DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauman (US 20080226407) in view of Smith (US 3740063).
Regarding claim 1, Bauman discloses a tool shank holder 9500 for connecting a tool to a chuck of an impact drive. The tool shank holder comprises a body comprising a shank-receiving end and a bit-receiving end. The shank-receiving end 9518 is configured to operably receive a shank of a tool 36 and the bit-receiving end 9502 is configured to operably receive a driver bit 9400. A first connector comprising a ball 9904 and a spring band 9912 (Fig. 93) that extends around the body, the spring band is recessed into the body within an opening/recess between opposite sides of the spring band and is configured to apply a biasing force through the body and against a ball located in the bit-receiving end to bias the ball against the driver bit located in the bit-receiving end. A second connector is provided at the shank-receiving end and is configured to directly connect the shank-receiving end to the shank of the tool The second connector is configured as a set screw 76 which engages the shank of the tool inserted therein, through the body in other embodiments (e.g. see Fig. 6) and is disclosed as being suitable/useful for various other configurations of adapters (Paragraph [0160]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a set screw to the shank-receiving end 9518 as taught earlier in Bauman, in order to provide a way to secure the tool into the shank-receiving end. Bauman does not explicitly disclose the spring band being flush with the body on both opposite ends thereof.
Smith discloses a similar tool shank holder, wherein a spring band encloses balls 19 in an annular recess, and the spring band is oriented in the recess such that the spring band is flush with the body 12 on both opposite ends thereof (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide such a recess taught by Smith to the body of Bauman in order to prevent the spring band from falling off the body during operation.
Regarding claim 2, Bauman discloses a tool comprising a shank received within the shank-receiving end, the second connector directly contacting the shank-receiving end to the shank of the tool (Paragraph [0195]).
Regarding claim 3, Bauman discloses various tools in the shank-receiving end, but does not explicitly disclose a tap.
Smith discloses a similar tool shank holder, wherein various tools are utilized, including a tap (Col. 3, Line 67 – Col. 4, Line 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the tool of Bauman with a tap, as taught by Smith, depending on the operation that is desired.
Regarding claim 5, Bauman discloses the body comprising a flip socket portion comprising the bit-receiving end and a tool holder portion comprising the shank-receiving end.
Regarding claim 6, Bauman discloses the flip socket portion and the tool holder portion being formed as a single, monolithic piece of material.
Regarding claim 7, Bauman does not explicitly disclose the flip socket portion and tool holder portion being formed separately, then permanently connected together. However, Bauman discloses the invention having all of the structural limitations set forth above with respect to claim 7, and specifically discloses a device whose component members could have been made by two separate pieces formed separately and permanently connected together. However, if Applicant does not agree that Bauman anticipates the process of how the device’s members were made, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the device using any known manufacturing process, such as welding the flip socket portion to the tool holder portion, to create a tool shank holder out of two specific components instead of machining both ends of a tool shank holder. Furthermore, “formed separately and permanently connected together” is considered a Product-by-Process limitation. See MPEP 2113, Paragraphs 17-18 of the Non-Final Rejection of 06/02/2025, Paragraph 14 of the Final Rejection of 10/20/2025 and Paragraph 10 of the Non-Final Rejection of 03/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722