DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-22 are pending. Claims 2 and 15 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-12, 14, 16, and 20 are amended. Claims 6, 9, 13, and 17-19 are original. Claims 21-22 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on page 13 of the remarks that primary reference BERGER does not disclose the control circuitry is of the charger, it is submitted that the rejection interprets the charger in BERGER as comprising charging station 110 in Figure 1 and communication module 400 in Figure 4, with the control circuitry being control unit 404 as shown in Fig. 4. Therefore, BERGER discloses the recitation “control circuitry of the charger” within the broadest reasonable interpretation.
In response to arguments on page 14 of the remarks that secondary reference KIM does not disclose the recitation “in response to determining that SLAC has not started, stopping the nominal charging current from being provided”, it is submitted that secondary reference DUNJIC is relied upon as explicitly disclosing providing a nominal charging current, and stopping the nominal charging current if communications are not successful. The cited portions of BERGER discloses attempting to perform digital communications, and switching to analog communications if the digital communications are determined to not be enabled. Including the determination that SLAC has started as disclosed in secondary reference KIM as part of the digital communications of BERGER, along with the teaching of DUNJIC of the providing and stopping a “nominal charging current”, teaches the recitation “in response to determining that SLAC has not started, stopping the nominal charging current from being provided”. It is therefore submitted that BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches the method for managing vehicle charging as applied to claim 1, BERGER as modified by KIM and DUNJIC teaches the method for managing vehicle charging as applied to claim 8, and BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches the system for providing AC vehicle charging as applied to claim 14.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/25/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitations “providing a nominal charging current to the vehicle; determining whether signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) has started: in response to determining that the SLAC has started, selecting a digital communications protocol as the mode of communication and in response to determining that SLAC has not started, (a) stopping the nominal charging current from being provided and (b) selecting an analog communications protocol as the mode of communication” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, the specification does not disclose “setting a charging duty cycle to a first setting to provide the nominal charging current” as recited in amended claim 2. Paragraph 0047 discloses “a nominal duty cycle.. to enable communication”, but it does not appear to disclose providing the “nominal charging current” by setting the duty cycle. Paragraph 0066 mentions “any charging or nominal current”, but does not disclose setting a “charging duty cycle”. Therefore, the amendments to claim 3 constitute new matter.
Claim 16 is similar to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons as dependent claim 3.
Regarding new claim 21, the specification does not disclose “before determining the mode of communication between the vehicle and the charger, determining whether initial payment information was received, wherein the determining the mode of communication is based on determining that the initial payment information was not received”. The specification discloses “the charger may determine a mode of communication based on a control signal transmitted over the charging cable at step 404, and determine payment information based on the mode of communication at steps 406 and 414 (e.g., fi the mode is digital), or step 412 (e.g., if the mode is analog rather than digital)”, i.e., the specification discloses determining payment information based on the mode of communication, not determining the mode of communication based on “initial payment information” not being received. Furthermore, the specification does not appear to disclose “initial payment information” that is separate from the “payment information”. Therefore, new claim 21 constitutes new matter.
New Claim 22 is similar to claim 21 and is rejected for the same reasons as dependent claim 21.
Claims 1, 3-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “nominal” in claims 1, 8, and 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “nominal” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the “charging current” is rendered indefinite.
Claims 3-7, 9-13, and 16-22 are dependent from claims 1, 8, and 14, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as independent claims 1, 8, and 14,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-14, and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BERGER (US PG Pub 2018/0091191; cited in previous office action) in view of KIM (US PG Pub 2018/0001776; cited in previous office action), DUNJIC (US PG Pub 2020/0380477; cited in form PTO-892 with date 6/26/2025), and OLSSON (US 2011/0115425; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, BERGER discloses a method for managing vehicle charging (¶ 0006: providing means which enable the user of a vehicle which uses a communication protocol with a restricted functional scope for a charging process to use the functions provided by a charging station in an efficient and user-friendly manner; ¶ 0050: a method 500 for controlling an electrical charging process of a vehicle 100 at a charging station 110 via a charging cable 112) of a vehicle (100, Fig. 1) coupled to a charger (comprising charging station 110 in Figure 1 and communication module 400 in Figure 4) by a charging cable (112, Figs. 1 and 4), the method comprising:
determining, using control circuitry of the charger (404, Fig. 4), a mode of communication (¶ 0045: control unit 404 can be configured to enable a direct communication between the charging station 110 and the vehicle 100 to the extent that this is enabled by the overlap of the functions from the first communication protocol 421 and the second communication protocol 422. Conversely, functions which are possible only via the second communication protocol 422 can be provided through a connection between the user unit 410 and the charging station 110; ¶ 0051: The method 500 furthermore comprises transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) according to the first communication protocol 421 to the vehicle 100 if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The charging process can thus be controlled directly between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. The method 500 may furthermore comprise transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) via a transmission medium (e.g. via a WLAN connection) separated from the charging cable 112 to the user unit 410, in particular if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 does not enable the transmission of charging station data. Additional services for the charging process can thus be provided where appropriate via the user unit 410) by;
