DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
2. Applicant's amendment dated 08/18/2025 responding to the Office Action 04/14/2024 provided in the rejection of claims 1-8, 10-23 and 25-30.
3. Claims 1, 11,13,16, 26 and 30 are amended.
4. Claims 1-8, 10-23 and 25-30 are pending in the application, of which claims 1, 16 and 30 are in independent form and which have been fully considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
5. (A) Regarding art rejection: Applicants’ amendment necessitated new grounds of rejections presented in the following art rejection. Please see Hanon et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0196024 A1) and Averbuch et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0074061 A1A1).
Examiner Notes
6. Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-8, 10-23 and 25-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 16 and 30 recite the limitation “the local wireless device comprises a phone, a local computer, a tablet, a smartTV, a remote controlling device, a local gateway, or a wireless lighting device”, in lines 12-13,10-12 and 7-9 respectively appears to be mis-descriptive. Examiner respectfully has interpreted claims 1, 16 and 13 as reciting -- the local wireless device [[comprises]] is a phone, a local computer, a tablet, a smartTV, a remote controlling device, a local gateway, or a wireless lighting device --.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “wherein the wireless device comprises a lighting device”, in lines 1-2 appears to be mis-descriptive. Examiner respectfully has interpreted claim 15 as reciting -- wherein the wireless device [[comprises]] is a lighting device --.
Claims 11 and 26 recite the limitations “the memory is greater than a memory of the local wireless device; the memory is equal or less than the memory of the local wireless device”, in lines 1-2 appears to be mis-descriptive; and as such, it renders the claim indefinite. Examiner respectfully notes that it is unclear whether memory values or sizes of devices are compared.
Claims 2-8, 10-15, 17-23 and 25-29 are also rejected since they depend on claims 1 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 16-18, 25 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanon et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0196024 A1 -- herein after Hanon) in view of Averbuch et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0074061 A1A1 – herein after Averbuch).
Regarding claim 1:
Hanon discloses
A wireless device (a target device – see paragraph [0004]) comprising:
a wireless transceiver circuit (communication/transmit/receive – See paragraph [0020]);
[[an antenna communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit]].
a memory;
a firmware stored in the memory, wherein the firmware includes a firmware version (earlier/new version – See paragraph [0017]);
a controller/processor communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit and memory, wherein the controller/processor is configured to send a message containing the firmware version to a local wireless device (the head unit will receive the payload and update its firmware. It will then communicate to the Carrier Device that it has received the firmware upgrade and also communicate any other status messages required to the Carrier Device – See paragraphs [0030-0031]), receive the firmware update from the local wireless device (receiving, at a carrier device, an application carrying a firmware payload comprising one or more firmware packages associated with one or more of a plurality of target devices – See paragraph [0004]), and update the firmware by executing the firmware update automatically without any user interference (a carrier device updates the firmware of a target device… Device B is updated without notifying the user or without intervention from the user – See paragraphs [0023-0025]); and
wherein the firmware update was previously installed or downloaded on the local wireless device (the Carrier Device can deliver the payload. These include both wired and wireless connections. Different Carrier Devices will have different specifics on how they communicate through these avenues. Care must be taken to develop a strategy that can be leverage across different Carrier Devices with different operating systems and different App Stores to make the update system as accessible as possible – See paragraph [0036]) and the local wireless device comprises a phone, a local computer, a tablet, a smartTV, a remote controlling device, a local gateway, or a wireless lighting device (Carrier Device: a commercially available device, e.g., a cell phone, tablet, or laptop computer, that communicates with a Target Device and, upon a determination that a Target Device requires an update, transports an update to the Target Device – See paragraph [0014]. Device C could be any electronics product that has the ability to connect, either wirelessly or via a wired connection, to a Device B, which typically acts as a gateway device – See paragraph [0021]).
Hanon does not disclose
an antenna communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit.
the local wireless device comprises a smartTV.
