DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 01/27/2026. Claims 1-18, and 20-21 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 8-10, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-18, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103, as is necessitated by amendment, in view of Hosseini et al (US 20190349116 A1), Son (US 20190149308 A1), and Kazmi et al (US 20220239452 A1) for claims 1, and 10, in view of Hosseini et al (US 20190349116 A1), Son (US 20190149308 A1), Kazmi et al (US 20220239452 A1), and Da Silva et al (US 20220376863 A1) for claims 2-3, and 12-13, and in view of Hosseini et al (US 20190349116 A1), Son (US 20190149308 A1), Kazmi et al (US 20220239452 A1), and Zhang et al (US 20230092704 A1) for claims 4-9, 11, 14-18, and 20. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to further clarify the “change, based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, a time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) until a predetermined number of times is reached” step, where independent claims 11 and 20 are also amended in a similar way such that they contain analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 8-10 of Remarks that previously cited Jeon does not disclose these newly amended features. These arguments are however moot, as newly cited Kazmi does teach these features, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Newly added claim 21 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Hosseini et al (US 20190349116 A1), Son (US 20190149308 A1), and Kazmi et al (US 20220239452 A1). For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 10, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to The Double Patenting rejections of claims 1-7, 10-16, and 20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 10 of Remarks that the amendments made to the independent claims 1, 11, and 20 overcome the rejections. Examiner disagrees with this opinion, and a claim mapping has been provided below. For the reasons stated above, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 1-7, 10-16, and 20 are maintained. For more details, please see the Double Patenting section below.
Double Patenting
in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise
extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple
assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not
identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference
claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious
over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re
Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed.
Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164
USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the
reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application,
or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research
agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject
to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be
signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a
reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional
the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action,
see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration
while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§
706.07(e) and 714.13.
www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed
determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A
web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal
Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission.
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-
online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-7, and 10-16 of the current application 17/944,362 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-7, 13, and 20 of co-pending Application No. 18/115,485.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses A user equipment (UE), comprising (claim 1: A user equipment (UE), comprising):
a transceiver configured to wirelessly communicate with a base station (claim 1: one or more transceivers configured to wirelessly communicate with a base station); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to: (claim 1: a processor communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers and configured to:)
in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, add a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic (claim 2: in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, add a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic), wherein the parameter associated with UE traffic comprises at least one of a block error rate (BLER) associated with the traffic, a number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or a traffic type associated with the UE traffic (claims 3-5: parameter associated with UE traffic is measured as BLER, number of retransmissions, and traffic type);
transmit, using the transceiver, the TB over the TTI to the base station; receive, using the transceiver, a message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB; change, based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, a time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more (claim 2: transmit, using the one or more transceivers, the TB over the TTI to the base station; receive, using the one or more transceivers, a message from the base station; and change a time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) based on the received message; claim 7: repeat the switching between the two BWPs for a predetermined number of times within a predetermined time period or within a RRC connection duration).
Regarding claim 2, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to: (claim 3: wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to:)
measure the BLER associated with the traffic; (claim 3: measure a block error rate (BLER) associated with the traffic;)
compare the BLER with a threshold; and (claim 3: compare the BLER with a threshold; and)
in response to the BLER being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition. (claim 3: in response to the BLER being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.)
Regarding claim 3, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to: (claim 4: wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to:)
measure the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic; (claim 4: measure a number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic;)
compare the number of retransmissions with a threshold; and (claim 4: compare the number of retransmissions with a threshold; and)
in response to the number of retransmissions being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition. (claim 4: in response to the number of retransmissions being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.)
Regarding claim 4, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to: (claim 5: wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to:)
measure the traffic type associated with the UE traffic; (claim 5: measure a traffic type associated with the UE traffic;)
compare the traffic type with a plurality of traffic types; and (claim 5: compare the traffic type with a plurality of traffic types; and)
in response to the traffic type being one of the plurality of traffic types, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition. (claim 5: in response to the traffic type being one of the plurality of traffic types, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.)
Regarding claim 5, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the UE is operating at a first TD-BWP and to change the TD- BWP based on the received message, the processor is configured to operate the UE at a second TD-BWP, wherein the first TD-BWP is for low data traffic and the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic (claim 6: wherein the UE is operating at a first TD-BWP and to change the TD- BWP based on the received message, the processor is configured to operate the UE at a second TD-BWP, wherein the first TD-BWP is for low data traffic and the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic).
