DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution is Reopened
Prosecution on the merits of the application is reopened on claims 1-7 considered unpatentable for the reasons below.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 1-7 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Tao (CN 112 232 545 A), Lert (US 9,096,375) and Gravelle (US 11,008,166). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
Para. 0027: “For example, in the examples of FIGS. 3 and 4, the numbers "1 to 4" are assigned in the order of retrieval to the retrieval lane 21.”, is unclear. What are the numbers assigned to?
Para. 0028: “Also, the reverse sequential operation calculation unit 13 may search for a reverse sequential path of one pattern without searching for the reverse sequential paths of a plurality of patterns such that it is possible to decide on a reverse sequential operation in which a plurality of retrieval target articles 150A can continue ..”, is unclear.
Para. 0032: “FIG. 7A, the reverse sequential operation calculation unit 13 is set such that the retrieval target articles 150A are moved forward reliably at the next time (t+1) when a front side is empty in a traveling direction at current time (t) on the transport shelf 32. Where are the articles moved forward reliably from at a next time and where are the articles moved forward to”? What does Applicant mean by “a front side is empty in a traveling direction”? What element is applicant referring to?
Para. 0032: “Thus, an operation becomes a virtual operation in which the tip of an extrusion unit of the transfer device 111 is attached to the retrieval target article 150A of the transport shelf 32 and the retrieval target article 150A is drawn to the storage shelf 31 in the calculation of the reverse sequential path performed by the reverse sequential operation calculation unit 13. It is assumed that a situation in
which the reverse sequential operation calculation unit 13 operates the transfer device 111 to perform a transfer to the storage shelf 31 is a situation in which such a virtual operation is performed. Also, an operation mode when the transfer device 111 performs a transfer from the storage shelf 31 to the transport shelf 32 is not limited to extrusion.”, is unclear. What does Applicant mean by “virtual operation”?
Para. 0033: “The reverse sequential operation calculation unit 13 is set such that the transfer device 111 is operated to perform a transfer to the storage shelf 31 in the order in which the numbers of the retrieval target articles 150A from the transport shelves 32 and the numbers of the storage positions SP of the storage shelves 31 are aligned.”, is unclear. This language appears to coincide with claim 3.
Para. 0036: “Here, the retrieval target article identification unit 12 identifies the retrieval target article .. in which a sequence pattern when a plurality of articles 150 are transported to the warehouse body unit 101 is prepared in advance.”, is unclear.
The above are examples of unclear language, and is not exhaustive. Applicant should review the entire specification.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Relative to claim 1, does the claim intend to include the step of moving the transport unit to the retrieval lane according to the retrieval operation?
Relative to claim 2, the assigning a number to the retrieval target article stored in the storage unit in correspondence with a retrieval sequence is unclear and requires clarification. Applicant appears to describe this is the specification Para. 0027, 0029.
Relative to claim 3, the claim recites the transfer unit moving articles to the storage position and transferring articles between the storage position and the transport shelf. If the articles are being retrieved by the transportation unit, it is not clear as to why the transfer unit is moving items to the storage position.
Also, the limitation “based on the calculated reverse sequential operation, the transfer unit is operated to perform a transfer from the transport shelf to the storage shelf in a sequence in which a number of the retrieval target article of the transport shelf and a number of the storage position of the storage shelf are aligned”, is also unclear. This is also not clearly described in the specification. Is this transferring by the transferring unit to the storage unit performed during a retrieval operation? Is claim 3 directed towards retrieving objects or storing objects in lines 6-12? These features appear to be described in Para. 0032 of the specification.
Relative to claim 4, the device setting a higher priority level of a retrieval sequence for the retrieval target article stored at the storage position at an earlier time is unclear. If the sequence depends on the order of items being arranged on the retrieval lane, it is not clear as to how the articles are being chosen based on how long the item has been stored. Does this limitation refer to which articles are to be picked to fill an order? This phrasing needs clarification.
Relative to claim 5, the device setting a higher priority level of a retrieval sequence for the retrieval target article stored at a position closer to the transport machine is also not clear. As mentioned above, if the sequence depends on the order of items being arranged on the retrieval lane, it is not clear as to how the articles are being chosen based on how close the article is to the transport machine. If specific articles are ordered, and must arrive in the retrieval lane in a given sequence, how are articles chosen, by the processor, based on a proximity to the transport machine. This claim needs clarification.
Relative to claim 6, the identifying the retrieval target article using a pattern table that indicates a sequence pattern, prepared in advance, when a plurality of articles are transported to the storage unit, is unclear. What does “using a pattern table that indicates a sequence pattern, prepared in advance” mean?
