DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “compression device” in claims 1 and 7 only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (PG Pub US 20120308414 A1) in view of Kang (PG Pub US 20180023568 A1) and further in view of Kinjo (PG Pub US 20200244140 A1) and as evidenced by Richter (PG Pub US 20240098925 A1).
In Re Claim 1, Ogawa discloses a scroll-type electric compressor (11, 12; Abstract; Figures 1, 16) configured to compress a refrigerant (30), comprising: a compressor housing (3, 102) defining an intake volume (to the right of suction port 8 where the scrolls 11, 12 are located) and a discharge volume (adjacent discharge port 9), the compressor housing (3, 102) having a generally cylindrical shape (see Figures 3 – 5) and having a central axis (of drive shaft 14), the compressor housing comprising an inverter housing (102); a refrigerant inlet port (8) coupled to the compressor housing and configured to introduce the refrigerant to the intake volume; a refrigerant outlet port (9) coupled to the compressor housing and configured to allow compressed refrigerant to exit the scroll-type electric compressor from the discharge volume; an inverter module (101) mounted inside the compressor housing and adapted to convert direct current electrical power to alternating current electrical power (by definition, in order for the inverter to function as disclosed); a motor (5) mounted inside the compressor housing; a drive shaft (14) coupled to the motor; a compression device (4; this is structurally and functionally identical to applicant’s device, therefore it is an equivalent structure – MPEP 2183) coupled to the drive shaft (14) and being located at an end (opposite to the claimed one end) of the compressor housing, for receiving the refrigerant from the intake volume and compressing the refrigerant as the drive shaft is rotated by the motor (by definition, in order for the inverter to function as disclosed); and, an inverter cover (113; Figure 5) located at one end of the compressor housing and being coupled to the inverter housing (102) forming an inverter cavity (having at least the circuit board 103 of the inverter), the inverter cavity (having at least circuit board 103) being separated from the intake volume (where the scrolls 11, 12 are) by the inverter housing (102) as depicted in Figure 1, (paragraphs [0068], [0069], [0071], [0077], [0080], [0082]);
Annotated excerpt of Figure 1 of Ogawa
the inverter cover (113) having a first portion and a second portion (see annotated figure above), the first portion being generally perpendicular to the central axis and having an apex (see annotated figure above) and an outer perimeter (circular shape depicted in Figure 5), wherein the first portion is dome-shaped (see annotated figure above, the curvature of the dome is better seen in Figure 2) such that the inverter cover has a curved profile from the apex towards the outer perimeter.
Ogawa does not disclose that the inverter cover is located at an opposite end to the compression device end of the compressor housing, and Ogawa does not disclose the plurality of radial ribs.
However, Kang discloses a scroll type electric compressor (Figure 1; paragraph [0010]), where the inverter cover (300) is located at an opposite end to the compression device (121, 122) end of the compressor housing (100). Kang further discloses the inverter cover (300; Figure 2) including a plurality of radial ribs (342) facing the inverter cavity (between 210 and 300 which has circuit board 220), the radial ribs (342) providing support and rigidity to the first portion of the inverter cover (Abstract: “The cover is reinforced”), the radial ribs (342) and the first portion of the inverter cover being configured to disperse vibrations from the compression device (121, 122) (paragraph [0002]: “vibration and noise from compressor housing can be reduced”).
Annotated Figure 1 of Ogawa and Figure 1 of Kang
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to relocate (i.e. essentially flip) the motor and compression unit of Ogawa so that the inverter cover is located at an opposite end to the compression device end of the compressor housing as taught by Kang because it has been held that a mere rearrangement of parts is routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI-C).
Ogawa and Kang do not disclose ribs.