Regarding claim 6, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses The UE of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to: (claim 6: wherein the processor is further configured to:)
switch to the first TD-BWP after a second predetermined time period; (claim 6: switch to the first TD-BWP after a predetermined time period;)
in response to determining that a second parameter associated with the UE traffic meets a second condition, add a second plurality of padding bits to a second TB to reach a predetermined slot capacity for a second TTI; (claim 6: in response to determining that a second parameter associated with the UE traffic meets a second condition, add a second plurality of padding bits to a second TB to reach a predetermined slot capacity for a second TTI;)
transmit, using the transceiver, the second TB over the second TTI to the base station; (claim 6: transmit, using the one or more transceivers, the second TB over the second TTI to the base station;)
receive, using the transceiver, a second message from the base station; and (claim 6: receive, using the one or more transceivers, a second message from the base station; and)
switch to the second TD-BWP based on the received second message. (claim 6: switch to the second TD-BWP based on the received second message.)
Regarding claim 7, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses The UE of claim 6, wherein the processor is configured to repeat the switching between the first TD-BWP and the second TD-BWP for the predetermined number of times within the predetermined time period the RRC connection duration. (claim 7: wherein the processor is configured to repeat the switching between the first TD-BWP and the second TD-BWP for a predetermined number of times within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration.)
Regarding claim 10, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses The UE of claim 1, wherein the message comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message (claim 13: a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE).
Regarding claim 11, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (claim 20: A method performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:)
in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, adding, by the UE, a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic (claim 20: in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, adding a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic;), wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic (claim 6: the UE is operating in a first TD-BWP, where the first TD-BWP is for low data traffic) and wherein the parameter associated with UE traffic comprises at least one of a block error rate (BLER) associated with the traffic, a number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or a traffic type associated with the UE traffic (claims 3-5: parameter associated with UE traffic is measured as BLER, number of retransmissions, and traffic type);
transmitting, by the UE, the TB over the TTI to a base station; (claim 20: transmitting the TB over the TTI to the base station;)
receiving, by the UE, a message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB; and (claim 20: receiving a message from the base station; and)
changing, by the UE and based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, between the first TD-BWP and a second TD-BWP until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more, and wherein the second TD-BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP (claim 6: the second TD-BWP is for high data traffic, and the UE switches to the second TD-BWP based on the received message; claim 7: UE repeats the switching between the two BWPs for a predetermined number of times within a predetermined time period or within a RRC connection duration).
Regarding claim 12, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein the determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, further comprises (claim 3: determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition):
measuring the BLER associated with the UE traffic (claim 3: measure a block error rate (BLER) associated with the traffic;);
comparing the BLER with a threshold (claim 3: compare the BLER with a threshold; and); and
in response to the BLER being greater than the threshold, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition (claim 3: in response to the BLER being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.).
Regarding claim 13, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein the determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, further comprises (claim 4: determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition):
measuring the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic (claim 4: measure a number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic;);
comparing the number of retransmissions with a threshold (claim 4: compare the number of retransmissions with a threshold; and); and
in response to the number of retransmissions being greater than the threshold, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition(claim 4: in response to the number of retransmissions being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.).
Regarding claim 14, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein the determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, further comprises (claim 5: wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition):
measuring the traffic type associated with the UE traffic (claim 5: measure a traffic type associated with the UE traffic;);
comparing the traffic type with a plurality of traffic types (claim 5: compare the traffic type with a plurality of traffic types; and); and
in response to the traffic type being one of the plurality of traffic types, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition (claim 5: in response to the traffic type being one of the plurality of traffic types, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.).
Regarding claim 15, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses The method of claim 11, further comprising:
switching to the first TD-BWP after a second predetermined time period (claim 6: switch to the first TD-BWP after a predetermined time period;);
in response to determining that a second parameter associated with the UE traffic meets a second condition, adding a second plurality of padding bits to a second TB to reach a predetermined slot capacity for a second TTI (claim 6: in response to determining that a second parameter associated with the UE traffic meets a second condition, add a second plurality of padding bits to a second TB to reach a predetermined slot capacity for a second TTI;);
transmitting the second TB over the second TTI to the base station (claim 6: transmit, using the one or more transceivers, the second TB over the second TTI to the base station;);
receiving a second message from the base station (claim 6: receive, using the one or more transceivers, a second message from the base station; and); and
switching to the second TD-BWP based on the received second message (claim 6: switch to the second TD-BWP based on the received second message.).
Regarding claim 16, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses
The method of claim 15, further comprising repeating the switching between the first TD- BWP and the second TD-BWP for the predetermined number of times within the predetermined time period or within the RRC connection duration (claim 7: repeat the switching between the first TD-BWP and the second TD-BWP for a predetermined number of times within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration).
