DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-12, 14, and 27-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11, and 27-30 filed on April 20, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 14, 27, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0051575 A1) in view of Jung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0223145 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 7 @ 400, and 9-11), comprising:
one or more processors (Fig(s).9 @ 610);
one or more memories (Fig(s).9 @ 620) coupled with the one or more processors (Fig(s).9 @ 610); and
instructions (read as instruction(s) (Paragraph [0115])) stored in the one or more memories (Fig(s).9 @ 620) and executable by the one or more processors (Fig(s).9 @ 610) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 7 @ 400, and 9-11) to:
monitor for a first signal in a first bandwidth part of a carrier (read as “The terminal device receives the first indication information sent by the network device, and the first indication information is configured for indicating the terminal device to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP;”(Fig(s).5 @ S210 and 6 @ S310; Paragraph [0125])); and
However, Yang et al. fail to explicitly teach the step to receive a paging message in a second bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a trigger indicating that the UE is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message.
Jung et al. teach a method to receive a paging message in a second bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a trigger indicating that the UE is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message. (Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP by a network devices to a UE as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 27, Yang et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig(s).1 @ 110, 6, 8 @ 500, and 9-11), comprising:
one or more processors (Fig(s).9 @ 610);
one or more memories (Fig(s).9 @ 620) coupled with the one or more processors (Fig(s).9 @ 610); and
instructions (read as instruction(s) (Paragraph [0115])) stored in the one or more memories (Fig(s).9 @ 620) and executable by the one or more processors (Fig(s).9 @ 620) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 110, 6, 8 @ 500, and 9-11) to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 7 @ 400, and 9-11), a first signal in a first bandwidth part of a carrier (read as “The terminal device receives the first indication information sent by the network device, and the first indication information is configured for indicating the terminal device to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP;”(Fig(s).5 @ S210 and 6 @ S310; Paragraph [0125])); and
However, Yang et al. fail to explicitly teach the step to transmit a paging message in a second bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a trigger indicating that the UB is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message.
Jung et al. teach a method to transmit a paging message in a second bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a trigger indicating that the UB is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message. (read as “The base units 110 may communicate directly with one or more of the remote units 105 via communication signals.” (Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0046]) For example, “the base unit 110 sends short paging messages (e.g., a systemInfoModification message, a Commercial Mobile Alert Service (CMAS)-Indication, an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS)-Indication, etc.) in paging downlink control information (DCI) and the remote unit 105 (re)-acquires updated SI for the PCell (or PSCell) (and/or an urgent notification after) by receiving the paging DCI carrying the short paging messages.” (Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0052]) Also, “the remote unit 105 may be configured with a second DL BWP for reception of paging messages and/or SI messages.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715;Paragraph [0097]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. with the network device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 29, Yang et al. teach a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11), comprising:
monitoring for a first signal in a first bandwidth part of a carrier (read as “The terminal device receives the first indication information sent by the network device, and the first indication information is configured for indicating the terminal device to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP;”(Fig(s).5 @ S210 and 6 @ S310; Paragraph [0125])); and
However, Yang et al. fail to explicitly teach the step for receiving a paging message in a second bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a trigger indicating that the UE is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message.
Jung et al. teach a method for receiving a paging message in a second bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a trigger indicating that the UE is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message. (Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP by a network devices to a UE as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 30, Yang et al. teach a method for wireless communication (Fig(s).1 @ 110, 6, 8 @ 500, and 9-11), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UB) (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 7 @ 400, and 9-11), a first signal in a first bandwidth part of a carrier (read as “The terminal device receives the first indication information sent by the network device, and the first indication information is configured for indicating the terminal device to switch from the first BWP to the second BWP;”(Fig(s).5 @ S210 and 6 @ S310; Paragraph [0125])); and
However, Yang et al. fail to explicitly teach the step for transmitting a paging message in a second bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a trigger indicating that the UE is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message.
Jung et al. teach a method for transmitting a paging message in a second bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a trigger indicating that the UE is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message. (read as “The base units 110 may communicate directly with one or more of the remote units 105 via communication signals.” (Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0046]) For example, “the base unit 110 sends short paging messages (e.g., a systemInfoModification message, a Commercial Mobile Alert Service (CMAS)-Indication, an Earthquake and Tsunami Warning System (ETWS)-Indication, etc.) in paging downlink control information (DCI) and the remote unit 105 (re)-acquires updated SI for the PCell (or PSCell) (and/or an urgent notification after) by receiving the paging DCI carrying the short paging messages.” (Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0052]) Also, “the remote unit 105 may be configured with a second DL BWP for reception of paging messages and/or SI messages.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0097]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. with the network device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al., as modified by Jung et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11) wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors (Fig(s).9 @ 610) to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11) to:
receive a control signal (Fig(s).1-4), wherein the trigger indicating that the UE is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message. (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 2-5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11)
Regarding claim 4, and as applied to claim 3 above, Yang et al., as modified by Jung et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11) wherein the control signal comprises
an indication of a switch from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part,
a scheduling parameter associated with receiving the paging message,
a downlink control information message (Fig.3),
a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE),
a radio resource control message (Fig.3), or
any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al., as modified by Jung et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11) wherein the trigger indicating that the UE is to switch to the second bandwidth part to receive the paging message comprises an expiration of a timer. (read as inactivity timer (Paragraph [0012]))
Regarding claim 14, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al., as modified by Jung et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11) wherein the first bandwidth part and a third bandwidth part are a same bandwidth part. (read as “the third BWP is the first BWP or the initial BWP.”(Paragraph [0057]))
Claims 2, 6-12, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0051575 A1), in view of Jung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0223145 A1), and Babaei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0141695 A1).
