DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(Claim 1) “at least one fluid wicking element, positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule to enable the fluid wicking element to wick liquid away from the camera lens.”
(Claim 7) “at least one alignment element for aligning the imaging system when inserted in an opening.”
(Claim 13) “at least one alignment element attached on the imaging system to enable a positioning of the imaging system in an opening.”
(Claim 16) “the at least one alignment element is positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule to enable the at least one alignment element comprising the fluid wicking properties to wick liquid away from the camera lens”
(Claim 17) “a restraining element to collapse the at least one alignment element”
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
(Claim 1) “at least one fluid wicking element, positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule to enable the fluid wicking element to wick liquid away from the camera lens.” As identified by the Specification, the following is recognized as the corresponding structure to the alignment element: “Figure 1A depicts a high-level block diagram of an imaging system in accordance with an embodiment of the present principles. The imaging system 100 of Figure 1A illustratively comprises an esophageal imaging capsule including an imaging capsule 1 having a tapered first end 2 ending in a tether 3, a camera lens 4 on a second end, and a drain wick attached to the imaging capsule 1 near the camera lens 4. In some embodiments, the drain wick 5 can comprise a filament with hydrophilic properties that tends to attract droplets of liquid (e.g., water) that may otherwise stay attached the lens. That is, is some embodiments, the drain wick 5 can be used to attract liquid droplets away from and off of the lens 4. Gravity and wicking can both be implemented to pull the liquid droplets along the wick where the liquid droplets can either drop off freely or be pulled away by making contact with an absorbent material, such as a tissue.” Or equivalents thereof.
(Claim 7) “at least one alignment element for aligning the imaging system when inserted in an opening.” / (Claim 13) “at least one alignment element attached on the imaging system to enable a positioning of the imaging system in an opening.” As identified by the Specification, the following is recognized as the corresponding structure to the alignment element: “In some embodiments, various protuberant devices/positioning mechanisms such as fins, wire loops, splaying filaments, etc. can be attached to a palatant or a tether of an imaging system of the present principles. The arms of such protuberant devices/positioning mechanisms can be specialized to provide alignment for an imaging system of the present principles and can emerge more proximally.” Or equivalents thereof.
(Claim 16) “the at least one alignment element is positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule to enable the at least one alignment element comprising the fluid wicking properties to wick liquid away from the camera lens”: As identified by the Specification, the following is recognized as the corresponding structure to the alignment element: “However, the properties of a drain wick of the present principles and an alignment extension of the present principles can be combined to form at least one drain wick/alignment extension in accordance with the present principles. For example, in Figure 7 the drain wicks/alignment extensions 75a, 75b, 75c, and 75d comprise hydrophilic properties and are attached to the bottom of the imaging capsule 71 near the camera lens 74 to wick moisture away from the camera lens 74. The drain wicks/alignment extensions 75a, 75b, 75c, and 75d also provide rigidity and stability for enabling a positioning of the imaging system 700 and can comprise properties of the alignment extensions as described above with reference to the imaging system 600 of Figure 6.” Or equivalents thereof.
(Claim 17) “a restraining element to collapse the at least one alignment element”: As identified by the Specification, the following is recognized as the corresponding structure to the restraining element: “In some embodiments, a band can be wrapped around collapsed alignment extensions to keep the alignment extensions in the collapsed form. When the band is released, the alignment extensions can then spring into a more radial pattern. In some embodiments, the band can be made of water-soluble material - where the material takes sufficient time to dissolve so as to allow the passage of the device beyond the palate before the material dissolves. In alternate embodiments, another approach can be to use a material that melts at body temperature, such as gelatin, to keep the alignment extensions in the collapsed form (i.e., via a sleeve or band). After being swallowed, the material can melt and the alignment extensions can then spring into a more radial pattern.” Or equivalents thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Objections
The Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 2, the term “the fluid wicking element” should be replaced with –the at least one fluid wicking element-- for claim consistency. Similar changes should be applied to claims 3-6 and 12.
Appropriate correction is required and applicant should carefully review the Claims for any other informalities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rachlin et al (US 2015/0289752) (“Rachlin”).
