DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being discloses by Travers (US 2021/0103146, of record) in view of Lee (US 2019/0212566, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Travers discloses a wearable electronic device (see Fig 1), comprising: a housing comprising a first rim housing and a second rim housing coupled to form at least one opening (see Figs 1, 3, and 17; see annotated Figs 2 and 18; Para [0050]; a frame 10 comprises a outer and inner sides coupled together with openings 20 and 22); at least one bracket comprising a first surface facing the first rim housing and a second surface facing the second rim housing and disposed in a first space between the first rim housing and the second rim housing (see Fig 3; Para [0085-0087]; a waveguide housing 86 has an inner and outer surfaces as seen in Fig 8 and is positioned between the frame inner and outer sides); at least one wave guide overlapped with the at least one opening and disposed to be at least partially supported by the at least one bracket (see Fig 8; Para [0061]; a waveguide 89 is position between the two sides of the frame 10 and supported by housing 86); at least one display module disposed in a second space adjacent to the first space (see Fig 3; Para [0054-0055, 0096]; a projection display device 70 is positioned in a space adjacent to the first optical space 20 between an inner and outer portions of the frame 10; device 70 is connected to waveguide via element 110); a first sealing member disposed between the first surface of the at least one bracket and the first rim housing (see Fig 7; Para [0085-0086]; a first full perimeter seal, which may include a glue or an adhesive, is included around a perimeter of the waveguide stack 80 and between the housing 86 and the cover 76 which connects to the outer frame side); and a second sealing member disposed between the second surface of the at least one bracket and the second rim housing (see Fig 7; Para [0092-0093]; a second sealing member gasket 98 is included between the housing 86 and the inner cover 78 which connects to the inner frame side),
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Figure 2 and 18 of Travers)]
Travers does not disclose wherein the at least one bracket includes a mounting portion configured to mount the at least one display module and the mounting portion includes an opening therein configured to expose a light source of the at least one display module for communicating light to the at least one waveguide. Travers and Lee are related because both disclose electronic devices with integrated displays.
Lee discloses an electronic device with an integrated display (see Fig 6) wherein the at least one bracket includes a mounting portion configured to mount the at least one display module and the mounting portion includes an opening therein configured to expose a light source of the at least one display module for communicating light to the at least one waveguide (see Fig 6; Para [0064-0065]; elements 1702 and 1704 act as mounting portions configured to mount the display housing 130; hinge elements have a space where element 152 is inserted and allows for light to communicate with waveguide 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Travers with wherein the at least one bracket includes a mounting portion configured to mount the at least one display module and the mounting portion includes an opening therein configured to expose a light source of the at least one display module for communicating light to the at least one waveguide of Lee for the purpose of improving the device’s capability to be stored and prevent damage (Para [0006])
Regarding claim 2, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Lee further discloses wherein the opening in the mounting portion is configured so that the light source is exposed from the second space to the first space, and the at least one display module further comprises a light refractor disposed between the light source and the at least one wave guide (see Figs 5 and 6; Para [0039-0041]; opening which contains optical transferring member 152 is exposed to the light source 150; optical transferring member 152 acts as light refractor disposed between light source 150 and waveguide 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Travers with wherein the opening in the mounting portion is configured so that the light source is exposed from the second space to the first space, and the at least one display module further comprises a light refractor disposed between the light source and the at least one wave guide of Lee for the purpose of improving the device’s capability to be stored and prevent damage (Para [0006])
Regarding claim 4, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses further comprising: at least one front visor disposed at the first rim housing and configured to close the at least one opening; and at least one rear visor disposed at the second rim housing and configured to close the at least one opening (see Fig 8; Para [0056]; an inner cover 78 and an outer cover 76 are disposed at the inner and outer frame as see in Fig 3 closing hole 20).
Regarding claim 5, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 4 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses wherein the first space comprises a space between the at least one front visor and the at least one rear visor (see Fig 3 and 8; Para [0056, 0086]; the first space that contains waveguide housing 86 is formed from area between elements 78 and 76).
Regarding claim 6, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 4 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses wherein the second sealing member is disposed between the at least one bracket and the at least one rear visor (see Fig 7; Para [0092-0093]; a second sealing member gasket 98 is included between the housing 86 and the inner cover 78 which connects to the inner frame side).
Regarding claim 7, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 4 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses wherein at least one visor of the at least one front visor or the at least one rear visor is integrally formed with a corresponding rim housing (see Fig 17; Para [0099]; an outer cover 76 is integrally formed with frame as seen in Fig 17).
Regarding claim 8, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 4 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses wherein the at least one front visor and the at least one rear visor are bonded, taped, or fusion bonded to a corresponding rim housing (see Fig 3; Para [0085-0093]; covers 76 and 78 are fixed to rim indirectly through bonding with waveguide housing 86).