Annotated Figure 3 of Kinjo
However. Figure 3 of Kinjo discloses an inverter (71; paragraph [0067]) - cover (12c) including a plurality of radial ribs (204 a-d; paragraph [0045]) on the opposite side of the inverter cavity (occupied by 71 in Figure 2), the radial ribs (204 a-d) providing support and rigidity to the first portion (paragraph [0044]: “reinforcing”) of the inverter cover (12c), the radial ribs (204 a-d) and the cover (12c) being configured to disperse vibrations (paragraph [0045]), each radial rib (204 a-d) having a first end point and a second endpoint (see annotated figure above), the first endpoint of each radial rib being adjacent to the apex (center of circular rib 205) of the first portion, the second endpoint of each radial rib being adjacent to the outer perimeter of the first portion (see annotated figure above), a first one of the second endpoints being located on one side of the cover (see annotated figure above), a second one of the second endpoints being located at an opposite side of the cover (see annotated figure above), and a third one of the second endpoints being located between the first and second ones of the second endpoints (see annotated figure above), the inverter cover further including a first additional rib (203d, see annotated figure above) extending between the first and third ones of the second endpoints and a second additional rib (203a, see annotated figure above) extending between the second and third ones of the second endpoints; note that the inverter cover (12c) includes apertures (128; paragraph [0028]) for receiving fasteners to couple/secure the inverter cover (12c), and a second endpoint of each of the radial ribs (203d, 203a) is located at a corresponding aperture (128); wherein the inverter cover (12c) includes a flange (see shaded area in the annotated figure above) extending along an outer perimeter thereof, wherein the flange and the first and second additional ribs (203d, 203a) forming a continuous support structure surrounding the first portion of the inverter cover (12c).
Annotated excerpt of Figure 5 of Ogawa and Figure 3 of Kinjo
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to incorporate the radial ribs, circular rib and additional ribs as taught by Kinjo on the inverter-cavity-facing-side of the inverter cover of Ogawa (above annotated figure shows the additional rib modification), such that each aperture is located at a corresponding second endpoint of a radial rib, and the flange plus the additional ribs forming a continuous structure for the purpose of reinforcement of the inverter cover and reducing vibration and noise (paragraphs [0044] and [0045] of Kinjo).
Although Ogawa does not specifically disclose that the aperture for a fastener is located at the claimed third endpoint, having another aperture / fastener located at the third one of the second endpoints is an obvious matter of design choice wherein no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the aperture/fastener located at the third one of the second endpoints versus the configuration taught by Ogawa/Kang/Kinjo. Further, it is within the general skill level of a worker in the art to adequately provide apertures/fasteners around the perimeter of the inverter, including at a location of the third one of the second endpoints at a junction between the first and second portion (that appears to be known in the art as evidenced by Richter below, so the results of the modification are predictable – MPEP 2141, Section III, Rationale E) in order to securely hold the inverter cover in place.
Annotated Figure 3 of Richter
Annotated Figure 10 of Ogawa (left) and Figure 3 of Richter (right)
Richter (see annotated figures above; paragraph [0032]; Figure 3) appears to teach an aperture / fastener located at a junction between a first portion and a second portion of an inverter cover, which would correspond to the claimed location of the third one of the second endpoints in the Ogawa/Kang/Kinjo’s inverter cover, therefore the claimed location of the aperture appears to be known in the art. Note that paragraph [0055] of Applicant’s specification merely recites that their inverter back cover 20 is mounted to the motor housing by a plurality of bolts 34, without any emphasis on that particular claimed location of the bolt / aperture or the significance of any particular location.
In Re Claim 3, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Ogawa discloses that the compressor housing (3) includes a motor section (5a, 5b) and a compression section (11, 12), the motor section having a motor housing (wall surrounding 5a) defining a motor cavity (having 5a and 5b) for housing the motor (5a, 5b), the compression section (11, 12) includes the fixed scroll (11), the fixed scroll (11) forming part of the compressor housing (since it is fixed to the housing).
In Re Claim 6, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Ogawa discloses that the compressor housing (3) includes first drive shaft supporting member (for bearing 41) and a second drive shaft supporting member (for bearing 43) and further including: a first ball bearing (41) located within the first drive shaft supporting member and configured to receive the first end of the drive shaft (14); and, a second ball bearing (43) located within the second drive shaft supporting member and configured to receive the send end of the drive shaft (14); (paragraph [0078]; Figure 1).