Claim 20 of the current application 17/944,362 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 and 20 of co-pending Application No. 18/115,485 in view of Son (US 20190149308 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Regarding claim 20, co-pending Application 18/115,485 discloses
in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, adding a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic (claim 20: in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, adding a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic;), wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic (claim 6: the UE is operating in a first TD-BWP, where the first TD-BWP is for low data traffic) and wherein the parameter associated with UE traffic comprises at least one of a block error rate (BLER) associated with the traffic, a number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or a traffic type associated with the UE traffic (claims 3-5: parameter associated with UE traffic is measured as BLER, number of retransmissions, and traffic type);
transmitting the TB over the TTI to a base station (claim 20: transmitting the TB over the TTI to the base station;);
receiving a downlink control information (DCI) message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB (claim 13: a downlink control information (DCI) message to the UE); and
changing between a first TD-BWP and a second TD-BWP based on the received DCI message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more, and wherein the second TD-BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP (claim 6: the second TD-BWP is for high data traffic, and the UE switches to the second TD-BWP based on the received message; claim 7: UE repeats the switching between the two BWPs for a predetermined number of times within a predetermined time period or within a RRC connection duration).
Co-pending Application 18/115,485 does not explicitly teach A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE) cause the UE to perform operations comprising:
However, Son does teach A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE) cause the UE to perform operations comprising ([0193] memory is non-transitory computer readable medium; [0173], [0180]-[0182], and [Fig. 15] UE comprises memory 1508 and controller 1509, where the memory and controller communicate information back and forth, and the controller performs operations):
Co-pending Application 18/115,485 and Son are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of BWP switching. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified co-pending Application 18/115,485 to include the teachings of Son where a non-transitory computer readable medium is used by the UE. The rationale behind this would be to facilitate system information acquisition in OFDM based mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings ([0007] Son).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US 20190349116 A1), Son (US 20190149308 A1), and further in view of Kazmi et al (US 20220239452 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hosseini teaches
A user equipment (UE), comprising ([0162] UE 115):
a transceiver configured to wirelessly communicate with a base station ([0071] and [0162] UE includes transceiver, and can communicate with a base station); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to ([0162] UE has processor that can communicate with the transceiver):
in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, add a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic, wherein the parameter associated with UE traffic comprises at least one of a block error rate (BLER) associated with the traffic, a number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or a traffic type associated with the UE traffic ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0124] MCS may be selected (and it’s corresponding TBS scaling factor is chosen to be used; i.e. condition for parameter is met), and then the information for the TBS may be configured and padding bits are added (padding bits added in response to the parameter meeting a condition), and the resulting TB comprising the information and the padding bits may be transmitted within a TTI of a specified length (predetermined slot capacity for one TTI));
transmit, using the transceiver, the TB over the TTI to the base station ([0162] UE includes transceiver; [0121]-[0122] single or repetition-based PUSCH transmissions of TBs for TTI in the uplink (from UE to base station); [0124] the TB that was configured is transmitted within a TTI);
Hosseini does not explicitly teach receive, using the transceiver, a message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB;
change, based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, a time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more.
However, Son does teach receive, using the transceiver, a message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB ([0057]-[0060] UL SPS includes TB, and is transmitted from the UE to GNB, and then GNB sends a PDCCH indicating SPS release (base station sends message in response to the transmitted TB)); and
Hosseini and Son are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TBs for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini to include the teachings of Son where the base station indicates the UE to switch BWPs after receiving the TB. The rationale behind this would be to facilitate system information acquisition in OFDM based mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings ([0007] Son).
Son does not explicitly teach change, based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, a time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more.
However, Kazmi does teach change, based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, a time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more ([0094] maximum N number of active BWP switching actions (until a predetermined number of times is reached), where the switching actions are performed over respective switching time periods (within a predetermined time period) and N may be 3 (predetermined number of times is two or more), and the NW node configures the UE to perform the switching actions (based on received message)).
Hosseini, Son, and Kazmi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son to include the teachings of Kazmi where the UE performs BWP switching actions N times during a switching time period. The rationale behind this would be to allow improved handling of scenarios when operating in a carrier aggregation or other scenario with multiple cells and/or component carriers ([0004] Kazmi).
Regarding claim 10, Hosseini modified by Son and Kazmi teaches The UE of claim 1, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein the message comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message.
However, Son does teach wherein the message comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message ([0070] GNB sends DCI indicating UL SPS release; [0063] UL SPS can be released by UL BWP switching (changing BWP based on the received message indicating SPS release)).
Hosseini, Son, and Kazmi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TBs for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Kazmi to include the teachings of Son where the base station indicates the UE to switch BWPs after receiving the TB. The rationale behind this would be to facilitate system information acquisition in OFDM based mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings ([0007] Son).
Regarding claim 21, Hosseini modified by Son and Kazmi teaches The UE of claim 1, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to change the TD-BWP until the UE does not receive the message from the base station in response to the TB over the TTI transmitted to the base station.