Regarding claim 10, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses wherein a light source of the at least one display module is positioned outside a closed loop of the second sealing member (see Fig 8 and 12; projection device 70 is positioned outside the closed loop of the sealing member 98).
Regarding claim 12, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses wherein the at least one bracket is configured to at least partially enclose an edge of the at least one wave guide (see Figs 7 and 8; Para [0085-0087]; waveguide housing 86 encloses the waveguide 89 on all edges).
Regarding claim 13, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses wherein the at least one bracket is disposed between the first space and the second space. (see Figs 3,8, and 15; Para [0085-0087]; waveguide housing 86 disposed between the first space 20 and the second space containing element 70).
Regarding claim 14, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses further comprising a display housing extended from the at least one bracket, wherein the at least one display module is at least partially received in the display housing (see Fig 13; Para [0094-0097]; a projector mounting frame 112 extends from waveguide housing 86 and contains projector elements of 70).
Regarding claim 15, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses wherein the first sealing member and the second sealing member comprise at least one of compressive tape, sponge, silicone, rubber, or urethane (see Fig 1; Para [0092]; sealing gasket may be made from Dymax GA which is a composition containing urethane).
Regarding claim 16, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses further comprising: a first rim comprising a first opening formed through the housing (see Fig 3; Para [0050]; a frame 10 has a left eye section 20); a second rim connected to the first rim and comprising a second opening (see Fig 3; Para [0050]; a frame 10 has a right eye section 22); a first temple foldably coupled from the first rim (see Fig 3; Para [0050]; a left rear section 36 is foldably couple to frame 10); a second temple foldably coupled from the second rim (see Fig 3; Para [0050]; a right rear section 34 is foldably couple to frame 10); a first wave guide of the at least one wave guide disposed through a first bracket of the at least one bracket in correspondence with the first opening (see Fig 3; Para [0050]; an optical waveguide disposed on a housing unit is seen in Fig 3 in left eye hole 22); and a second wave guide of the at least one wave guide disposed through a second bracket of the at least one bracket in correspondence with the second opening (see Fig 3; Para [0050]; a wave guide 80 disposed on a housing 86 in a second opening 20), wherein the wearable electronic device has a glasses shape (see Fig 1; electronic device has glasses shape).
Regarding claim 17, Travers discloses an electronic device (see Fig 1), comprising: a housing comprising a first rim housing and a second rim housing coupled to form at least one opening (see Figs 1, 3, and 17; see annotation Figs 2 and 18 above; Para [0050]; a frame 10 comprises a outer and inner side coupled together with openings 20 and 22); a bracket comprising a first surface facing the first rim housing and a second surface facing the second rim housing and disposed in a first space between the first rim housing and the second rim housing (see Fig 3; Para [0085-0087]; a waveguide housing 86 has an inner and outer surfaces as seen in Fig 8 and is positioned between the frame inner and outer sides); a wave guide overlapped with the at least one opening and disposed to be at least partially supported by a bracket (see Fig 8; Para [0061]; a waveguide 89 is position between the two sides of the frame 10 and supported by housing 86); a display module disposed in a second space adjacent to the first space (see Fig 3; Para [0054-0055, 0096]; a projection display device 70 is positioned in a space adjacent to the first optical space 20 between an inner and outer portions of the frame 10; device 70 is connected to waveguide via element 110); a first sealing member disposed between the first surface of the bracket and the first rim housing (see Fig 7; Para [0085-0086]; a first full perimeter seal, which may include a glue or an adhesive, is included around a perimeter of the waveguide stack 80 and between the housing 86 and the cover 76 which connects to the outer frame side); and a second sealing member disposed between the second surface of the bracket and the second rim housing (see Fig 7; Para [0092-0093]; a second sealing member gasket 98 is included between the housing 86 and the inner cover 78 which connects to the inner frame side).
Travers does not disclose wherein the bracket includes a mounting portion configured to mount the display module and the mounting portion includes an opening therein configured to expose a light source of the display module for communicating light to the wave guide. Travers and Lee are related because both disclose electronic devices with integrated displays.