Relative to claim 7, it is not clear as to whether the limitations in lines 1-4 are intended to be included since these features are mentioned in the preamble. Also, similar to claim 1, it is not clear as to whether the claim intends to include the step of moving the transport unit to the retrieval lane according to the retrieval operation?
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 7 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao Peiran (CN 112 232 545 A). Relative to claims 1-2, and 6, Tao discloses:
claim 1) An article search device comprising:
a storage unit configured to store articles (See English translation of the specification, Page 2, Para. 2 “intelligent storage system” having target shelves; Page 9, Para. 10, see system storage area);
a transport machine configured to retrieve articles from the storage unit from and transport the article to a retrieval location (See Page 2, Para. 2, of the English translation of the specification, “Background” section, the AGV’s transport shelves to and from a picking station, the picking station being the retrieval location)(Fig. 1); and
a processor configured to control the storage unit and the transport machine (Page 10, Para. 1 of the English translation of the Specification, the processor is included with the personal PC with a CPU for controlling operations), the processor is configured to:
identify a retrieval target article from among the articles stored at a storage position in the storage unit based on retrieval information (Page 7, Para. 4, See “S1”, of the English translation of the specification),
the retrieval information includes a retrieval completion state that indicates a
sequential position of the retrieval target article and one or more retrieval articles on the retrieval location (Page 7, Para. 2 of the English translation of the Specification);
calculate a reverse sequential operation by determining the storage position of the retrieval article in the storage unit (the storage position is the horizontal and vertical coordinates of the rack, Page 7, Para. 5 of the English translation of the Specification), and a reverse path for moving from a specified position on the retrieval location to the storage position in the storage unit (Page 8, Para. 2, “A.1” of the English translation of the specification; Page 10, Para. 2); and
calculate, a retrieval operation by determining a retrieval path for moving the retrieval target article from the storage position on in the storage unit to the specified position on the retrieval location determined in the retrieval completion state (Page 7, Para. Para. 7 of the English translation of the Specification; Page 7, Para. 2) method determines ,
the retrieval operation is calculated based on the path determined in the reverse sequential operation, the retrieval path being reverse to the reverse path calculated by the reverse sequential operation (See English translation of the Specification, Page 8, Para. 2-3, method uses an algorithm to choose best sequence and path, or “task scheduling scheme” for the AGV to follow and chooses the best candidate solution for the AGV’s to execute; Page 10, Para. 1);
claim 2) the processor (included in CPU) is further configured to assign a number to the retrieval target article stored in the storage unit in correspondence with a retrieval sequence from the storage unit to the retrieval location (Page 8, Para. 2 of the English translation of the Specification);
claim 6) the processor is further configured to identify the retrieval target article using a pattern table that indicates a sequence pattern, prepared in advance, when a plurality of articles are transported to the storage unit (Page 8, Para. 1-3 of the English translation of the Specification; Page 9, Para. 10 to Page 10, Para. 1).
Tao does not expressly disclose: the retrieval location where items are transported to includes a retrieval lane.
Tao teaches: the retrieval location where items are transported to includes a retrieval lane as an obvious matter of design choice based on the needs of the system. It is obvious to provide a lane to a picking workstation for processing and placing outbound articles for downstream processing. Also, a retrieval lane may be included in the station to allow AGV’s to gather or temporarily wait.
In Fig. 1, at the top of the figure appears to be the picking workstation comprising two parallel lanes. Also, at the top of the figure, in the middle area of the grid below the two parallel lanes may be considered a lane. MPEP §2144.05 (II)A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of Tao so that the retrieval location includes a retrieval lane as an obvious matter of design choice for processing and placing outbound articles for downstream processing.
Relative to claim 7, the disclosure of Tao includes:
An article search method executed on an article search device including a storage unit (see “intelligent storage system”) configured to store articles and a transport machine (AGV’s) configured to retrieve the articles from the storage unit and transport the article to a retrieval location (See Page 2, Para. 2, of the English translation of the specification, “Background” section, the AGV’s transport shelves to and from a picking station, the picking station being the retrieval location)(Fig. 1), the article search method comprising:
identifying a retrieval target article from among the articles stored at a storage position in the storage unit based on retrieval information (Page 7, Para. 4, See “S1”, of the English translation of the specification),
the retrieval information includes a retrieval completion state in which that indicates a sequential position of the retrieval target article and one or more retrieval articles on a retrieval lane (Page 7, Para. 2 of the English translation of the Specification);
calculating a reverse sequential operation by determining the storage position of the retrieval article in the storage unit and a reverse path for moving from a specified position on the retrieval lane to the storage position in the storage unit; and
calculating, a retrieval operation by determining a retrieval path for moving the retrieval target article from the storage position to the specified position on the retrieval lane determined in the retrieval completion state (Page 8, Para. 2, “A.1” of the English translation of the specification; Page 10, Para. 2),
the retrieval operation is calculated based on the path determined in the reverse sequential operation, the retrieval path being reverse to the reverse path calculated by the reverse sequential operation (See English translation of the Specification, Page 8, Para. 2-3, method uses an algorithm to choose best sequence and path, or “task scheduling scheme” for the AGV to follow and chooses the best candidate solution for the AGV’s to execute; Page 10, Para. 1).
