the housing 110/rotatable ring is capable of causes the busing to slide when either structure is rotated relative to each other).
Regarding claim 16, Kratzberg discloses the handle assembly of claim 15, wherein after the bushing reaches the second end of the guided track, further rotation of the rotatable ring causes retraction of the trigger wire from the prosthesis delivery device ([0053]).
Conclusion
/MIKAIL A MANNAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799