Lee discloses an electronic device with an integrated display (see Fig 6) wherein the bracket includes a mounting portion configured to mount the display module and the mounting portion includes an opening therein configured to expose a light source of the display module for communicating light to the wave guide (see Fig 6; Para [0064-0065]; elements 1702 and 1704 act as mounting portions configured to mount the display housing 130; hinge elements have a space where element 152 is inserted and allows for light to communicate with waveguide 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Travers with wherein the bracket includes a mounting portion configured to mount the display module and the mounting portion includes an opening therein configured to expose a light source of the display module for communicating light to the wave guide of Lee for the purpose of improving the device’s capability to be stored and prevent damage (Para [0006])
Regarding claim 18, Travers in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 17 (see Fig 1). Lee further discloses wherein the opening in the mounting portion is configured so that the light source is exposed from the second space to the first space, and the display module further comprises a light refractor disposed between the light source and the at least one wave guide (see Figs 5 and 6; Para [0039-0041]; opening which contains optical transferring member 152 is exposed to the light source 150; optical transferring member 152 acts as light refractor disposed between light source 150 and waveguide 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Travers with wherein the opening in the mounting portion is configured so that the light source is exposed from the second space to the first space, and the at least one display module further comprises a light refractor disposed between the light source and the at least one wave guide of Lee for the purpose of improving the device’s capability to be stored and prevent damage (Para [0006])
Regarding claim 20, Travers in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 17 (see Fig 1). Travers further discloses further comprising: a front visor disposed at the first rim housing and configured to close the at least one opening; and a rear visor disposed at the second rim housing and configured to close the at least one opening (see Fig 8; Para [0056]; an inner cover 78 and an outer cover 76 are disposed at the inner and outer frame as see in Fig 3 closing hole 20).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travers (US 2021/0103146, of record) in view of Lee (US 2019/0212566, of record) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nobis (US 2022/0203105, of record).
Regarding claim 3, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 2. Travers in view of Lee does not disclose further comprising an optical adhesive for attaching the light source, the light refractor, and the at least one wave guide. Travers in view of Lee and Nobis are related because both disclose wearable electronic devices.
Nobis discloses a wearable electronic device (see Fig 1A) further comprising an optical adhesive for attaching the light source, the light refractor, and the at least one wave guide (see Fig 3C; Para [0124]; light source 200, collimator prism 700, and lens 100 may be produced in one piece attached to each other via adhesive bonding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Travers in view of Lee with further comprising an optical adhesive for attaching the light source, the light refractor, and the at least one wave guide of Nobis for the purpose of improving the safety of the eyes by reducing stray light (see Para [0124])
Regarding claim 19, Travers in view of Lee discloses the electronic device of claim 18 (see Fig 1). Travers in view of Lee does not disclose further comprising an optical adhesive for attaching the light source, the light refractor, and the at least one wave guide. Travers in view of Lee and Nobis are related because both disclose wearable electronic devices.
Nobis discloses a wearable electronic device (see Fig 1A) further comprising an optical adhesive for attaching the light source, the light refractor, and the at least one wave guide (see Fig 3C; Para [0124]; light source 200, collimator prism 700, and lens 100 may be produced in one piece attached to each other via adhesive bonding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Travers in view of Lee with further comprising an optical adhesive for attaching the light source, the light refractor, and the at least one wave guide of Nobis for the purpose of improving the safety of the eyes by reducing stray light (see Para [0124])
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travers (US 2021/0103146, of record) in view of Lee (US 2019/0212566, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu (US 2023/0129018, of record).
Regarding claim 9, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1. Travers in view of Lee does not disclose wherein a light source of the at least one display module is positioned inside a closed loop of the first sealing member. Travers in view of Lee and Zhu are related because both disclose wearable electronic devices.
Zhu discloses a wearable electronic device (see Fig 1) wherein a light source of the at least one display module is positioned inside a closed loop of the first sealing member (see Fig 4; Para [0070-0072]; display module 30 disposed inside of the loop created from sealing bead on peripheral edge between elements 33 and 314).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Travers in view of Lee with wherein a light source of the at least one display module is positioned inside a closed loop of the first sealing member of Zhu for the purpose of providing adequate display capabilities without shielding the user’s line of sight (Para [0079])
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travers (US 2021/0103146, of record) in view of Lee (US 2019/0212566, of record) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stevens (US 2020/0348523, of record)
Regarding claim 11, Travers in view of Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1 (see Fig 1). Travers discloses wherein the at least one bracket comprises at least one flange extended outward along an edge (see Fig 9; Para [0084-0087]; a waveguide housing 86 has a flange 87 extending outward from a side edge of the housing 86)
Travers in view of Lee does not disclose wherein the at least one bracket is fixed to the first rim housing through a screw penetrating the at least one flange. Travers in view of Lee and Stevens are related because both disclose wearable electronic devices.
Stevens discloses a wearable electronic device (see Fig 2) wherein the at least one bracket is fixed to the first rim housing through a screw penetrating the at least one flange (see Fig 6; Para [0128-0131]; Pins 130 act as screws coupling support frame 159 onto rim 30)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Travers with wherein the at least one bracket is fixed to the first rim housing through a screw penetrating the at least one flange of Stevens for the purpose of properly securing the lens structure to the frame so as to prevent shifting by external forces (Para [0128-0131])
Conclusion
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872