DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 11/19/25 are acknowledged. Any objection or rejection from the 5/21/25 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments.
Previously, Group 1 and the species of COR1-25 were elected.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/23.
Claims to the elected species are rejected as set forth below. Claims 1, 7 and 9-10 are interpreted as reading on the elected species. Claim 8 does not encompass the elected species.
Claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/12/23.
Claims 2-6 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 7 and 9-10 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is provided in the filing receipt dated 9/27/23.
Claim Interpretation
Instant claim 1 recites ‘composition comprising a plurality of tetrapeptides’ and then recites a wherein clause about tetrapeptides selected from a group consisting of.
MPEP 2111.03 recites: “In Amgen Inc. v. Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC, 945 F.3d 1368, 1379, 2020 USPQ2d 3197 (Fed. Cir. 2020), in an infringement suit, the court interpreted a claim for a pharmaceutical composition having a "comprising" transition phrase and following limitations, including limitations requiring "at least one" binder and "at least one" disintegrant, each "consisting of" items listed in a Markush group. The court found that the Markush grouping recited particular binders or disintegrants, but while the components of the Markush grouping are closed as to the components therein, the claim transition "comprising" allowed for additional component(s) that were functionally similar to the members of the Markush grouping. Thus, the plain language of the claim requires "at least one" of the Markush members and does not further limit the claim to only binders and disintegrants listed in the Markush grouping.”
MPEP 2111.03 further recites: “Amgen Inc. v. Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC, 945 F.3d 1368, 1378-79, 2020 USPQ2d 3179 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (the claim’s "comprising" transition phrase does not foreclose additional binders and disintegrants when an accused infringing product contains and meets the limitation’s requirements for one of the binders or disintegrants recited in the Markush groupings – there is no inconsistency with another binder or disintegrant outside of the Markush group also being part of the claimed formulation)”.
In the instant case, the transitional phrase ‘comprising’ in line 1 of claim 1 does not foreclose additional components (including peptides). Since claim 1 recites a plurality of tetrapeptides, at least 2 of the tetrapeptides from the recited group are required. In the instant case, the plain language of the claim requires "at least two" (a plurality) of the Markush members and does not further limit the claim to only those listed in the Markush grouping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This rejection is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claims 1, 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A period appears after the 16th recited peptide in claim 1. It is unclear if the peptides after the period are intended to be within the group. It is unclear if claim 7 is a proper dependent claim. Claims 9-10 do not clarify the claim scope. Although unclear, claim 1 has been interpreted as including the peptides after the 16th recited peptide of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims were previously rejected under 102 based on the reference cited below.
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haslach et al. (cite 30 of the 9 page IDS of 12/12/23; ‘Haslach’).
Haslach teach the use of a tetrapeptide library to discover molecules (abstract). Haslach teach that there are 240 acetylated tetrapeptide mixtures each made up of 216000 acetylated tetrapeptides (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Haslach teach that each of the four positions are defined with a single amino acid (O) with the three remaining positions made up of one of 60 different amino acids (X) (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Haslach teach that the library is N-acetylated and C-amidated (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Thus, there are 60 sublibraries that comprise Ac-O-X-X-X-NH2, 60 sublibraries that comprise Ac-X-O-X-X-NH2, 60 sublibraries that comprise Ac-X-X-O-X-NH2, and 60 sublibraries that comprise Ac-X-X-X-O-NH2. Haslach teach that the 60 different amino acids include (pI)DPhe, Arg and 2-Nal (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Haslach teach that the peptides were synthesized, extracted and resuspended and brought to a final concentration in a composition comprising water (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Haslach teach a total of 12960000 tetrapeptides (page 4617 last paragraph).
In relation to claims 1 and 7, Haslach teach that there are 240 acetylated tetrapeptide mixtures each made up of 216000 acetylated tetrapeptides (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Haslach teach that each of the four positions are defined with a single amino acid (O) with the three remaining positions made up of one of 60 different amino acids (X) (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Haslach teach that library is N-acetylated and C-amidated (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Thus, there are 60 sublibraries that comprise Ac-O-X-X-X-NH2. Haslach teach that the 60 different amino acids include (pI)DPhe, Arg and 2-Nal (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). When O is DPhe(pI), the sublibrary comprises Ac-DPhe(pI)-X-X-X-NH2 and specifically comprises Ac-DPhe(pI)-Arg-2-Nal-Arg-NH2 (the elected species and 16th compound of claim 1 and last compound of claim 7) and Ac-DPhe(pI)-Arg-DPhe(pI)-Arg-NH2 (the 14th compound of claim 1 and the 3rd to last compound of claim 7). Haslach teach that the peptides were synthesized, extracted and resuspended and brought to a final concentration in a composition comprising water (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). The claim interpretation is set forth above. Haslach teach that the TPI924 library was used (Table 4) which is the same library as used in the instant specification (page 20 line 20 and page 32 first paragraph).