selecting a digital communications protocol as the mode of communication (¶ 0036: In order to enable an extended exchange of information between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110, a communication protocol can be used which allows the exchange of messages between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. An example of a communication protocol of this type is specified in the standard. The ISO/IEC 15118 standard users Power Line Communication (PLC) to transmit data via the pilot line. In particular, data packets can be exchanged between the control unit of the charging station 110 and the charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100 on the basis of PLC data packets; ¶ 0038: The communication protocol according to the ISO/IEC 15118 standard enables messages to be exchanged between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110 with which the vehicle 100 can identify and, if necessary, authenticate itself to the charging station 110. The charging station 110 can furthermore inform the vehicle 100 of the costs for electrical energy. Information relating to the time duration of a charging process and/or relating to the billing of the costs of the charging process can furthermore be exchanged; the ISO/IEC 15118 standard is considered as including digital communications; ¶ 0045: control unit 404 can be configured to enable a direct communication between the charging station 110 and the vehicle 100 to the extent that this is enabled by the overlap of the functions from the first communication protocol 421 and the second communication protocol 422. Conversely, functions which are possible only via the second communication protocol 422 can be provided through a connection between the user unit 410 and the charging station 110);
in response to determining that [communication via the digital communications protocol] has not started, (b) selecting an analog communications protocol as the mode of communication (¶ 0033: a pilot signal can be exchanged with the charging station 110, in particular via the contact part 202 and via a corresponding pilot line of the charging cable 112….a pilot circuit…. serving to exchange the pilot signal between a control unit of the charging station and the communication unit 301 or the charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100. The charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100 can be configured to notify a charging-related state of the vehicle 100 by setting a predefined level of the pilot signal; ¶ 0034: An example of a level-based and/or PWM-based communication protocol of this type is the IEC 61851-1 standard; ¶ 0035: Due to the unidirectional charging communication according to the IEC 61851-1 standard, no vehicle data can be communicated to the charging station 110. In particular, the IEC 61851-1 standard enables no functions such as incentive-based Smart Charging and Plug&Charge; the disclosed level-based communication protocol on the pilot line is considered an analog communications protocol);
determining, using the control circuitry of the charger, [billing] information based on the mode of communication (¶ 0015: The second communication protocol can enable a charging station and a vehicle which are interconnected via a charging cable to transmit and receive additional data relating to….the billing for the electrical energy provided by the charging station in the charging process….The aforementioned charging station data may comprise, for example, additional data; ¶ 0037: communication protocol according to the ISO/IEC 15118 standard enables messages to be exchanged between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110…. Information relating to….the billing of the costs of the charging process can furthermore be exchanged; ¶ 0051: The method 500 furthermore comprises determining 502 whether the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The method 500 furthermore comprises transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) according to the first communication protocol 421 to the vehicle 100 if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The charging process can thus be controlled directly between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. The method 500 may furthermore comprise transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) via a transmission medium (e.g. via a WLAN connection) separated from the charging cable 112 to the user unit 410, in particular if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 does not enable the transmission of charging station data. Additional services for the charging process can thus be provided where appropriate via the user unit 410); and
causing the charger to charge the vehicle using the charging cable (¶ 0003: Electrically driven vehicles….comprise electrical energy stores (e.g. batteries) which can be connected to a charging station and are charged via a charging device of the vehicle) based on the billing information (¶ 0004: control of the process for charging the energy store of a vehicle typically requires a communication between the vehicle and the charging station. The charging power, for example, that is provided by the charging station for the charging process can be determined in the communication. It may furthermore be advantageous to exchange data relating to the identity of the vehicle, data relating to energy prices, data relating to the payment for the charging energy obtained, etc., in order to optimize the performance of a charging process).
BERGER fails to disclose determining whether signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) has started: in response to determining that the SLAC has started, selecting the digital communications protocol as the mode of communication and in response to determining that SLAC has not started, (b) selecting the analog communications protocol as the mode of communication.
KIM discloses determining whether signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) has started: in response to determining that the SLAC has started, selecting a digital communications protocol as the mode of communication (¶ 0012-0016, 0124-0125). Providing the signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) of KIM as part of the digital communication in the process of BERGER, which determines the mode of communication is either analog or digital as described above, would teach the recitation “in response to determining that SLAC has not started…selecting an analog communications protocol as the mode of communication”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) of KIM into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of determining the mode of communication based on SLAC. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to establish a stable communication link between the vehicle and the charger.
BERGER as modified by KIM fails to disclose providing a nominal charging current to the vehicle; and in response to determining that SLAC has not started, (a) stopping the nominal charging current from being provided.
