Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20090101565 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a water filtration unit, comprising:
a filtration unit housing defining a filtration unit cavity (Figs 2, 3 component chamber 12 described in para [0031]), an inlet coupled to the filtration unit housing (para [0032], [0034] first pump pipe 21 leads water stored in the water chamber 11 to the pump 20 located in component chamber 12, the inlet is where the first pump pipe 21 passes from the water chamber 11 to component chamber 12);
a pump positioned at least partially within the filtration unit cavity, the pump including a pump inlet and pump outlet, wherein the pump inlet is coupled to the inlet (Figs 2, 3 below, para [0032] first pump pipe 21 and second pump pipe 22 are the inlet and outlet to the pump 20);
a filter housing positioned at least partially within the filtration unit cavity, the filter housing comprising a filter inlet and filter outlet (Figs 2, 3 below, para [0032] filter 30 is located in the second section 122 which is the filter housing, para [0034] filter 30 coupled to inlet pipe 31 and outlet pipe 32), wherein the filter inlet is coupled to the pump outlet (para [0034] the filter inlet is coupled to the pump outlet via the second pump pipe 22 leading water to regulator 42 and switch valve 43, switch valve 43 leads to inlet pipe 31);
a water dispenser coupled to the filter outlet (para [0034] outlet pipe 32 leads to outlet 47 para [0035] water leads from outlet 47 through faucet 50 which is considered the dispenser); and
a power source, wherein the power source is in communication with the pump to power the pump to push water through the filter housing when the water filtration unit is coupled to a water source (para [0042], claim 15 “a battery energizing the pump”, para [0036] turning on the pump 20 pumps the water to the filter 30).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the power source is a battery and the pump is a battery-powered pump (claim 15, para [0042] battery 60).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the filtration unit housing further comprises one or more ports for providing power to or receiving power from one or more external devices (para [0039] socket 412).
Regarding claim 15, Chem teaches a water filtration unit for a dirty water reservoir comprising:
a water filtration unit housing defining a filtration unit cavity (para [0031], Figs 2, 3 component chamber 12);
a pump positioned at least partially within the filtration unit cavity (Figs 2, 3 below, para [0032] pump 20 in component chamber 12);
a power source in electrical communication with the pump (para [0042], claim 15 “a battery energizing the pump”);
a water dispenser coupled to an outer surface of the water filtration unit housing (para [0034] outlet 47 protrudes from the outer surface of control panel 41);
an inlet coupled to the water filtration unit housing and configured to couple to a reservoir outlet of the dirty water reservoir (Fig 3 para [0032], [0034] the inlet is where the first pump pipe 21 passes from the water chamber 11 to component chamber 12 through separating plate 13, water chamber 11 is the dirty water reservoir); and
a filter housing in fluid communication with the pump and the water dispenser and configured to house a filter (Figs 2, 3, para [0032] filter 30 is located in the second section 122 which is the filter housing, para [0034] the filter 30 and pump 20 via second pump pipe 22 leading water to regulator 42 and switch valve 43, and to inlet pipe 31), wherein activation of the pump by the power source pulls dirty water from the dirty water reservoir when the inlet is coupled to the reservoir outlet and pushes the dirty water to the filter housing (para [0034] pump leads water from water chamber 10 to filter 30, para [0035], [0040]-[0041] an electrically connected button 411 for turning on/off the pump requires a power source for the pump to be active, the pump 20 cannot lead water from the water chamber 10 to the filter housing without being connected to the reservoir outlet), wherein filtered water is pushed from the filter housing to the water dispenser by the activated pump when the filter is positioned within the filter housing (para [0034]-[0035] pump 20 leads water to filter 30 and to outlet 47 via outlet pipe 32, para [0031]-[0032] pump 20 and second section 122 are within component chamber 12).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches a water filtration reservoir comprising:
a reservoir (Figs 2, 3, water chamber 11), comprising:
a reservoir housing defining a reservoir cavity (para [0031] water chamber 11 contains water, area where water is contained is the cavity), and
a reservoir outlet coupled to the reservoir housing (Fig 3 para [0032], [0034] the reservoir outlet is where the first pump pipe 21 passes from the water chamber 11 to component chamber 12 through separating plate 13);
a water filtration unit coupled to the reservoir (Fig 3, para [0031] component chamber 12 houses the unit), the water filtration unit comprising:
a filtration unit housing defining a filtration unit cavity (Figs 2, 3 para [0031] component chamber 12), an inlet coupled to the filtration unit housing (Fig 3 para [0032], [0034] the inlet where the first pump pipe 21 passes from the water chamber 11 to component chamber 12 through separating plate 13),