In Re Claim 7, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Ogawa discloses that the compressor housing (3) includes a front cover (52), the front cover (52) defines the discharge volume (it defines a boundary of the discharge volume), wherein the scroll-type electric compressor utilizes oil (6, 7; paragraph [0073]) to lubricate components of the motor (bearing 42 in Figure 11; paragraph [0075]), drive shaft (14 via inner passage 15 and inner race of the bearing which is affixed to the shaft) and compression device (scroll 12; paragraph [0073]), the scroll-type electric compressor further includes an oil separator (paragraph [0008]: “gas-liquid separations”) for separating intermixed oil and refrigerants as the intermixed oil and refrigerant exit the compression device (at 62) and enters the discharge volume (flow volume between 62 and 30) (paragraph [0008]).
In Re Claim 13, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Kinjo discloses that the inverter cover (12c; Figure 2) includes a center circular rib (205; Figure 3; paragraph [0045]), the first end point of each radial rib (204 a-d) being connected to the center circular rib (205).
In Re Claim 17, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Ogawa discloses that the compression device (4) includes a fixed scroll (11) located within, and being fixed relative to, the compressor housing, and an orbiting scroll (12) coupled to the drive shaft, the orbiting scroll (12) and the fixed scroll (11) forming compression chambers for receiving the refrigerant from the intake volume and compressing the refrigerant as the drive shaft (14) is rotated about the center axis (by definition, in order for the compressor to operate as disclosed).
Claim(s) 2, 8, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (PG Pub US 20120308414 A1) in view of Kang (PG Pub US 20180023568 A1) and further in view of Kinjo (PG Pub US 20200244140 A1) and as evidenced by Richter (PG Pub US 20240098925 A1) and further in view of Kuwahara (PG Pub US 20100172781 A1).
In Re Claim 2, Ogawa, Kang, Kinjo and Richter disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Ogawa further discloses a compression device (4) including a fixed scroll (11) located within, and being fixed relative to, the housing, and an orbiting scroll (12) coupled to the drive shaft, the orbiting scroll (12) and the fixed scroll (11) forming compression chambers for receiving the refrigerant from the intake volume and compressing the refrigerant as the drive shaft (14) is rotated about the center axis (by definition, in order for the compressor to operate as disclosed).
Annotated excerpt of Figure 1 of Ogawa
Ogawa also discloses an eccentric bush (see annotated figure above) coupled to the drive shaft (14), and, a ball bearing (see annotated figure above) positioned between, and adjacent to each of the orbiting scroll (12) and the eccentric bushing (see annotated figure above), the drive shaft (14), orbiting scroll (12) and eccentric bushing being arranged to cause the orbiting scroll (12) to orbit the central axis in an eccentric orbit (in order for the compressor to operate as disclosed), but Ogawa does not explicitly disclose that the eccentric bushing is part of a swing link mechanism (that includes a balance weight).
However, Figure 1 of Kuwahara discloses a swing-link mechanism (55 which includes balance weight 19A, eccentric bush 19) coupled to the drive shaft (11, 11C), and, a bearing (21) positioned between, and adjacent to each of the orbiting scroll (30) and the swing-link mechanism (70); (paragraph [0079]), the drive shaft, orbiting scroll and swing-link mechanism being arranged to cause the orbiting scroll to orbit the central axis in an eccentric orbit (in order for the compressor to operate as disclosed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify the annotated bushing (see annotated figure above) of Ogawa / Kang / Richter / Kinjo to include a swing link mechanism in the form of the balance weight (19A) of Kuwahara for the purpose of balancing the unbalanced load caused by driving the revolving member (paragraph [0080] of Kuwahara).