Regarding Claim 13, Rachlin teaches an imaging system, comprising:
a tether (Fig. 1A, [0078] flexible tether 13);
a tapered end portion coupling the tether to an imaging capsule (Fig. 1A, [0078] intermediate portion 12 shown in the Figure to be tapered);
the imaging capsule comprising a camera lens (Fig. 1A, [0078] imaging capsule 11, [0081] camera with lens); and
at least one alignment element attached on the imaging system to enable a positioning of the imaging system in an opening (Figs. 9-10, [0078], [0081] imaging system can include a camera with lens, Fig. 2A, [0090] details an example lens assembly 204 of the camera, [0111], [0116] sponge acts as an alignment element).
Regarding Claim 14, Rachlin teaches the imaging system of claim 13, further comprising a palatant, wherein the at least one alignment element is attached to the palatant ([0116] palatant capsule 906 surrounds the sponge / at least one alignment element).
Regarding Claim 15, Rachlin teaches the imaging system of claim 13, wherein the at least one alignment element comprises fluid wicking properties (Figs. 7-10, [0111], [0116] the sponge also acts as a fluid wicking element, positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule by surrounding the imaging capsule as shown in Fig. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 17, Rachlin teaches the imaging system of claim 13, further comprising a restraining element to collapse the at least one alignment element ([0116] palatant sleeve capsule restrains alignment element / sponge).
Regarding Claim 18, Rachlin teaches the imaging system of claim 17, wherein the at least one alignment element is collapsed by the restraining element to enable placing the imaging system into an opening (See Claim 17 Rejection, [0116] sponge is collapsed by palatant sleeve / restraining element to enable placing the imaging system into the esophagus opening).
Regarding Claim 19, Rachlin teaches the imaging system of claim 18, wherein the restraining element is removed and the at least one alignment element expands after entering the opening (See Claim 18 Rejection, the palatant sleeve is removed and the at least one alignment element / sponge expands after enter the esophagus opening).
Regarding Claim 20, Rachlin teaches the imaging system of claim 18, wherein the at least one alignment element is constructed of materials having such fine proportions that forces exerted on surfaces of the opening by the at least one alignment element are insufficient to impede the passage of the imaging system through the opening when the imaging system is pulled by gravity ([0080], [0111] tether flexibility and size of expanded alignment element should promote gravity-assisted descent, indicating that the expanded alignment is constructed of materials having such fine proportions that forces exerted on the walls of the esophagus by the sponge alignment element are insufficient to impede the passage of the imaging system as directed by gravity).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cutrale (WO 2022/211820).
Regarding Claim 1, Cutrale teaches an imaging system (Abstract), comprising:
a tether (Fig. 1A, [069] tether 104);
a tapered end portion coupling the tether to an imaging capsule (Fig. 1A, [069] tapered end portion of imaging capsule 102 is the rounded distal capsule end connecting to tether 104);
the imaging capsule comprising a camera lens (Fig. 1A, [058], [061], [071], [076] imaging sensor 109 is a camera with a lens 122); and
at least one fluid wicking element, positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule (Fig. 4A-4D, [093]-[094] textured surfaces act as fluid wicking elements, positioned on the imaging capsule 102 proximate to a camera lens of the imaging capsule and acts to suction water away from the direction of the lens of the imaging capsule 102) to enable the fluid wicking element to wick liquid away from the camera lens ([093]-[094]).
Regarding Claim 2, Cutrale teaches the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fluid wicking element uses at least one of a wicking property of a material of the fluid wicking element or gravity to wick liquid away from the camera lens (See Claim 1 Rejection, textured surface acts to suction water away, thus exhibiting a wicking property).
Regarding Claim 5, Cutrale teaches the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fluid wicking element comprises a drain wick (See Claim 1 Rejection, textured surface acts to suction water away, thus acting as a drain wick).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rachlin in view of Ohnmacht (US 2018/0221052).
Regarding Claim 1, while Rachlin teaches an imaging system (Abstract), comprising:
a tether (Fig. 1A, [0078] flexible tether 13);
a tapered end portion coupling the tether to an imaging capsule (Fig. 1A, [0078] intermediate portion 12 shown in the Figure to be tapered);
the imaging capsule comprising a camera lens (Fig. 1A, [0078] imaging capsule 11); and
at least one fluid wicking element, positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule (Figs. 9-10, [0078], [0081] imaging system can include a camera with lens, Fig. 2A, [0090] details an example lens assembly 204 of the camera, [0049]-[0051] in one embodiment for a fluid wicking element, a hydrophilic coating may be placed on the tether, capsule, and/or sleeve, [0111], [0116] in another embodiment, a palatant sleeve of sponge acts as a fluid wicking element, where both fluid wicking elements are positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule by surrounding the imaging capsule as shown in Fig. 8-9) where the fluid wicking element’s position would enable a wicking action away from the camera lens (teaches the intended use limitation). Alternatively Rachlin fails to explicitly disclose the positioning action being done to enable the fluid wicking element to wick liquid away from the camera lens.