a pump positioned at least partially within the filtration unit cavity (Figs 2, 3 below, para [0032] pump 20 in component chamber 12), the pump including a pump inlet and pump outlet (Figs 2, 3 below, para [0032] first pump pipe 21 and second pump pipe 22 are the inlet and outlet to the pump 20), wherein the pump inlet is coupled to the inlet (Fig 3 para [0032], [0034] first pump pipe 21 pass through the inlet on separating plate 13), a filter housing positioned at least partially within the filtration unit cavity (Figs 2, 3 para [0031] second section 122 is the filter unit housing), the filter housing including a filter inlet and filter outlet (para [0034] filter 30 coupled to inlet pipe 31 and outlet pipe 32), wherein the filter inlet is coupled to the pump outlet (para [0034] the filter inlet is coupled to the pump outlet via the second pump pipe 22 leading water to regulator 42 and switch valve 43, leads to inlet pipe 31), a water dispenser coupled to the filter outlet (para [0034] outlet pipe 32 leads to outlet 47 para [0035] water leads from outlet 47 through faucet 50 which is considered the dispenser), and
a power source, wherein the power source is in communication with the pump to power the pump to push water through the filter housing from the reservoir (para [0042], claim 15 “a battery energizing the pump”, para [0036] turning on the pump 20 pumps the water to the filter 30);
wherein the water filtration unit is aligned with the reservoir such that the inlet is biased against the reservoir outlet (Fig, 3 para [0032], [0034] the inlet and outlet are on either side of separating plate 13 through which first pump pipe 21 passes from the water chamber 11 to component chamber 12), allowing water to flow from the reservoir to the water filtration unit when the pump is activated (para [0034] pump leads water from water chamber 10 to filter 30, para [0035], [0040]-[0041] an electrically connected button 411 for turning on/off the pump requires a power source for the pump to be active, the pump 20 cannot lead water from the water chamber 10 to the filter housing without being connected to the reservoir outlet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claims 1, 15 above, and further in view of Woodward (US 5484538 A).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1. Chen does not teach wherein the filter housing comprises a first and second filter housing unit configured to store a first and second filter.
However, Woodward teaches pumping water through a solids prefilter to remove particulates and through post filters removing cartridges to remove chemical contaminants such as chlorine and lead from water (col 3 lines 29-60). Therefore, in order to remove a wider range of contaminants from water, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water filtration unit of Chen with a first and second filter as suggested by Woodward.
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Woodward teach the water filtration unit of claim 3, and Woodward further teaches wherein water flows through the first filter before flowing through the second filter when the first and second filters are positioned in the first and second filter housing units and the pump is activated by the power source (col 3 lines 29-60 prefilter post filters removing cartridges, water is urged by the pump to the inlet of the prefilter, col 9 lines 26-40 the system uses power to operate, which includes the pump).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 15. Chen does not teach wherein the filter housing is further configured to house a second filter in fluid communication with the filter and the pump, wherein twice filtered water passes from the filter housing to the water dispenser when the filter and second filter are positioned within the filter housing.
However, Woodward teaches pumping water through a solids prefilter to remove particulates and pumping water through post filters removing cartridges to remove chemical contaminants such as chlorine and lead from water (col 3 lines 29-60). These filters are within a housing (col 2 lines 26-34), and water is pumped from the outlet of the last filter to a tepid water tap, a means for dispensing tepid purified water (col 3 lines 61-66). Therefore, in order to remove a wider range of contaminants from water, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water filtration unit of Chen with a first and second filter as suggested by Woodward.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Compere (US 20160318786 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1. Chen does not teach wherein the pump operates at a pressure of less than 40 psi.
However, Compere teaches a pump providing an average pressure of 30 psi (para [0017]). Compere teaches that when filters are clean, the pressure will be low and the pump will not draw as much current as if the filters were dirty (para [0033]) and provides a table showing a higher discharge pressure is associated with a higher current (Table 2 below).
Therefore, in order to decrease energy usage, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the pump taught by Chen to operate at a pressure of less than 40 psi as suggested by Compere.
Claims 6, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claims 1, 15 above, and further in view of O’Brien (US 20100102002 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1, wherein the filtration unit is sufficient to produce drinking water (para [0043] users can drink the water flowing from the water cleaner). Chen does not teach wherein the pump is configured to push water through two nano filters stored in the filter housing at a flow rate that is sufficient to produce drinking water from river water.
However, O’Brien teaches a portable device to render water potable (para [0022]) with at least one nano-filter (para [0035]) which is capable of capturing positively charged particles, bacteria, viruses, and other contaminants in the water (para [0049]). O’Brien teaches that water supplied can be from a lake, stream, or other treated or untreated source (para [0043]). Therefore, in order to remove contaminants such as bacteria and viruses from untreated water sources, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter of Chen with nano filters as taught by O’Brien.