In Re Claim 8, Ogawa discloses a scroll-type electric compressor (11, 12; Abstract; Figures 1, 16) having a central axis (of drive shaft 14) and being configured to compress a refrigerant (30), comprising: a compressor housing (3, 102) defining an intake volume (to the right of suction port 8, where the scrolls 11, 12 are located) and a discharge volume (adjacent discharge port 9); a refrigerant inlet port (8) coupled to the compressor housing (3, 102) and configured to introduce the refrigerant to the intake volume; a refrigerant outlet port (9) coupled to the compressor housing (3, 102) and configured to allow compressed refrigerant to exit the scroll-type electric compressor from the discharge volume; a compression device (4) located at an end (opposite to the claimed one end) of the compressor housing (3, 102); an inverter section (101) including: an inverter housing (102) having a first side and a second side, the first side being adjacent to the intake volume (to the right of suction port 8, where the scrolls 11, 12 are located), an inverter back cover (113) connected to the inverter housing (102) and forming an inverter cavity (where 105 is), the inverter back cover (113) having a first portion and a second portion (see annotated figure above), the first portion being generally perpendicular to the central axis and having an apex (see annotated figure above) and an outer perimeter (circular shape depicted in Figure 5), wherein the first portion is dome-shaped (see annotated figure above, the curvature of the dome is better seen in Figure 2) such that the inverter back cover has a curved profile from the apex towards the outer perimeter, an inverter module (includes 105) mounted inside the inverter cavity and adapted to convert direct current electrical power to alternating current electrical power (by definition, in order for the inverter to function as disclosed); a motor section (5) including: a motor housing (wall surrounding 5a) forming a motor cavity (which has 5a) and being mounted to the inverter housing (102), a drive shaft (14) located within the motor housing, having first and second ends (top and bottom of shaft 14) and defining a center axis (longitudinal axis of shaft which coincides with the central axis of the compressor), and a motor (5a, 5b) located within the motor housing to controllably rotate the drive shaft about the center axis (in order for the compressor to operate as disclosed), and, the compression device (4) including a fixed scroll (11) located within, and being fixed relative to, the compressor housing, and an orbiting scroll (12) coupled to the drive shaft, the orbiting scroll (12) and the fixed scroll (11) forming compression chambers for receiving the refrigerant from the intake volume and compressing the refrigerant as the drive shaft (14) is rotated about the center axis (by definition, in order for the compressor to operate as disclosed), and a front cover (52), wherein the compressor housing (3, 102) is formed by the inverter back cover (113), the inverter housing (102), the motor housing (wall surrounding 5a), the fixed scroll (11) and the front cover (52); (paragraphs [0068], [0069], [0071], [0077], [0080], [0082]).
Annotated excerpt of Figure 1 of Ogawa
the inverter cover (113) having a first portion and a second portion (see annotated figure above), the first portion being generally perpendicular to the central axis and having an apex (see annotated figure above) and an outer perimeter (circular shape depicted in Figure 5), wherein the first portion is dome-shaped (see annotated figure above, the curvature of the dome is better seen in Figure 2) such that the inverter cover has a curved profile from the apex towards the outer perimeter.
Ogawa does not disclose that the inverter cover is located at an opposite end to the compression device end of the compressor housing, and Ogawa does not disclose the plurality of radial ribs.
However, Kang discloses a scroll type electric compressor (Figure 1; paragraph [0010]), where the inverter cover (300) is located at an opposite end to the compression device (121, 122) end of the compressor housing (100). Kang further discloses the inverter cover (300; Figure 2) including a plurality of radial ribs (342) facing the inverter cavity (between 210 and 300 which has circuit board 220), the radial ribs (342) providing support and rigidity to the first portion of the inverter cover (Abstract: “The cover is reinforced”), the radial ribs (342) and the first portion of the inverter cover being configured to disperse vibrations from the compression device (121, 122) (paragraph [0002]: “vibration and noise from compressor housing can be reduced”).
Annotated Figure 1 of Ogawa and Figure 1 of Kang
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to relocate (i.e. essentially flip) the motor and compression unit of Ogawa so that the inverter cover is located at an opposite end to the compression device end of the compressor housing as taught by Kang because it has been held that a mere rearrangement of parts is routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI-C).