However, Son does teach wherein the processor is further configured to change the TD-BWP until the UE does not receive the message from the base station in response to the TB over the TTI transmitted to the base station ([0075] the BWP switching is instructed by DCI received from the base station (when the UE receives DCI instruction, it switches; i.e. it does not switch BWP when it does not receive the DCI from the base station); [0053]-[0057] base station utilizes TTIs, and indicates the TB by sending PDCCH (UE can send TB over TTI to base station)).
Hosseini, Son, and Kazmi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TBs for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Kazmi to include the teachings of Son where the base station indicates the UE to switch BWPs after receiving the TB. The rationale behind this would be to facilitate system information acquisition in OFDM based mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings ([0007] Son).
Claims 2-3, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US 20190349116 A1), Son (US 20190149308 A1), Kazmi et al (US 20220239452 A1), and further in view of Da Silva et al (US 20220376863 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hosseini modified by Son and Kazmi teaches The UE of claim 1, as is described above.
Hosseini further teaches wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to ([0162] UE processor):
measure the BLER associated with the traffic ([0104] reliability is measured in terms of a block error rate BLER (BLER is measured));
compare the BLER with a threshold ([0034] apparatuses of the method (i.e. UE) select the TBS scaling factor based on a threshold block error rate BLER (comparing BLER to threshold)); and
Hosseini modified by Son does not explicitly teach in response to the BLER being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.
However, Da Silva does teach in response to the BLER being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition ([0143] BLER (parameter associated with the UE traffic) is compared with a threshold for in-sync IS and out-of-sync OOS event generation; [0022] when BLER is above the threshold, in-sync IS is indicated (determined that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Da Silva where BLER is monitored and compared to a threshold. The rationale behind this would be to enable an efficient change in radio link monitoring when the UE changes bandwidth part (Da Silva [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Hosseini modified by Son and Kazmi teaches The UE of claim 1, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to:
measure the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic;
compare the number of retransmissions with a threshold; and
in response to the number of retransmissions being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.
However, Da Silva does teach wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to ([0122]-[0123] wireless device comprises processing circuitry configured to perform operations):
measure the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic ([0219] number of retransmissions is measured);
compare the number of retransmissions with a threshold ([0027]-[0028] and [0219] maximum number of retransmissions (compared to a threshold) before radio link failure is measured); and
in response to the number of retransmissions being greater than the threshold, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition ([0027]-[0028] and [0219] maximum (compared to a threshold, maximum being the threshold) number of retransmissions (parameter) before radio link failure is declared (determined that it meets condition and the maximum has been surpassed; i.e. greater than the threshold)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Da Silva where the number of retransmissions is monitored and compared to a threshold. The rationale behind this would be to enable an efficient change in radio link monitoring when the UE changes bandwidth part (Da Silva [0073]).
Regarding claim 12, Hosseini modified by Son and Kazmi teaches The method of claim 11, as is described above.
Hosseini further teaches wherein the determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, further comprises:
measuring the BLER associated with the UE traffic ([0104] reliability is measured in terms of a block error rate BLER (BLER is measured));
comparing the BLER with a threshold ([0034] apparatuses of the method (i.e. UE) select the TBS scaling factor based on a threshold block error rate BLER (comparing BLER to threshold)); and
Hosseini does not explicitly teach in response to the BLER being greater than the threshold, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.
However, Da Silva does teach in response to the BLER being greater than the threshold, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition ([0143] BLER (parameter associated with the UE traffic) is compared with a threshold for in-sync IS and out-of-sync OOS event generation; [0022] when BLER is above the threshold, in-sync IS is indicated (determined that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Da Silva where BLER is monitored and compared to a threshold. The rationale behind this would be to enable an efficient change in radio link monitoring when the UE changes bandwidth part (Da Silva [0073]).
Regarding claim 13, Hosseini modified by Son and Kazmi teaches The method of claim 11, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein the determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, further comprises:
measuring the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic;
comparing the number of retransmissions with a threshold; and
in response to the number of retransmissions being greater than the threshold, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.
However, Da Silva does teach wherein the determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, further comprises ([0027]-[0028] and [0219] radio link failure is declared (determined that it meets condition and the maximum has been surpassed; i.e. greater than the threshold)):
measuring the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic ([0219] number of retransmissions is measured);
comparing the number of retransmissions with a threshold ([0027]-[0028] and [0219] maximum number of retransmissions (compared to a threshold) before radio link failure is measured); and
in response to the number of retransmissions being greater than the threshold, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition ([0027]-[0028] and [0219] maximum (compared to a threshold, maximum being the threshold) number of retransmissions (parameter) before radio link failure is declared (determined that it meets condition and the maximum has been surpassed; i.e. greater than the threshold)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Da Silva are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Da Silva where the number of retransmissions is monitored and compared to a threshold. The rationale behind this would be to enable an efficient change in radio link monitoring when the UE changes bandwidth part (Da Silva [0073]).