Averbuch discloses
an antenna communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit (defines a system for wireless local area networking. The antenna 122 is configured establish wireless client links 134 to antennas 132 coupled to corresponding client devices 130 – See paragraph [0027]);
the local wireless device comprises a smartTV and a remote controlling device (a particular firmware update for a WiFi-equipped television could require that the WAP (e.g., the smart network host device 255) for the wireless network run at least version 2.0 of the WAP firmware – See paragraph [0061]. The firmware management component 270 could be configured to retrieve an updated version of the firmware for the device (e.g., in executable form) and to remotely install the updated version of the firmware onto the device (e.g., by running the executable) – See paragraphs [0074-0076]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Averbuch’s teaching into Hanon’s invention because incorporating Averbuch’s teaching would enhance Hanon to enable to run firmware and/or software in order to manage the operations of the respective device by particular wireless network that could include a WiFi-equipped television set as suggested by Averbuch (paragraphs [0017-0019]).
Regarding claim 2, the wireless device of claim 1,
Averbuch discloses
wherein the message comprises a broadcast message sent to multiple local wireless devices (wireless client links 134(1)-134(N) may each be configured to operate on a separate channel or band, or a common channel or band. Furthermore, bridge link 128 may operate on a separate channel or band with respect to the wireless client links 134 – See paragraph [0031]. The firmware management component 270 updates the device firmware by transmitting a particular message to the device, instructing the device to proceed with a firmware update. For example, a particular device could maintain information on the network address of a remote server from which updated firmware for the particular device can be downloaded and installed – See paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Averbuch’s teaching into Hanon’s invention because incorporating Averbuch’s teaching would enhance Hanon to enable to operate each wireless client on a separate channel or band, or a common channel or band suggested by Averbuch (paragraphs [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, the wireless device of claim 1,
Hanon discloses
wherein the controller/processor is further configured to change the firmware version only after a successful installation of the firmware update (an update process that replaces an earlier version of all or part of a software system with a newer release – See paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 10, the wireless device of claim 1,
Hanon discloses
wherein the local wireless device confirms whether the wireless device needs to be updated based on the firmware version of the wireless device (Device A communicates and negotiates with Device B and establishes whether the firmware of Device B needs to be updated. If there is a newer firmware payload within the Device A application, Device B typically is updated. Generally, Device B is updated without notifying the user or without intervention from the user – See paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 16.
Hanon discloses
A computerized method for updating a firmware on a wireless device (the firmware update system may update multiple systems within a product through the use of one application carrying firmware payloads to the product (hereafter referred to as a Target Device)… connect the Carrier Device to the Target Device via a wired or wireless connection – See paragraphs [0020-0021]), the method comprising:
automatically sending a message without any user interference (device A establishes connection with a cloud-based server to upload an update status of target devices B and C. The update server may download new update payloads based on without user interaction – See paragraph [0023]), via a wireless transceiver circuit, containing a firmware version to a local wireless device (Update: an update process that replaces an earlier version of all or part of a software system with a newer release – See paragraph [0017]. The head unit will receive the payload and update its firmware. It will then communicate to the Carrier Device that it has received the firmware upgrade and also communicate any other status messages required to the Carrier Device – See paragraphs [0030-0031]) [[using the wireless transceiver circuit communicably coupled to an antenna and a controller/processor]], wherein a firmware is stored in a memory communicably coupled to the controller/processor and the firmware includes the firmware version (Device A establishes connection with a cloud-based server to upload an update status of target devices B and C. The update server may download new update payloads based on user interaction or without user interaction – See paragraphs [0023-0025]);
automatically receiving without any user interference, via the wireless transceiver circuit, a firmware update from the local wireless device (If there is a newer firmware payload within the Device A application, Device B typically is updated. Generally, Device B is updated without notifying the user or without intervention from the user – See paragraph [0023-0025]), wherein the firmware update was previously installed or downloaded on the local wireless device (the Carrier Device can deliver the payload. These include both wired and wireless connections. Different Carrier Devices will have different specifics on how they communicate through these avenues. Care must be taken to develop a strategy that can be leverage across different Carrier Devices with different operating systems and different App Stores to make the update system as accessible as possible – See paragraph [0036]) and the local wireless device comprises a phone, a local computer, a tablet, a smartTV, a remote controlling device, a local gateway, or a wireless lighting device (Carrier Device: a commercially available device, e.g., a cell phone, tablet, or laptop computer, that communicates with a Target Device and, upon a determination that a Target Device requires an update, transports an update to the Target Device – See paragraph [0014]); and
automatically updating without any user interference, via the controller/processor, the firmware on the wireless device by executing the firmware update (a carrier device updates one or more secondary target devices via an intermediary device – See paragraph [0008]. Device C has the ability to negotiate, update, or have its applications updated such that it can then execute its applications – See paragraphs [0021-0023]).