Ogawa and Kang do not disclose ribs.
Annotated Figure 3 of Kinjo
However. Figure 3 of Kinjo discloses an inverter (71; paragraph [0067]) - cover (12c) including a plurality of radial ribs (204 a-d; paragraph [0045]) on the opposite side of the inverter cavity (occupied by 71 in Figure 2), the radial ribs (204 a-d) providing support and rigidity to the first portion (paragraph [0044]: “reinforcing”) of the inverter cover (12c), the radial ribs (204 a-d) and the cover (12c) being configured to disperse vibrations (paragraph [0045]), each radial rib (204 a-d) having a first end point and a second endpoint (see annotated figure above), the first endpoint of each radial rib being adjacent to the apex (center of circular rib 205) of the first portion, the second endpoint of each radial rib being adjacent to the outer perimeter of the first portion (see annotated figure above), a first one of the second endpoints being located on one side of the cover (see annotated figure above), a second one of the second endpoints being located at an opposite side of the cover (see annotated figure above), and a third one of the second endpoints being located between the first and second ones of the second endpoints (see annotated figure above), the inverter cover further including a first additional rib (203d, see annotated figure above) extending between the first and third ones of the second endpoints and a second additional rib (203a, see annotated figure above) extending between the second and third ones of the second endpoints; note that the inverter cover (12c) includes apertures (128; paragraph [0028]) for receiving fasteners to couple/secure the inverter cover (12c), and a second endpoint of each of the radial ribs (203d, 203a) is located at a corresponding aperture (128); wherein the inverter cover (12c) includes a flange (see shaded area in the annotated figure above) extending along an outer perimeter thereof, wherein the flange and the first and second additional ribs (203d, 203a) forming a continuous support structure surrounding the first portion of the inverter cover (12c).
Annotated excerpt of Figure 5 of Ogawa and Figure 3 of Kinjo
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to incorporate the radial ribs, circular rib and additional ribs as taught by Kinjo on the inverter-cavity-facing-side of the inverter cover of Ogawa (above annotated figure shows the additional rib modification), such that each aperture is located at a corresponding second endpoint of a radial rib, and the flange plus the additional ribs forming a continuous structure for the purpose of reinforcement of the inverter cover and reducing vibration and noise (paragraphs [0044] and [0045] of Kinjo).
Although Ogawa does not specifically disclose that the aperture for a fastener is located at the claimed third endpoint, having another aperture / fastener located at the third one of the second endpoints is an obvious matter of design choice wherein no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the aperture/fastener located at the third one of the second endpoints versus the configuration taught by Ogawa/Kang/Kinjo. Further, it is within the general skill level of a worker in the art to adequately provide apertures/fasteners around the perimeter of the inverter, including at a location of the third one of the second endpoints at a junction between the first and second portion (that appears to be known in the art as evidenced by Richter below, so the results of the modification are predictable – MPEP 2141, Section III, Rationale E) in order to securely hold the inverter cover in place.
Annotated Figure 3 of Richter
Annotated Figure 10 of Ogawa (left) and Figure 3 of Richter (right)
Richter (see annotated figures above; paragraph [0032]; Figure 3) appears to teach an aperture / fastener located at a junction between a first portion and a second portion of an inverter cover, which would correspond to the claimed location of the third one of the second endpoints in the Ogawa/Kang/Kinjo’s inverter cover, therefore the claimed location of the aperture appears to be known in the art. Note that paragraph [0055] of Applicant’s specification merely recites that their inverter back cover 20 is mounted to the motor housing by a plurality of bolts 34, without any emphasis on that particular claimed location of the bolt / aperture or the significance of any particular location.