Claim(s) 3-4 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao in view of Lert (US Patent No. 9,096,375).
Relative to claims 3-4, Tao discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
the storage unit includes:
a storage shelf arranged at the storage position of the articles (see rack modules along picking aisles;
a transport shelf arranged in alignment with the storage shelf and configured to transport the articles to the transport machine; and
a transfer unit arranged in parallel with the storage shelf and configured to move the articles to the storage position and transfer the articles between the storage position and the transport shelf, and based on the calculated reverse sequential operation, the transfer unit is operated to perform a transfer from the transport shelf to the storage shelf in a sequence in which a number of the retrieval target article of the transport shelf and a number of the storage position of the storage shelf are aligned; or
the processor is further configured to set a higher priority level of a retrieval sequence for the retrieval target article stored at the storage position at an earlier time.
Lert teaches: the storage unit includes: a storage shelf arranged at the storage position of the articles (see rack modules along picking aisles (130A,130B)(Fig. 8C);
a transport shelf (see shelves 730 on 150A, 150B)(Fig. 2A,2C,2D) arranged in alignment with the storage shelf and configured to transport the articles to the transport machine (110)(vertical conveyors 150 aligns with storage structure 130 to transfer articles between storage shelves and bots 110)(Fig. 2C-2D)(Col. 4, lines 1-20); and
a transfer unit (140) arranged in parallel with the storage shelf and configured to move the articles to the storage position and transfer the articles between the storage position and the transport shelf (Col. 7, lines 12-15; Col. 7, lines 32-45), and based on the calculated reverse sequential operation, the transfer unit (140) is operated to perform a transfer from the transport shelf (150) to the storage shelf (storage rack module) in a sequence in which a number of the retrieval target article (pickface 1150) of the transport shelf and a number of the storage position of the storage shelf are aligned (Col. 7, lines 32-55); and
the processor is further configured to set a higher priority level of a retrieval sequence for the retrieval target article (pickface) stored at the storage position at an earlier time (Col. 20, lines 24-30).
Lert teaches the storage unit having a storage shelf, transport shelf, transfer unit for transferring articles to the storage shelf in a sequence, and setting a higher priority level for the retrieval target article stored at an earlier time as described above, for the purpose of providing an automated storage and retrieval system that can efficiently generate different items for mixed goods pallets (Col. 1, lines 50-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of Tao with the storage shelf, transport shelf, transfer unit for transferring articles to the storage shelf in a sequence, and setting a higher priority level of a retrieval sequence for the retrieval target article stored at an earlier time described above, as taught in Lert for the purpose of providing an automated storage and retrieval system that can efficiently generate different items for mixed goods pallets.
Claim(s) 5 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tao in view of Gravelle et al (US Patent No. 11,008,166). Relative to claim 5, Tao discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the processor is further configured to set a higher priority level of a retrieval sequence for the retrieval target article stored at a position closer to the transport machine for performing the retrieval among storage positions.
Gravelle teaches: the processor is further configured to set a higher priority level of a retrieval sequence for the retrieval target article (item) stored at a position closer to the transport machine (vehicle) for performing the retrieval among storage positions (Col. 12, lines 19-30, system considers locations of vehicles and storage units containing the appropriate item in choosing paths for the vehicles), for the purpose of providing an improved automated storage and retrieval system useful in order fulfillment environments that can retrieve individual items that avoids space and material inefficiencies, minimizes interruptions, and improves safety (Col. 9, lines 30-35; Col. 12, lines 23-30; Col. 12, lines 43-55; Col. 12, lines 63-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the device of Tao with the setting a higher priority level of a retrieval sequence for the retrieval target article stored at a position closer to the transport machine, as taught in Gravelle for the purpose of providing an improved automated storage and retrieval system useful in order fulfillment environments that can retrieve individual items that avoids space and material inefficiencies, minimizes interruptions, and improves safety.
Conclusion
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651