Claims 4-9, 11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US 20190349116 A1), Son (US 20190149308 A1), Kazmi et al (US 20220239452 A1), and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20230092704 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hosseini modified by Son and Kazmi teaches The UE of claim 1, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to:
measure the traffic type associated with the UE traffic;
compare the traffic type with a plurality of traffic types; and
in response to the traffic type being one of the plurality of traffic types, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.
However, Zhang does teach wherein to determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, the processor is configured to ([0048] terminal comprises processor configured to perform steps):
measure the traffic type associated with the UE traffic ([0127] the traffic type is identified so that BWP switching can be triggered, where the BWP switching is based on the traffic type);
compare the traffic type with a plurality of traffic types ([0127] different traffic types are used to facilitate different BWP switching; [0141] and [0143] two different types of traffic types are compared); and
in response to the traffic type being one of the plurality of traffic types, determine that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition ([0140]-[0143] when it is determined that the parameter meets a criterion (meets the condition) being that the traffic type is associated with being either delay-sensitive or non-delay sensitive (traffic type is one of the plurality of traffic types), BWP configuration for switching is triggered).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Zhang where traffic types are used as parameters. The rationale behind this would be to increase flexibility of SCS configuration with enhanced resource utilization (Zhang [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Hosseini modified by Son and Kazmi teaches The UE of claim 1, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is operating at a first TD-BWP and to change the TD-BWP based on the received message, the processor is configured to operate the UE at a second TD-BWP, wherein the first TD-BWP is for low data traffic and the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic.
However, Zhang does teach wherein the UE is operating at a first TD-BWP and to change the TD- BWP based on the received message, the processor is configured to operate the UE at a second TD-BWP, wherein the first TD-BWP is for low data traffic and the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic ([0048] terminal comprises processor configured to perform steps; [0127] UE switches from a eMBB BWP (low data traffic) to an URLLC BWP (high data traffic), and this switch is triggered by the gNB (change the BWP based on the received message)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Zhang where the UE switches from a eMBB BWP to an URLLC BWP. The rationale behind this would be to increase flexibility of SCS configuration with enhanced resource utilization (Zhang [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The UE of claim 5, as is described above.
Hosseini further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to ([0162] UE has processor):
in response to determining that a second parameter associated with the UE traffic meets a second condition, add a second plurality of padding bits to a second TB to reach a predetermined slot capacity for a second TTI ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0124] MCS may be selected (and it’s corresponding TBS scaling factor is chosen to be used; i.e. condition for parameter is met), and then the information for the TBS may be configured and padding bits are added (padding bits added in response to the parameter meeting a condition), and the resulting TB comprising the information and the padding bits may be transmitted within a TTI of a specified length (predetermined slot capacity for one TTI));
transmit, using the transceiver, the second TB over the second TTI to the base station ([0162] UE includes transceiver; [0121]-[0122] single or repetition-based PUSCH transmissions of TBs for TTI in the uplink (from UE to base station); [0124] the TB that was configured is transmitted within a TTI);
Hosseini does not explicitly teach switch the TD-BWP after a predetermined time period receive, using the transceiver, a second message from the base station; and
switch to the second TD-BWP based on the received second message.
However, Son does teach switch the TD-BWP after a predetermined time period ([0071] after some time (after a second predetermined time) the GNB indicates BWP switching again (process is repeated));
transmit, using the transceiver, the second TB over the second TTI to the base station ([0135] UE transmits the MAC PDU to the GNB; [0051] TTIs are used for downlink assignments and uplink grants (TTI used for transmissions between UE and GNB));
receive, using the transceiver, a second message from the base station ([0057]-[0060] UL SPS includes TB, and is transmitted from the UE to GNB, and then GNB sends a PDCCH indicating SPS release (base station sends message in response to the transmitted TB); [0071] the base station sends another DCI indicating BWP switching)); and
switch to the second TD-BWP based on the received second message ([0063] UL SPS can be released by UL BWP switching (changing BWP based on the received message indicating SPS release) at different times t1-2 (time-domain)).
Hosseini and Son are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TBs for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini to include the teachings of Son where the base station indicates the UE to switch BWPs after receiving the TB. The rationale behind this would be to facilitate system information acquisition in OFDM based mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings ([0007] Son).
Son does not explicitly teach switch to the first TD-BWP after a second predetermined time period;
However, Zhang does teach switch to the first TD-BWP after a second predetermined time period ([0093] and [0095] BWP switching can be based on a timer (second predetermined time period); [0127] the UE can switch back and forth between the BWPs, and it can switch back to the eMBB BWP (first BWP));
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of BWP switching. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Zhang where the UE switches from an URLLC BWP to an eMBB BWP. The rationale behind this would be to increase flexibility of SCS configuration with enhanced resource utilization (Zhang [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The UE of claim 6, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to repeat the switching between the first TD-BWP and the second TD-BWP for the predetermined number of times within the predetermined time period or within the RRC connection duration.
