Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “through hole” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase of “by attaching to a lens module” is understood as being directed to and further reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which does not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). If a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the claimed invention, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) and cases cited therein, as it has been held that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP § 2111.02 and § 2112 - § 2112.02.
In this view, the “lens” and the “lens module” are neither required by nor positively recited in the claimed invention.
Therefore the at least claim 1 has been interpreted as follows:
“A lens protection structure comprising: a main body defining a receiving space, the main body comprising an air escape structure, the receiving space being connected to an external environment via the air escape structure, wherein the main body comprises a base, a double side tape, and an antistatic silica gel, the double side tape and the antistatic silica gel are arranged between the base and the lens module, and the double side tape is sandwiched between the antistatic silica gel and the base, each of the base, the double side tape and the antistatic silica gel defines a through hole, the through holes cooperatively defining a receiving space for receiving the lens of the lens module; wherein the air escape structure comprises: an air flow channel comprising a first opening communicating with the external environment and a second opening communicating with the receiving space; a diversion connected in the air flow channel, the diversion diverting airflows therethrough; and a retention connecting to the diversion, the retention harvesting impurities and dust in airflows through the air escape structure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 215499198 (hereinafter CN ‘198) in view of CN 216599795 (hereinafter CN ‘795).
As regarding claim 1, CN ‘198 discloses the claimed invention for a lens protection structure comprising: a main body defining a receiving space, the main body comprising an air escape structure, the receiving space being connected to an external environment via the air escape structure, wherein the air escape structure comprises: an air flow channel (12) comprising a first opening (112) communicating with the external environment and a second opening (111) communicating with the receiving space; a diversion (inner ‘region’ of groove 12 in fig. 3) connected in the air flow channel, the diversion diverting airflows therethrough; and a retention (bottom of inner ‘region’ of groove 12) connecting to the diversion, the retention harvesting impurities and dust in airflows through the air escape structure.
CN ‘198 does not disclose the main body comprises an antistatic silica gel. CN ‘795 teaches the main body comprises an antistatic silica gel ([0015] and [0021]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the main body comprises an antistatic silica gel as taught by CN ‘795 in order to reduce static electricity and dust adhesion.
CN ‘198 as modified discloses the main body comprises a base (1), a double side tape, and the antistatic silica gel (CN ‘795 - [0015] and [0021]), the double side tape and the antistatic silica gel are arranged between the base and the lens module, and the double side tape is sandwiched between the antistatic silica gel and the base, each of the base, the double side tape and the antistatic silica gel defines a through hole (14), the through holes cooperatively defining a receiving space for receiving the lens of the lens module.
As regarding claim 3, CN ‘198 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘198 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the main body comprising: a base (1); a protective film cover (4) on the base; the base comprises a side wall (fig. 4; no number) defining a perimeter of the receiving space, the side wall comprises a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the protective film being covered on the first surface, the base being attached to the lens module on the second surface via the layer of glue, the air escape structure being arranged in the side wall.
As regarding claim 11, CN ‘198 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘198 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the base is made of injection molding materials. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the base is made of injection molding materials in order to enhance lens protective structure, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As regarding claim 12, CN ‘198 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘198 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first opening (112 of figs. 3-4) is recessed from the first surface, and the second opening (111 of figs. 3-4) is arranged on a side of the first opening facing away from the protective film (4 of fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 11-12 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773