Hannon does not disclose
using the wireless transceiver circuit communicably coupled to an antenna and a controller/processor;
the local wireless device comprises a smartTV.
Averbuch discloses
using the wireless transceiver circuit communicably coupled to an antenna and a controller/processor (defines a system for wireless local area networking. The antenna 122 is configured establish wireless client links 134 to antennas 132 coupled to corresponding client devices 130 – See paragraph [0027]. The smart network host device 120 comprises a processor complex, 160, a wireless network interface 162, an ID device reader 164, and a wired network interface 166. An interconnect 165 is configured to transmit data among the processor complex 160, wireless network interface 162, ID device reader 164, and wired network interface 166. The wired network interface 166 is configured transmit data packets via network interface 118, based on data received via the interconnect 165. The wired network interface 166 is also configured to receive data packets from the network interface 118 and transmit contents of the received data packets to the processor complex 160 via the interconnect 165. The wireless network interface 162 is configured to transmit data packets, based on data received via the interconnect 165, to one or more network devices within range. The wireless network interface 162 is also configured to receive data packets from the one or more network devices and then transmit contents of the received packets to the processor complex 160. The wireless network interface 162 is coupled to an antenna 122 – See paragraphs [0037-0038]);
the local wireless device comprises a smartTV and remote controlling device (a particular firmware update for a WiFi-equipped television could require that the WAP (e.g., the smart network host device 255) for the wireless network run at least version 2.0 of the WAP firmware – See paragraph [0061]. The firmware management component 270 could be configured to retrieve an updated version of the firmware for the device (e.g., in executable form) and to remotely install the updated version of the firmware onto the device (e.g., by running the executable)).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Averbuch’s teaching into Hannon’s invention because incorporating Averbuch’s teaching would enhance Hannon to enable to run firmware and/or software in order to manage the operations of the respective device by particular wireless network that could include a WiFi-equipped television set as suggested by Averbuch (paragraphs [0017-0019]).
Regarding claim 17, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 18, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 25, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 30:
Hanon discloses
A system (update system – see paragraph [0030]) comprising:
a wireless device (the target device – See Abstract) comprising a wireless transceiver circuit (communication/transmit/receive – See paragraph [0020]), [[an antenna communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit]],
a memory, a firmware stored in the memory, wherein the firmware includes a firmware version (earlier/new version – See paragraph [0017]), and a controller/processor communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit and memory (a computer processor, that a secondary target device in communication with the first target device is associated with a second firmware package in the firmware payload. The method further includes directing the first target device to transfer the second firmware package to the secondary target device and receiving a status from the first target device regarding installation of the second firmware package on the secondary target device – See paragraph [0004]);
a local wireless device communicably coupled to the wireless device (carrier device is connectable to one or more the target devices – See paragraph [0004]), wherein the firmware update was previously installed or downloaded on the local wireless device and the local wireless device comprises a phone, a local computer, a tablet, a smartTV, a remote controlling device, a local gateway, or a wireless lighting device (Carrier Device: a commercially available device, e.g., a cell phone, tablet, or laptop computer, that communicates with a Target Device and, upon a determination that a Target Device requires an update, transports an update to the Target Device – See paragraph [0014]);
the controller/processor of the wireless device is configured to send a message containing the firmware version to the local wireless device automatically without any user interference (device A establishes connection with a cloud-based server to upload an update status of target devices B and C. The update server may download new update payloads based on user interaction or without user interaction – See paragraph [0023]. Update: an update process that replaces an earlier version of all or part of a software system with a newer release – See paragraph [0017]. The head unit will receive the payload and update its firmware. It will then communicate to the Carrier Device that it has received the firmware upgrade and also communicate any other status messages required to the Carrier Device – See paragraphs [0030-0031]);
the local wireless device is configured to send a firmware update to the wireless device automatically without any user interference (If there is a newer firmware payload within the Device A application, Device B typically is updated. Generally, Device B is updated without notifying the user or without intervention from the user – See paragraph [0023-0025]. The Carrier Device can deliver the payload. These include both wired and wireless connections. Different Carrier Devices will have different specifics on how they communicate through these avenues. Care must be taken to develop a strategy that can be leverage across different Carrier Devices with different operating systems and different App Stores to make the update system as accessible as possible – See paragraph [0036]); and
the controller/processor of the wireless device is configured update the firmware by executing the firmware update automatically without any user interference (a carrier device updates one or more secondary target devices via an intermediary device – See paragraph [0008]. Device C has the ability to negotiate, update, or have its applications updated such that it can then execute its applications – See paragraphs [0021-0023]).