In relation to claims 9-10, Haslach teach that the peptides were synthesized, extracted and resuspended and brought to a final concentration in a composition comprising water (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’).
Response to Arguments – 102
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejection set forth above
Although applicants argue that the claims have been amended, the amended claims are addressed above.
Although applicants argue that Haslach does not teach a plurality of tetrapeptides selected from the tetrapeptides recited in claim 1, Haslach teach that there are 240 acetylated tetrapeptide mixtures each made up of 216000 acetylated tetrapeptides (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Haslach teach that each of the four positions are defined with a single amino acid (O) with the three remaining positions made up of one of 60 different amino acids (X) (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Haslach teach that library is N-acetylated and C-amidated (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). Thus, there are 60 sublibraries that comprise Ac-O-X-X-X-NH2. Haslach teach that the 60 different amino acids include (pI)DPhe, Arg and 2-Nal (page 4624 ‘Experimental Section’). When O is DPhe(pI), the sublibrary comprises Ac-DPhe(pI)-X-X-X-NH2 and specifically comprises Ac-DPhe(pI)-Arg-2-Nal-Arg-NH2 (the elected species and 16th compound of claim 1 and last compound of claim 7) and Ac-DPhe(pI)-Arg-DPhe(pI)-Arg-NH2 (the 14th compound of claim 1 and the 3rd to last compound of claim 7).
Instant claim 1 recites ‘composition comprising a plurality of tetrapeptides’ and then recites a wherein clause about tetrapeptides selected from a group consisting of.
MPEP 2111.03 recites: “In Amgen Inc. v. Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC, 945 F.3d 1368, 1379, 2020 USPQ2d 3197 (Fed. Cir. 2020), in an infringement suit, the court interpreted a claim for a pharmaceutical composition having a "comprising" transition phrase and following limitations, including limitations requiring "at least one" binder and "at least one" disintegrant, each "consisting of" items listed in a Markush group. The court found that the Markush grouping recited particular binders or disintegrants, but while the components of the Markush grouping are closed as to the components therein, the claim transition "comprising" allowed for additional component(s) that were functionally similar to the members of the Markush grouping. Thus, the plain language of the claim requires "at least one" of the Markush members and does not further limit the claim to only binders and disintegrants listed in the Markush grouping.”
MPEP 2111.03 further recites: “Amgen Inc. v. Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC, 945 F.3d 1368, 1378-79, 2020 USPQ2d 3179 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (the claim’s "comprising" transition phrase does not foreclose additional binders and disintegrants when an accused infringing product contains and meets the limitation’s requirements for one of the binders or disintegrants recited in the Markush groupings – there is no inconsistency with another binder or disintegrant outside of the Markush group also being part of the claimed formulation)”.
In the instant case, the transitional phrase ‘comprising’ in line 1 of claim 1 does not foreclose additional components (including peptides). Since claim 1 recites a plurality of tetrapeptides, at least 2 of the tetrapeptides from the recited group are required. In the instant case, the plain language of the claim requires "at least two" (a plurality) of the Markush members and does not further limit the claim to only those listed in the Markush grouping.
Double Patenting
Claims were previously rejected under double patenting based on the patent cited below.
Claims 1, 7 and 9-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10899793 (cited with IDS 12/12/23; ‘793’). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
793 recites SEQ ID NO: 11 (claim 13, Ac-DNal(2’)-Arg-(pI)DPhe-Bip-NH2) and compositions thereof (claim 18).
793 does not recite a species in the claims such that the 4th amino acid is Arg as in instant claim 6.
