DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 07/01/2026 (“Amendment”). Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 11-19, and 21 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 2, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19, and 21, as well as the cancellation of claims 5, 8-10, and 20.
The objection(s) to the drawings, specification, and/or claims, the interpretation(s) under 35 USC 112(f), and/or the rejection(s) under 35 USC 101 and/or 35 USC 112 not reproduced below has/have been withdrawn in view of the corresponding amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “Displaying” should instead read --displaying--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “computing device” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is no support for the second sensor having access to ambient air through “said port.” Fig. 1 shows that the ambient air port 2051 is different than the tube sensor port 2041.
Claims 2-4, 6, 7, and 11-19 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 15, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 6, and 7, it is unclear whether the recitations of “said sensor” refer to the first sensor or the second sensor.
Regarding claim 21, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitation of “said display screen.”
Claims 4, 6, 7, 15, and 16 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Application Publication WO 2021/119305 (“Starr”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0110714 (“O’Brien”).
Regarding claim 1, Starr teaches [a] system for measuring pulmonary neuromuscular metrics of a patient comprising: a hollow volume having a wall and two ends (Fig. 4, flow chamber 230) with a mouthpiece constructed at one end (Fig. 4, mouthpiece 490), a resistance at the opposite end (Figs. 3 and 4, distal end opening 235 being narrower – also see ¶¶s 00121 and 00122, describing the use of flow restrictor 237 to alter a restriction of a flow path), and a port in said wall of said hollow volume located between said ends (Figs. 3 and 4, port 242); and an electronic device having a first sensor, said sensor connected to said port in said wall (Figs. 3 and 4, sensors 455 and/or 250 connected to the port, the sensors associated with an electronic device as shown in Figs. 2-4), a second sensor having access to ambient air through said port (¶ 00107, the ambient pressure sensor, obtaining ambient air pressure via port 246); a central processing unit (Fig. 2, processor 210); a power supply (Fig. 2, PSUPP 264); a memory having an application program resident therein (Fig. 2, memory 258; ¶ 00102, storing operating instructions), said application program comprised of … a data transfer subroutine (to perform the transfer to e.g. UD 102-1 – see ¶¶s 0093 and 0094, etc.), a data analysis subroutine (Fig. 14B, calculating metrics – also see ¶¶s 00191-00194 and claim 40), and an algorithm for translating sensor readings of said first sensor and said second sensor into pulmonary neuromuscular metrics (Fig. 14B, calculating metrics – also see ¶¶s 00191-00194 and claim 40, as well as ¶¶s 00106, 00109, etc.), and a wireless transmitter (Fig. 2, communication 262), whereby pulmonary neuromuscular metrics for said patient exhaling or inhaling at said mouthpiece are provided for reading by said patient's medical professional (Fig. 14B, PEF, FEV1, FVC, etc. being reported to a healthcare provider).
Starr does not appear to explicitly teach the application program comprised of a start up subroutine or a run-loop subroutine (although these may be implied).
O’Brien teaches a similar device that has a routine which includes a start up subroutine, a run-loop subroutine, and other subroutines (¶¶s 0114 and 0128, Fig. 31A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the subroutines of O’Brien into Starr for the purpose of initializing the device, running different procedures based on different states, and continuously processing new data as appropriate (O’Brien: ¶¶s 0114 and 0128, Fig. 31A ).
Regarding claim 2, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches in which said hollow volume is selected from the group comprising: a cylinder, a sphere, and an ovoid spheroid (Starr: ¶ 00105, cylindrical flow chamber 230).
Regarding claim 3, 4, 6, and 7, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches in which said sensor measures air pressure, in which said sensor measures air temperature (Starr: ¶¶s 0004, 0075, 0096, etc.), in which the output of said sensor is data relating to pulmonary neuromuscular metrics, in which the output of said sensor is data relating to pulmonary neuromuscular metrics (Starr: ¶¶s 0075 0096, etc., temperature, breath rate, PEF, etc. of the user).
Regarding claim 11, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches in which said pulmonary neuromuscular metrics are selected from a group comprising: tidal volume (TV) (Starr: ¶¶s 00182, 00232, etc.); inspiratory reserve volume (IRV); expiratory reserve volume (ERV); inspiratory capacity (IC); vital capacity (VC) (Starr: ¶ 00211, etc.); max inspiratory pressure against a calibrated orifice (MIPCO); max expiratory pressure against a calibrated orifice (MEPCO); power of breathing against a calibrated orifice (POWCO) max inspiratory power of breathing against a calibrated orifice (MIPOWCO); max expiratory power of breathing against a calibrated orifice (MEPOWCO); average sustained inspiratory power of breathing against a calibrated orifice (SIPOWCO); average sustained expiratory power of breathing against a calibrated orifice (SEPOWCO); average sustained tidal inspiratory power (TIPOWCO); average sustained tidal expiratory power (TEPOWCO); average sustained work of breathing per liter against a calibrated orifice (WOBCO); minute ventilation (MINUTEV); and cumulative energy expended forcing air through resistance (CEEFR).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches in which said device additionally comprises at least one light emitting diode (Starr: ¶ 00101), in which said device additionally comprises a display screen (Starr: ¶ 00101).