Hannon does not disclose
an antenna communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit;
the local wireless device comprises a smartTV.
Averbuch discloses
an antenna communicably coupled to the wireless transceiver circuit (defines a system for wireless local area networking. The antenna 122 is configured establish wireless client links 134 to antennas 132 coupled to corresponding client devices 130 – See paragraph [0027]. The smart network host device 120 comprises a processor complex, 160, a wireless network interface 162, an ID device reader 164, and a wired network interface 166. An interconnect 165 is configured to transmit data among the processor complex 160, wireless network interface 162, ID device reader 164, and wired network interface 166. The wired network interface 166 is configured transmit data packets via network interface 118, based on data received via the interconnect 165. The wired network interface 166 is also configured to receive data packets from the network interface 118 and transmit contents of the received data packets to the processor complex 160 via the interconnect 165. The wireless network interface 162 is configured to transmit data packets, based on data received via the interconnect 165, to one or more network devices within range. The wireless network interface 162 is also configured to receive data packets from the one or more network devices and then transmit contents of the received packets to the processor complex 160. The wireless network interface 162 is coupled to an antenna 122 – See paragraphs [0037-0038]);
the local wireless device comprises a smartTV and remote controlling device (a particular firmware update for a WiFi-equipped television could require that the WAP (e.g., the smart network host device 255) for the wireless network run at least version 2.0 of the WAP firmware – See paragraph [0061]. The firmware management component 270 could be configured to retrieve an updated version of the firmware for the device (e.g., in executable form) and to remotely install the updated version of the firmware onto the device (e.g., by running the executable)).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Averbuch’s teaching into Hanon’s invention because incorporating Averbuch’s teaching would enhance Hanon to enable to run firmware and/or software in order to manage the operations of the respective device by particular wireless network that could include a WiFi-equipped television set as suggested by Averbuch (paragraphs [0017-0019]).
9. Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8, 11,19-20, 22-23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanon and Averbuch as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively above, and further in view of Bandakka et al (US pub. No. 2013/0125107 A1 – art of record – herein after Bandakka).
Regarding claim 4, the wireless device of claim 1,
Bandakka discloses
wherein the controller/processor is further configured to add or change a parameter in the memory indicating a point within firmware update that is complete (an update status related to individual component updates, and including a percentage progress of the firmware update process, when the firmware update process is scheduled using a remote management software. In order to provide the progress update, the firmware update process can send a message to a remote management server while starting the update process of any component of the firmware, and can also send a message at the end of each component update. The . firmware update process can further send the percentage completion of the firmware update process when the upgrade process takes significant time. For example, in the case of updating an O/S which may take from 4 minutes to 40 minutes or more to complete, the firmware update process can send percentage completion information for every 25% of progress -- See paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Bandakka’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Bandakka’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to enable to process to complete the updating of firmware using download package as suggested by (paragraphs [0017-0019]).
Regarding claim 5, the wireless device of claim 4, wherein:
Bandakka discloses
an installation of the firmware update is unsuccessful (If either the update of the non-volatile memory with the downloaded O/S is not successful (operations 415F and 419F), and/or if the CRC check is not successful (operation 419F), the imaging process is stopped and an error message is sent to the RMS (operation 421F) — See paragraphs [0075-0076]); and
the controller/processor is further configured to read the parameter in the memory indicating the point within the firmware update that is complete (once the update is complete, whether the update was a ‘success ora failure. The user may therefore not know, in real-time during the update procedure, which component update is executing or what percentage of the update is completed -- See paragraph [0022]), and restart the firmware update after the point (the client device reboots and starts execution of the BIOS. The BIOS identifies the PXE module as the first boot device, and proceeds to boot from the PXE module. The BIOS PXE component can try to discover the boot server by sending a DHCP option tags for the PXE boot server — See paragraphs [0093-0094]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Bandakka’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Bandakka’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to enable a client device to boot-up after a failed firmware update as suggested by Bandakka (paragraphs [0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 7, the wireless device of claim 1, wherein:
Bandakka discloses
an installation of the firmware update is unsuccessful (failed firmware update -- See paragraph [0025]); and
the controller/processor is further configured to restart the firmware update from a beginning of the firmware update (The firmware update process can then be performed. In case any failures occur during the update process, the backup copy of the components can be restored to the client device. For example, if a failure occurs during updating of the BIOS or CMOS, the preexisting BIOS and CMOS components can be restored from the back-up -- See paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Bandakka’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Bandakka’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to enable to begin by backing up existing components stored in the client device as suggested by Bandakka (paragraphs [0024-0025]).