However, a “nominal charging current” is implied in BERGER in order to be able to communicate via PLC as disclosed in paragraphs 0036 and 0041. DUNJIC explicitly discloses providing a nominal charging current to the vehicle (¶ 0024: the method may further include establishing, by the electric vehicle charger, supply of a nominal level of electric power insufficient for charging the electric vehicle over the least one charging conductor to allow communication between the electric vehicle charger and the electric vehicle according to the power-line communications protocol prior to initiating supply of electric power for charging the electric vehicle); and in response to determining [an error condition], (a) stopping the nominal charging current from being provided (¶ 0079: if the payment method was not successfully authorized, then the electric vehicle 110 will not charge as no payment method that can be used to pay for the electric power consumed during charging has been identified. It may be that all connection and/or communication between the electric vehicle charger 100 and the electric vehicle 110 is terminated by the electric vehicle charger 100 responsive to such an error condition. For example, it could be that even the nominal supply established at the operation 504 is terminated; ¶ 0097: If one or more the checks fails, an error condition has occurred. If an error condition occurs, all connection and/or communication between the electric vehicle charger 100 and the electric vehicle 110 may be terminated by the electric vehicle charger 100 responsive to such an error condition. For example, it could be that any supply of nominal power (e.g., as may have been established to allow power-line communications) by the electric vehicle charger 100 to the electric vehicle 110 is terminated). It would be obvious to apply the nominal charging current and stopping the nominal charging current as disclosed in DUNJIC in response to determining that SLAC has not started as taught in BERGER as modified by KIM.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the nominal charging current of DUNJIC into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER as modified by KIM to produce an expected result of determining the mode of communication based on the nominal charging current. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow communication between the electric vehicle charger and the electric vehicle according to the power-line communications protocol prior to initiating supply of electric power for charging the electric vehicle (DUNJIC, ¶ 0024).
BERGER fails to disclose the billing information is payment information.
OLSSON discloses the billing information is payment information (¶ 0101: control module 520 may also allow for payment and/or communication between the dispenser 500 and a mobile device (e.g., a mobile phone, PDA, or other mobile communication device….Payment and transaction settlement can also be done by utilizing two-way data communication through the cable connecting the vehicle to the dispenser 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the payment information of OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 3, BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches setting a charging duty cycle to a first setting to provide the nominal charging current (BERGER teaches “setting a charging duty cycle” as disclosed in ¶ 0033-0036, which implies a “nominal charging current” as disclosed in DUNJIC).
Regarding claim 4, BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches the method as applied to claim 1, and BERGER further discloses the analog communications protocol was selected as the mode of communication (¶ 0033-0034).
BERGER fails to disclose determining the payment information comprises: accessing a remote application using a communications interface; and receiving a remote start signal from the remote application in response to payment being approved.
OLSSON further discloses determining the payment information comprises: accessing a remote application using a communications interface; and receiving a remote start signal from the remote application in response to payment being approved (¶ 0098-0100: remote payment verification center).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate determining the payment information comprises accessing a remote application as disclosed in OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 5, BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches the method as applied to claim 1, and BERGER further discloses the digital communications protocol was selected as the mode of communication (¶ 0037), the method further comprising: identifying the vehicle (¶ 0037, 0044).
BERGER fails to disclose based on identifying the vehicle, determining the payment information by accessing the payment information from the vehicle using the charging cable.
OLSSON further discloses determining the payment information by accessing the payment information from the vehicle using the charging cable (¶ 0098, 0101). It would be obvious to access the payment information based on identifying the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate accessing the payment information using the charging cable as disclosed in OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 6, BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches the method as applied to claim 1, and BERGER further discloses determining the payment information comprises: identifying, using the mode of communication, whether the vehicle corresponds to a payment application (¶ 0043, 0051).
BERGER fails to disclose if the vehicle corresponds to the payment application, determining payment information for the vehicle by accessing the payment application.
OLSSON further discloses if the vehicle corresponds to the payment application, determining payment information for the vehicle by accessing the payment application (¶ 0098-0101: payment via mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate determining the payment information by accessing the payment application as disclosed in OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 7, BERGER discloses determining the vehicle is coupled to the charger by the charging cable; and transmitting a first signal to the vehicle, wherein a control signal is a response to the first signal (¶ 0033-0034, 0041, 0045).
Regarding claim 10, BERGER as modified by KIM and DUNJIC teaches the method as applied to claim 8, and BERGER further discloses the ready mode corresponds to the vehicle being plugged in and a first duty cycle being applied by the charger to the charging cable (¶ 0033-0034), the method further comprising: attempting to establish a secured connection between the vehicle and the charger using the digital communications protocol (¶ 0036-0037); and if the secured connection is not established: determining billing information while in the standby mode (¶ 0015, 0051); and transitioning to the ready mode based on the billing information (¶ 0004, 0051).
BERGER fails to disclose the billing information is payment information.
OLSSON discloses the billing information is payment information (¶ 0101: control module 520 may also allow for payment and/or communication between the dispenser 500 and a mobile device (e.g., a mobile phone, PDA, or other mobile communication device….Payment and transaction settlement can also be done by utilizing two-way data communication through the cable connecting the vehicle to the dispenser 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the payment information of OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 11, BERGER as modified by KIM and DUNJIC teaches the method as applied to claim 8, and BERGER further discloses the ready mode corresponds to the vehicle being plugged in and a first duty cycle being applied by the charger to the charging cable (¶ 0033-0034), the method further comprising: attempting to establish a secured connection between the vehicle and the charger using the digital communications protocol (¶ 0036-0037); and if the secured connection is established and if the vehicle is identified using the digital communications protocol: transitioning to the standby mode; determining billing information while in the standby mode (¶ 0037); and transitioning back to the ready mode in response to determining the billing information (¶ 0004, 0040).