However, Kazmi does teach wherein the processor is configured to repeat the switching between the first TD-BWP and the second TD-BWP for the predetermined number of times within a second predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration ([0094] maximum N number of active BWP switching actions (until a predetermined number of times is reached), where the switching actions are performed over respective switching time periods (within a predetermined time period) and N may be 3 (predetermined number of times is two or more), and the NW node configures the UE to perform the switching actions (based on received message)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son to include the teachings of Kazmi where the UE performs BWP switching actions N times during a switching time period. The rationale behind this would be to allow improved handling of scenarios when operating in a carrier aggregation or other scenario with multiple cells and/or component carriers ([0004] Kazmi).
Regarding claim 8, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The UE of claim 6, as is described above.
Hosseini further teaches wherein the second parameter comprises the BLER associated with the UE traffic, the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or the traffic type associated with the UE traffic and wherein second parameter is different from the parameter ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0114] TBS scaling factor may be based on any combination of BLER threshold, reliability threshold, threshold coding rate, number of repetitions to perform within a window (second parameter may be combined to be different)).
Regarding claim 9, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The UE of claim 6, as is described above.
Hosseini further teaches wherein:
the second parameter is same as the parameter and comprises the BLER associated with the UE traffic, the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or the traffic type associated with the UE traffic ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0114] TBS scaling factor may be based on any combination of BLER threshold, reliability threshold, threshold coding rate, number of repetitions to perform within a window (second parameter may be combined to be the same)), and
the second condition is same as the condition and comprises a BLER threshold, a retransmission threshold, or a plurality of traffic types ([0114] TBS scaling factor may be based on any combination of BLER threshold, and number of repetitions to perform within a window).
Regarding claim 11, A method performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising ([0162] UE 115; [0005] method):
in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, adding, by the UE, a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic, and wherein the parameter associated with UE traffic comprises at least one of a block error rate (BLER) associated with the traffic, a number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or a traffic type associated with the UE traffic ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0124] MCS may be selected (and it’s corresponding TBS scaling factor is chosen to be used; i.e. condition for parameter is met), and then the information for the TBS may be configured and padding bits are added (padding bits added in response to the parameter meeting a condition), and the resulting TB comprising the information and the padding bits may be transmitted within a TTI of a specified length (predetermined slot capacity for one TTI));
transmitting, by the UE, the TB over the TTI to a base station ([0121]-[0122] single or repetition-based PUSCH transmissions of TBs for TTI in the uplink (from UE to base station); [0124] the TB that was configured is transmitted within a TTI);
Hosseini does not explicitly teach receiving, by the UE, a message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB; and
changing, by the UE and based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, between the first TD-BWP and a second TD-BWP until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more, and wherein the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP.
However, Son does teach receiving, by the UE, a message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB ([0057]-[0060] UL SPS includes TB, and is transmitted from the UE to GNB, and then GNB sends a PDCCH indicating SPS release (base station sends message in response to the transmitted TB)); and
Hosseini and Son are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TBs for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini to include the teachings of Son where the base station indicates the UE to switch BWPs after receiving the TB. The rationale behind this would be to facilitate system information acquisition in OFDM based mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings ([0007] Son).
Son does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic
changing, by the UE and based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, between the first TD-BWP and a second TD-BWP until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more, and wherein the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP.
However, Kazmi does teach changing, by the UE and based on the received message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration, between the first TD-BWP and a second TD-BWP until a predetermined number of times is reached, wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more ([0094] maximum N number of active BWP switching actions (until a predetermined number of times is reached), where the switching actions are performed over respective switching time periods (within a predetermined time period) and N may be 3 (predetermined number of times is two or more), and the NW node configures the UE to perform the switching actions (based on received message)),
Hosseini, Son, and Kazmi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son to include the teachings of Kazmi where the UE performs BWP switching actions N times during a switching time period. The rationale behind this would be to allow improved handling of scenarios when operating in a carrier aggregation or other scenario with multiple cells and/or component carriers ([0004] Kazmi).
Kazmi does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic
and wherein the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP.
However, Zhang does teach wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic ([0127] UE switches from an eMBB BWP (operating in a first low data traffic BWP))
and wherein the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP ([0127] UE may switch from an eMBB BWP to an URLLC (second BWP for high data traffic and different from the first)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Zhang where UE is in a first eMBB BWP initially and switches to an URLLC BWP. The rationale behind this would be to increase flexibility of SCS configuration with enhanced resource utilization (Zhang [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The method of claim 11, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein the determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, further comprises:
measuring the traffic type associated with the UE traffic;
comparing the traffic type with a plurality of traffic types; and
in response to the traffic type being one of the plurality of traffic types, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition.