O’Brien does not teach two nano filters. The MPEP says mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04). In this case, providing two nano filters predictably would have increased the removal of contaminants in the water. Therefore, in order to achieve increased removal of contaminants, it would have been obvious to include two nano filters.
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches the water filtration reservoir of claim 18. Chen does not teach wherein the reservoir is made of a nano silver embedded material.
However, O’Brien teaches using nano silver to coat various parts of a portable water filtration device (para [0022]). O’Brien teaches the nano silver destroys up to 98.6% of bacteria that contact the nano silver (para [0022]) and parts can be treated with the nano silver solution in injection molding (para [0035]). Therefore, in order to destroy bacteria, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the reservoir of Chen with nano silver as suggested by O’Brien.
Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Busick (GB 2458784 A) and Prokopchuk (US 7648629 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1. Chen teaches the dispenser can be configured to dispense water in a position apart from the filtration unit housing (para [0042] nozzle 70 connected to outlet 47 through a hose and can be sprayed from the nozzle). Chen does not teach wherein the filtration unit housing defines a water dispenser cavity;
the water dispenser is positioned in the water dispenser cavity; and
the water dispenser is removable from the water dispenser.
However, Busick teaches enclosing a dispenser nozzle in a dispenser chamber that is sealed with a door so that contaminants do not transfer to the dispenser nozzle (para [0007]). Therefore, in order to prevent contamination of the dispenser, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to position the water dispenser within a water dispenser cavity.
Busick does not teach the water dispenser is removable from the water dispenser cavity to dispense water in a position apart from the filtration unit housing. However, Prokopchuk teaches a dispensing hose comprising a flexible house can be housed in a suitable housing and retract the hose in the housing for storage (col 4 lines 53-61). Therefore, in order to retract and store the dispenser within the housing, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the dispenser taught by Chen with a retractable dispensing hose as suggested by Prokopchuk.
Regarding claim 8, Chen, Busick, and Prokopchuk teach the water filtration unit of claim 7, and Busick further teaches a UV light positioned in the water dispenser cavity, wherein the UV light is configured to sanitize the water dispenser when the water dispenser is positioned in the water dispenser cavity (para [0008] ultraviolet light bulb sterilizes the dispensing nozzle in the dispensing chamber).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Busick (GB 2458784 A) and Prokopchuk (US 7648629 B2) and further in view of Dorow (DE 102013014712 B4, Machine translation copy provided and referenced herein).
Regarding claim 9, Chen, Busick, and Prokopchuk teach the water filtration unit of claim 8, and Busick further teaches:
a lid connected to the filtration unit housing, the lid covering the water dispenser cavity (para [0008] dispenser door is the lid, closes and seals the dispenser chamber, para [00033] dispenser door can be affixed to the top portion of the bottle alcove);
a processing element (para [00038] controller), wherein the processing element is configured to:
after the lid is in a closed position, activate the UV light and a timer based on the received signal (para [00043]-[00044] UV bulb remains illuminated for a predetermined amount of time after the dispenser door moves into the closed position, in order to remain illuminated for a predetermined amount of time means to track the time elapsed would be present), and
deactivate the UV light after a period of time (para [00043]-[00044] UV bulb may remain on for 20 to 45 seconds, which suggests that it shuts off after the time elapsed).
Busick does not teach a sensor coupled to the filtration unit housing; and the processing element is configured to receive a signal from the sensor indicating that the lid is in a closed position. However, Dorow teaches disconnecting UVC LEDs when the lid in a filter container is lifted to prevent damage to the operator’s eyes (para [0017]). Therefore, in order to prevent damage to an operator’s eyes, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lid of Busick with a sensor that sends a signal indicating the lid’s position as suggested by Dorow.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Birdsell (US 20050150824 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1. Chen does not teach wherein the inlet is sized to couple to a reservoir outlet valve of a water reservoir, wherein the reservoir outlet valve is in a closed configuration when the reservoir outlet valve is not coupled to the inlet preventing water flow therethrough and in an open configuration when the reservoir outlet valve is coupled to the inlet allowing water from the water reservoir to flow therethrough.
However, Birdsell teaches a fill tank 40 with a valve 46 on the bottom 42 of the fill tank (para [0020], Fig. 4 below) closes when the fill tank 40 is removed from the dispensing system 10 (para [0020]) and opens when the valve 46 is coupled to the filter holding tray 50 via upward protrusion 56 (para [0022], slots or apertures are the inlet). Birdsell teaches the fill tank is removable for refilling at a location remote from the cabinet (para [0007], [0018] cabinet is the filtration housing, fill tank is the reservoir), and the closing of the valve 46 prevents spillage from the fill tank 40 during removal, transportation, and installation (para [0021]). Therefore, in order to refill the fill tank in a location alternate to the filter housing without spillage from the reservoir, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen with a valve in the reservoir outlet as suggested by Birdsell.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (WO 2011130522 A1) and Compere (US 20160318786 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1. Chen does not teach a sensor coupled to the water dispenser, the sensor configured to detect flow through the water dispenser; and a processing element in communication with the sensor, the processing element configured to: receive a signal from the sensor indicative of flow through the water dispenser, detect a no flow state through the water dispenser based on the received signal, initiate a timer when the no flow state is detected, and deactivate the pump after a predetermined amount of time has passed.