BERGER fails to disclose the billing information is payment information.
OLSSON discloses the billing information is payment information (¶ 0101: control module 520 may also allow for payment and/or communication between the dispenser 500 and a mobile device (e.g., a mobile phone, PDA, or other mobile communication device….Payment and transaction settlement can also be done by utilizing two-way data communication through the cable connecting the vehicle to the dispenser 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the payment information of OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 12, BERGER as modified by KIM and DUNJIC teaches the method as applied to claim 8, and BERGER further discloses the ready mode corresponds to the vehicle being plugged in and a first duty cycle being applied by the charger to the charging cable (¶ 0033-0034), the method further comprising: attempting to establish a secured connection between the vehicle and the charger using the digital communications protocol (¶ 0036-0037); and if the secured connection is established and if the vehicle is identified using the digital communications protocol: determining billing information as corresponding to the vehicle using the digital communications protocol (¶ 0037); and achieving plug-and-charge (PnC) based on the billing information (¶ 0015, 0047), wherein charging is managed with digital communications in the ready mode (¶ 0045, 0051).
BERGER fails to disclose the billing information is payment information.
OLSSON discloses the billing information is payment information (¶ 0101: control module 520 may also allow for payment and/or communication between the dispenser 500 and a mobile device (e.g., a mobile phone, PDA, or other mobile communication device….Payment and transaction settlement can also be done by utilizing two-way data communication through the cable connecting the vehicle to the dispenser 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the payment information of OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 13, BERGER as modified by KIM and DUNJIC teaches the method as applied to claim 8, and BERGER further discloses determining whether billing information has been received while in the standby mode (¶ 0015, 0037, 0051); and if the billing information has been received, transitioning from the standby mode to the ready mode (¶ 0004, 0051), wherein charging is managed with analog communications in the ready mode (¶ 0033-0034).
BERGER fails to disclose the billing information is payment information.
OLSSON discloses the billing information is payment information (¶ 0101: control module 520 may also allow for payment and/or communication between the dispenser 500 and a mobile device (e.g., a mobile phone, PDA, or other mobile communication device….Payment and transaction settlement can also be done by utilizing two-way data communication through the cable connecting the vehicle to the dispenser 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the payment information of OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 14, BERGER discloses a system for providing AC vehicle charging (¶ 0040: charging cable 112 may be an IEC 61851 Mode 3 charging cable (for AC charging). A charging process for AC charging can thus be enabled; ¶ 0050: an AC charging process can be controlled), the system comprising:
a charging interface (111, Figs. 1 and 4; ¶ 0040: charging plugs 111, 411 may, for example, be IEC 62196-3 Type 1/2 plugs) configured to interact with a vehicle (100, Fig. 1) using a charging cable (112, Figs. 1 and 4); and
control circuitry (404, Fig. 4) of a charger (comprising charging station 110 in Figure 1 and communication module 400 in Figure 4) configured to:
determine a mode of communication (¶ 0045: control unit 404 can be configured to enable a direct communication between the charging station 110 and the vehicle 100 to the extent that this is enabled by the overlap of the functions from the first communication protocol 421 and the second communication protocol 422. Conversely, functions which are possible only via the second communication protocol 422 can be provided through a connection between the user unit 410 and the charging station 110; ¶ 0051: The method 500 furthermore comprises transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) according to the first communication protocol 421 to the vehicle 100 if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The charging process can thus be controlled directly between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. The method 500 may furthermore comprise transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) via a transmission medium (e.g. via a WLAN connection) separated from the charging cable 112 to the user unit 410, in particular if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 does not enable the transmission of charging station data. Additional services for the charging process can thus be provided where appropriate via the user unit 410; ¶ 0041: control unit 404 which is configured to enable an internal communication connection between the first and second communication unit 401, 402. In particular, a message received from the charging station 110 can be evaluated and, if it enables the first communication protocol 421, can be forwarded via the charging cable 112 to the vehicle 100….a message/information received from the vehicle 100 can be forwarded via the charging cable 112 to the charging station) by:
selecting a digital communications protocol as the mode of communication (¶ 0036: In order to enable an extended exchange of information between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110, a communication protocol can be used which allows the exchange of messages between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. An example of a communication protocol of this type is specified in the ISO/IEC 15118 standard. The ISO/IEC 15118 standard users Power Line Communication (PLC) to transmit data via the pilot line. In particular, data packets can be exchanged between the control unit of the charging station 110 and the charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100 on the basis of PLC data packets; ¶ 0038: The communication protocol according to the ISO/IEC 15118 standard enables messages to be exchanged between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110 with which the vehicle 100 can identify and, if necessary, authenticate itself to the charging station 110. The charging station 110 can furthermore inform the vehicle 100 of the costs for electrical energy. Information relating to the time duration of a charging process and/or relating to the billing of the costs of the charging process can furthermore be exchanged; the ISO/IEC 15118 standard is considered as including digital communications; ¶ 0045: control unit 404 can be configured to enable a direct communication between the charging station 110 and the vehicle 100 to the extent that this is enabled by the overlap of the functions from the first communication protocol 421 and the second communication protocol 422. Conversely, functions which are possible only via the second communication protocol 422 can be provided through a connection between the user unit 410 and the charging station 110);
