Claim Status
This office action is in response to the amendment and remarks submitted 11/4/2025.
Claims 1, 3-5, 19 have been amended; support for claim 1 is found in [0007] and original claim 2; support for claim 19 is [0024].
Claims 21 and 22 have been added; support is found in original claims
Claims 2 and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-19 and 21-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Payne et al. (US 20220367982 A1).
As to claim 1, Payne et al. discloses a method of assembling a traction battery pack [0002,0009], comprising:
performing a primary welding operation on a bus bar of a battery system of the traction battery pack [0069] (welding cells to bus bars),
wherein, during the primary welding operation, a primary weld bead is formed on the bus bar [0069] (808, figure 8a); and
performing a secondary welding operation on the bus bar (after testing/inspecting the weld [0073], repair weld can be done [0071]),
wherein, during the secondary welding operation, a repair weld bead (weld) is formed within a weld repair zone [ adjacent repair welds [0071]) of the bus bars wherein the primary weld bead and the repair weld bead do not overlap and are formed at different locations of the bus bar [0071].
As to claim 3, Payne et al. discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the primary weld bead is formed at a location that is adjacent to but not within the weld repair zone [0071] (since the repair weld is adjacent to the weld, the primary and repair welds are located in different zones).
As to claim 5, Payne et al. discloses the method as recited in claim 1, comprising, prior to performing the secondary welding operation, performing a post electrical test on the primary weld bead. (after testing/inspecting the weld [0073], repair weld can be done [0071]).
As to claim 7, Payne et al. discloses the method as recited in claim 1, comprising, prior to performing the primary welding operation and the secondary welding operation, pressing the bus bar against a terminal of a battery cell of the battery system [0068].
As to claim 10, Payne et al. discloses the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the primary welding operation and the secondary welding operation are laser welding operations [0068].
As to claim 21, Payne et al. discloses a method for assembling a traction battery pack, comprising:
applying a pressing force to press a bus bar against a terminal of a battery cell [0068] (applying a force to ensure an intimate connection is achieved during welding);
while maintain the pressing force, forming a primary weld bead for joining the bus bar to the terminal [0068];
removing the pressing force after completing the primary weld bead to expose a weld repair zone of the bus bar [0070-0071] discloses the weld is tested (thus the pressing force is removed to test the weld); and
forming a repair weld bead at the weld repair zone [0071- adjacent repair welds],
wherein, after forming both the primary weld bead and the repair weld bead, the primary weld bead at least partially surrounds the repair weld bead (since it is adjacent it will partially surround).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payne et al. (US 20220367982A1) in view of Guo et al. (US 20190027734).
As to claim 4, (Currently Amended) The method as recited in claim 1, wherein the primary weld bead can be any shape [0072] but fails to explicitly include an arced shape or a horseshoe shape. (figure 8b [0072]).
Guo et al. discloses a battery and teaches the terminal connected to a bus bar via a weld (abstract). Guo discloses the shape as a horse shoe shaped (figures 3-6).
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.). In this case, both welds are used for connecting the bus bar to the terminal of a cell, thus one of ordinary skill in the art would expect for weld to hold.
Claim(s) 6 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payne et al. (US 20220367982A1) in view of O’Connell et al. (US 2003/0111512 A1).
As to claim 6, Payne discloses the method as recited in claim 1, but is silent to prior to performing the primary welding operation and the secondary welding operation, cleaning a terminal of a battery cell that the bus bar is to be connected to.
O'Connell et al. discloses a method of welding a terminal (lead) and teaches if one or both of the surfaces to be welded are, in any combination, chemically and/or mechanically treated to clean, degrease or mechanically roughen the surface the welding is enhanced [0037].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to clean the terminal because this would enhance the ease of welding.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 are allowed.
Claim 8, 9 and 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Payne (US 2022/0367982 A1) which discloses a method for assembling a battery comprising pressing a bus bar against a terminal, forming a primary weld, testing the primary weld, forming a repair weld if needed adjacent [0071] to the first weld but does not disclose the location of that location is where the pressing tool was previously pressed against when forming the first weld. While Payne teaches it may be adjacent that does not suggest or render obvious that it was where the pressing tool was previously locating for the first weld.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 , filed 11/4/2025, with respect to claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 8/8/2025 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Maria Laios/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727