Regarding claim 8, the wireless device of claim 1, wherein:
Bandakka discloses
an installation of the firmware update is unsuccessful (failure occur during the update -- See paragraph [0025]); and
the controller/processor is further configured to restart the firmware update with the local wireless device, another wireless device, or a controlling device (the methods and systems can include recovery logic for enabling a client device to boot-up from either an operating system O/S partition, a non-PXE partition, or another functional partition after a failed firmware update -- see paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Bandakka’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Bandakka’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to enable to stop the firmware update process, and reboot the client device as suggested by Bandakka (paragraphs [0063-0064]).
Regarding claim 11, the wireless device of claim 1, wherein:
Bandakka discloses
the memory is greater than a memory of the local wireless device (the calculated CRC values match the CRC values from the firmware update configuration file, the firmware update application checks whether the non-volatile memory (e.g., a flash memory) of the client device is sufficiently large to accommodate the disk image including the O/S (operation 407H). In particular, the firmware update application may retrieve, from the firmware update configuration file, an indication of the size of the disk image, and may compare the retrieved indication to the size of the non- volatile memory. If the size of the non-volatile memory of the client device is insufficient-See paragraph [0078]);
the memory is equal or less than the memory of the local wireless device (a client device 102 may be a device having at least a processor and a memory, where the total amount of memory of the client device 102 could be less than the total amount of memory in a server 112 — See paragraph [0028]);
the wireless device comprises a first device type, the local wireless device comprises a second device type, and the first device type is different than the second device type;
the wireless device further comprises a first hardware, the local wireless device further comprises a second hardware, and the first hardware is different than the second hardware; or
the wireless device further comprises a first application identifier stored in the memory, the local wireless device further comprises a second application identifier, and the first application identifier and the second application identifier are different.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Bandakka’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Bandakka’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to enable to calculate a code for each downloaded package, and compare the calculated code with the code included for the package in the firmware update configuration file as suggested by Bandakka (paragraphs [0063-0064]).
Regarding claim 19, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 20, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 22, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 23, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 26, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 11 above.
11. Claim(s) 13, 15 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanon and Averbuch as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0055469 A1 – art of record --herein after Kim).
Regarding claim 13, the wireless device of claim 1,
Kim discloses
wherein the wireless device is not directly or indirectly connected to the Internet (all devices on the network 100 are connected either directly or indirectly via gateway – See paragraph [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Kim’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Kim’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to enable to connect indirectly via gateway as suggested by Kim (paragraph [0185]).
Regarding claim 15, the wireless device of claim 1,
Kim discloses
wherein the wireless device comprises a lighting device (For instance, the local area network can include network devices such as exterior motion sensors, exterior lighting (e.g., porch lights, walkway lights, security lights, or the like), garage door openers, sprinkler systems, or other network devices that are exterior to the user's home – See paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Kim’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Kim’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to include network device such that exterior motion sensors or exterior lighting, porch lights, walkway lights as suggested by Kim (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 28, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 13 above.
12. Claim(s) 6 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanon Averbuch and Bandakka as applied to claims 5 and 20 respectively above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0103670 A1 – art of record -- herein after Chen).
Regarding claim 6, the wireless device of claim 5,
Chen discloses
wherein the controller/processor is further configured to restart the firmware update until the firmware update is successful (if the firmware updating component still exists in the removable memory device rather than being deleted after the electronic apparatus is rebooted, the firmware updating procedure will be repeatedly performed until successfully finished – See paragraph [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Chen’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s and Bandakka’s inventions because incorporating Chen’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch and Bandakka to enable to update procedure repeatedly performed until successfully finished as suggested by Chen (paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 21, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 6 above.
13. Claim(s) 14 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanon Averbuch as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0103670 A1 – art of record -- herein after Chen).