in response to determining that communication via the digital communications protocol has not started, (b) selecting an analog communications protocol as the mode of communication (¶ 0033: a pilot signal can be exchanged with the charging station 110, in particular via the contact part 202 and via a corresponding pilot line of the charging cable 112….a pilot circuit…. serving to exchange the pilot signal between a control unit of the charging station and the communication unit 301 or the charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100. The charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100 can be configured to notify a charging-related state of the vehicle 100 by setting a predefined level of the pilot signal; ¶ 0034: An example of a level-based and/or PWM-based communication protocol of this type is the IEC 61851-1 standard; ¶ 0035: Due to the unidirectional charging communication according to the IEC 61851-1 standard, no vehicle data can be communicated to the charging station 110. In particular, the IEC 61851-1 standard enables no functions such as incentive-based Smart Charging and Plug&Charge; the disclosed level-based communication protocol on the pilot line is considered an analog communications protocol);
determine billing information based on the mode of communication (¶ 0015: The second communication protocol can enable a charging station and a vehicle which are interconnected via a charging cable to transmit and receive additional data relating to….the billing for the electrical energy provided by the charging station in the charging process….The aforementioned charging station data may comprise, for example, additional data; ¶ 0037: communication protocol according to the ISO/IEC 15118 standard enables messages to be exchanged between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110…. Information relating to….the billing of the costs of the charging process can furthermore be exchanged; ¶ 0051: The method 500 furthermore comprises determining 502 whether the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The method 500 furthermore comprises transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) according to the first communication protocol 421 to the vehicle 100 if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The charging process can thus be controlled directly between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. The method 500 may furthermore comprise transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) via a transmission medium (e.g. via a WLAN connection) separated from the charging cable 112 to the user unit 410, in particular if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 does not enable the transmission of charging station data. Additional services for the charging process can thus be provided where appropriate via the user unit 410); and
cause the charging interface to charge the vehicle using the charging cable (¶ 0003: Electrically driven vehicles….comprise electrical energy stores (e.g. batteries) which can be connected to a charging station and are charged via a charging device of the vehicle) based on the billing information (¶ 0004: control of the process for charging the energy store of a vehicle typically requires a communication between the vehicle and the charging station. The charging power, for example, that is provided by the charging station for the charging process can be determined in the communication. It may furthermore be advantageous to exchange data relating to the identity of the vehicle, data relating to energy prices, data relating to the payment for the charging energy obtained, etc., in order to optimize the performance of a charging process).
BERGER fails to disclose determining whether signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) has started: in response to determining that the SLAC has started, selecting the digital communications protocol as the mode of communication and in response to determining that SLAC has not started, (b) selecting the analog communications protocol as the mode of communication.
KIM discloses determining whether signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) has started: in response to determining that the SLAC has started, selecting a digital communications protocol as the mode of communication (¶ 0012-0016, 0124-0125). Providing the signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) of KIM as part of the digital communication in the process of BERGER, which determines the mode of communication is either analog or digital as described above, would teach the recitation “in response to determining that SLAC has not started…selecting an analog communications protocol as the mode of communication”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) of KIM into the system for providing AC vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of determining the mode of communication based on SLAC. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to establish a stable communication link between the vehicle and the charger.
BERGER as modified by KIM fails to disclose providing a nominal charging current to the vehicle; and in response to determining that SLAC has not started, (a) stopping the nominal charging current from being provided.
However, a “nominal charging current” is implied in BERGER in order to be able to communicate via PLC as disclosed in paragraphs 0036 and 0041. DUNJIC explicitly discloses providing a nominal charging current to the vehicle (¶ 0024: the method may further include establishing, by the electric vehicle charger, supply of a nominal level of electric power insufficient for charging the electric vehicle over the least one charging conductor to allow communication between the electric vehicle charger and the electric vehicle according to the power-line communications protocol prior to initiating supply of electric power for charging the electric vehicle); and in response to determining an error condition, (a) stopping the nominal charging current from being provided (¶ 0079: if the payment method was not successfully authorized, then the electric vehicle 110 will not charge as no payment method that can be used to pay for the electric power consumed during charging has been identified. It may be that all connection and/or communication between the electric vehicle charger 100 and the electric vehicle 110 is terminated by the electric vehicle charger 100 responsive to such an error condition. For example, it could be that even the nominal supply established at the operation 504 is terminated; ¶ 0097: If one or more the checks fails, an error condition has occurred. If an error condition occurs, all connection and/or communication between the electric vehicle charger 100 and the electric vehicle 110 may be terminated by the electric vehicle charger 100 responsive to such an error condition. For example, it could be that any supply of nominal power (e.g., as may have been established to allow power-line communications) by the electric vehicle charger 100 to the electric vehicle 110 is terminated). It would be obvious to apply the nominal charging current and stopping the nominal charging current as disclosed in DUNJIC in response to determining that SLAC has not started as taught in BERGER as modified by KIM.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the nominal charging current of DUNJIC into the system for providing AC vehicle charging of BERGER as modified by KIM to produce an expected result of determining the mode of communication based on the nominal charging current. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow communication between the electric vehicle charger and the electric vehicle according to the power-line communications protocol prior to initiating supply of electric power for charging the electric vehicle (DUNJIC, ¶ 0024).