Annotated excerpt of Figure 1 of Ogawa
Ogawa also discloses an eccentric bush (see annotated figure above) coupled to the drive shaft (14), and, a ball bearing (see annotated figure above) positioned between, and adjacent to each of the orbiting scroll (12) and the eccentric bushing (see annotated figure above), the drive shaft (14), orbiting scroll (12) and eccentric bushing being arranged to cause the orbiting scroll (12) to orbit the central axis in an eccentric orbit (in order for the compressor to operate as disclosed), but Ogawa does not explicitly disclose that the eccentric bushing is part of a swing link mechanism (that includes a balance weight).
However, Figure 1 of Kuwahara discloses a swing-link mechanism (55 which includes balance weight 19A, eccentric bush 19) coupled to the drive shaft (11, 11C), and, a bearing (21) positioned between, and adjacent to each of the orbiting scroll (30) and the swing-link mechanism (70); (paragraph [0079]), the drive shaft, orbiting scroll and swing-link mechanism being arranged to cause the orbiting scroll to orbit the central axis in an eccentric orbit (in order for the compressor to operate as disclosed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify the annotated bushing (see annotated figure above) of Ogawa / Kang / Kinjo to include a swing link mechanism in the form of the balance weight (19A) of Kuwahara for the purpose of balancing the unbalanced load caused by driving the revolving member (paragraph [0080] of Kuwahara).
In Re Claim 12, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 8, and Ogawa further discloses that the front cover (52) defines the discharge volume (it defines a boundary of the discharge volume), wherein the scroll-type electric compressor utilizes oil (6, 7; paragraph [0073]) to lubricate components of the motor (bearing 42 in Figure 11; paragraph [0075]), drive shaft (14 via inner passage 15 and inner race of the bearing which is affixed to the shaft) and compression device (scroll 12; paragraph [0073]), the scroll-type electric compressor further includes an oil separator (paragraph [0008]: “gas-liquid separations”) for separating intermixed oil and refrigerants as the intermixed oil and refrigerant exit the compression device (at 62) and enters the discharge volume (flow volume between 62 and 30) (paragraph [0008]).
In Re Claim 15, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 8, Kinjo discloses that the inverter cover (12c; Figure 2) includes a center circular rib (205; Figure 3; paragraph [0045]), the first end point of each radial rib (204 a-d) being connected to the center circular rib (205).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (PG Pub US 20120308414 A1) in view of Kang (PG Pub US 20180023568 A1) and further in view of Kinjo (PG Pub US 20200244140 A1) and as evidenced by Richter (PG Pub US 20240098925 A1) and further in view of Lim (PG Pub US 20180163724 A1).
In Re Claims 4 and 5, Ogawa discloses all the limitations of Claim 3, and Ogawa also discloses guiding pin (57), but Ogawa, Kang, Kinjo and Richter do not explicitly disclose ring-shaped slots and ring inserts.
However, Figure 1 of Lim discloses that the fixed scroll (10) is mounted to the motor housing (6), wherein the orbiting scroll (100) has a lower surface, the lower surface having a plurality of ring-shaped slots (110), wherein the motor housing (6) includes a plurality of articulating guidance pin apertures (for guidance pins 300), further including a plurality of guidance pins (300) located within the articulating guidance pin apertures and extending towards the compression section (10,100) and into the ring-shaped slots (110), the plurality of guidance pins (300) being configured to limit articulation of the orbiting scroll (100) as the orbiting scroll (100) orbits about the central axis (of shaft 4), and including a plurality of ring inserts (200) located within the ring-shaped slots (110); (paragraphs [0008],[0050],[0052],[0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to substitute the Oldham ring (57) rotation constraint member of Ogawa / Kang / Kinjo / Richter with the articulation limiting mechanism in the form of guidance pins and ring shaped slots/inserts as taught by Lim for the purpose of stably revolving the orbiting scroll (paragraph [0032] of Lim).
Claim(s) 9 – 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (PG Pub US 20120308414 A1) in view of Kang (PG Pub US 20180023568 A1) and further in view of Kinjo (PG Pub US 20200244140 A1) and as evidenced by Richter (PG Pub US 20240098925 A1) and in view of Kuwahara (PG Pub US 20100172781 A1) and further in view of Lim (PG Pub US 20180163724 A1).