Regarding claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al. teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11) wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processor (Fig(s).9 @ 610).
Jung et al. teach “… acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0002])
However, Yang et al. and Jung et al. fail to explicitly teach the step to monitor for a third signal in a third bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a scheduling parameter associated with receiving the paging message.
Babaei et al. teach a method to monitor for a third signal in a third bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a scheduling parameter associated with receiving the paging message. (read as a transmission and monitoring of a “DCI with data assignment”(Paragraph [0370]) For example, Babaei et al. teach “the DCI may be transmitted on a current active BWP and scheduling information may be for a new BWP.”(Fig(s).4, 27-32, and 35;Paragraph [0370]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving a DCI with data assignment(s) as taught by Babaei et al. and the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al. teach “the terminal device triggers a switch from a first BWP to a second BWP; and the terminal device receives new system information on the first BWP, or receives new system information on the second BWP.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11; Abstract)
Jung et al. teach “… acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0002])
However, Yang et al. and Jung et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein each of a first switch duration corresponding to switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part and a second switch duration corresponding to switching from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing of the carrier, a frequency range of the carrier, a UE capability parameter, or any combination thereof.
Babaei et al. teach a method wherein each of a first switch duration corresponding to switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part and a second switch duration corresponding to switching from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part is based at least in part on a subcarrier spacing of the carrier, a frequency range of the carrier, a UE capability parameter, or any combination thereof.(Fig(s).35 and 39)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for configuring BWPs based on received Capability Information as taught by Babaei et al. and the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Yang et al. teach “the terminal device triggers a switch from a first BWP to a second BWP; and the terminal device receives new system information on the first BWP, or receives new system information on the second BWP.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11; Abstract)
Jung et al. teach “… acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0002])
However, Yang et al. and Jung et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the UE capability parameter comprises
a duplexing mode parameter,
a quantity of phase locked loops associated with tracking signals at the UE, or
both.
Babaei et al. teach a method wherein the UE capability parameter comprises
a duplexing mode parameter (read as duplex mode (Paragraph [0208])),
a quantity of phase locked loops associated with tracking signals at the UE, or
both.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for UE Capability Information comprising of duplex modes taught by Babaei et al. and the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 8, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al. teach “the terminal device triggers a switch from a first BWP to a second BWP; and the terminal device receives new system information on the first BWP, or receives new system information on the second BWP.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11; Abstract)
Jung et al. teach “… acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0002])
However, Yang et al. and Jung et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein a first switch duration corresponding to switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part, a duration corresponding to receiving the paging message in the second bandwidth part, a second switch duration corresponding to switching from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part, or any combination thereof, correspond to a scheduled measurement gap.
Babaei et al. teach a method wherein a first switch duration corresponding to switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part, a duration corresponding to receiving the paging message in the second bandwidth part, a second switch duration corresponding to switching from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part, or any combination thereof, correspond to a scheduled measurement gap. (read as “UE receive an explicit DCI command and activates/deactivates the appropriate BWPs.”(Paragraph [0380]) Also, “A gNB may transmit one or more control information for cross-BWP scheduling to a UE.”(Fig.27; Paragraph [0280]) For example, “in response to receiving a DCI indicating switching BWP from BWP 1 to BWP 2. When receiving a PDCCH indicating DL scheduling on BWP 2, for example, at the (n+x+k+m)th slot, the UE may restart the BWP inactivity timer.”(Fig.28; Paragraph [0294]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving a DCI with data assignment(s) as taught by Babaei et al. and the function for generating and the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 9, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al. teach “the terminal device triggers a switch from a first BWP to a second BWP; and the terminal device receives new system information on the first BWP, or receives new system information on the second BWP.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11; Abstract)
Jung et al. teach “… acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0002])
However, Yang et al. and Jung et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein:
a first switch duration corresponding to switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part is based at least in part on one or more reference signals associated with receiving signaling in the second bandwidth part, and
the paging message has a quasi-co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals.