Regarding claim 14, the wireless device of claim 1, further comprising:
Chen discloses
a first memory communicably coupled to the controller/processor (the electronic apparatus includes a memory module and a processor – See paragraphs [0012-0017]), wherein the memory comprises a second memory (the memory module includes a first memory unit and a second memory unit – See paragraph [0026]), and the firmware is running the controller/processor; and
the firmware update is copied to the second memory (the memory module includes a first memory unit and a second memory unit. The boot code component and the main firmware component are stored in the first memory unit. The copied firmware updating component is stored in the second memory unit – See paragraph [0026]), and the controller/processor replaces the firmware with the firmware update, or the firmware update comprises an application firmware and a bootloader (performing a firmware updating procedure to copy the firmware updating component from the removable memory device to the electronic apparatus, and to update the main firmware component by using the firmware updating component in the removable memory device – See paragraphs [0035-0038]. Boot code component – See block 100 and Fig. 1), the application firmware is deleted from the second memory (the processor 12 is configured to delete the firmware updating component in the removable memory device 2 and the copied firmware updating component in the second memory unit 102 by using the updated main firmware component – See paragraphs [0038-0040]), the bootloader is kept the same, and the bootloader updates the second memory with a new application firmware (if the determination in the step S106 is that the firmware updating component exists in the removable memory device 2, the processor 12 is configured to sequentially perform the firmware updating procedure by using the firmware updating component in the removable memory device 2 (Le., the step S100), delete the firmware updating component and the copied firmware updating component and then reboot the electronic apparatus by using the boot code component which recognizes the updated main firmware component if the firmware updating procedure is successfully finished – See paragraphs [0042-0047]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Chen’s teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Chen’s teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to enable to reboot the device based on firmware updating component as suggested by Chen (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 29, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 14 above.
14. Claim(s) 12 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanon and Averbuch as applied to claims 1 and 16 respectively above, and further in view of Debates et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0036956 A1 – art of record -- herein after Debates).
Regarding claim 12, the wireless device of claim 1,
Debates discloses
further comprising a hardware configuration parameter stored with the memory (For example, memory 210 is illustrated as containing a wireless connection utility 212, which includes wireless connection/connectivity assist (WCA) module 214 and wireless pairing configuration setup (WPCS) module 216 – See paragraphs [0027 and 0043]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use Debates’ teaching into Hanon’s and Averbuch’s inventions because incorporating Debates’ teaching would enhance Hanon and Averbuch to enable to maintain a database of wireless devices and their associated firmware as suggested by Debates (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 27, recites the same limitations as rejected claim 12 above.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dicks et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0232010 A1) discloses automatically provide software and/or firmware updates to the electronic devices; particularly mobile devices used by consumers such as portable health-care data interchange devices. There is also provided a method and system of updating software in electronic devices without requiring a wired data interface to affect changes. There is also provided a method and system for tracking the configuration of electronic devices that are sold to and configured by particular consumers – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Mann (US Patent No. 8,892,699 B2) discloses automatically updating an existing firmware file stored in a memory of an intelligent electronic device (IED) communicatively coupled to a network in a monitoring system. The IED downloads from a remote server to the IED an update file that includes a version of a firmware file and a filename of the firmware file. The IED determines whether the firmware version specified in the update file is updated compared to a version of the existing firmware file. If the firmware version in the update file is greater than the existing version, the IED communicates to the remote server an instruction to download to the IED the updated firmware file specified in the update file – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Walter et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0149973 A1) discloses an enterprise supervisor may detect and obtain new version firmware for the devices at the field level. The new version firmware may be transferred from the supervisor to one or more site controllers. The one or more site controllers may transfer the new version firmware to eligible field devices. The devices may report to their respective site controllers a status of a transfer of the new version hardware. The site controllers may report to the supervisor the status of the transfer. Detection of new version firmware may be automatic. Transfer of the new version firmware to virtually all of the eligible devices may be automatic – See Abstract and specification for more details.
Marino et al. (US Patent No. 8402109 B2) discloses receives a firmware update from a remote server, and destructively overwrites router firmware in flash memory in a chunk-wise manner, and then writes a kernel memory before going live with upgraded firmware. Some routers authenticate the firmware image. In some cases, image chunks are re-ordered into an executable order after receipt and before finishing their final arrangement in the flash memory – See Abstract and specification for more details.
/MONGBAO NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2192