Regarding claim 14, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claim 13, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches in which said pulmonary neuromuscular metrics are mapped graphically on said display screen as a function of time (although Starr is not explicit that the device with the sensor displays this on its screen, it teaches in ¶¶s 0056, 0074, etc. displaying parameters over time (also see Fig. 14B, rendering results on a user device (1441), Fig.15C and ¶ 00207), and ¶ 00101 explains that the UI 256 of the electronic device can display instructions, test results, etc. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display the metrics over time on the WFM 225 itself (Fig. 2), for the purpose of making the device more standalone, and as already contemplated in ¶ 00101).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claims 6 and 7, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches in which said data is transmitted wirelessly to a computer cloud server running an algorithm that generates said pulmonary neuromuscular metrics (Starr: Fig. 1, server 106. Although it is not explicit, ¶ 0051 mentions that a “computing device” can be a server, that a server may be part of a “system,” etc., ¶¶s 0064 and 0065 mention that the server can perform operations in response to sensor inputs, ¶ 0069 mentions that the server can store code to perform disclosed functions, ¶ 0071 mentions a secure database, etc. – also see Fig. 14B, calculating metrics; and ¶¶s 00191-00194 and claim 40. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the server for carrying out the algorithm, as already contemplated, for the purpose of being able to distribute functionality (¶¶s 0064, 0067, etc.), and for more centrally interfacing with a number of devices in an overall system (Fig. 1, ¶ 0064, etc.)).
Regarding claim 17, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches in which said pulmonary neuromuscular metrics are transmitted to a computing device having a display screen in the possession of said medical professional (Starr: Fig. 1, healthcare provider interface 112 or portal 110 including UI 126, ¶ 0086, etc.).
Regarding claim 18, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches at least one additional sensor selected from the group comprising: an air pressure sensor; an air temperature sensor; a humidity sensor; a carbon dioxide sensor; and an oxygen sensor (Starr: Figs. 2 and 3, capnograph 260 including a CO2 sensor 261, ¶ 00104).
Regarding claim 19, Starr-O’Brien teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Starr-O’Brien further teaches at least one additional sensor selected from the group comprising: an air pressure sensor; an air temperature sensor; a humidity sensor; a carbon dioxide sensor; and an oxygen sensor (Starr: Figs. 2 and 3, capnograph 260 including a CO2 sensor 261, ¶ 00104).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over various teachings of International Application Publication WO 2021/119305 (“Starr”).
Regarding claim 21, Starr teaches [a] method for a patient to perform therapeutic pulmonary exercises comprising the steps of: powering on an electronic device (the device of Figs. 2-4, etc., powered on via PSUPP 264); initializing an ambient air pressure sensor resident in said electronic device having access to ambient air (Fig. 3, pressure sensor 250 obtaining ambient air pressure via port 246 - ¶ 00107); initializing an air pressure sensor resident in said electronic device having access to air in a hollow volume having a mouthpiece at a proximal end (Fig. 3, pressure sensor 250 obtaining air pressure of flow chamber 230 via port 242 - ¶ 00107; also see mouthpiece 490 in Fig. 4); exhaling by said patient into said mouthpiece (Fig. 15B); measuring the differential air pressure between the ambient air pressure and the air pressure in said hollow volume (¶¶s 00106, 00107, 00109, etc.), said tube having a resistance to air flow at a distal end (Figs. 3 and 4, distal end opening 235 being narrower – also see ¶¶s 00121 and 00122, describing the use of flow restrictor 237 to alter a restriction of a flow path); Displaying directions on said display screen (Figs. 15A-15E and 16; also note Fig. 2, UI 256 as described in ¶ 00101. Although Starr is not explicit that the device with the sensor displays this on its screen, it teaches in Figs. 15A-15E and 16 prompting a patient with displayed directions (also see Fig. 14B, rendering results on a user device (1441), Fig.15C and ¶ 00207), and ¶ 00101 explains that the UI 256 of the electronic device can display instructions, test results, etc. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to display instructions for prompting the user on the WFM 225 itself (Fig. 2), for the purpose of making the device more standalone, and as already contemplated in ¶ 00101), prompting said patient to follow said directions to perform therapeutic pulmonary exercises by exhaling or inhaling at said mouthpiece (¶¶s 00174, 00177, 00183, etc.) whereby pulmonary neuromuscular metrics for said patient exhaling or inhaling at said mouthpiece are provided for reading by said patient's medical professional (Fig. 14B, PEF, FEV1, FVC, etc. being reported to a healthcare provider).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered.
As an initial matter, Applicant is reminded to underline or strike through changes made to the claims. The current claim 1 does not include underlining e.g. for the subject matter from the old claim 10.
In response to the amendments and arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102, they are persuasive. Therefore, a new grounds of rejection is made under 35 USC 103 in view of O’Brien. Applicant appears to argue that they cannot find the exact phrases “start up subroutine” or “run-loop subroutine,” but does not explain why the cited portions of O’Brien do not teach these subroutines. As for making the device of Starr “more standalone,” that itself is the reason why. I.e., the modification is to display something already displayed, on a device having a display (which is already contemplated, as cited above), and the motivation has been provided. All claims remain rejected in light of the prior art
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791