Babaei et al. teach a method wherein:
a first switch duration corresponding to switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part is based at least in part on one or more reference signals associated with receiving signaling in the second bandwidth part (read as “one or more second messages may comprise second configuration parameters indicating a plurality of channel state information reference signal resources.”(Fig.37; Paragraph [0540])), and
the paging message has a quasi-co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals.(read as QCL parameters (Paragraph [0233]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving a DCI with data assignment(s) (e.g.: CSI-RS resources, QCL parameters) as taught by Babaei et al. and the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al. teach “the terminal device triggers a switch from a first BWP to a second BWP; and the terminal device receives new system information on the first BWP, or receives new system information on the second BWP.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11; Abstract)
Jung et al. teach “… acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0002])
However, Yang et al. and Jung et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein:
a second switch duration corresponding to switching from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part is based at least in part on one or more reference signals associated with receiving signaling in the third bandwidth part, and a third signal has a quasi-co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals.
Babaei et al. teach a method wherein:
a second switch duration corresponding to switching from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part is based at least in part on one or more reference signals associated with receiving signaling in the third bandwidth part, and a third signal has a quasi-co-location relationship with the one or more reference signals. (read as QCL parameter (e.g.: qcl-csi-rs-configNZPid) (Paragraph [0233]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving a DCI with data assignment(s) (e.g.: CSI-RS resources, QCL parameters) as taught by Babaei et al. and the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, Yang et al., as modified by Jung et al. and Babaei et al., teach an apparatus (Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11; Abstract) wherein the second switch duration is further based at least in part on a first processing duration associated with processing the one or more reference signals, a second processing duration associated with processing the paging message, or both. (read as inactivity timer (Paragraph [0012]))
Regarding claim 12, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yang et al. teach “the terminal device triggers a switch from a first BWP to a second BWP; and the terminal device receives new system information on the first BWP, or receives new system information on the second BWP.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11; Abstract)
Jung et al. teach “… acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0002])
However, Yang et al. and Jung et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein a first switch duration corresponding to switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part is different than a second switch duration corresponding to switching from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part.
Babaei et al. teach a method wherein a first switch duration corresponding to switching from the first bandwidth part to the second bandwidth part is different than a second switch duration corresponding to switching from the second bandwidth part to a third bandwidth part. (Fig(s).27-28)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving a DCI with data assignment(s) as taught by Babaei et al. and the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. to the terminal device as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 28, and as applied to claim 27 above, Yang et al. teach “the terminal device triggers a switch from a first BWP to a second BWP; and the terminal device receives new system information on the first BWP, or receives new system information on the second BWP.”(Fig(s).1 @ 120, 5, 7 @ 400, and 9-11; Abstract) Also, Yang et al. teach an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors.(Fig.9)
Jung et al. teach “… acquiring system information and/or receiving a paging message, e.g., of system information modification.”(Fig(s).1 and 7 @ 715; Paragraph [0002])
However, Yang et al. and Jung et al. fail to explicitly teach the step to transmit a third signal in a third bandwidth part of the carrier based at least in part on a scheduling parameter associated with receiving the paging message at the UE.
Babaei et al. teach a method to transmit a third signal (read as a new BWP) in a third bandwidth part (read as a new BWP) of the carrier based at least in part on a scheduling parameter associated with receiving the paging message at the UE. (read as “DCI with data assignment”(Paragraph [0370]) For example, Babaei et al. teach “the DCI may be transmitted on a current active BWP and scheduling information may be for a new BWP.”(Fig(s).4, 27-32, and 35;Paragraph [0370]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for receiving a DCI with data assignment(s) as taught by Babaei et al. and the function for generating and transmitting a paging message in a second BWP as taught by Jung et al. with the network devices as taught by Yang et al. for the purpose of enhancing resource management of carrier bandwidth by devices in a communication network.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 14, and 27-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
R2-1811389 (“CR on RRC triggered BWP switching”, 20-24, August 2018) document teaches “… If the MAC entity receives a PDCCH or is configured by RRC signalling for BWP switching of a serving cell, the MAC entity shall:
1> if there is no ongoing Random Access procedure associated with this Serving Cell; or
1> if the ongoing Random Access procedure associated with this Serving Cell is successfully completed upon reception of this PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI (as specified in subclauses 5.1.4 and 5.1.5):
2> perform BWP switching to a BWP indicated by the PDCCH or by RRC signalling. …”(Section 5.15Page 4)
R1-1802894 (“BWP determination for paging delivery”, February 26th-March 2nd, 2018) document teaches “For SS/PBCH block and RMSI multiplexing patterns 2 and 3, support transmission bandwidth for PDSCH for paging (and OSI) which equals to RMSI CORESET + SS/PBCH block bandwidth.”(Section 2, Page 3)
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
September 16, 2026