However, Zhang does teach wherein the determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition, further comprises ([0140]-[0143] when it is determined that the parameter meets a criterion (meets the condition)):
measuring the traffic type associated with the UE traffic ([0127] the traffic type is identified so that BWP switching can be triggered, where the BWP switching is based on the traffic type);
comparing the traffic type with a plurality of traffic types ([0127] different traffic types are used to facilitate different BWP switching; [0141] and [0143] two different types of traffic types are compared); and
in response to the traffic type being one of the plurality of traffic types, determining that the parameter associated with the UE traffic meets the condition ([0140]-[0143] when it is determined that the parameter meets a criterion (meets the condition) being that the traffic type is associated with being either delay-sensitive or non-delay sensitive (traffic type is one of the plurality of traffic types), BWP configuration for switching is triggered).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Zhang where traffic types are used as parameters. The rationale behind this would be to increase flexibility of SCS configuration with enhanced resource utilization (Zhang [0006]).
Regarding claim 15, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The method of claim 11, as is described above.
Hosseini further teaches further comprising:
in response to determining that a second parameter associated with the UE traffic meets a second condition, adding a second plurality of padding bits to a second TB to reach a predetermined slot capacity for a second TTI ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0124] MCS may be selected (and it’s corresponding TBS scaling factor is chosen to be used; i.e. condition for parameter is met), and then the information for the TBS may be configured and padding bits are added (padding bits added in response to the parameter meeting a condition), and the resulting TB comprising the information and the padding bits may be transmitted within a TTI of a specified length (predetermined slot capacity for one TTI));
transmitting the second TB over the second TTI to the base station ([0162] UE includes transceiver; [0121]-[0122] single or repetition-based PUSCH transmissions of TBs for TTI in the uplink (from UE to base station); [0124] the TB that was configured is transmitted within a TTI);
Hosseini does not explicitly teach switching to the first TD-BWP after a second predetermined time period;
receiving a second message from the base station; and
switching to the second TD-BWP based on the received second message.
However, Son does teach switching the TD-BWP after a predetermined time period ([0071] after some time (after a predetermined time) the GNB indicates BWP switching again (process is repeated));
in response to determining that a second parameter associated with the UE traffic meets a second condition, adding a second plurality of padding bits to a second TB to reach a predetermined slot capacity for a second TTI;
transmitting the second TB over the second TTI to the base station ([0135] UE transmits the MAC PDU to the GNB; [0051] TTIs are used for downlink assignments and uplink grants (TTI used for transmissions between UE and GNB));
receiving a second message from the base station ([0057]-[0060] UL SPS includes TB, and is transmitted from the UE to GNB, and then GNB sends a PDCCH indicating SPS release (base station sends message in response to the transmitted TB); [0071] the base station sends another DCI indicating BWP switching)); and
switching to the second TD-BWP based on the received second message ([0063] UL SPS can be released by UL BWP switching (changing BWP based on the received message indicating SPS release) at different times t1-2 (time-domain)).
Hosseini and Son are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TBs for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini to include the teachings of Son where the base station indicates the UE to switch BWPs after receiving the TB. The rationale behind this would be to facilitate system information acquisition in OFDM based mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings ([0007] Son).
Son does not explicitly teach switching to the first TD-BWP after a predetermined time period;
However, Zhang does teach switching to the first TD-BWP after a predetermined time period ([0093] and [0095] BWP switching can be based on a timer (predetermined time period); [0127] the UE can switch back and forth between the BWPs, and it can switch back to the eMBB BWP (first BWP));
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of BWP switching. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Zhang where the UE switches from an URLLC BWP to an eMBB BWP. The rationale behind this would be to increase flexibility of SCS configuration with enhanced resource utilization (Zhang [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The method of claim 15, as is described above.
Hosseini does not explicitly teach further comprising repeating the switching between the first TD-BWP and the second TD-BWP for a predetermined number of times within a second predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration.
However, Kazmi does teach further comprising repeating the switching between the first TD-BWP and the second TD-BWP for a predetermined number of times within a second predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration ([0094] maximum N number of active BWP switching actions (until a predetermined number of times is reached), where the switching actions are performed over respective switching time periods (within a predetermined time period) and N may be 3 (predetermined number of times is two or more), and the NW node configures the UE to perform the switching actions (based on received message)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son to include the teachings of Kazmi where the UE performs BWP switching actions N times during a switching time period. The rationale behind this would be to allow improved handling of scenarios when operating in a carrier aggregation or other scenario with multiple cells and/or component carriers ([0004] Kazmi).
Regarding claim 17, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The method of claim 15, as is described above.