BERGER fails to disclose the billing information is payment information.
OLSSON discloses the billing information is payment information (¶ 0101: control module 520 may also allow for payment and/or communication between the dispenser 500 and a mobile device (e.g., a mobile phone, PDA, or other mobile communication device….Payment and transaction settlement can also be done by utilizing two-way data communication through the cable connecting the vehicle to the dispenser 500).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the payment information of OLSSON into the system for providing AC vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 16, BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches setting a charging duty cycle at the charging interface to a first setting to provide the nominal charging current (BERGER teaches “setting a charging duty cycle” as disclosed in ¶ 0033-0036, which implies a “nominal charging current” as disclosed in DUNJIC).
Regarding claim 17, BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches the system as applied to claim 14 but fails to disclose a communications interface linked to a network, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine the payment information by: accessing a remote application over the network using the communications interface; and receiving a remote start signal from the remote application over the network in response to payment being approved.
OLSSON further discloses a communications interface linked to a network, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine the payment information by: accessing a remote application over the network using the communications interface; and receiving a remote start signal from the remote application over the network in response to payment being approved (OLSSON, ¶ 0098-0100: remote payment verification center).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate determining the payment information by accessing a remote application as disclosed in OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 18, BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches the system as applied to claim 14, and BERGER further discloses the control circuitry is further configured to: determine a classification of the vehicle (¶ 0037, 0045, 0051).
BERGER fails to disclose if the classification matches a predetermined classification, determine the payment information by accessing the payment information from the vehicle using the charging cable.
OLSSON further discloses determine the payment information by accessing the payment information from the vehicle using the charging cable (¶ 0098-0100). It would be obvious to access the payment information based on the classification of the vehicle matching a predetermined classification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate accessing the payment information using the charging cable as disclosed in OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 19, BERGER as modified by KIM, DUNJIC, and OLSSON teaches the system as applied to claim 14, and BERGER further discloses a user interface configured to receive user input and generate a display (¶ 0042), wherein the control circuitry is further configured to determine the payment information by: identifying the vehicle as corresponding to a payment application (¶ 0043, 0051).
BERGER fails to disclose if the vehicle is identified as corresponding to the payment application, determining payment information for the vehicle by accessing the payment application.
OLSSON further discloses if the vehicle is identified as corresponding to the payment application, determining payment information for the vehicle by accessing the payment application (¶ 0098-0101: payment via mobile device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate determining the payment information by accessing the payment application as disclosed in OLSSON into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of charging the vehicle based on payment information. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to ensure that the service provider is compensated, the user is correctly identified and billed, and the charging experience is convenient and transparent.
Regarding claim 20, BERGER discloses the control circuitry is further configured to: determine the vehicle is coupled to the charger by the charging cable; and transmit a first signal to the vehicle, wherein a control signal is a response to the first signal (¶ 0033-0034, 0041, 0045).
Regarding claim 21, BERGER discloses before determining the mode of communication between the vehicle and the charger, determining whether initial payment information was received, wherein the determining the mode of communication is based on determining that the initial payment information was not received (it is noted that “initial payment information” is not defined or described, allowing for a broad interpretation; the disclosure in ¶ 0037, 0041 of BERGER of determining if the first communication protocol is enabled reads on “determining the mode of communication is based on determining that the initial payment information was not received”).
Regarding claim 22, BERGER discloses the control circuitry is further configured to: before determining the mode of communication, determine whether initial payment information was received, wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine the mode of communication based on determining that the initial payment information was not received (it is noted that “initial payment information” is not defined or described, allowing for a broad interpretation; the disclosure in ¶ 0037, 0041 of BERGER of determining if the first communication protocol is enabled reads on “determining the mode of communication is based on determining that the initial payment information was not received”).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BERGER (US PG Pub 2018/0091191; cited in previous office action) in view of KIM (US PG Pub 2018/0001776; cited in previous office action) and DUNJIC (US PG Pub 2020/0380477; cited in form PTO-892 with date 6/26/2025).