In Re Claims 9 and 10, Ogawa, Kang, Kinjo, Richter and Kuwahara disclose all the limitations of Claim 8, and Ogawa also discloses guiding pin (57), but it does not explicitly disclose ring-shaped slots and ring inserts.
However, Figure 1 of Lim discloses that the fixed scroll (10) is mounted to the motor housing (6), wherein the orbiting scroll (100) has a lower surface, the lower surface having a plurality of ring-shaped slots (110), wherein the motor housing (6) includes a plurality of articulating guidance pin apertures (for guidance pins 300), further including a plurality of guidance pins (300) located within the articulating guidance pin apertures and extending towards the compression section (10,100) and into the ring-shaped slots (110), the plurality of guidance pins (300) being configured to limit articulation of the orbiting scroll (100) as the orbiting scroll (100) orbits about the central axis (of shaft 4), and including a plurality of ring inserts (200) located within the ring-shaped slots (110); (paragraphs [0008],[0050],[0052],[0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to substitute the Oldham ring (57) rotation constraint member of Ogawa / Kang / Kinjo / Richter / Kuwahara with the articulation limiting mechanism in the form of guidance pins and ring shaped slots/inserts as taught by Lim for the purpose of stably revolving the orbiting scroll (paragraph [0032] of Lim).
In Re Claim 11, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 10, and Ogawa discloses that the housing (3) includes first drive shaft supporting member (for bearing 41) and a second drive shaft supporting member (for bearing 43) and further including: a first ball bearing (41) located within the first drive shaft supporting member and configured to receive the first end of the drive shaft (14); and, a second ball bearing (43) located within the second drive shaft supporting member and configured to receive the send end of the drive shaft (14); (paragraph [0078]; Figure 1).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (PG Pub US 20120308414 A1) in view of Kang (PG Pub US 20180023568 A1) and further in view of Kinjo (PG Pub US 20200244140 A1) and as evidenced by Richter (PG Pub US 20240098925 A1) and further in view of Asami (WIPO document WO 2020090701 A1 provided in Applicant’s IDS of 1/12/2024, Machine Translation provided by examiner).
In Re Claim 14, Ogawa, Kang, Kinjo and Richter disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, but they do not disclose a channel on the outer surface of the first portion.
However, Figures 3 and 5 of Asami discloses an inverter cover (101) having a first portion (104) and ribs (106) on the outer surface of the first portion, where adjacent ribs (106) form a channel as depicted (paragraphs [0037], [0038]; Figures 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to incorporate the channel formed by adjacent ribs of Asami on the outer surface of the first portion of Ogawa / Kang / Kinjo / Richter for the purpose of suppressing attempts to crush the dome shaped portion of the inverter cover (paragraph [0013] of Asami).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (PG Pub US 20120308414 A1) in view of Kang (PG Pub US 20180023568 A1) and further in view of Kinjo (PG Pub US 20200244140 A1) and as evidenced by Richter (PG Pub US 20240098925 A1) and in view of Kuwahara (PG Pub US 20100172781 A1) and further in view of Asami (WIPO document WO 2020090701 A1 provided in Applicant’s IDS of 1/12/2024, Machine Translation provided by examiner).
In Re Claim 16, Ogawa, Kang, Kinjo, Richter and Kuwahara disclose all the limitations of Claim 8, but they do not disclose a channel on the outer surface of the first portion.
However, Figures 3 and 5 of Asami discloses an inverter cover (101) having a first portion (104) and ribs (106) on the outer surface of the first portion, where adjacent ribs (106) form a channel as depicted (paragraphs [0037], [0038]; Figures 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to incorporate the channel formed by adjacent ribs of Asami on the outer surface of the first portion of Ogawa / Kang / Kinjo Richter / Kuwahara for the purpose of suppressing attempts to crush the dome shaped portion of the inverter cover (paragraph [0013] of Asami).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Contact Information
/D.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746