Hosseini further teaches wherein the second parameter comprises a BLER associated with the UE traffic, the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or the traffic type associated with the UE traffic and wherein second parameter is different from the parameter ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0114] TBS scaling factor may be based on any combination of BLER threshold, reliability threshold, threshold coding rate, number of repetitions to perform within a window (second parameter may be combined to be different)).
Regarding claim 18, Hosseini modified by Son, Kazmi, and Zhang teaches The method of claim 15, as is described above.
Hosseini further teaches wherein:
the second parameter is same as the parameter and comprises the BLER associated with the UE traffic, the number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or the traffic type associated with the UE traffic ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0114] TBS scaling factor may be based on any combination of BLER threshold, reliability threshold, threshold coding rate, number of repetitions to perform within a window (second parameter may be combined to be the same)), and
the second condition is same as the condition and comprises a BLER threshold, a retransmission threshold, or a plurality of traffic types ([0114] TBS scaling factor may be based on any combination of BLER threshold, and number of repetitions to perform within a window).
Regarding claim 20, Hosseini teaches
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE) cause the UE to perform operations comprising ([0162] UE 115; [0237] computer-readable media that stores instructions to be executed by a processor):
in response to determining that a parameter associated with UE traffic meets a condition, adding a plurality of padding bits to a transport block (TB) to reach a predetermined slot capacity for one transmission time interval (TTI) associated with the UE traffic, and wherein the parameter associated with UE traffic comprises at least one of a block error rate (BLER) associated with the traffic, a number of retransmissions associated with the UE traffic, or a traffic type associated with the UE traffic ([0112] The TBS scaling factor (parameter) may be determined based on a BLER target for the UE (parameter comprises block error rate), or the number of repeated transmissions within a repetition window (parameter comprises a number of retransmissions), where the TBS scaling factors are each associated with a certain MCS table to use for communications; [0124] MCS may be selected (and it’s corresponding TBS scaling factor is chosen to be used; i.e. condition for parameter is met), and then the information for the TBS may be configured and padding bits are added (padding bits added in response to the parameter meeting a condition), and the resulting TB comprising the information and the padding bits may be transmitted within a TTI of a specified length (predetermined slot capacity for one TTI));
transmitting the TB over the TTI to a base station ([0121]-[0122] single or repetition-based PUSCH transmissions of TBs for TTI in the uplink (from UE to base station); [0124] the TB that was configured is transmitted within a TTI);
Hosseini does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic
receiving a downlink control information (DCI) message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB; and
changing between a first TD-BWP and a second TD-BWP based on the received DCI message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration until a predetermined number of times is reached , wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more, and wherein the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP.
However, Son does teach receiving a downlink control information (DCI) message from the base station in response to the transmitted TB ([0057]-[0060] UL SPS includes TB, and is transmitted from the UE to GNB, and then GNB sends a PDCCH indicating SPS release (base station sends message in response to the transmitted TB)); and
Hosseini and Son are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring TBs for transmissions. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini to include the teachings of Son where the base station indicates the UE to switch BWPs after receiving the TB. The rationale behind this would be to facilitate system information acquisition in OFDM based mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings ([0007] Son).
Son does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic
changing between a first TD-BWP and a second TD-BWP based on the received DCI message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration until a predetermined number of times is reached , wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more, and wherein the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP.
However, Kazmi does teach changing between a first TD-BWP and a second TD-BWP based on the received DCI message and within a predetermined time period or within a radio resource control (RRC) connection duration until a predetermined number of times is reached , wherein the predetermined number of times is two or more ([0094] maximum N number of active BWP switching actions (until a predetermined number of times is reached), where the switching actions are performed over respective switching time periods (within a predetermined time period) and N may be 3 (predetermined number of times is two or more), and the NW node configures the UE to perform the switching actions (based on received message)),
Hosseini, Son, and Kazmi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son to include the teachings of Kazmi where the UE performs BWP switching actions N times during a switching time period. The rationale behind this would be to allow improved handling of scenarios when operating in a carrier aggregation or other scenario with multiple cells and/or component carriers ([0004] Kazmi).
Kazmi does not explicitly teach wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic
and wherein the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP.
However, Zhang does teach wherein the UE is operating in a first time domain bandwidth part (TD-BWP) for low data traffic ([0127] UE switches from an eMBB BWP (operating in a first low data traffic BWP))
and wherein the second TD- BWP is for high data traffic and is different from the first TD-BWP ([0127] UE may switch from an eMBB BWP to an URLLC (second BWP for high data traffic and different from the first)).
Hosseini, Son, Kazmi, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hosseini/Son/Kazmi to include the teachings of Zhang where UE is in a first eMBB BWP initially and switches to an URLLC BWP. The rationale behind this would be to increase flexibility of SCS configuration with enhanced resource utilization (Zhang [0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478