793 does recite compounds of a specific formula (claim 1) and recites specific sequences including SEQ ID NO: 11 (claim 13). Further, 793 recites that Z can be L-Arg or D-Lys (claim 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 793 based on the specific teachings and suggestions of 793. 793 does recite compounds of a specific formula (claim 1) and recites specific sequences including SEQ ID NO: 11 (claim 13, Ac-DNal(2’)-Arg-(pI)DPhe-Bip-NH2). Further, 793 recites that Z can be L-Arg or D-Lys (claim 10). Since 793 suggests that Z can be L-Arg or D-Lys (claim 10) one would have been motivated to substitute L-Arg and D-Lys at the Z position (4th amino acid) in SEQ ID NO:11 to result in Ac-DNal(2’)-Arg-(pI)DPhe-Arg-NH2 and Ac-DNal(2’)-Arg-(pI)DPhe-D-Lys-NH2. Since 793 recites compositions (claim 18) and uses of the peptides (claims 19-20) one would have been motivated to make such peptides in a composition. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because 793 recites a wide range of compounds (claim 13) and known residues at a particular location (claim 10).
In relation to the compound of claims 1 and 7, as discussed above the compounds Ac-DNal(2’)-Arg-(pI)DPhe-Arg-NH2 and Ac-DNal(2’)-Arg-(pI)DPhe-D-Lys-NH2 are suggested. Such compounds are the 5th-6th compounds of claims 1 and 7. Since 793 recites compositions thereof (claim 18) one would have been motivated to make a composition of such compounds.
In relation to claims 9-10, 793 recites compositions thereof (claim 18).
Response to Arguments – double patenting
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejection set forth above.
Although applicants argue that the claims have been amended, the amended claims are addressed above.
Although applicants argue that 793 does not teach a plurality of tetrapeptides selected from the tetrapeptides recited in claim 1, as discussed above the compounds Ac-DNal(2’)-Arg-(pI)DPhe-Arg-NH2 and Ac-DNal(2’)-Arg-(pI)DPhe-D-Lys-NH2 are suggested. Such compounds are the 5th-6th compounds of claims 1 and 7.
Instant claim 1 recites ‘composition comprising a plurality of tetrapeptides’ and then recites a wherein clause about tetrapeptides selected from a group consisting of.
MPEP 2111.03 recites: “In Amgen Inc. v. Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC, 945 F.3d 1368, 1379, 2020 USPQ2d 3197 (Fed. Cir. 2020), in an infringement suit, the court interpreted a claim for a pharmaceutical composition having a "comprising" transition phrase and following limitations, including limitations requiring "at least one" binder and "at least one" disintegrant, each "consisting of" items listed in a Markush group. The court found that the Markush grouping recited particular binders or disintegrants, but while the components of the Markush grouping are closed as to the components therein, the claim transition "comprising" allowed for additional component(s) that were functionally similar to the members of the Markush grouping. Thus, the plain language of the claim requires "at least one" of the Markush members and does not further limit the claim to only binders and disintegrants listed in the Markush grouping.”
MPEP 2111.03 further recites: “Amgen Inc. v. Amneal Pharmaceuticals LLC, 945 F.3d 1368, 1378-79, 2020 USPQ2d 3179 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (the claim’s "comprising" transition phrase does not foreclose additional binders and disintegrants when an accused infringing product contains and meets the limitation’s requirements for one of the binders or disintegrants recited in the Markush groupings – there is no inconsistency with another binder or disintegrant outside of the Markush group also being part of the claimed formulation)”.
In the instant case, the transitional phrase ‘comprising’ in line 1 of claim 1 does not foreclose additional components (including peptides). Since claim 1 recites a plurality of tetrapeptides, at least 2 of the tetrapeptides from the recited group are required. In the instant case, the plain language of the claim requires "at least two" (a plurality) of the Markush members and does not further limit the claim to only those listed in the Markush grouping.
Although applicants argue about potency of compounds, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., potency) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). MPEP 716.02(b) recognizes that the burden is on the applicant to establish that results are unexpected and significant. Applicants refer to 15 potent mMC4R tetrapeptides. However, claim 1 includes many more than 15 tetrapeptides. MPEP 716.02(e) refers to a comparison to the closest prior art. MPEP 716.02(d) recognizes that unexpected results are to be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. In the instant case, the applicants have not established that results are unexpected and significant or established that there is a comparison to the prior art or shown any unexpected results is commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Conclusion
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658