However Ohnmacht teaches a endoscopic system (Abstract) wherein a distal imaging end endoscopic system comprises at least one fluid wicking element, positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule to enable the fluid wicking element to wick fluid away from the camera lens (Figs. 3 and 5, [0027]-[0030] “The elongate woven fabric wick 32 occupies a majority of the lumen 34 and is sized accordingly to be contained therein, too thick to pass through slot 36, and effectively trapped within lumen 34 yet frontally exposed through slot 36. This leaves wick 32 free to absorb blood or fluid running down its length. The woven fabric wick 32 preferably remains slidable within lumen 34 and may be removed, if desired, or extended from exterior of the body. In is normal position the woven fabric wick 32 extends outward from lumen 34 at the distal tip of cannula 2 and arcs downward under natural force of gravity approximately an inch or two. This way, when cannula 2 is used as a surgical port for an endoscope and the endoscope protrudes through cannula 2 into the thoracic cavity, any residual blood or fluid running down cannula 2 under force of gravity will either be absorbed into the woven fiber of the wick 32 or directed down the wick 32 away from the endoscopic lens and/or surgical site, thereby helping to maintain a clear field-of-view through the endoscope.“ fluid wicking element / blood wicking/diversion mechanism 30 is positioned proximate an endoscope lens, enabling fluid wicking away from the endoscope lens. Further, the wick may be formed as a sleeve around the endoscope end as taught in Fig. 5’s blood wicking/diversion mechanism 130 with an extending wick 132 acting to absorb fluid through gravity as taught in the first embodiment. In both cases, the wicking mechanism is positioned to enable the fluid wicking element to wick liquid away from the camera lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the tethered endoscopic visualization system of Rachlin to configure the fluid wicking sponge sleeve to further comprise a fluid wicking diversion mechanism as taught by Ohnmacht to enable the fluid wicking away from the endoscope lens as this maintains a clear field-of-view through the endoscope. Furthermore, it would be obvious to use Rachlin’s sponge sleeve in conjunction with the wicking sleeve and end of Ohnmacht as the absorbing of fluid provided by the woven fabric would also be accomplished with Rachlin’s sponge sleeve, while also providing the alignment benefit of Rachlin.
Regarding Claim 2, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fluid wicking element uses at least one of a wicking property of a material of the fluid wicking element or gravity to wick liquid away from the camera lens (See Claim 1 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 3, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the wicked fluid can accumulate on the fluid wicking element and be drawn off of the fluid wicking element by gravity (See Claim 1 Rejection, Ohnmacht’s wick connected to Rachlin’s sponge has this functionality as in [0027] of Ohnmacht).
Regarding Claim 4, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 1, wherein fluid accumulated on the fluid wicking element is drawn off by contact with a surrounding absorbent material (See Claim 1 Rejection, the combination of Rachlin’s sponge sleeve over Ohnmacht’s wick would lead to a first fluid wicking element of Ohnmacht having fluid accumulated by contact with a surrounding absorbent material/second fluid wicking element/Rachlin’s sponge so that the sponge may provide alignment capabilities).
Regarding Claim 5, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fluid wicking element comprises a drain wick (See Claim 1 Rejection, Ohnmacht: by draining fluid away from the lens).
Regarding Claim 6, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 1, and Rachlin teaches wherein the fluid wicking element further functions as an alignment element for the imaging system ([0111], [0116] at least one of the wicking elements, i.e. the sponge of Rachlin, further acts as an alignment element when the sponge comprises fins as shown in Figs. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 7, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 1, and Rachlin teaches the imaging system further comprising at least one alignment element for aligning the imaging system when inserted in an opening ([0111], [0116] at least one of the wicking elements, i.e. the sponge of Rachlin, further acts as an alignment element when the sponge comprises fins as shown in Figs. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 8, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 7, wherein the opening comprises a human esophagus (See Claim 1 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 9, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 7, and Rachlin teaches the imaging system wherein the at least one alignment element comprises three alignment elements to center the imaging system in the opening ([0111], [0116] at least one of the wicking elements, i.e. the sponges of Rachlin, further acts as three alignment element when the sponge comprises fins as shown in Figs. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 11, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 7, wherein the at least one alignment element comprises fluid wicking properties (See Claim 7 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 12, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fluid wicking element comprises at least one of a hydrophilic or lubricious coating (See Claim 1 Rejection, Rachlin’s hydrophilic coating on the sleeve).