Regarding claim 8, BERGER discloses a method for managing vehicle charging (¶ 0006: providing means which enable the user of a vehicle which uses a communication protocol with a restricted functional scope for a charging process to use the functions provided by a charging station in an efficient and user-friendly manner; ¶ 0050: a method 500 for controlling an electrical charging process of a vehicle 100 at a charging station 110 via a charging cable 112), the method comprising:
transitioning from a standby mode (a standby mode in which the charger is not ready for charging is implied in order to allow a user to enter data; ¶ 0042: user unit 410 can enable a user to enter data which are intended to be transmitted to the charging station 110, and/or to receive and/or view data from the charging station 110) corresponding to a vehicle (100, Fig. 1) being plugged (¶ 0029: vehicle 100 comprises a charging socket 101 to which a corresponding plug 111 of a charging cable 112 can be connected) to a charger (comprising charging station 110 in Figure 1 and communication module 400 in Figure 4) by a charging cable (112, Figs. 1 and 4) but not ready for charging, to a ready mode (¶ 0004: control of the process for charging the energy store of a vehicle typically requires a communication between the vehicle and the charging station. The charging power, for example, that is provided by the charging station for the charging process can be determined in the communication. It may furthermore be advantageous to exchange data relating to the identity of the vehicle, data relating to energy prices, data relating to the payment for the charging energy obtained, etc., in order to optimize the performance of a charging process; ¶ 0048: the communication module can be configured to control an AC charging process according to IEC 61851-1; ¶ 0051: The method 500 furthermore comprises transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) according to the first communication protocol 421 to the vehicle 100 if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The charging process can thus be controlled directly between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. The method 500 may furthermore comprise transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) via a transmission medium (e.g. via a WLAN connection) separated from the charging cable 112 to the user unit 410, in particular if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 does not enable the transmission of charging station data. Additional services for the charging process can thus be provided where appropriate via the user unit 410; a ready mode in which the charger is ready for charging is implied after the vehicle is plugged in and preliminary data is exchanged, wherein in the ready mode, the charging process is controlled);
determining, using control circuitry of the charger (404, Fig. 4), whether to use an analog communications protocol (¶ 0033: a pilot signal can be exchanged with the charging station 110, in particular via the contact part 202 and via a corresponding pilot line of the charging cable 112….a pilot circuit…. serving to exchange the pilot signal between a control unit of the charging station and the communication unit 301 or the charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100. The charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100 can be configured to notify a charging-related state of the vehicle 100 by setting a predefined level of the pilot signal; ¶ 0034: An example of a level-based and/or PWM-based communication protocol of this type is the IEC 61851-1 standard; ¶ 0035: Due to the unidirectional charging communication according to the IEC 61851-1 standard, no vehicle data can be communicated to the charging station 110. In particular, the IEC 61851-1 standard enables no functions such as incentive-based Smart Charging and Plug&Charge; the disclosed level-based communication protocol on the pilot line is considered an analog communications protocol) or a digital communications protocol for vehicle-charger communications (¶ 0036: In order to enable an extended exchange of information between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110, a communication protocol can be used which allows the exchange of messages between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. An example of a communication protocol of this type is specified in the ISO/IEC 15118 standard. The ISO/IEC 15118 standard users Power Line Communication (PLC) to transmit data via the pilot line. In particular, data packets can be exchanged between the control unit of the charging station 110 and the charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100 on the basis of PLC data packets; ¶ 0038: The communication protocol according to the ISO/IEC 15118 standard enables messages to be exchanged between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110 with which the vehicle 100 can identify and, if necessary, authenticate itself to the charging station 110. The charging station 110 can furthermore inform the vehicle 100 of the costs for electrical energy. Information relating to the time duration of a charging process and/or relating to the billing of the costs of the charging process can furthermore be exchanged; the ISO/IEC 15118 standard is considered as including digital communications; ¶ 0045: control unit 404 can be configured to enable a direct communication between the charging station 110 and the vehicle 100 to the extent that this is enabled by the overlap of the functions from the first communication protocol 421 and the second communication protocol 422. Conversely, functions which are possible only via the second communication protocol 422 can be provided through a connection between the user unit 410 and the charging station 110) by;
selecting the digital communications protocol for use (¶ 0036: In order to enable an extended exchange of information between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110, a communication protocol can be used which allows the exchange of messages between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110. An example of a communication protocol of this type is specified in the ISO/IEC 15118 standard. The ISO/IEC 15118 standard users Power Line Communication (PLC) to transmit data via the pilot line. In particular, data packets can be exchanged between the control unit of the charging station 110 and the charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100 on the basis of PLC data packets; ¶ 0038: The communication protocol according to the ISO/IEC 15118 standard enables messages to be exchanged between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110 with which the vehicle 100 can identify and, if necessary, authenticate itself to the charging station 110. The charging station 110 can furthermore inform the vehicle 100 of the costs for electrical energy. Information relating to the time duration of a charging process and/or relating to the billing of the costs of the charging process can furthermore be exchanged; the ISO/IEC 15118 standard is considered as including digital communications; ¶ 0045: control unit 404 can be configured to enable a direct communication between the charging station 110 and the vehicle 100 to the extent that this is enabled by the overlap of the functions from the first communication protocol 421 and the second communication protocol 422. Conversely, functions which are possible only via the second communication protocol 422 can be provided through a connection between the user unit 410 and the charging station 110);