However, Park teaches a flow sensor detects fluid flow from the outlet and detects when there is no flow from the outlet (p 2 lines 9-26), an electronic control module 119 that receives signals from the sensor and controls the operation of pumps (p 9 lines 12-15), timers that start a 5 second delay turning the sensors on or off when flow stops (p 11 lines 6-17), and turning off the pump when the sensor, or flow switch, does not sense flow (p 10 lines 19-22). Park teaches the permeate pump will be bypassed if there no feed pressure or the permeate water is at a low level (p 3 lines 22-p 4 line 2, p 10 lines 21-22), and the permeate pump remains off until permeate water increases to a predetermined level (p 4 lines 3-12). Park teaches that the sensors detect when the permeate tank that leads to the permeate pump is low (abstract).
Compere teaches a pump providing water has a power consumption in amperes or volts associated with it (para [0017]), and teaches that the power unit design is based on power requirements of the pump (para [0032]). Running a pump without having water flow through would continue to consume power. Therefore, in order to sense when water is not flowing through the pump and turn it off to reduce power consumption, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water filtration unit of Chen with a flow sensor and a processing element configured to deactivate a pump after a predetermined amount of time has passed as suggested by Park in order to reduce power consumption as suggested by Compere.
Claims 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuennen (US 20120186658 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1. Chen does not teach wherein the filtration unit housing further comprises one or more indicators providing a status of one or more of filter health, water level, and battery life.
However, Kuennen teaches a water level indicator to indicate how much water is in the container (para [0021]) and a status indicator to indicate filter status to indicate that a filter should be replaced (para [0022]). Therefore, in order to know when a filter should be replaced, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filtration unit of Chen with one or more indicators as suggested by Kuennen.
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 1. Chen does not teach wherein the power source is removable and rechargeable.
However, Kuennen teaches a water treatment system that may include a battery that can be charged by a generator in order to provide power to a display even when the generator is not active (para [0022]). Therefore, in order for powered parts of the filter system to be active when not connected to a generator, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Chen to be rechargeable as suggested by Kuennen.
Claims 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20090101565 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Choe (KR 200188540 Y1, machine translation copy provided and referenced herein).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the water filtration unit of claim 15. Chen does not teach wherein the water filtration unit comprises a latch coupled to the outer surface of the water filtration unit housing and configured to couple the water filtration unit to the dirty water reservoir.
However, Choe teaches a portable water purifier with a battery operated pumping device (b) and filter cartridge (c) which pumps water from the water bottle 1 to outlet 3 (Figs 1-4 below, para [0001]-[0002]), and the bottle 1 is attached to the water purifier assembly, or drive cartridge (a), via fastening clip 7 (para [0010], the fastening clip is a type of latch). Choe further teaches the whole water purifier assembly is able to be removed from water tank 1 once the filter reaches the end of its life (para [0011]) and the fastening clip allows the filtration cartridge (c) and pumping device (b) to be tightly fastened to the water container 1 (para [0010]). Therefore, in order to remove the filter at the end of its life and tightly fasten the assembly to the reservoir, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water purification unit of Chen with a latch as suggested by Choe.
Fig. 1 Fig. 2
Fig. 3 Fig. 4
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the water filtration reservoir of claim 18. Chen does not teach wherein the reservoir further comprises a reservoir latch component coupled to the reservoir housing, and the water filtration unit further comprises a latch coupled to the filtration unit housing, wherein the latch is coupled to the reservoir latch component to secure the water filtration unit to the reservoir.
However, Choe teaches a portable water purifier with a battery-operated pumping device (b) and filter cartridge (c) which pumps water from the water bottle 1 to outlet 3 (Figs 1-4 above, para [0001]-[0002]), water bottle 1 is attached to the water purifier assembly, or drive cartridge (a), via fastening clip 7 (para [0010], the fastening clip is a type of latch, Figs 1, 3). Choe further teaches the whole water purifier assembly is able to be removed from water tank 1 once the filter reaches the end of its life (para [0011]) and the fastening clip allows the filtration cartridge (c) and pumping device (b) to be tightly fastened to the water container 1 (para [0010]). Therefore, in order to remove the filter at the end of its life and tightly fasten the assembly to the reservoir, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art to modify the water purification unit of Chen with a latch as suggested by Choe.
Conclusion
/MARLEIGH K KAWECKI/Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/Magali P Slawski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773