Regarding Claim 16, while Rachlin teaches the imaging system of claim 15, wherein the at least one alignment element is positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule (See Claim 15 Rejection), where the at least one alignment element’s position would enable a wicking action away from the camera lens (meets the intended use language). Alternatively Rachlin fails to explicitly disclose the positioning action being done to enable the alignment element to wick liquid away from the camera lens.
However Ohnmacht teaches a endoscopic system (Abstract) wherein a distal imaging end endoscopic system comprises at least one fluid wicking element, positioned on the imaging system proximate to the camera lens of the imaging capsule to enable the fluid wicking element to wick fluid away from the camera lens (Figs. 3 and 5, [0027]-[0030] “The elongate woven fabric wick 32 occupies a majority of the lumen 34 and is sized accordingly to be contained therein, too thick to pass through slot 36, and effectively trapped within lumen 34 yet frontally exposed through slot 36. This leaves wick 32 free to absorb blood or fluid running down its length. The woven fabric wick 32 preferably remains slidable within lumen 34 and may be removed, if desired, or extended from exterior of the body. In is normal position the woven fabric wick 32 extends outward from lumen 34 at the distal tip of cannula 2 and arcs downward under natural force of gravity approximately an inch or two. This way, when cannula 2 is used as a surgical port for an endoscope and the endoscope protrudes through cannula 2 into the thoracic cavity, any residual blood or fluid running down cannula 2 under force of gravity will either be absorbed into the woven fiber of the wick 32 or directed down the wick 32 away from the endoscopic lens and/or surgical site, thereby helping to maintain a clear field-of-view through the endoscope.“ fluid wicking element / blood wicking/diversion mechanism 30 is positioned proximate an endoscope lens, enabling fluid wicking away from the endoscope lens. Further, the wick may be formed as a sleeve around the endoscope end as taught in Fig. 5’s blood wicking/diversion mechanism 130 with an extending wick 132 acting to absorb fluid through gravity as taught in the first embodiment. In both cases, the wicking mechanism is positioned to enable the fluid wicking element to wick liquid away from the camera lens).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the tethered endoscopic visualization system of Rachlin to configure the fluid wicking sponge sleeve to further comprise a fluid wicking diversion mechanism as taught by Ohnmacht to enable the fluid wicking away from the endoscope lens as this maintains a clear field-of-view through the endoscope. Furthermore, it would be obvious to use Rachlin’s sponge sleeve in conjunction with the wicking end of Ohnmacht as the absorbing of fluid provided by the woven fabric would also be accomplished with Rachlin’s sponge sleeve, while also providing the alignment benefit of Rachlin.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rachlin in view of Ohnmacht and further in view of Bob et al (US 2006/0149130) (“Bob”)
Regarding Claim 10, Rachlin and Ohnmacht teach the imaging system of claim 7, wherein the at least one alignment element is configured as a fin having at least a surface attachment to components of the imaging system (See Claim 7 Rejection, Rachlin Fig. 8), their combined efforts fail to teach the at least one alignment element is configured as a loop having at least two attachments to components of the imaging system.
However Bob teaches an endoscope system (Abstract) comprising a loop alignment element having at least attachments to components of the imaging system (Figs. 4 and 7, [0047] optical system, [0054]-[0059], [0073]-[0074] cage 18 and loops 18a at the distal end of the guidewire to facilitate positioning of the systems along the canal-shaped cavity being explored) and further teaches that the placement of the loop may be variable as long as it assists propulsion of the endoscope ([0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the fin of Rachlin to be replaced with a loops with at least two attachment to components of an imaging system as Bob teaches that loops are another expandable form of guidance in a canal-shaped cavity for an endoscope. Thus it would have been a simple substitution of form of alignment element for another to obtain predictable results. Furthermore, it would have been obvious that the alignment element on the imaging system and variability of placement of the loops in Bob support loops being placed around the endoscope head. Finally, it would have been obvious that loops in this manner require at least two attachments to support a rounded structure from which to expand from the imaging system.
Conclusion
/JAIRO H. PORTILLO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791