in response to determining that communication via the digital communications protocol has not started, (b) selecting the analog communications protocol for use (¶ 0033: a pilot signal can be exchanged with the charging station 110, in particular via the contact part 202 and via a corresponding pilot line of the charging cable 112….a pilot circuit…. serving to exchange the pilot signal between a control unit of the charging station and the communication unit 301 or the charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100. The charging control unit 302 of the vehicle 100 can be configured to notify a charging-related state of the vehicle 100 by setting a predefined level of the pilot signal; ¶ 0034: An example of a level-based and/or PWM-based communication protocol of this type is the IEC 61851-1 standard; ¶ 0035: Due to the unidirectional charging communication according to the IEC 61851-1 standard, no vehicle data can be communicated to the charging station 110. In particular, the IEC 61851-1 standard enables no functions such as incentive-based Smart Charging and Plug&Charge; the disclosed level-based communication protocol on the pilot line is considered an analog communications protocol);
if the analog communications protocol is determined to be used, transitioning from the ready mode to the standby mode (¶ 0042: user unit 410 can enable a user to enter data which are intended to be transmitted to the charging station 110, and/or to receive and/or view data from the charging station 110; ¶ 0051: The method 500 may furthermore comprise transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) via a transmission medium (e.g. via a WLAN connection) separated from the charging cable 112 to the user unit 410, in particular if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 does not enable the transmission of charging station data. Additional services for the charging process can thus be provided where appropriate via the user unit 410; a standby mode in which the charger is not ready for charging is implied in order to allow a user to enter data); and
if the digital communications protocol is determined to be used, remaining in the ready mode (¶ 0051: method 500 furthermore comprises determining 502 whether the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The method 500 furthermore comprises transmitting 503 the charging station data (or corresponding data) according to the first communication protocol 421 to the vehicle 100 if it is determined that the first communication protocol 421 enables the transmission of charging station data. The charging process can thus be controlled directly between the vehicle 100 and the charging station 110; ¶ 0045: control unit 404 can be configured to enable a direct communication between the charging station 110 and the vehicle 100 to the extent that this is enabled by the overlap of the functions from the first communication protocol 421 and the second communication protocol 422; since the charging process is controlled directly between the vehicle and the charger using the digital communication protocol, data does not have to be obtained from the user device, and therefore the charging process does not transition to the standby mode).
BERGER fails to disclose determining whether signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) has started: in response to determining that the SLAC has started, selecting the digital communications protocol for use; and in response to determining that SLAC has not started, (b) selecting the analog communications protocol for use.
KIM discloses determining whether signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) has started: in response to determining that the SLAC has started, selecting the digital communications protocol for use (¶ 0012-0016, 0124-0125). Providing the signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) of KIM as part of the digital communication in the process of BERGER, which determines the mode of communication is either analog or digital as described above, would teach the recitation “in response to determining that SLAC has not started…selecting the analog communications protocol for use”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the signal level attenuation characterization (SLAC) of KIM into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER to produce an expected result of determining the mode of communication based on SLAC. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to establish a stable communication link between the vehicle and the charger.
BERGER as modified by KIM fails to disclose providing a nominal charging current to the vehicle; and in response to determining that SLAC has not started, (a) stopping the nominal charging current from being provided.
However, a “nominal charging current” is implied in BERGER in order to be able to communicate via PLC as disclosed in paragraphs 0036 and 0041. DUNJIC explicitly discloses providing a nominal charging current to the vehicle (¶ 0024: the method may further include establishing, by the electric vehicle charger, supply of a nominal level of electric power insufficient for charging the electric vehicle over the least one charging conductor to allow communication between the electric vehicle charger and the electric vehicle according to the power-line communications protocol prior to initiating supply of electric power for charging the electric vehicle); and in response to determining an error condition, (a) stopping the nominal charging current from being provided (¶ 0079: if the payment method was not successfully authorized, then the electric vehicle 110 will not charge as no payment method that can be used to pay for the electric power consumed during charging has been identified. It may be that all connection and/or communication between the electric vehicle charger 100 and the electric vehicle 110 is terminated by the electric vehicle charger 100 responsive to such an error condition. For example, it could be that even the nominal supply established at the operation 504 is terminated; ¶ 0097: If one or more the checks fails, an error condition has occurred. If an error condition occurs, all connection and/or communication between the electric vehicle charger 100 and the electric vehicle 110 may be terminated by the electric vehicle charger 100 responsive to such an error condition. For example, it could be that any supply of nominal power (e.g., as may have been established to allow power-line communications) by the electric vehicle charger 100 to the electric vehicle 110 is terminated). It would be obvious to apply the nominal charging current and stopping the nominal charging current as disclosed in DUNJIC in response to determining that SLAC has not started as taught in BERGER as modified by KIM.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the nominal charging current of DUNJIC into the method for managing vehicle charging of BERGER as modified by KIM to produce an expected result of determining the mode of communication based on the nominal charging current. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to allow communication between the electric vehicle charger and the electric vehicle according to the power-line communications protocol prior to initiating supply of electric power for charging the electric vehicle (DUNJIC, ¶ 0024).
Regarding claim 9, BERGER discloses determining a transition from an unplugged mode corresponding to the vehicle being unplugged from the charger to the standby mode (¶ 0029, 0042, 0051).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 12/30/2025
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859